This business is not BBB accredited.

Allen Co of Portland LLC

Phone: (503) 970-6713 3818 SE 151st Ave, Portland, OR 97236

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers refinishing and repair of bathtubs, counter tops and solid surfaces.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allen Co of Portland LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allen Co of Portland LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 16, 2012 Business started: 11/01/2006 Business started locally: 11/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Scholtens, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Scholtens, President
Business Category

Bathtub Refinishing Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Countertops Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
9:00am - 6:00pm

10:00am - 2:00pm

Additional Locations


    3818 SE 151st Ave

    Portland, OR 97236 (503) 970-6713


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two years ago, Allen Co. of Portland refinished my 70-year old cast-iron bathtub and did a great job. I was very happy with their work and experienced no problems, until a couple of months ago, when I noticed that the finish was beginning to peel and bubble in several spots. So, knowing that their work was guaranteed for five years, I called and spoke directly with the owner.. We immediately set up an appointment for him to come and make the repairs. He was responsive, cordial and very apologetic. He met me at my house, and applied a new coating, which looked great. After cautioning me not to use if till it dried, a minimum of 24 hours, he cleaned up and left and I was very pleased. It was then that the problem began. Within the next four hours, before it even finished drying, the new finish began to bubble and peel. The tub now looked far worse than it did before he came to make the repairs. I called **** the next morning, and texted him photos of the new bubbles and problem areas. Again, he was cordial and extremely apologetic. He said he had to order some other materials but he promised me would be in touch in a couple of days. In the meantime, he said that if the tub had finished drying, (which it had) I was to go ahead and use it (it's the only tub/shower I have in the house). His goal, he stated repeatedly, was to make sure I was pleased with their work. A week went by with no call-back, so I called him again. He told me that he had still not received the materials he needed but that he would call me when he did. Over the next two weeks, I called multiple times, left several message and never got another response. The one time I did reach him on the phone, he said that the company had sent him the wrong materials and that he would call me when he got the right materials. Last week, I left him yet another message asking him to call me back. I've not heard from him since.

Desired Settlement: I would like Allen Co. to refund me the price I was charged for the work in the first place ($395). I had to pay another vendor to repair the work and because of the damage his so-called repair caused, it cost me $750. He should be thankful I'm not asking for the $750. NOTE: I wrote the owner of Allen Co. a letter asking for a refund, and also told him I would be posting a review on Yelp and a complaint with the BBB.

Business Response: Upon hearing that there was trouble with the refinishing, I went to the clients home to view the job. The tub was deteriorating due to Chemical abrasion and the use of bleach. I asked the client what she used to clean the surface and she showed me a cleaner that had a main ingredient of clorox bleach. She said to me "oh, clorox is bleach isnt it." She had been using this cleaner for two years. Her neglect void the warranty. Wether my company or another, you can not use bleach as a cleaner. This is plainly stated on the "care" page of my website as well as told verbally. I did attemt to put a small recoat on a test area to see if the origional coating was salvagable but the old surface was too far damaged and gummy. Since she damaged the surface and void the warranty but expected a full redo to be free I felt it best that she go with another contractor. I have attached the care sheet/warranty so you may view it. h