This business is not BBB accredited.

Walker Flooring and Interiors Inc

Phone: (360) 733-6390 2425 E Bakerview Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.carpetonebellingham.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of floor coverings including carpets, hardwoods, laminates, tiles and vinyls.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Walker Flooring and Interiors Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Walker Flooring and Interiors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Walker Flooring and Interiors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Walker, President Ms. Stefanie Medawar, Controller Mr. Brent Walker, Secretary/Treasurer Ms. Heather Walker
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Stefanie Medawar, Controller
Principal: Mr. Scott Walker, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Window Coverings Carpet Layers

Alternate Business Names
Walker Flooring & Interiors Inc Walkers Carpet One Floor & Home Walkers Carpet One Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2425 E Bakerview Rd

    Bellingham, WA 98226 (360) 733-6390

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was doing a bathroom remodel and went with Walkers as I had done my Kitchen/Dining Room remodel with them prior and was very pleased with their work and the customer service I obtained. I ended up dealing with 4 different people (3 of them ended up leaving Walkers). The final person was new. She was out at my house with three contractors or employees of Walkers at three different times. The one that was available was a sub-contractor hired by Walkers. They did a wonderful job, I have no complaints with them. The project was over $6,000. I had many conversations with the employee that was helping me trying to determine a time for them to begin. We set up the time and I took two days off of work. She contacted me and said that they couldn't make it and would pay me for one of the days that missed. That never occured. The owner of the company said that the problem was in the construction with the walls for the shower and that that was the reason they cancelled. He said the sub-contractor decided not to pursue the time that he did not work. None of the 3 other times she was out with other contractors or employees of Walkers was there any mention of the wall of the shower. During the grout installation it appeared that the coloring was not right. Not what I had picked out. I said something to them and had them stop (only two small areas in the bathroom were left). I talked to the employee I was working with and the owner. Their response was that I picked it out and that was my problem. It turns out the grout darkend over time and it looks great. They advertise on the radio "customer guranteed"; however, I was not treated at all like a customer that paid $6,000 to them. The owner also had called me and e-mailed me many times before the project began, ensuring me they wanted this project. Once I finally agreed, he never followed through on his decision to come out to the house to see what was going on. I will never go back and I am telling everyone I meet about my experience.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund of one day's pay that I was told I would get. I think that is reasonable for the way that I was treated and for working with someone so inexperienced that a time could not even be set weeks in advance.

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Walker's Carpet One to remove an existing outdoor carpet and install tile on a deck above our enclosed hot tub room. We began this process because the existing carpet was beginning to leak slightly around the two drains, bringing water down into this enclosed area. Walkers began this job in the July 2011 and it is now leaking far worse than ever before. This has been a problem since we began this project early in July 2011. They have been slow in communicating throughout the process, usually taking a few weeks or more to get a response back. Now, they are not answering my calls or emails at all. At the beginning, we were told this job could be completed by the end of July or mid August (2011). Due to their slow response time, they would not start until mid September, during a time we were gone on vacation so we were not around during the installation. The tile looked nice but the deck continued to leak, and not just from the drains, but all over. Additionally, the grout seemed to be covered with what looked like calcified mold. After much communication, they did come back late in the summer of 2012 and replace the whole decking due to incorrectly mixed grout that was allowing water to seep down through the grout and under the tiles. Again, it looked nice but since the original drains were used again, it continued to leak throughout the next winter. Again the grout is doing the same thing with this horrible calcified mold. In spring of 2013, I contacted them again about the leaking drains and grout issue. (They did send people over on two different occasions to clean the grout, and both times, they worked for a few hours and went back saying this was very difficult, requiring a lot of scraping. In the end, only a small percentage of this calcification was removed.) They had 2 people (one plumber and one contractor) come look at the drains, and both told us that the drains were not the type to be used for this application and needed to be replaced with the correct type. When Walker's sent someone to fix the drains again, they removed the old drains and replaced them with the exact same drain type as were used before. The drains are now leaking worse than they have ever leaked. It might as well be raining down through the drains. The grout still looks horrible and I presume will get worse this winter. As it stands now, I have sent numerous emails and called and left messages for both the contact person we have been working with and directly to the owner. The last response I got from Walker's was in early September, saying that the problem with the grout is due to the hot tub below the deck. When I informed them that the hot tub had not been filled all year due to the deck leaks so could not be the problem, I got no response. I have emailed them on numerous occasions, even attaching a YouTube video of the magnitude of the leak and have not received any reply back. I am very frustrated as I have now lost 2 full summers of use on my deck and incurred damage to the decking in the hot tub area below. I feel as though I have been very patient, but when I have not gotten any replies back from them now in 2 months, I believe they are no longer interested in standing behind their workmanship. I have paid close to $5000 for this job and now it is worse than ever. I would never do business with the company again, which is sad because they have done 2 previous jobs for me. The link to the YouTube video showing the leak is as follows: ***************************

Desired Settlement: Ultimately, I would like to have these problems fixed. I believe that this will involve having these leaking drains removed and the correct type installed. This would probably mean relying on a qualified plumber to identify the type of drain required. Once that is done, the tile around the drain would need to be installed and all sealed. I also believe that the grout needs to be removed and a type installed that does not end up having this calcification "grow" on it each year. If Walker's cannot do this job as originally promised, I would expect that they would pay for this work to be done by someone that can do it properly. I would also consider a full refund of the money already paid, almost $5000. My concern with this option however, is that it might cost even more if this entire surface needed to be removed in order for the repair to be completed. Additionally, and this does not cover the damage over these 28 months of leaking drains to the wood decking under the drains in the enclosed hot tub room.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@walkersc1.com An internal investigation within our company, while still incomplete, has revealed that inadequate and untimely communication was a continuing issue with the customers and that corrective measures were not properly completed and evaluated. At this point, no determination has been reached concerning the causes of the problems identified, although it certainly is evident that the condition of the affected areas is quite different than was understood. Our former claims manager has been replaced. Our current claims manager/installation coordinator was advised of the existence of the customers' continuing problems less than one day before the BBB complaint was sent to our company. Our current claims manager and the manager of our commercial division have been in contact with the customers and have agreed to proceed with an initial on-site evaluation as soon as weather conditions permit (above freezing and not raining or snowing). Appropriate remedial action will be determined upon completion of that evaluation and upon the receipt of any other needed information, perhaps including testing of the drainage system and a review of the construction plans for the affected areas. Appropriate corrective measures will be implemented as soon as environmental conditions permit. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/02/19) */ While I do agree with the business's proposed resolution and appreciate their response to this issue, I cannot truly be satisfied with this solution until I see that the work has been completed and these problems are finally resolved. I am hopeful that the work will be done correctly and these two problems are behind us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/02/20) */ We concur with our customer's comments. A proper conclusion will not be achieved until the corrective measures are implemented and prove to be successful. Those corrective measures require that the deck be dry, that rain not be in the forecast for a specific number of days and that temperatures will not fall below minimum permissible levels. We will be monitoring those conditions until they are suitable for the corrective measures to be undertaken.