BBB Accredited Business since

Jo's Place Saloon, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 653-6798 Fax: (503) 353-0241 4400 SE International Way, Milwaukie, OR 97222 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a sports bar and restaurant.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jo's Place Saloon, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jo's Place Saloon, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jo's Place Saloon, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 02/01/1986 in OR Business started locally: 02/01/1986 Business incorporated 02/10/1986 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Oregon Liquor Control Commission
9079 SE Mcloughlin Blvd, Milwaukie OR 97222
Phone Number: (503) 872-5000

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Kathleen Harwood, Secretary Mr. Anthony Harwood, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Kathleen Harwood, Secretary
Business Category

Bars & Taverns

Alternate Business Names
Jo's Saloon

Additional Locations

  • 4400 SE International Way

    Milwaukie, OR 97222

  • 7121 SE Renada Street

    Portland, OR 97267


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: some co-workers and i went to this establishment for lunch. we called ahead so the food would be ready when we got there. (we only have a hour lunch) when we got there we had to wait for 20mins to get our food which should have been done. then when i got my food which i had ordered hot wings had no sauce on them.... when i mentioned it to them.. the waitress went in the back and asked how they prepared... she came out and said they had put sauce on them. THERE WAS NOOOOOO SAUCE. we havd to go and ask for dipping sauces... and the cooks appeared to be very rattled that we were asking for these things. we go to this place often and from time have to wait way to long and we go after the lunch rush. however they do not seem to care. they did not offer to redo my wings.. and appeared to not be overly concerned that i appeared dissatisfied.

Desired Settlement: i want them to change how they treat there customers and maybe compensate me for my meal.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ *** ******, I am so sorry you had such a bad experience at the Saloon! Of course, I would prefer never to hear of these issues, but I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know what happens when we are not there. I have talked to the people on staff during this time, and they were both fully aware of the incident. We discussed your concerns and, more importantly, your feelings. I think we are wise enough to realize that mistakes can happen, but there is NEVER a time that anyone should feel as though their concerns are not important. I understand that you probably are not interested in how I deal with this, but I want you to know that I do appreciate being informed and take your input seriously. We are such a small company that one bad server can have a profound effect on everyone. Thank you again. I have sent a gift card to you to help make up (I hope) for your bad experience. You should not have paid for a food item that you could not eat! Please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your next visit more pleasurable. (very) Sincerely, ***** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX I BELIEVE SHE TOOK CARE OF THIS ISSUE. THANK YOU Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/01/07) */ Today my co-worker and I went to redeem the gift card you presented to me. It was the first time since the last incident. When we arrived, the counter person addressed my friend and asked her what she wanted to drink as we ordered before we arrived, my friend told me I had a drink included in my order. The counter person did not address me at all. I had to ask for my drink. Then as I present my gift card and my debit card she told me the total and made me aware that my gift card was not going to cover full balance but I had gave her a bank card as well. When she got done with the gift card she just tossed it towards me. My friend looked at me wondering what that was all about. She (counter person) seemed irritated that I was there and was very unfriendly towards me. However she treated my friend just fine. I am not sure what I have done to be treated in t is fashion. So I have decided to write to you instead of contacting the BBB again. I am at my wits end as I have always enjoyed your establishment. I have never been treated so rudely as I have the last two times I have been in your business. I often tell people about what a great place to go. Now I must say "maybe this is not a good place to frequent". I am hoping maybe you can shed some light as to why I am being treated in such a fashion. I know everyone has bad days, but this is becoming a habit. I would hate to think maybe I am being discriminated against. Signed very disgruntled customer this is what i sent... and this is the response i got... and not even a complete one at that Oh my goodness, ******! I am so sorry. I was in earlier today and tried to convince ****** to go home, because she was so crabby ( I didn't tell her that, of course), and she said she was fine. Not much of a poker face on that one. But putting her bad attitude aside, I never want to hear these things. I talked to her just now and she insists she treated you and ***** the same way, which tells me she was rude to ***** as well. But she is adamant that you were treated with respect. I am of the same mind as you. . . if that is what she calls respectful, she needs to reevaluate. I feel like she owes you an apology. I can only do so much. I do heartily apologise for her behavior, but, obviously, she I need some kind of discipline action taken against this employee... they seem to feel like they can treat people any kind of way and it be OK. the funny thing is they did not treat my friend this way. i am praying this is not a racial issue... but if it only continues with me... then what am i to believe. this is not the first time I have had to reach out to you. Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/08) */ Hi ******, I received the copy of our correspondence from BBB. Please let me know if there is anything more I can do to provide you with a more positive experience! If I know when you are going to be there, I will meet with you personally. Thank You, ***** Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I most likely will not come to this business again. How can I eat food after such an experience. I hold nothing against the owner. just Leary about the preparation of my food now.