BBB Accredited Business since

Mimi's Kids

Phone: (360) 651-6255 1332 State Ave, Marysville, WA 98270 http://www.mimiskidsclothing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers consignment and resale of used children's clothing, toys, furniture and books.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mimi's Kids meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mimi's Kids include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mimi's Kids
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2011 Business started: 08/01/2005 Business started locally: 08/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Patricia Silver, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patricia Silver, Owner
Business Category

Clothes - Consignment & Resale Consignment Service Consignment Service - Furniture Furniture - Childrens Baby Accessories & Services Baby Carriages & Strollers Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers Books - Used & Rare Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail

Hours of Operation
Monday
10:00am - 5:00pm

Tuesday - Saturday
9:00am - 5:00pm

Sunday
11:00am - 5:00pm

Additional Locations

  • 1332 State Ave

    Marysville, WA 98270 (360) 651-6255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mimi;s Kids owner sold me a slide rail crib that is banned and recalled and responsible for the death of 30 babies in the last year. They refused to provide a full refund and offered a %15 store credit if I returned the crib to the store. The owner recalled selling me the crib and assisted me in putting it together and demonstrated the slide rail feature. When I went to the store and showed her a photo of the crib she said she hasn't sold any slide rail cribs in a year. After I reminder=d her that she assisted me with the crib, she recalled. She still only offered a store credit of $15. I am concerned that she will conttinue to sell products that put babies at risk.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund sent to my home in the amount of $39.00 I would like the store to be held accountable for ensuring they do not sell dangerous and banned items

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/02) */ To Whom It May Concern: On Saturday, September 7th, 2013, sometime between 11:00am and 12:00pm a customer came in said she wanted to show me a picture; she said that I had sold her a slide rail crib. I told her that we do not sell slide rail cribs. She then showed me a picture of a porta-crib, which is a smaller than normal size crib. At that time, I did remember selling her the item, but it had been quite some time ago. When I sold her the item I specifically explained to her that the item had just come in to the store and I had not looked it up or checked it out for any recalls on the item. She was insistent on purchasing the item that it was just what she was looking for. I told her that I could sell her the item as is and that she would have 7 days to exchange it, as our return policy posted at our register clearly states that we offer a 7 day exchange only with the original tags attached along with the receipt. I had made it very clear that I had not looked the item up, as we do not have Internet access at the business site. Recalls weren't even discussed on the item to my memory. The item wasn't even priced because of the fact that it hadn't been looked up yet. I did put a tag on the item for what I remember pricing it as $29.99 in case she needed to exchange it within those 7 days as she was purchasing for her grandson to use at her house, but wanted her daughter to like it as well. So after seeing the picture and the time of the purchase of the item came back to me, I asked if she had the item with her and I would be willing to give her a $15 credit to use in the store and I would dispose of the porta-crib. I apologized several times for the miscommunication and also reminded her that I was not aware of the recall on this item. She did not want a credit back in to the store, so I then told her that I could give her $15 in cash. She did not have the item with her and said that she would be back later. As she walked out the door she said, "you haven't heard the last of me, I will be reporting you, and you'll be sorry." She never returned back to the store that day. I informed her that we would be open until 5:00pm that day. On September 7th, 2013, the customer sent an email with a picture of the item through our website. I did not see this email until September 12th as I do not check the account regularly, as it isn't generally used for anything. I did email her back and again apologized for the miscommunication as I thought she was coming right back that day (Sept. 7th) to get a refund for her item. I am including the emails that were sent back and forth as supporting documents. They do include names however. I wish to resolve this issue as soon as possible. I have tried to refund the customer and she has refused to bring the item back for me to refund her and to get rid of the item. We are a second hand store and no one helps with informing us of the constant recalls. We do the best that we can and we are only human so sometimes things are missed. In 8 years we have never had an issue. I have apologized numerous times to this customer and I would just like to have this resolved. I am willing to send the refund to her, even though it is well over our return policy, and I am not going to be selling cribs of any kind again. There are just too many recalls to keep up with and even on the new stationary cribs there are many recalls out on them. If you have any other questions please give me a call on my cell phone at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***