BBB Accredited Business since

Steve's Imports

Phone: (503) 771-6701 Fax: (503) 771-2578 View Additional Phone Numbers 7273 SE 92nd Ave, Portland, OR 97266 http://www.stevesimports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers foreign auto mechanical and auto body repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve's Imports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve's Imports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Steve's Imports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1989 Business started: 01/10/1976 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated 10/12/1989 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Spinnett, President Mr. John Spinnett, Manager Miss. Rebekah Spinnett, Accounting/HR
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. John Spinnett, Manager
Principal: Mr. Steve Spinnett, President
Business Category

Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Restoration Auto Services Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Checks, and Cash
Alternate Business Names
Steve's Collision & Restorations Steve's Personalized Imports Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Steve's Imports has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before I start I would like you to know that I have an email chain that I cab share with you to support my claim. My car was hit by a young driver in mid September in a parking lot of a restaurant I was dining at. The damage was to my far right bumper which damaged the far right reverse sensor and a light above my license plate. Ironically, that same night I noticed that my passenger door would no longer lock and the passenger window would not electronically roll down but the rest of the car would. Thus, I let the shop know that it may be an issue as well. So when I received the call from Jon that the car was almost done and would I like to have the diagnostic test done to see if the electrical was affected on Friday 10-23-2015, I said only if it made sense to the electricians at their shop to do it because they were the professionals that knew the electrical blueprint of my car and if they could not prove the damage was caused by the accident her insurance company would not pay for the claim and I would be responsible for it. Thus, I told him if once he passed it by the electricians and they feel it is something that could be proven then do it, if not don't because I do not have the money to cover it. I have confront Jon and have asked that his manager get in touch with me including the owner and he has refused to help me. Logically, if there is no wiring that affects the doors contained within the bumper or the panel above the license plate, then it makes no sense to authorize a diagnostic test. On top of all this, I was to receive a check for $250.00 to cover the plastidip of my bumper and so Jon took the authority to take the $215.00 out it and hand me a check for $35.00. Additionally, my bumper that they had to replace and repaint has two sensors that were painted black like the bumper and two who were left silver. To top everything off because of Jon's wrongdoing I am also stuck with a 6 day car rental. No call to let me know that last day was the 23rd.

Desired Settlement: $215.00 for the diagnostic test $198.00 for the rental Paint the two sensors that they missed Apology from Jon and his manager

Business Response:

Customer states that she declined diagnostic charges, however the attached documentation confirms she acknowledges that she would be responsible for the diagnosis and that she wanted to be billed for it. Sentence #6 of the customers statement states that she was notified on the 23rd, the e-mail conversation in the first attached document shoes that the R.O. date for the mechanical repairs was opened on the 15th as well as the e-mail that was sent to her on the 15th shown in the second attached document. The second attached document also shows that we clearly stated that the customer would be responsible for the diagnostics if not proven related. 

Sentence #10 of the customers statement states we deducted the amount of $215 from the amount of the sublet repairs that was being reimbursed to her. That was correct because the customer said to bill her for the diagnosis which is confirmed in the 3rd attached document. This is legal and common practice. We do not send bills to customers upon completion. We collect payment before releasing the vehicle as normal.

 

Sentence #11 the customer states complaint about sensors that were not damaged. These sensors were not related to the insurance repair. The customer states that wanted us to repaint these sensors. The 4th attached document shows the insurance companies estimate vindicating this. The customer has aftermarket plasti kote on these sensors. I will gladly remove the coating for the customers un damaged sensors at no charge even though it is completely unrelated to the services we performed. However we have factory documentation from LandRover/RangeRover that these sensors can not be painted over more than once because it will cause proximity sensors to malfunction. See attached link. Customer would need to sign a disclose if we were to paint them. See link attached. http://workshop-manuals.com/landrover/l322-b/painting/paint_procedures/paint_preparation/

The 12th and 13th sentence says we did not notify her to let her know that the repairs were done and the rental car coverage was going to expire. The completion of repairs was given to the customer by us multiple times. As documented in the 2nd attached document. Also the insurance adjuster, and Enterprise Rental attempted to contact her multiple times. This is the job of the insurance company. 

 

If any needed confirmation regarding these issues is needed. Please call Enterprise 503-774-7744 and/or the insurance adjuster regarding diagnosis charges and rental car ********************* 

 

We state in the third attached document clearly what the expectations of the customer were, we even tried to sway the insurance company into covering additional repairs that were not related. The customer even admitted by saying to go a head and bill her for the diagnosis in this document. 

Issues with rental car and additional expense coverage is between the customer and the insurance company. The repairs we performed were above par. I am willing to so the customer empathy however not sympathy. I am also willing to remove the paint off the sensors that are completely unrelated to the repair at no additional charge if she is willing to work with us in good manor.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my girlfriend's car on 2/24/12 and checked out a loaner car and drove it straight to our condo on Johnson Creek. I drove the car the next morning to the ******* park & ride on ****** ** and left if parked there from 7am - 2:30pm (approximately). From the park & ride I drove the loaner directly back to the shop on 92nd. When I left the shop originally I reset the tripometer to 000's and when I returned the car it stopped at 6.6 miles(approximately). They called my girlfriend on 2/26/14 stating that the vehicle had considerable damage to the bumper. When I picked up the loaner I did not do an inspection of the vehicle and the shop did not have an employee walk me around the vehicle to discuss any visible issues with the vehicle. I am willing to take a lie detector test validating what I am writing. A voicemail was left on my phone and I called **** back and he asked me how did i want to handle the situation...He suggested I submit a claim to my insurance as a hit & run. He also stated he has video surveillance of me picking up the vehicle and they have pictures of before and after(supposedly). I was the primary driver and had I hit something remotely that might have caused damage I would have brought it to their attention.

Desired Settlement: They need to check their surveillance or whatever other proof they have to resolve their loaner car issue personally. Taking me to court to pay for their repairs is a waste of my time and money I don't have. I'd like to be compensated for the time i've spent and anguish of being accused of something I did not do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/28) */ This is an unfortunate situation. I never want to hassle a customer with these issues. However the customer is responsible for the vehicle while it is in his possession. This is a very black and white situation. I am happy to work this out with the customer such as if he wants to pay at cost out of pocket for the repair, or if he wants me to handle the claim through his insurance, whatever I can do to make it as painless as possible. We have video surveillance of the customer checking out the vehicle, driving the vehicle off, and returning vehicle. I have many more videos with additional angles, I am attaching only three video segment frames because that is all that I am able to upload. If you would like more, including the customer receiving the loaner car agreement, please request. However the customer is responsible for damages of the vehicle while it is in his possession regardless of whether or not he is physically inside the vehicle. Thank you ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was bought into the shop with a fuel leak on Tue 10/15/13. The car was in fine working order, running smoothly with no problems other than the fuel leak. It was picked up on Wed 10/16/13. On the drive home it was stalling out and would not maintain speed even when the gas pedal was on the floor. We called as soon as we got home and the shop said it probably was just an air bubble in the fuel line and it should work itself out. The next day the car would not start after several attempts. It did eventually start, but would stall at stop signs or stop lights and generally run rough. I called the shop again and they said to bring it in. We dropped the car off on Thu. On Friday the shop called back and said they did not know what was wrong with it but it would be several hundred dollars just to diagnose it.

Desired Settlement: I could not finish my statement as I ran out of room, but to finish, the car was dropped off in running condition, it was picked up in not running condition. The fuel leak that was fixed either caused damage or was not repaired properly. After speaking to everyone in the office, I was told conflicting stories, even that the car was running fine! I was also told it was probably the check engine light that has not worked in 10 years. I would like a full refund as we paid 600 for a car that no longer runs and ran perfectly when brought in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ Checked over previous repairs and encompassing repair area. All proper. Vehicle actually held idle for us on multiple start-ups. Spoke with customer regarding issue being separate isolated issue. Issue is also completely different than customer concern/reason for repair. Notified customer that being the vehicle is over 22 years old, running issues can occur. Also asked customer if diagnosis proof of runability issue would rebuild her confidence. She declined. Customer also declined further diagnosis on check engine light. Please refer to attachment. Pictures and further info available. Thank you *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No. Just to diagnose but not bring the car back to previous working order does not solve the problem. If it were diagnosed at no charge, there would still be a charge to fix it and I don't believe we should pay to have the car in the working order at which it was brought in. I will pursue getting a refund by another method. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/24) */ would be happy to diagnose issue and confirm as previously declined by customer. I can have a lead diagnostic technician and/or my self confirm issues causing rough running. I am happy to find the cause of the running issue, even though completely unrelated to repairs, at no charge. If customer would like to visually see the repair performed prior I am happy to show them and give them a tour of their vehicles mechanicals. However we do not reimburse charges that were for requested repairs that were performed properly. If customer would also like photos of all intake system on there car we have that also.