BBB Accredited Business since

Audit & Adjustment Company Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 776-9797 Fax: (425) 776-5454 View Additional Phone Numbers 20700 44th Ave W Ste 100, Lynnwood, WA 98036 http://www.audit-adjustment.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt collection services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Audit & Adjustment Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Audit & Adjustment Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 14
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Audit & Adjustment Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 16, 1997 Business started: 02/01/1997 Business started locally: 02/01/1997 Business incorporated: 10/25/1996 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. D W Quigley, President Mr. David Fagan, Collection Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Fagan, Collection Manager
Principal: Mr. D W Quigley, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday 8am - 5:30pm
Friday 8am - 1pm
Alternate Business Names
Evergreen Billing Specialists

Additional Locations

  • 20700 44th Ave W Ste 100

    Lynnwood, WA 98036 (800) 526-1074 (425) 776-9797 (206) 230-5656 (425) 608-4876

  • PO Box 1959

    Lynnwood, WA 98046

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (206) 230-5656(Phone)
  • (425) 608-4876(Phone)
  • (800) 526-1074(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been receiving calls from Audit and Adjustment Inc every day since January 2014. Sometimes at my job and sometimes on my cell phone. I have told the person on the other end that I am deaf and to mail me documentation. On October 15th I've received a 48 hour notice from the company buy not a notice or copy of invoice.

Desired Settlement: The right to receive a copy of my invoice plus talk to someone I can understand who can help me set up payment arrangements.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ Due to state and federal law, before I can even acknowledge that Audit & Adjustment has an account on any consumer the attached form needs to be filled out and returned to us.

12/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In november i paided off account XXXXXXX . .. for a total. of 450.14.. paided in full.. The company did assist me in providing with the payment a reciept and letter of paided in full, in which i was tolded to mail to ******* which was reporting this as a unpaided collection. I have done that, in which ******** has tolded me that they could not updated until another confirmation comes electronically from audit and adjustment....I called mr ***** ***** in which he was polite and stated that they had not recieved anything from ******* in that nature.. i ask him to call their business office .. he stated he did, but left a number for them to call him back.. On dec i called *******, and they stated they have not recieved any answered requested by them to show this updated information..I am asking you to please assist me in getting this company to get this reported correctly and updated with ******* asap.. I am in the process of buying a home and i need this information to be updated with them..******* stated if my ***** would try and called them again via their business number they would do exactly that.. any assistance would be appreciated..the bus number is XXX XXX XXXX in which i gave to mr *****.. thank you very much ****** ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) TO GET THIS UPDATED PAIDED IN FULL, BY CALLING******** AND VERIFYING THIS INFORMATION TO******** AND DELETED..ASAP!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/04) */ Due to state and federal law the attached form needs to be completed by the consumer before I can acknowledge a relationship with the consumer. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Audit and Adjustment has contacted me multiple times since January 2014. I have requested a copy of any bill that they claim I owe in order to review and verify my debt. If verified I have explained to Audit and Adjustments that I would happily make payment arrangements. Because of known US Mail issues at my apartment I have requested a certified letter so that we can both guarantee my receipt of any outstanding debt invoices so that they can be reviewed and payment arrangements made. This request is being denied. When asked for specifics I have been told to call my insurance company, when asked for that contact info from the debt collection agency it has been denied. I have made one attempt to start payment arrangements previously and prior to receiving any proof of bills owed on January 14th, 2014. This payment attempt was denied by Audit and Adjustment. Audit and Adjustment has called repeatedly and I have repeatedly expressed my desire to pay once I have received proof of debt owed. Nothing has ever been received by their company or the original biller to my address which they have on file and has been confirmed as correct.

Desired Settlement: A certified letter containing itemized bills for any debt owed. A payment arrangement to be made once an itemized bill has been received. Customer service and supervisors to not harass and accuse me of arguing when I express my desire to pay only once I receive proof of bill(s) owed which they have been unable to deliver upon.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/03) */ Please have consumer fill out attached form and return it to the Better Business Bureau to forward to us. We will review and respond if appropriate.

