BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers diagnostic and automobile repair services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 21616 Marine View Dr S

    Des Moines, WA 98198

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to Winston's when it wouldn't start one day. No dummy lights came on there was just no power at all when i went to start it. After about 20 min. the car started and I drove it to Winston's and let them know what had happened. I had taken my Jeep to them for an exhaust issue I had at my emmissions test for tab. they seemed to fix the issue so I took it back when this new problem arose. Well they looked at my jeep and said my radiator was cracked and head gasket, i needed all new spark plugs and there was an issue with the computer chip that communicates with the vehicle and that is why the dummy lights didn't alert me to any issues. They quoted a $2K price tag for all repairs. I foolishly didn't get a 2nd opinion. I got the car back after a week and then told me to come back in a 1,000 miles to make sure the repairs were fine since it was such a major overhaul. I noticed right away when I got the Jeep back that the emergency brake was really loose and didn't seem to be working correctly. 2 days after getting the jeep back the same issue happened and the car wouldn't turn over, no power what so ever. I had it towed back to Winston's and they looked at it and said a terminal in my battery had gone bad and needed to be replaced. Well this automatically made me think this was the orginal issue and that all the other " repairs " were prob. not needed. I didn't trust him ( *****) at this point. Well I took my jeep back this week for the check up post all the repairs and I also was hearing a new issue, a clanking of metal under my car but we didn't know what it was. He found that my brake drum was broken and needed to be replaced. He changed the oil and quoted $149 to replair the busted drum. We left to get dinner while he made the repairs and while at dinner got a call from them saying whoops forgot to mention we have to replace both drums can't just replace one. So now the total would be $261. They also said they noticed a lot of play on my wheel and it looked like my gear box might need to be replaced, which he said costs an " arm and a leg". I have never noticed play on my wheel and have never had an issue with my gear box. When I got in my vehicle to drive it off the lot I could barely steer it. It was dangerous, I had my 4 yr old son with me as well. I immediatley turned around and went back to Winstons and asked him what he had done to my car. I demanded he make it right and that he should be ashamed for trying to make issues and squeeze more money out of me. I also told him that if there were any issues with the gear box because he messed around with it that I would come back to him and he would have to fix it. he aplogized over and over again and said he was honest and just trying to help me out and that if anything happened he would fix free of charge. I really believe they took advantage of me, repaired things that didn't need repair and tried to create issues on perfectly working parts to get me to pay more money for unneeded repairs.

Desired Settlement: I want you alerted and aware, I have read many reviews online of other people having the sames issues with Winston's. Whatever money I can recoop of the $2K that I spent would be ideal since I don't believe I needed those repairs.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 6, 2013/07/02) */ *** ************** had called and told us that her car won't start and that she will have to get it towed in. Somehow the vehicle started back and she drove into the shop. When ***** inspected the vehicle findings were as follows: radiator cracked-leaking coolant; there were no coolant upon arrival and oil show on oil dip stick. We added 1.5 gallons of coolant to perform C.O. block test, found hydro-carbon in coolant system; result engine has a blown head gasket and rear main seal have slight leak. The rear main seal would wait. After we complete the repair on the head gasket and replace radiator we test drove the car. The estimate is about $2000 which includes the following new parts that have been replace; cylinder head gasket set, spark plugs, coil boots, air filter, fuel filter, pcv, thermostat with gasket, water pump with gasket, front brakes, rear wheel cylinder, synchronizer, radiator, oil filter, two oxygen sensor and machine shop for the head. After the test drive the mechanic put the vehicle back on the lift to inspect; we saw the rear wheel cylinder leaks brake fluid-dangerous; might take out rear shoes and might not have rear brake and front brake had less than 5% left and a check engine light on. Contact customer and update with the finding, customer called the next day and decided to do the rear wheel cylinders as well as the front brakes. The two oxygen sensors have been shorted to voltage. There is no way of knowing it. The reason we give to the customer for free; because they spend so much money for the vehicle repair. We went beyond our customer expectation and good service, Winston replaced both oxygen sensors parts and labor for free (over $300), give the vehicle a free engine detail ($95) in addition to a free oil change after 1000 miles and a follow up inspection. After completion on April 9, 2013, customer came to pick up vehicle; we showed customer all the old parts and pointed out the areas where cracked and wear on it. Winston went beyond the extra mile to even made payment arrangement of $1300.00 for that day and the rest post dated for May 3, 2012. She asked for gas money since we toss so much stuff for free; we said okay $10 cash. Customer did not call to inform us of any issue regarding emergency brake loose after pick up. We could have checked it. On May 10, customer called and said vehicle did not start. Turn ignition on, it did not turn over; all of a sudden it shut down. The tow truck guy was getting ready to hook up the jeep; then it activated the alarm and all of a sudden the vehicle has power again. After towed to Winston, inspection result battery terminal bad, replace free no charge. June 24, 2013 customer came in for free oil change and follow up inspection. ** *********** waited while the vehicle was being service. Customer inform then, vehicle is making rattling noise; drive over anything or speed bump, ching rattling. ** **************** advised when go at slower speed; you can hear that noise. ***** took the vehicle for a test drive and said that the steering wheel had too much play on it and there is a noise but not sure yet. Asked *** ************ if he wanted for him to adjust the steering for free? After ***** adjusted it for free he and another mechanic work on the diagnostic of the noise. ***** lay underneath the vehicle while the mechanic drove back and forth to try and pin point the noise. He heard some noise on the rear, so he took the rear tires out and checked the brakes. The finding was a parking brake stopper that was bend and broken drum. Apparently the parking brake stopper is either a dealer item or a wrecking yard only. ***** was able to find a stopper in a bucket of old parts that he saved; he toss that part in for free ($21.00) and estimate for one drum with parts and labor was about $176.02. ***** made a mistake on the estimate, when it comes to brakes drum or disc you could not just do one side. So, she called customer to apologize for the mistake and that the new estimate would be additional drum cost only. Thus the new total would be $261.00 we did not charge the labor for the other side of the drums. Winston Auto Repair stands and firmly believes in integrity and honesty. Our business policy is to always show our customer their old parts after repair. ***** went beyond the extra mile to adjust the steering gear box to take the free play out but customer is not happy. Even though, he did all this adjustment for free; he specifically recommend getting a second opinion on the steering gear box due to too much play. After that, the customer picked up the vehicle and came back and did not like the adjustment. So he stayed after hours to re-adjust it back. If there is anything wrong with the gear box; ***** will replace the steering gear box at no cost. It really hurts our feeling that after all that we have done, to accuse us of squeezing more money. Due to our business reputation and as a courtesy, we will reimburse $261.00 and one free oil change. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I accept and will take the credit of 261.00 because whatever he did to my hand brake is what caused the drum issue. But I found after ***** messed with the gear box, which by the way they never asked my husband if he wanted them to adjust the gear box even though they said they did in thier statement, it has leaked fluid since you messed with it. It was worse the 1st 2 days after you tightened and loosened it , the leak seems to be stopping but I want to take my jeep to the dealership and have them check it and make sure ***** didn't screw it up and I want Winstons to pay for that and any repair that might be needed. Thank you, ********