This business is not BBB accredited.

Grand Victorian The B & B

Phone: (541) 265-4490 105 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Grand Victorian The B & B include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grand Victorian The B & B
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Terry Obteshka, Owner Mrs. Eileen Obteshka, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Obteshka, Owner
Business Category

Bed & Breakfast Hotels

Additional Locations


    105 NW Coast St

    Newport, OR 97365 (541) 265-4490


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a healthcare professional on a short-term assignment in Newport. I booked a room on a monthly basis with this facility based on pictures I saw on their website. When I arrived, I found that the room was much smaller and the shower to which I had access was shared with the owners! I was only told that the bathroom would be shared with guests staying in the adjacent room, and only on occasion. I was not allowed to leave my belongings in the bathroom so as to not inconvenience other guests. I was also given a 4x4in space in the fridge to store my food! The closet I was to use in my room was used as storage by the owners who had instead put in an armoire, which could not contain my small suitcase worth of clothes and further took up space in the already crowded room. The owner, Eileen, did offer to remove some of the furniture in the room but that was not an option since I was using the chair for storing my belongings that did not fit in the closet or which could not be put in the bathroom. The terms we had discussed over the phone prior to my arrival were not what I was presented with. When I complained that my space was tight the day after I arrived, no attempt was made to move me to another larger room, even though I asked the owner directly. She seemed more interested in getting my money, which she did. I paid $500 as a deposit before arriving, and $1000 immediately when I arrived. When I approached the owner about leaving, she got upset and told me she would only refund me my deposit ($500). After two hours, she came back with her husband and now said she would not refund ANY of my money. I replied that this was unfair, given the false advertising to which I was subjected. I have left this facility on Dec 22, 2014 but my money has not been refunded, in spite of having paid for the room through Jan 7 at a rate of $1000/mo. In addition, my deposit of $500 has also been withheld. The size of this room, at approx 7x12ft, is okay for overnight stays, as most of their guests do, but not for longer term stays. The owners failed to mention this and inform me BEFORE I agreed to stay with them.

Desired Settlement: I would like the owners to: 1. issue a full refund of my rent and deposit for false advertising 2. issue a written letter apologizing for the way they treated me and for falsely advertising their facilities

Business Response: Case #********: **** *******

The Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast welcomes the opportunity to challenge **** *********
incredulous, mean-spirited, and false accusations about his seventeen (17) day stay at our bed &
breakfast. We have no plausible explanation as to why he is attempting to defraud the reputation of
our business and have a FREE seventeen day stay.

On November 15, 2014 Mr. *******, via email, negotiated a three-month agreement to stay at the
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast in Newport, Oregon, while on temporary assignment with the
********* ******* ****** ******** in Newport, Oregon. He requested our Sir Charles room that
rents with room tax for $110.50 per night, or $9,945.00 for ninety (90) days. The mutually
negotiated discounted rate was $3,000.00 for three months lodging. On November 17, 2014 he
voluntarily authorized a $500.00 credit card partial payment over the phone. He checked in on
December 6, 2014 on or about 4 pm. He was shown his room and given a tour of our establishment. At
that time he never expressed any concerns. On December 7, 2014, he
authorized a second partial payment of$1,000.00 which was after he had spent one night in his
accommodation. Both payments were charged to his credit cards. On December 22, 2014 he checked
out claiming the accommodations were substandard and made disparaging and false statements to his
credit card companies. His credit card companies are holding the $1,500.00 payments in abeyance
pending their investigation.

In his complaint Mr. ******* states that his room was too small and estimated its dimensions at 7'
x 12'. The room's actual dimensions are 11' X 13'. Ironically he saw the room on our website and
at check-in before his second partial payment was made. In his complaint he admits that he
was using a shared bathroom, On a couple of occasions he shared the bathroom with other paying
guests We, the owners, also used the second floor shower, but only when he was absent to protect
his privacy. He was afforded full privileges to use our kitchen facilities including a
refrigerator/freezer, a privilege that our regular bed and breakfast guests do not have. We
were attempting to help him defray his living costs for meals. Regarding closet space in his room,
we offered him the adjacent room, the Lady Catherine Room, with a full closet and ocean view. He
refused our offer. In summary, we are a bed and breakfast, not a hotel, apartment, or condominium.

Most relevant to his false claims, is why did he stay at our establishment for seventeen (17) days
availing himself to discounted lodging, free cable TV, free WiFi, full laundry facilities, full
kitchen facilities, breakfast on a couple of occasions, desserts as well as a complimentary use
of our dining and living areas.

The Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast has earned a reputation as one of Oregon's premiere lodging
businesses. We have been in business for nearly twelve (12) years serving hundreds of guests from
all over the world. Mr. ******* is the only one to accuse us of false advertising and offering
substandard service to our guests.

Because of Mr. *******'s abusive and hostile personality, we have reported him to the Newport
Police Department and changed the locks on our establishment as a precautionary action
to protect the safety of family and our guests.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response of the Grand Victorian B&B is wholly a defensive one. The owners even attempt to go on the offensive and personally insult my character. They can't even spell my name correctly as they disparage me. They have made no attempt to offer any comprise. I did not appreciate being accused of being hostile and abusive. I had very polite and cordial interactions with both owners. At no time did I personally attack or insult them, either in person or in my BBB complaint. I attempted to calmly resolve this problem but they were unwilling to compromise and withheld my money. This is not ethical behavior dignified of an establishment that prides itself as "one of Oregon's premiere sic lodging businesses". Rather it comes off as a display of greed, inflexibility, and indeed, poor customer service.

I find it curious that it should take the business two weeks to respond to the BBB query. If they have nothing to hide, then the response should be prompt and not come across as calculated, which is the overbearing tone of their current reply.

In light of the continued poor treatment I am receiving from this establishment, I cannot accept the response of its owners. I remain unsatisfied with their continued abuse of my cordiality and willingness to compromise, which they see as a sign of weakness to be exploited. This is unacceptable.

I maintain that they misrepresented their establishment and left an highly unsatisfied customer.