8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was reviewing my credit report because my bank stated that I had an item in collection. Upon review, I saw that Audit and Adjustment had place me in collection for $185 that was paid in July 2013. Since it was paid, I asked them to remove the item from my credit report and they refused quoting policy and Fair Reporting Act. I checked the FRA and they could remove the item. I spoke with ****** ***** and to **** ***** -Director of Collection - all refused to have this item removed from my credit report.

Desired Settlement: Please remove the collection item for $185 from my credit report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ In order for us to acknowledge and reply consumers are required to sign and return the attached disclosure authorization form. Please forward this to the complainant. Sincerely, ***PLEASE SEE ATTACHED DOCS ONLINE***

4/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, My name is **** ***** (account number VXXXXXXXX via: ******* ********* My account was recently handed over to Audit Adjustments collection agency by ******* ********* My account was paid down to $450.74 as of 2-26-14 that I owe to ******* ********* I now owe the collection agency 681.00 total. They added their own fees on top of the debt that I already owe ******* ******** without my acknowledgement and agreement to do so. I have a copy of the last billing statement from 10-30-13 stating that the balance needs to be paid in full by 12-31-13. The statement does not say anywhere that I will be responsible for any collection fees by the collector. On 2-28-14 I called ***** ******* of Audit Adjustments company and explained to him that I was making $50.00 dollar monthly payments to ******* ******** directly. I have never missed a payment to them and to my surprise my account was handed over to his collection agency. I explained to him that I am not disputing the correct amount I owe to Cascade hospital but rather the unexplained amount that I owe to Audit Adjustments company with the add on extra charges. ***** was very adamant about what I owed and would not compromise the amount due. According to ******* ******** I owe $450.74 which I agree with. ***** raised his voice and threatened me to come down to his personal office so we could handle this matter personally. I told him several times to stop raising his voice and he would continue. ***** also said that ******* ******** still owns my account as to what I owe them and Audit Adjustments does not own my amount do. I do not understand how I could owe one amount to Audit Adjustments and another amount to **************** which they still own my account. How can Audit Adjustments add on fees without me knowing about it????

Desired Settlement: I want to pay off the $450.74 that I owe to **************** and not the $681.58 that Audit Adjustments Company is saying I do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ Please have the consumer fill out and return the attached form. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Disclosure Authorization Form for Better Business Bureau Complaint I, **** ***** , expressly authorize Audit & Adjustment Co., Inc. (Audit) to communicate directly with Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon, and Western Washington (BBB) on all matters relating to the items as specific in the complaint I filed, including matters relating to any debts I am alleged to owe. I also authorize BBB to release the complaint form and all supporting documents to Audit. I acknowledge that the alleged debts as well as my complaint may involve my private medical and / or financial information, and in order to resolve my complaint it may be necessary for Audit to communicate that information to BBB. Therefore, I authorize the release of such medical and / or financial information by both BBB and Audit as may be necessary to review and resolve my complaint. I recognize that without this signed Disclosure Authorization Form, my complaint will be closed as an invalid complaint. ____**** *****__________________________________ Consumer signature Date 3-11-14 Print name: _**** *****__________________________ BBB Case Number:XXXXXXXX

1/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Suing for judgement with incorrect information, charging 20% interest and $200 for an attorney's signature. Original debt $465.55 Judgment filing for $907.47 They have only had this account for 4 months.

Desired Settlement: To allow me to pay my original debt with out their 48.7% mark up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/28) */ Before I can acknowledge a business relationship with this consumer I need the attached disclosure authorization form completed and returned. Our fax number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no need to give my personal information when responding to this matter, you know who I am and are just looking to avoid facing the fact that you rip people off. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/30) */ Unfortunately, to protect the consumer and ourselves we will need the consumer to complete and return the form. Once we have that form we would be happy respond to her complaint.

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Attempts were made to collect a debt as late as 01142014 when Audit & Adjustment was aware since October 4, 2013, that a ******** assignment had been made and account was overpaid to a point that the biller has to repay ******** for overpayment. On 4 seperate occassions from September 2013 to January 2014, I advised Audit and Adjustment of their error and they continued to claim their was an outstanding balance and I was continually haraassed by phone calls and letters after pleading for them to cease and desist.

Desired Settlement: A formal letter of apology and a document stating the account had a 0 balance effective October 4, 2013.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ Please have consumer fill out and complete attached DAF.

6/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This started over a year ago when I had 2 separate amounts due in this office. I had to take of one first then the other. I began paying on the one based on our agreed amount. I called and paid them each month until it was paid off (earlier this year). After a month or so I get a call from Ms. ***** ******* and she is mad that I did not call them and set up payments on the second amount. I told her that I had forgotten about that second amount ($1250.49) and so I asked if I could arrange a payment like I did before and pay it off she said no she could only divide it into 3 payments of $415 a month that was the only option. I told that amount was going to be tough to come up with each month. She said"Go borrow it from someone". Then she said that if I don't pay the amount to these terms her attorney's will file suit including the cost of the court and attorney. I told that I can't do that amount but I could $150 a month. She said you have 48 hours or this will go to court. I figured out a way to pay the first amount of $415.85 on May 3rd. I was working on the second amount in June when I was notified by my employer that June 7th was my last day. I lost my job due to a merger of my company and another that had happened earlier this year. I have applied for Unemployment and that process takes at least 2 weeks to get a paycheck. I am calling all my creditors and letting them know what is going on and all of them are working with me except Audit & Adjustment. When I spoke to them this morning they said that they could only take the remaining amount $800 and some change and divide it into 4 payments. I asked if I could do $75 for a couple months so I could have time to find a job and they said 4 payments is all they could do. I have every intention of paying this amount and I have a track record with Audit & Adjustment of making good on my debts.

Desired Settlement: I am asking if I could do $75 a month for June and July and then go back to the 3 payments of what is left. If I have the ability to come up with more money I will but this is the best I can do for now.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/20) */ We appreciate you informing us of this consumers concerns. Let Mr. ****** know he can contact me directly, ***** *****, Director of Collections of Compliance and I will try and accomodate his needs to get this resolved. My direct line is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I will do my best to get him the arrangement he needs to make this work for both parties. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/06/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I spoke with ***** ***** this morning and we have come to an agreement that is acceptable to me and to his client. Thank you BBB for helping me get this resolved. ******

5/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an invoice from ******** ******* ****** for a visit I had at ******* ****** **** ****** on 6/22/13. I paid that invoice sending in a $75.00 check along with the payment portion stating the amount of the invoice, and the account number. Apparently ******** ******* applied it to the wrong invoice and then sent the invoice I had paid to this collection agency. I supplied the collection agency the proof of payment however they are still trying to collect from me even though I am disputing this debt with ********* I sent ******** a request for a accounting ledger for my payments and I sent a copy of that letter with my proof of payment to Audit & Adjustments so they could see that I was disputing the charges since they had been paid, they however continue to send me letters a threatening additional action if not paid. I do not want to pay twice because I will never get my money back from this collection agency if I pay them something that has already been paid.

Desired Settlement: I would like this to be taken out of collection and a reversal of any adverse action on my credit report with a statement stating this from the collection agency.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/03) */ We are researching the consumers complaint and verifying with the original creditor the correct balance of the account. This account is not eligible to report to any credit bureaus so this will not affect the consumers credit. If the consumer has any questions in the interim he can contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** Sincerely, ***** ***** Director of Collections and Compliance

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Delays in responses have resulted in increased fees. Unwillingness to resolve issues have resulted in increased fees.

