BBB Accredited Business since

Columbia Credits Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 296-2104 Fax: (541) 296-6148 View Additional Phone Numbers 400 W 3rd St, The Dalles, OR 97058 http://www.columbiacredits.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a collection agency.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbia Credits Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Columbia Credits Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Columbia Credits Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 07/28/1969 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Gillette, President Mrs. Patricia Gillette, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Gillette, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Judgment Recovery Collection Agencies (NAICS: 561440)

Alternate Business Names
Account Recovery Services Receivable Service Company

Additional Locations

  • 400 W 3rd St

    The Dalles, OR 97058 (541) 296-2104 (888) 296-2104 (541) 296-2105 (541) 296-2133 (541) 298-1407 (541) 298-1458 (541) 298-1572 (541) 296-1825

  • PO Box 1607

    The Dalles, OR 97058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Columbia credit is attempting to damage my credit by putting a bill on my credit report that is not mine but my sons. I was in contact by mail and by phone with ***** ******** president of Columbia credit about this matter and have a witness of him acknowledging to me and another witness on conference call that it was my sons bill and my son had called and agreed to pay bill to them from his bank account last month but he has dinged my credit anyways. I have filed a complaint with oregon department of justice an I am now in contact with a attourney

Desired Settlement: I want my credit restored

Business Response: I received your letter of complaint based on the accusations from the above mentioned consumer. Due to the regulations that govern the activities of third party collectors, specifically those that protect the privacy of the consumer, I can address this issue only in generalities. I hope that will prove to be sufficient.

Columbia Credits, Inc. is a third party debt collection agency that has been in continuous operation since 1952. In our 63 year history we have never been found in violation of any state or federal law or regulation that governs the activities of our industry. Columbia Credits, Inc. is a member of the American Collectors Association as well as the local unit of ACA, the Oregon Collectors Association, for which I had the honor of serving as President twice. I have also served on the legislative committee for Oregon Collectors Association and held numerous other positions in the organization.

My intention here is not to give you a resume; it is to demonstrate that Columbia Credits, Inc. is an established organization with a long history of honest, reputable dealings with both our clients who refer accounts to us to collect on their behalf, as well as the consumers from which we collect from. Every letter used in our collection effort is first screened for compliance with federal and state laws before it is made available for collectors to send to consumers. Our practices are also reviewed to insure that they are in statutory compliance before being put into place. This is especially true when it comes to placing derogatory information on a consumer's credit report. No listing is ever knowingly forwarded to the national Credit Reporting Bureaus without a statutory authority permitting us to do so.




If a consumer believes that a derogatory item has been wrongfully reported, I am more than willing to investigate the issue, and take whatever corrective actions that are necessary, and I did so in this case. We pride ourselves in our compliance record; if we are doing something incorrectly, I want to know so I can remedy the situation immediately. Unfortunately, I have no control over what happens once the information is transmitted to the bureaus. It is not at all unusual for information reported by us to the Credit Reporting Bureaus to be placed in the wrong consumer's credit file when they share a like or identical name such as in the case of a Junior/Senior. This is especially true when they have shared the same address in the past. If that were the case, we would have no way of knowing unless the consumer contacted us, as we were in this case. I have reviewed the matter in depth by confirming identifying information with the original creditor and reviewed our data for completeness and accuracy. I can say with confidence the data given to me by the complainant for verification purposes is not, nor has ever been, mixed with that of any consumers in our system. We did not willingly, knowingly or maliciously transmit false data regarding the complainant to any of the credit reporting agencies as the complainant suggests. Why would we? What possible benefit would there be to do so?

If I can be of any further assistance in this matter please feel free to give me a call. My toll free number is ************.

6/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Columbia Credits opened a claim against me (#XXXXXX) on behalf of Domino'w Pizza in West Richland for a check with insufficient funds in the amount of $58. This is now on all three of my Credit Bureau reports and lowered my credit rating by approximately 70 points to 745. I have excellent credit and owe no over due debits. I spoke with *** at Columbia Credits yesterday and she told me the check was a temporary check issued to a *** ****** by Washington Trust Bank and had an address listed on the check that I never lived at. I have never had an account with Washington Trust Bank. All of this should have been easily verifiable before they made a claim based on a "Skip Checking" program and hurt my credit rating. Now I have to work with all three Credit Bureaus to get this erroneous claim off of my record. It is inconceivable that incorrect information can be so easily attached to a person's credit rating without any accountability or effort to ensure data accuracy.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology for this unprofessional behavior and assurance this error is corrected on my account. I want this apology in writing - email is fine. My email address is *****@gmail.com I would ask that Columbia Credit also verifies with all three Credit Bureaus that this error has been corrected.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, ****/06/03) */ Case ID XXXXXXXX To whom it may concern: The situation described in the consumer's complaint is unfortunate and we apologize for any inconvenience that this matter has caused. We do everything within our power to be sure that data we use is accurate and that we are directing our efforts to the right party. Erroneous connections are rare and as in this case, they generally involve individuals with like names that reside within the same geographic area. The consumer making this complaint called our office on Thursday, May 16, **** at 5:07 PM. He was told at that time that we would immediately re-verify our data and alert the national credit bureaus to any appropriate changes, which is what happened. The following day the consumer filed this complaint. My information indicates that all references of the described debt was off of the consumer's credit report by the close of business on May 21, ****. Columbia Credits has policies and procedures in place to cover the proper collection and use of data. Our collectors are highly trained credit and collection professionals who have many years of experience in the industry. My investigation into this matter did not uncover any un-professional behavior exhibited by the collector involved as is suggested in the complaint. Interviews with the collector and another coworker that overheard the consumer's initial call indicate that the collector was polite, conciliatory and apologetic for the consumer's plight. She promised that the matter would be investigated and necessary corrective action taken and she followed through with that promise. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 9, ****/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response even though it sounds more like a script to some promotion rather than an apology. I agree that the collector I spoke with was "polite, conciliatory and apologetic" as stated about - and I thanked her for her demeanor. However, I was never contacted by the agency regarding their assumption that this was my debt. The letter they sent to my lake cabin address came back undelivered and they did not try my home address which I have had for the last 23 years. A simple Google search would provide anyone verification that I did not live at the address on the check returned to Domino's Pizza for insufficient funds - but that simple verification was not performed and they filed a false report of debt to all three credit agencies that impacted my score by approximately 70 points. This would have remained unknown to me if I had not bought a new car and applied for a loan - not the time you want to find out your credit score is lower than it should be! Again, I accept the response but the manager that wrote this could take a lesson in apologies from the collector that made the error - she was truly sorry - the manager just made an indignant sales pitch, not an apology.

3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues