BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a collection agency.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Puget Sound Collections meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Puget Sound Collections include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 17
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Puget Sound Collections
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 02/01/1985 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Michaud, President Mr. Justin Anderson, General Manager Ms. Angela Vanderhoof, Collection Manager Ms. Janice White, Client Services Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Michaud, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
P S C Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1019 Regents Blvd STE 101

    Fircrest, WA 98466 (253) 566-1800

  • PO Box 66995

    Tacoma, WA 98464

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The collections agency has been saying for over a year that when i can make a lump sum payment on my account, they will remove 50% of the interest. When i called today, they are saying that they do not do that. my concern is they are using unfair collection practices to coerce people into paying the collections with promises that can never be fulfilled.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor removing 50% of the interest that they have been promising since the beginning of my payments.

Business Response:

Our office policy was modified January 25, 2016 concerning interest discounts offered to consumers. Mr. ***** contacted his representative on January 29, 2016 and the new courtesy discount amount was offered based on new policy parameters.  Mr. ***** complained the discount had changed from a previous conversation he had with a collection agent.   The call recording was reviewed for verification and discount was honored based on our previous courtesy discount schedule.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The complaint was made before PSC honored their agreement.

Sincerely,

****** *****

11/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Puget Sound Collections took payment in ful* in return to delete a negative item collections account from from both credit reports for: ***** * ********* ***** * ********* On the back of the check it is very clear underneath the endorsement what cashing the check meant. They do not want to delete the item now causing more delay.  I have copies, front and back of check, back of the check saying: "restrictive endorsement: deposit is subscriber's agreement to request the account be completely deleted from both debtors credit at the subscriber's reporting agencies within thirty days of clearing of funds breach venue in california superior court and a ten thousand dollar liquidated damages plus costs."

Desired Settlement: Honor cashing the check. Remove collection item from both credit reports.

Business Response:

Our firm was contacted by ***** ******, as an agent for the consumer to act on the consumers behalf a debt assigned to our agency for collection by ** ******* **** *****.  **. ****** was advised that we do not remove accounts reported accurately to the credit bureaus in exchange for payment.

The account was assigned for collection May 1, 2015.  Our firm received payment in September, 2015 and reported the account paid to the credit bureaus in October 2015.    We do not remove the credit history to improve a individuals credit score.  The was never an agreement to delete the account from the complainants credit report.  As a data furnisher, we are required to report accurate information.


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

Please see attached file. Puget Sound Collections was well aware of what it meant to deposit the check. The agreement was under the endorsement. If Puget Sound Collections wasn't going to honor the deletion they were not to deposit the check. 

 

Sincerely,

***** *********

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Can you please request the deletion from the credit bureaus for:
***** * *********
***** * *********
And attach it to your response so we can resolve this complaint. Also thank you for your previous response.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response:

The approval to delete is approved for both subjects and electronically generated with the credit bureau(s) control number ********. 

10/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a collection agency. They simply refuse to put anything in writing. They contacted me regarding some medical bills that were charged off but now being collected by them. Eventually they filed suit against me an obtained a judgement. I have now found that my wages will be garnished even though I NEVER received a "final" demand . I tried NUMEROUS times to get them to respond to me "in writing" regarding the possibility of a payment plan but got NO response at all as I had requested. They also claimed that items were mailed to me that I never received. In a case such as this these items should most certainly be sent in a manner that requires them to be signed for by a live person.

Desired Settlement: at this point I have been advised that there is "nothing that can be done" .

Business Response: The complainants allegations that we refuse to put anything in writing and he did not receive a "final demand" is egregious.  

Prior to suit in June 2014 Mr. ****** sent a cease and desist and later sent emails to our office and was informed that due to security our office does not communicate via email.  He continued to send communications via email.  He later revoked his cease and desist request.   We provided verification of the debts through the mail as well as the complainant came to our office in July 2014 to pick up copies.  There was not an amicable resolution after verifications were provided.

Mr. ****** was properly served a Summons & Complaint in September 2014 and responded to the Complaint.  Our attorney filed the case in Pierce County Superior Court.  A demand for settlement was mailed 8-3-15 prior to the date of the Motion for Summary Judgment on August 21, 2015.  The Judge awarded Judgment to P.S.C., Inc.

The charges were incurred between 2011 and 2013.  Mr. ****** has not made any payment on the charges.  A wage garnishment was issued as a judicial remedy as authorized by statute.  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

10/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I pulled my credit and had multiple accounts in collection from Puget sound collect. I contacted them and reviewed theses accounts with them. The representative was extremely rude, I informed her that at the time I had coverage with 2 insurances and that this was incorrect. She gave me the number to the medical providers and told me to talk to them. I called multi care and informed them that I had medical and that I had previously given them my medical information. They told me that is was now in collections and I would have to talk to them and sent me back to PSC. I called them and told them I had an attorney due to an injury from a auto accident and we provided them with medical coverage at the time of the incident. She then told me my attorney would have to talk to them. I contacted my attorney who sent a letter with proof of my coverage and they still have not removed this debt.

Desired Settlement: I would like all the collections removed from my credit

Business Response:

Re: ****** ******
File #:********


The complainant has accounts assigned to our office for collection for services in 2012 and
2014. When the complainant contacted our office she indicated she had insurance as well as an
attorney. All further communications once we were advised she was represented by legal counsel
have been made directly with her attorney's office as required under the Fair Debt Collection
Practices Act (FDCPA).

Our office received correspondence from her attorney disputing the clients billing indicating she
had group health effective 10-1-13 and further noted was that she had ******* coverage.

With respect to 2012 charges- our firm investigated the billing dispute with the medical
providers. The medical providers did not receive ******* billing information timely to bill
insurance. We were advised that had the insurance been provided by the complainant timely, they
would have billed accordingly. Our firm reported the items as disputed and confirmed this
directly with her legal counsel. Further, her legal counsel was advised that in the event *******
would waive the untimely filing period {12 months from date of service) that the providers would
bill insurance for the charges incurred.

The original creditor indicated they billed the 2014 charges to insurance the complainant
provided and they were processed, leaving a small patient responsibility that has not been
satisfied.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

At the of service with ********* and all others, I provided my ******* and Group Health insurance information. After treatment I provided the information again and so did my prior attorney ****** ********* back in 2012 and again when I received a bill in 2013. I gave them my military Id and a copy of my insurance card for billing at the time I was seen. I also had to complete new patient paperwork where I also provided my medical insurance information as well. Furthermore, I have not received any documents stating any charges were process and what the current balance is.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I still have not received a balance owing. I called and the lady yelled at me and told me she couldn't speak to me. I told her I understood due to the attorney and I was just trying to get my balance and pay it off per their response on here. However, Mrs. V********* was by far the rudest non helpful rep I've ever encountered. I appreciate the progress however, the full balance is still on my credit and I still haven't been given the new amount owing.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response:

Information requested was provided to the complainants attorney when requested.  The law concerning prohibiting communication directly with a consumer that is represented by legal counsel is very clear.  Ms. ****** was advised of this and became angry when she was instructed that all communications were to be directly through her legal counsel and not to contact our office directly. Should she have any questions concerning the balance in collections that is related to her accident -- she is to contact her attorneys office.
  

Previously, Ms ****** indicated to our office all accounts were included in her case, however, the attorneys office has since indicated this is not correct and has sent Ms ****** information on the balance due that is not subject to their representation.  Her attorneys office indicated they will instruct her that the balance due for services provided by ********* on 9-18-14 are her responsibility. 

10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called this agency and they agreed to remove my account (#*******) from my credit report upon a settlement payment in full. I made the payment and they have not removed the account from my credit report.

Desired Settlement: I will not be satisfied unless the company shows integrity and does what was promised to me. That is that account removed from my credit report.

Business Response: I have audited Mr. ********* accounts assigned to our agency.    As a data furnished, we are required to report accurate data to the bureaus.    I see no narrative remarks or letters documented that agree to remove the accounts assigned from the complainants credit history.

It is agreed that our agency did accept a discounted amount as payment in full.    The agreed upon amount was received and posted July 27, 2015.  We reported the account(s) as paid in our August, 2015 reporting as required.  Our agency did not agree to barter payment in exchange for a deletion of previously reported items.

8/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife- ** * ** went to an emergency room with ********* back on 06/20/2014 and listed me under emergency contact person ( not a responsible person for her bill). However, the bill was transfer to Pudget Sound Collections to collect debt. This company reported the bad debt to my credit report that affected my credit score, reuined all of my plan. I wrote the letter requested them to remove it but they havent already done so.

Desired Settlement: I would like this bussiness to remove their name and the debt on my credit report because I have nothing to deal with my wife debt and I would like them to email me when they are done so. Thank you

Business Response: Washington state is a marital community property state.  As such, debts incurred while married are the responsibility of the spouse.  The patient is represented by an attorney.  Our firm negotiated a settlement with the attorney and when funds are received, the account will be updated to a paid status with the credit reporting bureaus.

7/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three bills, belonging to my ex wife for her child, who is not my child. The military allowed step children to be on my insurance. This DOES NOT make me responsible for her bills. Her parents are responsible for this bill NOT ME. We were separated and preparing for divorce at the time. I never signed taking responsibility for her bills other than providing insurance coverage for her as allowed by law. Allowing the childs mother to put me as being responsible for their child does not make me legally responsible for their bills. There are three accounts for this child that have been sent to collection in my name! I want all three removed immediately! I spoke with the collection agency and explained this, even though the accounts are paid, they remain on my report, not her parents reports.

Desired Settlement: I want all three bills for my EX step child removed from my report.

Business Response:
Re: ******* *******
File #: ********


Accounts were assigned to our office for collection in September 2009 for services rendered in April
2009. Our records do not indicate any dispute made when he spoke with our office in November,
2009. To the contrary, the complainant made payments as listed below:


12-08-09 PMTS: 70.00
01-11-10 PMTS: 50.00
02-05-10 PMTS: 50.00
03-05-10 PMTS: 50.00

Charges for children, including step children are chargeable upon the marital community under
authority of RCVV 26.16.205. Should the complainant wish to provide documentation to support a
legal separation or divorce filing prior to the dates of service for the charges (April 2009), we
will revisit removal of the items reported as paid.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************.

6/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I work at ***** ******* ******, swing shift 1430-2300. About a month ago I received a call from Base Security at my supervisors office phone. I was informed that there was a woman there to see me and we had an appointment. I told Security that I had no appointments and did not know the person that was there. They put her on the phone and she said she was from Puget Sound Collections and wanted to talk to me. I informed her that I was working and could not entertain calls at work, I then asked her to contact me at my home and we could discuss whatever she wanted. I then asked her not to call me at my work again. I heard nothing from this company for about 2 weeks, then I received another phone call from this company, again, at my supervisors office phone at work. The person asked if I had time to talk and I informed them again that I could not entertain calls at work please contact me at home and not call me at work again. I received a verbal warning from my supervisor about the phone calls. I heard nothing from this company again for about 2 weeks, until today. I was at work when my boss came out to our jobsite and gave me a message he found in his office. It had my name on it and was from *****, PSC with the Phone #************ saying they would be in the office until 5pm. This call was received during the day shift. I received another verbal warning from my supervisor and told the next time I could get a written letter of warning. I feel that this company is trying to harass and shame me into paying some kind of bill. They have ignored both of my requests to not contact me at work and this is having a negative impact on my job status. This last phone call went to another supervisor from another shift outside of my chain of command in what I feel is attempt to embarrass me into paying something. If they contact me at home I am sure we can work out a solution to this issue, there is no need to use these tactics to collect a legitimate debt.

Desired Settlement: I want this company to stop contacting my place of work and contact me directly, so we can resolve this issue.

Business Response: This complainant also recently complained to the ****.  A copy of our response is listed below.



PSC denies the complainants allegations purported in his
complaint. There were a total of calls placed in order to reach the complainant
since March 2015. There was 1 attempt, 1 contact and 1 message left between
March 11, 2015 and June 8, 2015. On March 11, 2015 an attempt was made to reach
the complainant at the number the original creditor provided as a place of
employment as the home number was disconnected. We were advised that he
transferred to a different location and they provided a forwarding phone. A call
was placed to the number provided on May 20, 2015 by our agent, ******* *******
, and the consumer stated he was busy and would call our office back the morning
of May 22, 2015 - he was provided our telephone number for a return call. He
did not offer an alternative phone number or indicate not to contact him at the
number called. When no response was received, a follow up call was made June 5,
2015. A message was left. During that call a female indicated the consumer was
not in and offered to take a message. The message clearly stated that a return
call to ***** from "P.S.C." when he had a "free moment" and ***** indicated he
was in the office until 5pm. In review of the call recordings neither the
complainant nor the person answering the phone on June 5, 2015 indicated not to
call to complainant. Further, P.S.C., Inc. denies any allegation that an agent
indicated that we had someone waiting for an appointment. Mr. **** has made no
attempt to contact our office directly.

5/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Both my husband and I called this place because I have a medical debt that happened back in 2009 and my husband has debt from medical bills that happened when we were low income and had no medical. My debt was covered through dshs at the time because I had pregnancy medical and I sent them a copy of my pregnancy medical and they claim to have not received it. I called DSHS to get a copy and it is so **** ago that they do not have those records. Had they not "lost" it, I would not owe this debt. Now, that being said, my husband had no medical and we were SEVERELY low income when he had BIG medical problems and it was before the obamacare came into place. He called to make payment arrangements and ended up getting into a huge yelling match with the receptionist who also defamed me (***** *********) by saying I was difficult to deal with and she would hang up on him if he was difficult too! Now, mind you, my husband opened the conversation by saying he knows how hard their job is and just wanted to set up payment arrangements and how a conversation goes into a yelling match from their is DIRECTLY related to the customer service received by the person who is working at the agency. I later called to see why the conversation had ended up going that way and they told me it was *****'s fault because he didn't "like" what he had to do to pay the bill. I then asked the receptionist if that was ALL *****'s fault and she did nothing to aggravate him and she would not admit to doing nothing wrong. I feel that these people employed at this company feel like they are above the law and feel like they can verbally abuse and defame people. I am emotionally distraught from this and have emotional issues to begin with from PTSD from when I was a child and now I am experiencing anxiety even thinking about calling or talking to them. I have **** term memory problems and they acted as if I was lieing when I could not remember when my husband and I were married! I am mentally disabled and have a lot of emotional issues

Desired Settlement: I want the debt taken off our credit.

Business Response:

Re: ***** ********* File #: ********
 
Call recordings were reviewed regarding the complainants assertion that a "yelling match" occurred during a conversation between her husband ***** ********* and ******** ****, our dispute resolution specialist.   Conversely, the only party who yelled, or used expletives during the call was Mr. *********. The call recording clearly identifies Mr. *********s demeanor changed when he was advised that our office does not delete accounts reported to the credit bureaus in exchange for establishing payment arrangements.     Mr. ********* was clearly agitated at the replies given by the account representative when he questioned if the items could either not be reported against his spouse, or deleted for payment terms.

In response to statement that the complainant was covered by Medicaid for services rendered in November, 2009 - Verification from Medicaid confirming eligibility dates and type of coverage awarded would be required to resolve the charges assigned as she did not provide any Medicaid verification during the encounter on November 16, 2009 or during the timely filing limit.

 
Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at 2************

Respectfully,

 A **********

Manager

P.S.C., Inc.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Because I encountered the same abusive and above the law type behavior. I was agitated to the point of yelling by the reps I have talked to. How is one to accomplish anything when your reps are condescending, and over talk you? I was supposedly "difficult" As told to my husband. I wanted to pay off the debt that was MINE. And couldn't. How is this possible. I am feeling the need to hire an attorney at this point. I refuse to deal with these reps on my own. It is not accurate that I can not pay off the debt that was linked to me. As the rep told me. And my proof of medical coverage was "lost" I contacted DSHS (was on hold for 45 minutes waiting to talk) and they can not pull the records. It no longer remains in the system. If they had done their job initially, I would not even owe this debt because I was had health care coverage.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response:

Re: ***** *********
File #: ********


The complainant failed  to provide insurance  information on the date of service or during the medical provider's self-pay  billing cycle.Subsequently the account was referred to our office and no insurance verification was received by our firm timely.Our records indicate after assigned to our office  four collection notices  were sent in 2010 as well as telephone contact  with the complainant in 2010 indicate proof  of insurance was requested but yet never received.

Further,our agency does not barter payment in exchange for deletion of an account reported on a consumers credit file. As a data furnisher, we are required to report accurate information. All debts assigned that  are identified as incurred during the marriage are reported as joint debts and disputed.


Should you have any questions,please do not hesitate to contact  me at ************.

** **********

Manager P.S.C., Inc.

4/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This incident happened right after I set up a payment arrangement with the collection agency. They sent a notice with attached Stipulation Regarding Balance Owed and for Judgment and Stipulated Judgment addressed to me and my husband for us to sign the said document. This document is in a form of a complaint with the heading "In the Superior Court of the State of Washington In and For the County of Pierce" and with ***** * ***** **** **** stamp on it. When my husband saw the document he freaked out because he thought it was a summons from the court. I called the court to make sure this complaint was not filed in court and the person I talked to said it was not. I also called ***** * ***** law office and the person I talked to said they represent Puget Sound Collection (PSC, Inc.) I believe this is a misleading representation. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and the Revised Code of Washington have guidelines on Prohibited Acts for Collection agencies. I believe our rights have been violated.

Desired Settlement: I would like this derogatory record taken off my credit report.

Business Response: Re: ***** ****** ID#: ********

Our firm was assigned an account against the complainant in March 2014 for services rendered in 2013. Collection attempts were made in 2014 yet no payments were made.    In February 2015 the consumer requested a payment plan In lieu of paying the balance in full and completed an Application for Extended Payment Terms.

A representative spoke with Ms ****** on March 10, 2015 and agreed to a minimum of $50.00 and was advised that the agreement outlining the terms we approved would mailed to her for review and signatures—this conversation included a disclosure that the agreement indicating attorneys fees and/or costs would not be charged provided payments were made as agreed. The consumer agreed to call our office if she had any questions regarding the paperwork.

Please note that the agreement was sent with a cover page concerning the document enclosed entitled "Stipulated Judgment" which outlined the following:   "Please accept this as confirmation that P.S.C., Inc. shall not file the Stipulated Judgment if you comply with the payment terms set forth in the Stipulation Re Balance Owed. Furthermore, if payments are receipted as agreed, no further court costs or attorney's fees shall accrue and the Stipulated Judgment will be destroyed."

There was no false or misleading representations expressed in our firms' communications with the consumer. We are under no requirement to offer a consumer a long term payment agreement without conditions. At this time the complainant is under no obligation to sign the document if they wish to remit the balance in full. Payment in full may be issued to our office at P.O. Box ***** Tacoma, WA 98464.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at *************

Respectfully,

 

** ********** Manager

P.S.C., Inc.

4/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I received this collection notice I informed them I had never received a bill from the hospital. I made arrangements with the collection agency to make $100.00 a month payments. At that time I asked them if this would go against my credit report. They told me as long as I made my payments on time it would not affect it all. That is not true. It's on my credit report. It says paid in full but it's still a negative. I have asked repeatedly for them to please take it off. Now that they have the money they won't take it off. They should have told me the truth from the beginning. I have excellent credit.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to delete this off my credit report. I have excellent credit. I pay my bills on time. I want them to provide me with a letter of deletion. They lied to me. That's not right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ March 24, 2014 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Dr STE 222 Dupont, WA XXXXX Re: ****** ***** Case #:XXXXXXXX I have audited the file and found no indication that the complainant received an exemption of reporting an account to the credit bureaus. Ms ***** was provided written notice in August 2011 when the account was assigned that the account was subject to credit reporting. Ms ***** made payments directly to the provider in order to use her Health Savings Account. The provider notified our agency that Ms ***** made payments and payments were credited in August, November, December, 2011 and February 2012. All payments were reported to the credit bureaus and in March 2012 the account status changed to "PAID". Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Respectfully, ** ********** Manager P.S.C., Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My complaint is I informed Puget Sound Credit I had never received a bill from the hospital. I told them I was keeping my credit in good standing and I did not want this to go to my credit. As you stated in your letter I made payments directly to the provider. Why did you guys report me to the credit bureau ? I was under the assumption this would not go to my credit. Again like you stated in your letter I made payments to the provider not you. Why can't you give me a letter of deletion? Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/28) */ April 14, 2014 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Dr STE 222 Dupont,WA 98327 Re: ****** ***** Case #:XXXXXXXX The complainant confirms she made an assumption the account would not be reported to the credit bureaus. No agent from our office inferred to ** ***** that the account would not be reported as outlined in our written notification. As a data furnisher, we are required to report accurate information. The debt was assigned to our office for collection. The complainant acknowledges that she paid the debt in payments after it was assigned. Once paid, we reported the debt as "PAID". We do not delete an account reported accurately from a consumer's credit history. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. ** ********** Manager P.S.C., Inc.

4/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Puget Sound Collections knew my case was with regards to a car accident in which I was a victim. It takes a long time to process payments since insurance companies need a lot of supporting documents. Their client, ********* knew about this but still sent me to this collection agency. I have talked to the Collections Manager, ****** **********, and I informed her that this is an insurance issue because of a car accident I was involved in but I guess she did not give me any consideration because they reported me to the credit bureau agencies and destroyed my credit score and hopes of buying a new house just because of $106.87 that I owe them which I said the insurance company will pay since I was a victim of the car accident. I am so upset about this because if she had been with the company for so long and knew about dealing with insurance companies , she would know that there is a process(LONG PROCESS)with paying medical bills because a lot of supporting documents are needed. I wish she had given me enough time or a warning that my case will be reported to the credit agencies. The last letter I received back in December 2013 was just a letter stating I was sent to their agency and I should be dealing with them. Unfortunately, the person that originally handled my case with ***** resigned and so, probably that added up to the time spent in getting the settlement done. I hope you understand where I am coming from. My hopes and dreams of buying a new house and getting a good rate is probably gone since I have this bad report in my credit history. And all because of $106.87!! It is not even $1,000 or $10,000 but only a mere $106.87 that destroyed my life and the credit history I have been protecting all these years.

Desired Settlement: I am hoping that the report they sent to the credit bureaus will be rescinded. I hope that they will take it back for the reason that this was a MEDICAL BILL in connection with a car accident that an insurance company was supposed to pay them and not me. I was the victim of the accident and still a victim of the situation right now. I hope the records that they sent will not appear in the system or in my credit history as soon as possible. I ended up paying the $106.87 out of my own pocket in the hopes of saving my credit. I will file a separate complain for ***** in connection to this matter. ***** was paid already by the third party who was responsible for the car accident I was in last January 2013 but still is asking a lot of documents from my lawyer. This run around has been going on for months now. PLEASE HELP ME SAVE MY CREDIT REPORT.....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/10) */ March 5, 2014 Better Business Bureau **** ******* ** *** *** ******* ** XXXXX Re: ************ ***** Case#: XXXXXXXX Ms ***** was provided written notice in December, 2013 when the account was assigned that the account was subject to credit reporting. Further, I spoke with Ms ***** on December 20, 2013 and explained our firms credit reporting policy - accounts must be paid within 60 days or they are reported to the credit reporting agencies as a collection. The account remained unpaid when the grace period lapsed and therefore was reported to the credit reporting agencies approximately February 12, 2014. Ms ***** contacted our agency on February 26, 2014, paid the charges and requested we remove the account from her credit report. As a courtesy I agreed to delete the account on our next credit reporting cycle in March, 2014. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. ************* Manager P.S.C., Inc. Respectfully, Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I talked to Ms. ********** and told her that I was a victim of the car accident and that I am undergoing a process through insurance paid by the other party who was the root cause of the accident. I was hoping that she would give me consideration for this since there is always an exception to every rule. I know that she could have extended the grace period since this was involving insurance car companies and not just by me and my negligence of paying bills. I am a Manager myself and I know she could have had the power to do it if she wanted to. My credit score now is Fair compared to being Excellent a few weeks ago. I would like to request that I will wait for her report to be turned in before we close the case. I am hoping she would contact the credit report agencies and have my name cleared from this. I am buying a new house in a few months and having a FAIR rating on my credit report does not help me at all. Please do not close this case until her report is entered. I have been monitoring my credit report everyday and as of today, no deletion of my sent to collections has been made.

2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contacted them concerning my account in July 2013. Stated I could pay $100/month I would submit payment the 5th and 20th of each month. I asked ******** my account manager if that was ok and she agreed, as I only work 16-24 hours per week. Then requested that I not have any phone calls at work as I could lose my job. She then became more demanding that I sign a payment agreement, that had it not been a form stating that if I missed a payment for any reason they would sue me for full payment. She later phoned my employer anyway, which is a clear violation of Federal Collection Laws. I then received a letter from their attorney stating that if I did not respond to the letter within 30 days they were going to sue me. I received the letter two weeks after the date on the letter and phoned the attorney stating that I intended to reply, but I had just received it and they attorney's office stated that I needed to call them. Why if they turned it over to an attorney would I have to call them? Well not only did I send the attorney my response, but also them. I have only missed one payment and that was in error since July and have always sent them a check on the 5th and the 20th of each month as agreed upon. I have spoke to other collection companies that I am paying as well and told them what they have said and done and they have stated that what they are doing and how they are doing it violates the law and they too are medical collections as well and they should know the laws pertaining to this as well. I have since contacted an attorney to speak on my behalf. When I asked if I could pay the balance in full with a credit card they said no and basally refused my payment in full.

Desired Settlement: I am not seeking any settlement as in money, but would like to continue making the payment that I set up on what was agreed too back in July without further threats of suing me, garnishing my wages, or phoning my employer. Threats are against the Federal Collection Laws as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/01/17) */ January 14, 2014 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Dr STE 222 Dupont, WA 98327 Re: ************ Case #********* ******** has retained an attorney regarding her complaint. Presently our attorneys have communicated and working towards a mutually agreeable resolution. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************. Respectfully, ************* Manager P.S.C., Inc.

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After completing 28 days of substance abuse treatment I contacted Puget sound collections to get a payment plan in order. I had just started a new job so had to wait 30 days to send first payment. When I called the lady I spoke to started asking me if I was doing the right thing and not using at first I didn't think anything of it but after several other call she was very rude. I called back when I had the money to pay and she told me it was to late that I had to pay full amount because her offer expired. I've tried to do all the right things and get this account paid off, however I feel like the customer service agent doesn't want to help. I feel as though I'm being discriminated on because I went through treatment.

Desired Settlement: I want to be given the same circumstances as given to me before. I would like to make payments to get this account cleared up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2013/11/18) */ *** ******' unpaid court infraction from ****** **** ********* ***** was assigned to our agency for collection in August 2012. Prior to our transcribing his citation into a judgment, agents spoke with *** ****** in October 2012; January 203; August 2013, and September 9, 2013. In each conversation with our office we provided specific information on what is required for a payment plan in order to adjudicate his court infraction. In late October, we confirmed he was gainfully employees for over 45 years and the court infraction was transcribed into Pierce Court Superior Court Case #XX-X-XXXXX-X On November 4, 2013. *** ****** contacted our office in November 5, 2013 and inquired again on a payment plan for adjudication. He was informed that since he failed to follow up or remit his down payment timely judgment was entered and adjudication will only be issued once the fine/FTA amount due the Court is paid in full. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Respectfully, ************ Manager P.S.C, Inc.

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/8/13 I contacted ******** at Puget Sound Collections and requested that accounts XXXXXXX,XXXXXXX,XXXXXXX,XXXXXXX,XXXXXXX,XXXXXXX, and XXXXXXX be removed from all 3 credit bureaus. She then said that she could not remove the accounts because the Fair Credit Reporting Act would not let them. That statement is actually in violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 7 accounts listed above removed from the 3 credit bureaus.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 7, 2013/05/07) */ April 24, 2013 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Dr., Ste 222 Dupont, WA 98327 Re: ********* ****** Case # ******** As a data furnisher to the credit reporting bureaus, we are required to report accurate information. We do not exchange or barter payment for the agreement to delete valid collection accounts in order to improve a consumer’s credit rating. Our reporting correctly ensures an accurate portrayal of the consumer’s credit history. Our agency provides a generous grace period of 60 days from assignment prior to reporting any credit bureau. The accounts that were reported to the bureaus were paid well after the grace period expired. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************. Respectfully, Mrs. ********** Manager P.S.C., Inc. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/07/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I made the statement that I knew someone who had items removed from their credit file it was not from another company it was from their company. If I didn't think it was going to be removed after it was paid I had no incentive to pay. Why pay if its not removed cause its going to affect my credit paid or not. Even if it says paid off it still affects your credit. The companies that I talked to and did decide to remove items from my credit that were paid collections said it was up to the company that I was paying if they wanted to remove the item or not. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/06/27) */ April 24, 2013 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Dr., Ste 222 Dupont, WA 98327 Re: ********* ****** Case # ******** In response to Ms ******s rebuttal: Generally a paid collection will improve a consumer’s credit score. That stated, each credit reporting/scoring company will have their own algorithms with respect to determining a score. Factoring in whether a consumer paid a collection will often be weighed by the actual credit grantor in determining whether to extend credit to an individual. The statement that she knows other people who have had collections removed from their credit history is irrelevant. We have no control over other company’s policies, procedures and their compliance as data furnishers with the credit bureaus. Our agency is a certified agency with a Professional Practices Management System (PPMS) designation through the American Collectors Association. This certification requires compliance of state/federal laws. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ************. Respectfully, Mrs. ********** Manager P.S.C., Inc.

7/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having paid ********* ****** ******* over $800 out of pocket and receiving another $12,436 from our insurance they sent my account to Puget Sound Collections. The collection agency added an additional amount over $350 for fees and interest. At the time of the collection this was reporting on my account only. I then called the collection agency to make payment arrangements. The collection agency said they would not make any payment arrangements with me until I sent them paystubs or tax return information. I informed them that I was a full time student and was not working. They then demanded (I say demanded because they were not friendly) that I send them my husbands financial information. I told them that I did not feel comfortable sharing that with them and so they refused to make the arrangements. Months later they started reporting the collection on my husbands credit report. I was the patient on the account and the responsible party. My husbands name did not appear on the original documents. His name was only on the insurance card that I used. I asked for proof that they were able to report this collection on his file and they sent me a Multicare detailed statement. I have included this in the attachments. This document does not have my husbands name, ****** *******, included on any pages. Further disputes and requests for documentation have gone unanswered. I do not think this company possesses any of the required documentation to report on my husbands file and that this collection should be removed from his report immediately. These disputes and requests for documentation have been going on for nearly 1 year. I have included the letter to Puget Sound Collections requesting the original documentation and the document they provided as proof (Mutlicare statement without ****** ********* name)

Desired Settlement: This is not a refusal to pay the debt. Resolution of this complaint will involve a complete removal of this account from my husbands (****** ** *******) credit report.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 5, 2013/07/03) */ On June 20, 2013 **** ******* emailed our office a copy of her complaint made to both to the Better Business Bureau and the Attorney General of Washington. I have attached and highlighted a copy of the email response I made to her complaint upon receipt. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at **********. Respectfully, *** ********** Manager P.S.C., Inc. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 7, 2013/07/03) */ ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

4/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service