BBB Accredited Business since

Aurora Quality Buildings Inc

Phone: (800) 405-7433 Fax: (360) 658-3687 View Additional Phone Numbers 14418 Smokey Point Blvd, Marysville, WA 98271 http://www.auroraqualitybuildings.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial storage sheds and small cabin construction, decks and garage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aurora Quality Buildings Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aurora Quality Buildings Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aurora Quality Buildings Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 1995 Business started: 11/01/1989 Business started locally: 11/01/1989 Business incorporated 11/01/1993 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ward Holmes, President/ GM Ms. Holly Holmes, Manager Mrs. Maureen Holmes, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ward Holmes, President/ GM
Business Category

Buildings - Pre - Cut, Prefab & Modular - Dealers Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Garage Builders Log Cabins, Homes & Buildings Patio & Deck Builders Construction & Remodeling Services New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)


Additional Locations

  • 14418 Smokey Point Blvd

    Marysville, WA 98271 (800) 405-7433 (360) 658-9967

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 27th I agreed to pay Aurora Quality Buildings / Mini Cabins a $500 deposit for them to start work building a shed on my property. On June 4th, 2015 (38 days after depostit was made) Ward H*****, owner of AQB called to reschedule the build date. As we were both unable to agree to a new build date and AQB's inablility to agree to work weekends I asked that the build be canceled and that a refund be made. Ward H***** informed me that I cannot cancel the build with out forfeit of my depoit and that per "Washington State Law" refunds didn't have to be given by a business after three days of the original deposit date. Due to Aurora Quality Buildings/ Mini Cabins reschedule/cancelation and their unwillingness to fulfill the obligation they made, I am due my full refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the $500 plus a interest charge of $5.64 for a total amount of $505.64

Business Response:

We have a $500 check sitting in our office for Mr.*******.  Our office is open 10:00am - 7:00pm, 7 days a week.  All he needs to do is come pick it up and sign a release from any future work as Mr. ******* cancelled his contract.

 

Larry K****, Sales Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** *******

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This writing is intended to serve as a formal consumer complaint against Aurora Quality Buildings (AQB) of Marysville, WA. I am a WA state resident, and homeowner living within Seattle city limits. This complaint concerns a problematic contractual agreement with AQB regarding the design and prospective construction of a detached accessory structure on my residential property. Briefly, my 15-month experience since signing a contract with AQB (at which time I was asked to provide a $2700 down payment) has included: 1) later suggestion by AQB staff of so many contractual oversights by the involved AQB salesperson that it be "torn up," 2) denial of repeated requests that AQB cancel the contract and (per its own written contractual provision) refund the down payment, 3) misrepresentation of AQB staffing and technical expertise needed to complete the project design, including generation of architectural blueprints for City of Seattle permitting, 4) recurrent provision of inaccurate or outdated information by AQB staff about city-permitting processes, as well as derogatory comments and other antagonistic AQB staff reactions regarding city officials at the Department of Planning and Development, and 5) persistent lack of response to my communication attempts and poor responsivity in general about permit application documents and other necessary project information.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I seek BBB assistance to find a resolution that voids the existing contract and refunds appropriate monies from the $2700 down payment advanced 15 months ago. As outlined in the attached complaint letter, I've proposed a refund sum of $2160.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/06/02) */ Aurora Quality Buildings entered into a contract with *** ******** on Feb 17,2013. A deposit of $2700. was received towards a 12'x 18' structure. This deposit was refundable for three business days per WA state law. Technical expertise has been provided by AQB in the form of acquiring 3rd party blueprints which were completed and provided to *** ******** according to his specifications which he subsequently submitted to the city of Seattle. At no time has *** ******** requested a refund until now. Contract language regarding permitting is as follows: "Customers responsibility to check with local codes. Engineering and upgrades to pass codes at additional cost, and can be quite substantial depending on snow loads." AQB contract and literature clearly states that it is the homeowner/purchasers responsibility to check with local building codes and are responsible for obtaining any required permits. Under liquidated damages portion of contract, "In the event Customer wishes to cancel their contract after the expiration of their statutory 72 hour notice but before commencement of manufacturing or installation, customer agrees to pay as reasonable liquidated damages 20% of the total cash price of the contract. This will be allowed at AQB discretion. Customer specifically agrees that this sum represents a reasonable sum for the cancellation of a binding and valid contract." At this point in time and due to the customer formal request for cancellation, we are exercising our right under the liquidated damages clause of the contract for the 20% reasonable amount for cancellation. 20% of the original contract is $2709.81. *** ********'s deposit of $2700. will be entirely put towards this amount. *** ******** is hereby relieved of his contract and we will consider this matter closed. Original contract, signatures and contract language can be provided. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Given my customer experience to date, it hardly surprises me that Aurora Quality Buildings' response to this formal customer complaint would rely on selective reference to contractual language and attempt to 'sweep under the rug' misinformation provided both by its salesperson prior to, and other employees for a full year following, the signing of that contract. I have seven pages of documentation of my contacts with these employees, which chronicle experience dating back to February, 2012. I will make this material available for BBB to attach to this complaint file, as I believe it offers other customers some cautionary insights into the type of business practices one can expect when dealing with this company. I noted five issues in my original BBB complaint. The first was the suggestion, one month after contract signature (as I was awaiting blueprints promised by the salesperson), that the original contract was filled with so many oversights by the salesperson that the coordinating employee suggested "we should tear it up and start over." That the company makes no apology, or direct response of any kind, about this is telling given the following contractual language they chose to omit from their response: "The Company may, at its option, cancel this contract at any time prior to installation of merchandise by notifying customer in writing. If the Company elects to cancel this contract, any sums received by Company as down payment for goods and services shall be refunded." One is left to wonder how many other customer contracts, signed at tradeshows with promises of discounted prices in exchange for a down payment, eventuate in this unfulfilled manner (with the company opting to keep the down payment, of course). According to the same employee, many other similarly-problematic contracts were arranged by this same salesperson during that particular tradeshow. In response to the 2nd issue in my complaint, the company suggests I've never before asked for a refund. My first request came directly after the aforementioned employee comment, in a conversation occurring in March, 2013. My additional documentation for the file notes three other separate instances where this request was repeated in conversations with the coordinating company employee. Notably, those are only the instances for which I made specific documentation, there were many others as this was a recurrent topic of conversation over many frustrating months for me. All requests were denied, I was instead consistently told my lone option was to 'revise' the existing contract. Notably, initial employee-suggested revisions would have nearly doubled the price of construction and included unwanted materials and structural changes later deemed unnecessary by city permitting officials. With respect to the 3rd complaint issue, the company's response contains both misleading and incorrect information. Despite salesperson suggestion at contract signature that blueprints would be provided within 10 days, I waited nearly 6 months to receive anything. And what I received were not blueprints, but instead informal drawings that bore no stamp or signature of an architect/engineer and lacked anything close to the level of technical and structural detail typically submitted for city permitting (according to the involved city officials). Apparently, this reflects the company's mission to provide "technical expertise." The 4th complaint issue also seems to elicit no direct response from the company. While the referenced language is included in the contract, that doesn't explain recurrent instances wherein the customer was given misinformation by an Aurora Quality Buildings employee about city permitting processes, or what purpose was served by derogatory references made by this employee about the involved city permitting officials during communications with the customer. This lacked a level of professionalism that it seems would be expected of a BBB-accredited company. The 5th complaint issue similarly has elicited no direct response. As is evident in the accompanying documentation, the company's responsivity to communication attempts through email and telephone has been persistently poor over the course of 15 months. In retrospect, it seems this may be by design as the company is apt to: 1) have customers sign contracts for discounted construction prices at tradeshows in exchange for a 20% down payment, 2) only later 'find' problems with those contracts to delay finalization of the project design, 3) assign customers to deal exclusively with a particular employee to resolve these problems, even as the employee is known to frequently work out of state for weeks at a time on top of living out of state for several months annually, 4) suggest timelines for provision of documents that perpetually go unmet, and 5) eventually decline response to any customer communication attempts. This seems important information about company business practices that may benefit prospective customers. To conclude, I find the company response to this formal customer complaint to be in keeping with what I've come to expect from themvery disappointing. It should be recognized that customer acts of filing a formal complaint with BBB and requesting cancellation of a contract are not synonymous, as the company has presumed in their response. While $2700 is not an inconsequential sum to me, it is something I'm willing to not recoup at this point if it frees me from future dealings with Aurora Quality Buildings.

6/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service