BBB Accredited Business since

College Funding Solutions Inc

Phone: (877) 265-7737 Fax: (503) 566-8501 5820 Pikes Pass St SE, Salem, OR 97306 http://www.mycollegeinfo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial aid, career planning, and college application preparation and scholarship assistance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that College Funding Solutions Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for College Funding Solutions Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on College Funding Solutions Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated: 09/01/1999 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michelle Howe, President Mr. Jeff Eslinger, Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Eslinger, Customer Service
Principal: Ms. Michelle Howe, President
Business Category

Business Consultants

Alternate Business Names
C F S

Additional Locations

  • 5820 Pikes Pass St SE

    Salem, OR 97306 (877) 265-7737

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was offered to have assistance with getting more money for college and the cost in doing so was going to be $869, which included the company to fill out any paperwork I needed in order to get that extra money. I was told if the business was unable to get me any money, I would have a money back guarantee. However, I have not received any additional funds for college and have yet to receive my $869 dollars back.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking money back. (The full amount I paid for this service)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/06/03) */ May 29, 2014 ********************** Lead Accredited Resolutions Consultant Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington *************************** DuPont, WA 98327 RE: Case # ******** Dear **********************: Thank you for the opportunity to address the above referenced complaint. Our clients are very important to us and we make every effort to resolve an issue or concern. College Funding Solutions, INC (CFS) takes complaints and allegations of misrepresentation very seriously. CFS has worked hard over the last 15+ years to ethically serve our clients and diligently execute our service contracts, thus ensuring our longstanding A+ Better Business Bureau rating. On April 28, 2014, CFS hosted a conference call to investigate the ******** family's assertion that the CFS Advisor, *************** misrepresented the program and to discuss the family's request for a refund based on the fact they thought they should get "additional funds" for college. The conference call included myself, ************, ***** and ***. ******** and their daughter, *******. As recorded in the Client Activity Log (Attachment #1), the conference call ended when *** ******** called both myself and *** ****** "crooks." CFS services provided are clearly detailed on both our triplicate form contracts and our CFS website (*****************.com). The contracts also detail our Service Guarantee. As mentioned, all contracts are triplicate forms so the buyer receives a copy upon enrollment. All contracts state the buyer should not sign until the buyer has read the contract it in its entirety. The contracts, the CFS website, nor any CFS materials indicate a guarantee of funding types or amounts. The contract states the role of CFS is to assist the student and family with the college preparation and funding process. Above the signature line on the contract it states that this is a "fee for service" agreement and the buyer acknowledges and further understands that all sales are final. The contract's terms and conditions states there are NO other agreements between the parties, expressed or implied, oral or written. The ******** family contracted for services through The "College Graduate" Program- Senior Express on January 27, 2014 (Attachment #2). *** ***** stated that the family received a copy of the triplicate form contract *** ******** signed (Attachment #3). CFS received the signed contract and payment in our office on February 1, 2014. The CFS Terms and Conditions Disclaimer clearly states, "CFS is NOT a scholarship search company. CFS does NOT guarantee a student's college enrollment or funding eligibility. CFS does NOT provide legal, tax, or investment advice. Please consult with your tax accountant of investment professional before making decisions, investments, changes, and/or adjustments. Information, facts, and opinions distributed by CFS are all provided on an "AS IS" basis without warranties of any kind. The role of CFS is to assist the student and family with the college preparation and funding process. There are several factors such as family participation; the student's academic and extracurricular achievements; and the student's higher educational goals, for example, that will obviously produce a variance in results from student to student." CFS Advisors are independent contractors who have completed training and receive on-going support to present program services. CFS advisors, such as ***************, also sign an agreement that states, Advisor and all Consultants agree that all forms will be signed by the client and that the client's copies of the enrollment forms will be left with the client upon completion of the enrollment process (paperwork). Should it be shown to CFS' satisfaction that an Advisor and/or Consultant are purposely misrepresenting CFS to the disadvantage of clients, that Advisor's and/or Consultant's ability to represent CFS' services will be immediately terminated. In talking with *** ********, he states *** ******** repeatedly asked him about the money and *** ***** specifically clarified the Money Back Service Guarantee before *** ******** signed the contract, which is why *** ****** did not provide a refund out of his own pocket. *** ***** stated he repeatedly stressed to the family that the program does not have a refund guarantee based on the amount of funding the student was/was not awarded and that he would never intentionally lie to make a few dollars. *** ****** actively participated in the conference call with the ******** family. CFS does not contact the school to appeal for more money. The contract states that CFS provides appeal procedures (Attachment #4), which were sent to the family on April 7, 2014. As noted in the activity log, on April 21st, **** ********** was also emailed an appeal outline he requested to take to the university. CFS reviewed *************** request for a refund of the $869 service fees paid. **** ********** request states that they thought they could get a refund if they didn't get at least $869 or were not happy with the amount of money they got. CFS, or any company, would not be able to stay in business if they provided services and then refunded all the money if it did not match the amount each family had in mind. The type and amount of funding an institution will give each student could not possibly be known by CFS or anyone; that is why CFS has never guaranteed a dollar figure. Based on the terms and services outlined in the signed contract, services provided, conversations between CFS and **** ********, and statements by *** ***** (Attachment #5), *******s request for a refund was denied (Attachment #6). It is unfortunate that the family was disappointed with the funding offered from the school ($8,200 in gift aid) and that it was not the amount they thought they should receive; however, CFS provided all the services under the contract and tried to resolve the family's concerns through a conference call with all parties involved. Sincerely, ******** Managing Director ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised 8-30 leads of good leads per month at a seminar held in Las Vegas held last year. To date I have received aprox 20 leads in 5 months, none have resulted in a sale. I have paid them $1928.35 to CFS ($750.00 to ****************** included in the $1925) Now they want another $1200.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like all my money back. I was not told the all the truth about the program. I now have a $2000.00 bill to pay and no way to pay