BBB Accredited Business since

Central Electronic Alarm Inc

Phone: (503) 257-9696 Fax: (503) 257-8716 View Additional Phone Numbers 8435 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97216 http://www.centralelectronicalarm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the installation of burglar alarm, fire, and CCTV systems as well as the monitoring of these systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Electronic Alarm Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Electronic Alarm Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Electronic Alarm Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1965 Business started: 02/01/1965 Business started locally: 02/01/1965 Business incorporated: 12/07/1977 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Glasbrenner, President Mrs. Karen Glasbrenner, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Glasbrenner, President
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Security Control Equipment & System Monitors


Additional Locations

  • 8435 SE Stark St

    Portland, OR 97216 (503) 257-9696 (360) 425-0515 (800) 207-0572

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Canceled service in 11/2014 and went with ***. The system was already here when we moved in and I started using them. They never made any attempted to recover the alarm system that was installed in 2007 when the other company went out of business. We moved in 4/2011. And took over the system. We did sign a 1 year agreement at that time. Over the last few years our needs out grew what they could offer. Upon cancelling I started receiving 4-5 emails daily from them. Threats with billing me for items that were not here when we moved in. I have a lawyer working on this with them and not sure if they are going to stop. I have had a number of alarm systems over the years and never have I been treated so poorly and unprofessional. I do feel that we are being victim of extortion!

Desired Settlement: Stop with extortion!

Business Response: February 10, 2015

Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Ste 222
DuPont, WA 98327



RE: Case # ********: ***** ******



To Whom It May Concern;

In response to the above referenced case concerning a complaint received by the BBB, Central Electronic Alarm's stance is as follows. Mr. ****** moved into the location in 2011, prior to him moving in Central Electronic Alarm had existing leased equipment in the building from the
prior tenant. The tenant had gone out of business in 2009 and we made several attempts to get our equipment back but were unsuccessful with contacting anyone with access to the building.
When Mr. ****** moved into the building in 2011, he contacted us and we informed him it had been a leased system. He was given the option at this time to have us come out and remove our equipment, buy out the equipment or lease the system. Mr. ****** chose to lease the alarm system and signed a 2 year lease contract dated April 26, 2011. This is a renewing
contract unless the customer gives Central Electronic Alarm a written 30 day notice before their renewal date of intent to cancel service.

In June 2013 Mr. ****** expanded his business and added protection to additional areas in which he signed a work order showing that the system was leased. Again, in November 2013 we went out to Mr. ******** location and installed additional equipment in the form of a leased Cell Unit. At this time Mr. ****** signed a new monitoring agreement dated November 20, 2013. This is a renewing contract unless the customer gives Central Electronic Alarm a written 30 day notice before their renewal date of intent to cancel service. Therefore his claim that over the last few years his needs out grew what we could offer is false. Our company has been in business since 1962 and offers all the newest technologies available. Had Mr. ****** requested any changes or additions to his system, Central Electronic Alarm could have easily met his needs.

Upon receiving Mr. ******** notice of cancelation in which he states he would like to cancel the Lease and Monitoring Service, our office contacted him in order to schedule a time in which we could come remove our equipment. We gave him the option that if he wished to keep the system we could bill him the costs of the equipment. Mr. ****** was emailed an

equipment list including the equipment dating back to 2007 which he continued to lease per his original signed lease/service contract. We were meet with hostility from Mr. ******, stating that we were not to come out to his property to remove any equipment. Our response at this time was that we would be sending a bill for the equipment.

A short time later, Mr. ****** returned a few components to the alarm system and was billed only for the remaining items not returned. As of this time he has refused to pay us. There has been no extortion, only a request to pick up our remaining equipment or pay for the equipment still in the building. Based on the statement that Mr. ****** went with *** our assumption is that they have used our equipment on their system which would have saved Mr. ****** on the installation cost.

Please find the enclosed pertinent information for your review.

We pride ourselves on customer service and are more than willing to work with a customer when a problem arises. However, Mr. ****** has in no way been receptive to work out this matter.


Thank you,




**** ***********
Central Electronic Alarm
(BBB letter2.docx)