BBB Accredited Business since

J & G Marine Supply

Phone: (253) 572-4217 1690 Marine View Dr, Tacoma, WA 98422 http://www.jgmarinesupply.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers marine equipment and supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J & G Marine Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J & G Marine Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J & G Marine Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 12/28/1988 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don Jacobson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don Jacobson, Owner
Business Category

Boat Equipment & Supplies Marine Electronic Equipment & Supplies Marine Equipment & Supplies Boat Dealers (NAICS: 441222)


Additional Locations

  • 1690 Marine View Dr

    Tacoma, WA 98422 (253) 572-4217

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Don't trust them! They misdiagnosed the problem and sold me a $1000 pump for my autopilot that I didn't need. When they discovered their mistake they didn't tell me, instead they then did the simple hydraulic flush of the actuator that was all that was needed in the first place They didn't tell me they had replaced the $1,000 part plus hundreds in labor unnecessarily, (FRAUD) instead, they took from my boat and kept my original pump that was in good working condition (STEALING TO COVER THE FRAUD). I had to go to their store and demand it back, and I then later sent it to the factory which confirmed there was nothing wrong with the pump they replaced. I also encountered the runaround when confronting them, and the owner only returned my calls months later after I disputed the charges with my credit card company. Also, they incorrectly installed the AIS GPS antenna too close to my SSB radio, causing interference problems with both units. This is clearly unprofessional as they did not follow the installation instruction guidelines to allow at least 3 feet space between units. Don't trust them!

Desired Settlement: I tried to resolve this through the dispute process with my credit card company, which dragged out over months to no good resolution. They originally said I had a case, and then months later said I would have to return the pump for credit, but As I have subsequently sailed to Kauai, HI there are no ********* authorized service centers here to remove the new pump and re-install the original one. I should not be further inconvenienced because of this company's fraudulent sales practices and shoddy workmanship. They should fully refund the cost of the pump and labor without having it returned, because they should have never sold me and installed the pump in the first place when my original pump was not defective. Regarding the AIS, they should refund all labor associated as it was incorrectly installed as described to close too my existing SSB radio.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/19) */ *** ******* hired us to go to his boat and fix his autopilot. When we first began testing the system the pump did not run at all.After trouble shooting the system the pump did start running but the pilot still was not working.We called *** ******* and suggested that we install a new pump because we new he was headed on a long trip to Hawaii and didn think the old pump was reliable. *** ******* gave us the OK.We got the autopilot working and *** ******* left on his trip. We left the old pump on the boat before it left.After *** ******* left we were informed that he sent the old pump to ********* and they said it worked OK.The boat was now in La Conner, Wa several hours from our shop.We called a repair shop in La Conner who was doing some work on the boat and asked them to swap the pumps back.I talked with ****** at ******** ****** and he said when he talked to *** ******* about changing the pump *** ******* told him not to worry about it that he had it taken care of.Mr. ******* then left for Hawaii.J&G later recieved a letter from our credit card company reguarding a charge back on our account for *** *******.We sent a letter to the credit card company and I called *** ******* on Sept.23rd offering to either take the pump back and give him a credit or have him keep the old pump as a backup and give him a $200 credit. We recieved a call from ***** bank *** ******** bank telling us he agreeded to the $200 credit which we have applied to his credit card account on 11/8/2013.With reguards the problem with the AIS, this complaint is the first time we have heard about this problem.J&G would certainly go to the boat and take care of this issue if the boat were in our area.J&G did test the AIS transmit and receive operation before the boat left Tacoma and the system tested OK.. J&G has never had any issues with claims to the BBB in the past. We have selling and installing electronics for over 20 years in the Tacoma area.If ** ******* would have given more time in testing systems before leaving on such a long trip we would have taken care of any issues for him. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/11/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are lying in their responses when they said the pump did not work and needed to be replaced and so I trusted this and said ok. When they found out and knew the pump was not the problem they said nothing and left it installed. Apparently they said there was also a problem was in the clutch actuator which worked after a simple flushing of the hydraulic system. They took my original pump part from the boat which initially prevented me from having it examined. I have a witness that went with me to their store to ask for the original pump returned. I only found out there was nothing wrong with the pump after sending it back to the factory which took weeks. In the meantime The boat was available in the nearby harbor several miles from J & G for several more weeks after the installation of the unnecessary replacement pump for them to come clean and be honest about installing an unnecessary pump at a cost of at least $1400 including tax and labor. They disregarded the directions and incorrectly installed the AIS. If they had simply followed the manufacturers directions of the AIS GPS antenna to install it at least 3 feet away from other electronics there may have been no further issues needed in any testing of systems. I trusted them to do things correctly and honestly as they are a certified ********* service provider. I started a dispute process with ***** credit card company who initially advised that I do nothing in regards to having the pumps swapped back replaced with the original while they investigated. This took months to resolve. In the meantime I had moved the boat to ******** ****** to do other work. The response comments regarding what ******* at ******** ****** said are heresay. According to the ********* website, ******** ****** was not a certified ********* service provider and so I did not feel comfortable with them replacing swapping the pumps back. In addition, ******** was too busy at the time to finish on time the other work I was having them complete, which took 3 weeks longer then expected as was delaying our departure. We needed to leave then In August in order to have safe weather for the trip to Hawaii. In should be noted that the work I had J & G do was started at least 3 months earlier, and as I said above they had at least several weeks before I moved the boat away from near their location to come clean and be honest about replacing a perfectly good pump which I did not find out was good until the factory said it was ok, which was weeks after I had moved the boat. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/12/10) */ ** ****** is obviously very disappointed with J&G Marine and for that we are very sorry. The fact is we were hired to go his boat to repair the autopilot that wasn't working. Our troubleshooting showed that all of the electronics components of the system were working properly. The problem was that the hydraulic pump was not responding to the voltage sent by the electronics. At first the motor on the pump didn't run at all, but after trouble shooting the pump the motor did start to run. We contacted ** ******* and recommended installing a new pump as we knew he was headed on a long cruise to Hawaii and because his autopilot was pretty old we questioned the reliability of the old pump. ** ****** gave us the OK. We were certainly not trying to cheat ** ****** we were just trying to get his autopilot to be reliable for the long trip. With regards to the old pump, our tech **** remembers leaving the old pump on the boat in the box that the new pump came in. After ** ****** left for Hawaii we were informed that he had sent the old pump to ********* and they said it tested OK, and he wanted the old pump put back in the boat. We contacted the people at ******* ***** where ** ******** boat was in Laconner Wa. And asked them to swap the pumps. After ** ****** started the dispute with the credit card company I contacted ******** ****** on Aug. 12th and spoke to both ******* and ********. They both remember us contacting them about changing the pump but *** ****** told them he had it taken care of. In the end *** ****** left for Hawaii with both pumps. J&G was contacted by ****** bank regarding the credit card dispute. We offered to take the new pump back or give ** ******* a $200 credit. We were informed by ****** that ** ******* accepted the credit and we applied the $200 to his credit on 11/8/2013/ With regaurds to the issue with AIS unit The first time heard of any issue was when we received this BBB complaint. The Ais tested ok when the boat was in Tacoma. Due to the fact that the boat is not here in Tacoma for us to fix any problem we are willing to give ** ****** a $100 credit towards time to move the antenna... In closing J&G never intended to cheat ** ****** and never lied to him. We have tried to respond to his concerns the best we can without having the boat here to work on. From J&G Marine RE case ********