This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of floor coverings including carpets, hardwoods, laminates, tiles and vinyls.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Walker Flooring and Interiors Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Walker Flooring and Interiors Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1962 Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Walker, President Ms. Stefanie Medawar, Controller Mr. Brent Walker, Secretary/Treasurer Ms. Heather Walker
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Stefanie Medawar, Controller
Principal: Mr. Scott Walker, President
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Window Coverings Carpet Layers

Alternate Business Names
Walker Flooring & Interiors Inc Walkers Carpet One Floor & Home Walkers Carpet One Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2425 E Bakerview Rd

    Bellingham, WA 98226 (360) 733-6390

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Walker's Carpet One to remove an existing outdoor carpet and install tile on a deck above our enclosed hot tub room. We began this process because the existing carpet was beginning to leak slightly around the two drains, bringing water down into this enclosed area. Walkers began this job in the July 2011 and it is now leaking far worse than ever before. This has been a problem since we began this project early in July 2011. They have been slow in communicating throughout the process, usually taking a few weeks or more to get a response back. Now, they are not answering my calls or emails at all. At the beginning, we were told this job could be completed by the end of July or mid August (2011). Due to their slow response time, they would not start until mid September, during a time we were gone on vacation so we were not around during the installation. The tile looked nice but the deck continued to leak, and not just from the drains, but all over. Additionally, the grout seemed to be covered with what looked like calcified mold. After much communication, they did come back late in the summer of 2012 and replace the whole decking due to incorrectly mixed grout that was allowing water to seep down through the grout and under the tiles. Again, it looked nice but since the original drains were used again, it continued to leak throughout the next winter. Again the grout is doing the same thing with this horrible calcified mold. In spring of 2013, I contacted them again about the leaking drains and grout issue. (They did send people over on two different occasions to clean the grout, and both times, they worked for a few hours and went back saying this was very difficult, requiring a lot of scraping. In the end, only a small percentage of this calcification was removed.) They had 2 people (one plumber and one contractor) come look at the drains, and both told us that the drains were not the type to be used for this application and needed to be replaced with the correct type. When Walker's sent someone to fix the drains again, they removed the old drains and replaced them with the exact same drain type as were used before. The drains are now leaking worse than they have ever leaked. It might as well be raining down through the drains. The grout still looks horrible and I presume will get worse this winter. As it stands now, I have sent numerous emails and called and left messages for both the contact person we have been working with and directly to the owner. The last response I got from Walker's was in early September, saying that the problem with the grout is due to the hot tub below the deck. When I informed them that the hot tub had not been filled all year due to the deck leaks so could not be the problem, I got no response. I have emailed them on numerous occasions, even attaching a YouTube video of the magnitude of the leak and have not received any reply back. I am very frustrated as I have now lost 2 full summers of use on my deck and incurred damage to the decking in the hot tub area below. I feel as though I have been very patient, but when I have not gotten any replies back from them now in 2 months, I believe they are no longer interested in standing behind their workmanship. I have paid close to $5000 for this job and now it is worse than ever. I would never do business with the company again, which is sad because they have done 2 previous jobs for me. The link to the YouTube video showing the leak is as follows: ***************************

Desired Settlement: Ultimately, I would like to have these problems fixed. I believe that this will involve having these leaking drains removed and the correct type installed. This would probably mean relying on a qualified plumber to identify the type of drain required. Once that is done, the tile around the drain would need to be installed and all sealed. I also believe that the grout needs to be removed and a type installed that does not end up having this calcification "grow" on it each year. If Walker's cannot do this job as originally promised, I would expect that they would pay for this work to be done by someone that can do it properly. I would also consider a full refund of the money already paid, almost $5000. My concern with this option however, is that it might cost even more if this entire surface needed to be removed in order for the repair to be completed. Additionally, and this does not cover the damage over these 28 months of leaking drains to the wood decking under the drains in the enclosed hot tub room.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@walkersc1.com An internal investigation within our company, while still incomplete, has revealed that inadequate and untimely communication was a continuing issue with the customers and that corrective measures were not properly completed and evaluated. At this point, no determination has been reached concerning the causes of the problems identified, although it certainly is evident that the condition of the affected areas is quite different than was understood. Our former claims manager has been replaced. Our current claims manager/installation coordinator was advised of the existence of the customers' continuing problems less than one day before the BBB complaint was sent to our company. Our current claims manager and the manager of our commercial division have been in contact with the customers and have agreed to proceed with an initial on-site evaluation as soon as weather conditions permit (above freezing and not raining or snowing). Appropriate remedial action will be determined upon completion of that evaluation and upon the receipt of any other needed information, perhaps including testing of the drainage system and a review of the construction plans for the affected areas. Appropriate corrective measures will be implemented as soon as environmental conditions permit. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2014/02/19) */ While I do agree with the business's proposed resolution and appreciate their response to this issue, I cannot truly be satisfied with this solution until I see that the work has been completed and these problems are finally resolved. I am hopeful that the work will be done correctly and these two problems are behind us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/02/20) */ We concur with our customer's comments. A proper conclusion will not be achieved until the corrective measures are implemented and prove to be successful. Those corrective measures require that the deck be dry, that rain not be in the forecast for a specific number of days and that temperatures will not fall below minimum permissible levels. We will be monitoring those conditions until they are suitable for the corrective measures to be undertaken.