Desired Settlement: Additional fees removed and a reasonable payment solution.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/17) */ Thank you for your communication informing us of the concerns of the consumer. We have been working with this consumer to get her past due debt resolved for over a year. We have been unable to come to an agreement as to how she will repay her past due outstanding debt to our client. Because she was unwilling to pay at a rate that was agreeable to us and at no time has she sent any payment to pay down the debt, we filed a law suit in district court and have been a awarded a judgment. We have begun the process to attempt to file a wage garnishment. I have offered the consumer Mrs. **** a solution to get qualified for partial payments. She has just supplied that information and we will evaluate the information and if she qualifies for payments based on this information I will consider setting her on a temporary payment plan for 90 days and then reevaluate her situation then to see if she has become employed and can either pay off the debt or possibly increase her payments. We would not be willing to reduce any fees unless she would be in a position to pay a lump sum settlement in full at one time. It is unfortunate that her insurance company didn't cover the procedure. The medical provider did inform her that she would be responsible for the debt at the time of service if her insurance didn't pay and if she immediately set up a payment plan with the hospital when her insurance company denied the claim and made payments while she appealed the denial we would be in this situation. We will asses her situation and be in touch with the consumer regarding her request for a hardship extension in the next 5 business days. Thank you for your assistance. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/05/07) */ At no time did Audit & Adjustment Company give me any information on sending in my income status to them, they did not return my calls and gave me absolutely no information but a business card when I went to court. When they informed me that I should send in my income information, ***** ***** told me over the phone that if my husband was not employed fulltime that they would not garnish his wages. My husband is only working 24 hours a week and I am unemployed. My husband is receiving partial unemployment through his work. I sent Audit and Adjustment that information via fax, and the next Wednesday, April 24th, his check was garnished. Obviously ***** ***** was simply placating me to get me off the phone when I Talked to him on April 16th. Audit and Adjustment Company is unethical and unresponsive. In regards to not sending them payments, I was given two options, to pay in full or in 3rds, I could not do either, therefore my assumption was they were not willing to accept anything else, in fact that is what they told me. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/05/07) */ After evaluating the income information provided by the consumer and consulting our attorney the consumer did not qualify for a hardship extension and we commenced with the garnishment. I did not represent anything other than that in my communication with Mrs. ****. The garnishment will continue unless the ***** can pay off the account or pay at rate that is agreeable to us. I realize this does not meet the consumers wishes or desired resolution, however we have to act in the best interest of our client and that does not always coincide with the wishes of the consumer unfortunately. The consumer is free to contact me if they want to discuss any other possible resolutions that fall within our payment guidelines.

4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have tried twice to pay our daughters bill once by setting on payment arragements which I was told they could not accept by the Manager. 2nd We called today to pay in full after offered a 20% disc but then was told they needed to add 12% back on due to state law.. After was turned over the manager they would not accept the payment due to it was not our daughter calling in. Our daughter is 19 just started working she lives in OUR HOME and is on OUR INSURNACE we were not asking any information about her visit just wanted to pay and was turned down.. It is amazing to me that they can send her to collections but will not allow us to pay.

Desired Settlement: it's pretty simple do not argue with us until the point we hang up on them and take our payment. I can not understand in all my years in Corp Collections why this small company feels it is ok to harrass their customer to the point the stop wanting to pay. I will no longer do business Valley Medical Center due to Audit & Adjustment Co.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/15) */ This consumer called about a debt the was owed by their daughter who is over the age of 18 and protected by both federal and state law in regards to privacy. We did not have record of authorization from their daughter to discuss her information with them and they would not or could not understand this. Their insistence in discussing the matter to the point of arguing rather than just having their daughter call and give us permission to discuss the matter with them would have been a much preferred and more pleasurable experience for both parties. After Mr. ****** hung up on me when he didn't agree with my explanation as to why I couldn't discuss the matter with him until I had permission from his daughter, in spite of the fact that he paid for his daughters health insurance, he called my office again and convinced one of my agents to discuss the matter with him and he paid his daughters debt at a 20% discount. We feel we owe to the public to comply with all privacy laws and I am sorry if that interferes with the ******'s idea of how a business in our industry should conduct matters. Sincerely, ****** ******, Collection Manager

4/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This collection agency called harassing me stating I have an outstanding balance but yet, they cannot give me the details of the balance. Per my Insurance Company's EOB, the balance for the DOS the Collection Agency is referring to is $0 as per the Doctors office too for that particular date of service.

Desired Settlement: Either give me sufficient information so I can get to the bottom of this as who sent me to the collections agency and I need proof of the balance owed because as far as of now it sounds like this Collection Agency is a fraud company.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ******. ****** Collection Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 201 Contact Email: *****@audit-adjustment.com I looked up the consumers account today and it appears she has contacted the original creditor Auburn Regional Medial Group. They have informed us this account was assigned to collection in error and the account has been cancelled from collection. This account has not affected the consumers credit in any way and the matter is closed. Please don't hesitate to contact my office should you have any questions.

9/4/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues