BBB Accredited Business since

Top Performance Automotive, Inc.

Phone: (360) 833-2281 2119 SE 192nd Ave, Camas, WA 98607

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automotive repair services, except tires, bodywork, exhaust and European vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Top Performance Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Top Performance Automotive, Inc. include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Top Performance Automotive, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Top Performance Automotive, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 07/22/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tony Martin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Martin, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Carburetors Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Clutches Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Top Performance Automotive Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2119 SE 192nd Ave

    Camas, WA 98607 (360) 833-2281


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The number we originally called was for "*********** ***** in Camas owned by a *** ****** # *** ******** , to make an appointment to repair a car we bought for our Veteran disabled son. I had looked at all the reviews on ****** **** and chose them because of the great reviews and it was a small shop. When I called the above number it rang and was picked up by a man that said "Top Performance" I was confused and I told him that I thought I was calling *********** ***** and he said"that's us" so I made an appointment , my wife and I dropped off the car on a Sunday and left a not telling them where to look for issues that other mechanic in Gresham Oregon saw but wanted us to go to an expert in Volvo's. They did not one but two diagnostics on the car which I didn't realize that there would be two different charges. Then they sent us an estimate on the cost , wow! over 3,000.00. I told them we would be getting the car. But before we got our car I did some research on this shop and what I found was this: The original shop we thought we were taken to has a different phone number than Top Performance does so when you phone *********** **** Top Performance answers the phone, I found this confusing SO,, When I picked up the car I asked **** he was taking my payment I said "When my husband made this appointment he called *********** **** which has a totally separate number than your shop and your shop answered the phone, why is that ? Well he said "that's us" and I told him "no it's not” so then he replied "well the other place's owner retired and he sold us his client list" and then I added "Oh and phone number as well huh?". I told him why we came there thinking that the other shop and mechanic was the one we were going to and you led us to believe that this was the same place. Why did you do that? Then he became snotty "well if you didn't know you weren't at the same shop then you’re stupid" UNREAL! This is/was a bait and switch shell game.

Desired Settlement: They need to stop using deceptive practices to obtain customers , change the phone number of the closed business and stop holding your business out as the one that you purchased the client list from , That owner does not work there, never worked there nor does he own Top Performance. We would like our money back of 159.24 , they had already done the inspection before I found that they were not the same company. They got our business by deception.

Business Response: *****
********** called into Top Performance Automotive and he responded that he was
trying to contact *********** *****. We told him that we had purchased the business
of *********** *****. After explaining it to him several times he made an
appointment to have his vehicle looked at. He dropped vehicle off before
operating hours. We called ************ to ask what their concerns were. They
had three issues wanting to be addressed. First was the engine had a problem
with a “check engine” light on. Second was a problem with the power windows and
third, he suspected an oil leak at the engine turbocharger. We told him there
are diagnostic charges with the engine and a separate diagnostic charge with
the power windows (two separate concerns, not related to each other. Technician
has to complete a different set of diagnostics for the two non-related
systems). The third concern with the turbocharger oil leak, told ***** that we
would look at that for no charge. ***** agreed to these charges. Our policy for
every customer is to inform them of the dollar amount before continue, no
matter if the charge is only a $1.00.

diagnostics were completed, ***** was called to report our findings. Two repairs
for the engine concern, one repair for the power window concern and informed
him the turbocharger wasn’t leaking oil, the oil leak was coming from the front
and rear oil seals on the engine crankshaft and the engine oil pan was also
leaking. Oil leak repairs alone totaled up to over $1700.00. He was upset about
the repair costs but it is our responsibility to inform the customer of all the
needed repairs. It’s the customer’s decision if they want to repair vehicle or

were several phones calls between Top Performance and the ************ in which
we talked to ***** and his wife. I don’t know if they were communicating
information from each phone call to each other.

have never had one customer have a problem with us taking over *********** *****
and have been very happy with our services. Most claim our services and repairs
are less expensive than *** ******’s *********** *****. It seems the ************
biggest concern was that Top Performance purchased the *********** *****
company and didn’t change the original phone number. We did not change the
phone number so all of the previous clientele could get in touch with us. This
number will be in effect for almost two years from business purchase date. With
all current listings with the previous company name in advertisement, online,
phone books will drop off when their original contracts expire. We have no idea
all the locations of where *********** ***** has advertised or listed their phone
number. Old phone numbers are automatically forward to Top Performance
Automotive and we have no idea that it is an incoming phone call from the old Independent
phone number. We answer the phone “Top Performance” and huge signs “Top
Performance Automotive” on the building, you know it’s not *********** *****.
The ************ chose to bring their vehicle, go over the problems with their
car, went over diagnostic charges and continued with diagnostics “BAIT AND
SWITCH” ??? If the ************ didn’t want to have services completed here,
leave before dropping off vehicle. The statement of service adviser’s acting
snotty, simply made up. We don’t talk to customers in that manner. They talked
to two advisers (one being myself) and our notes of all the experiences noted
with the *********** don’t match their claims of being treated rudely.

are not refunding the diagnostic money for services performed and the
************ have been told to never return to our shop after all the problems
they have caused.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: this statement is not true, when I called on the initial contact, the number I called was for *********** *****, it rang and was picked up by Top Performance , I ask them if they were *********** ***** the person " yep that's us". Never having been to either shop I had chosen *********** ***** based on reviews on line, when someone this is the same place I would think that should be true, they never said to me that they had bought the client list from the other business, they did say this to my wife when she went to pay and pick the car up. This was not information that they freely explain. A good way to get people that would be interested from the other business to get them into your shop.we had never been to either shop , we chose Independent based on reviews and when you call their number you expect to get that business or get an explanation, which regardless of what the said they did not and they are lying. We don't care about the money , what we do care about is that they do not seem to think it's wrong to gain business by holding yourself out to be the same or an extension of a business that is no more . If they want to honest they should put this phone number on their website. And by the way I have Aspegers but that doesn't mean that I mis remember the first call I made to them and what was said. And don't worry we will never try to get service from your shop. Just plain dishonesty.


***** **********

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took car to the shop with a complaint that suddenly the car was stuttering and hesistating while driving. Initially they estimated that the problem was with ignition coils ($300+), after replacing that, the problem remained unresolved. Next the indicated that the valves needed to be rebuilt ($600+), also that did not resolve the problem. Mind you that this was after keeping the car for about a week, then finally, they discovered that the real problem with the vehicle is that someone put sugar in the gas tank. This involved the dropping and draining of the tank, replaced fuel filter and fuel pump, flushing the gas line and cleaning the fuel injectors ($300+). Final cost was $1200, which I should not be totally responsible for.

Desired Settlement: Due to their failure to accurately diagnois the real fault in repairing my car, I should not be held liable for thing that were done that did not resolve the problem. I feel that I have been overcharged $900 for their mistakes in trying to accurately define the problem with my car and should not be held liable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/15) */ *** ***** brought his 00 Honda Accord V6 into Top Performance Automotive with the engine running very poorly. We performed tests on his vehicle and found a misfire on every cylinder. After completing engine diagnostics, ignition spark and fuel pressure was normal. Engine was making loud ticking noise due to some loose valves (out of adjustment). We diagnosed further, removed the engine timing belt cover to inspect for a jumped or damaged timing belt. Also, we removed a valve cover to check valve train adjustments. Timing belt was fine but some valves were very loose and others very tight. A common problem with Honda's is the valves adjustment causing multiple cylinder misfires. We adjusted engine valves not "rebuilt" (like *** ***** indicates) and engine ran a lot better but not perfect, (valves were quiet). Technician test drove vehicle and engine progressively ran worst. Performed additional tests on engine and found the fuel pressure was in normal range but the volume was low. Removed fuel tank to inspect fuel pump and strainer (vehicle does not have a fuel filter, only a strainer inside fuel tank). Fuel tank had been contaminated with sugar and had progressively damaged fuel pump, clogged the strainer and was plugging the fuel injectors. We cleaned the fuel tank, replaced the fuel pump, strainer and performed a "no charge" fuel injection flush to make sure the injectors would be ok or have to be replaced. Fuel injectors were ok after flushing. We did not replace any ignition coils as stated by *** *****. We did not rebuild the valves for $600 as stated by *** *****. We charged $382 for engine valve adjustment and gasket replacement (V-6 engine). We did not charge for the fuel injection flush. The engine needed a valve adjustment badly (which is a common problem) and engine ran so much better afterwards. Engine needed this service regardless for all misfires to be corrected. It is not a common vehicle failure to have sugar in fuel tank so diagnostics took a little longer than normal and we have no control on parts availability but we did not charge *** ***** for anything not needed not did we make any mistakes. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because the car had an engine put in, in March 2012 by Performance and it would seem highly unlikely that the valves would need adjusted in less than 16k miles unless of course when the engine was installed the valve were not adjusted. Plus as stated the valve adjustment did not rectify the problem, therefore should not be charged. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/31) */ The engine was installed by Top Performance and *** ***** chose to have a "used" engine installed instead of a new engine. When Top Performance installs a "used" engine, we will replace gaskets, some seals, spark plugs, water pump, timing belt, antifreeze, oil and filter. We do not go inside the engine and replace or adjust internal engine parts. The engine ran perfect when leaving the shop 6 months ago. It is the customer's responsibility to perform regular service intervals on any vehicle to keep operating conditions at their best. The valve adjustment was needed as stated before and the engine ran a lot better but was not perfect. With the continuation of test drives and diagnosis, the engine progressively ran worst due to the sugar in the fuel tank. *** ***** vehicle had multiple issues happening at the same time which made the conditions more difficult to locate. Adjusting the valves 6 months prior or at present time would have been the same expense. The valve adjustment was a desperately needed service and if they were not adjusted, they would have started burning due to some valves being very tight. If adjustment would have been put off any longer, the repair costs would have been approximately $1900.00 for a cylinder head valve rebuild.

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 21st, 2013, I took my car to the shop, they fixed power steering issues I had. On the 22nd I picked the car up. On the 23rd I drove the car and realized the brakes, which were NOT in disrepair, were spongy and not working properly. I took the car into two brake shops and was told that the whole system needed to be replaced because the brake fluid had been contaminated by either oil or power steering fluid. The repairs would cost $2,000, or more to fix as the whole system was compromised. I called Top Performance and they had me come in.. they didn't take it into the bay but after a few minutes, the man had me come out, said They weren't responsible and there was nothing wrong with the brake fluid. I KNOW this to not be true. He argued with me and said they didn't do it.. yet said the fluid was brake fluid in there.. it was not.. I do know the color and difference in brake fluid and power steering fluid.

Desired Settlement: I only want my brakes fixed.. they were in perfect condition when I took the car in.. I would like for them to be in perfect condition again. I rely on my car for everything.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/05) */ ****** *****, a first time customer, brought her 94 Chevrolet Cavalier in to Top Performance for inspection. She said the power steering is leaking badly and feels very loose. Technician (with the last 12 years working at a Chevrolet dealer) test drove vehicle and said the vehicle is all over the road due to the inner tie rods and steering rack bushings were very badly worn. Tech then raised vehicle on a car lift and inspected further. He found the steering rack and power steering pressure hose were also leaking very badly. Power steering rack, inner tie rods and pressure hose needed to be replaced to correct concerns. Technician performed repairs to power steering system and completed a vehicle alignment. Test drove vehicle and everything was normal. Customer returned a day later complaining her brakes were bad because another shop told her of fluid contamination. We told her to bring the vehicle in for inspection. We went out to her vehicle and looked at her concern. We showed her that the power steering reservoir was on the passenger side of the vehicle and had "RED" power steering fluid. Fluid was to full level and very clean due to just having repairs completed. Then we showed her that the brake reservoir was on the driver's side of the vehicle and had very clean and clear "TAN" fluid (which looks exactly like brake fluid should be). We showed her a drop of fluid from each reservoir on paper so she could "see" the difference in color. There was no "RED" power steering fluid contamination done by us. Power steering fluid can be purchased at a parts store that is "TAN" in color. The power steering system was leaking so badly, I surmise ****** ***** OR someone trying to help her, mistakenly added tan power steering fluid to the brake reservoir by accident. Fluid contamination of this nature would harm the rubber components in a brake system BUT would also take several weeks to swell the seals and rubber components in the master cylinder, calipers and hydraulic control unit. Contamination damage would not happen overnight. Also, brake fluid does not circulate through the brake system, 95% of any added fluid would stay in the reservoir until needed as the brake pads wear down. Top Performance Auto did not cause this concern. We have an excellent reputation, employ ASE Master Technicians and stand behind all our repairs.

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought vehicle (2000 Volkswagen Jetta) to Top Performance automotive in Vancouver, WA due to leaking coolant and overheating issues. They diagnosed and recommended replacing "the coolant pipe flange, the oil soaked bypass hose, as well as thermostat, and valve cover gasket" due to tech finding oil leaking from valve cover gasket on to coolant pipe flange and hoses. After completing recommended replacement from Top Performance as well as "tune-up" ask for by myself, My Son and I, ***** ********* continued to drive the vehicle from Top Performance thinking it was fixed as stated by Top Performance Tech numerous times that the vehicle does not overheat anymore. Approximately 3 miles away from the shop, the vehicle began to overheat again, We turned around to drop vehicle off and the shop was closed for the day. We brought the vehicle back next day to drop it off and ***** called them to explain that the issues with the vehicle was not fixed after their tech's recommendations. Top Performance automotive agreed to go over once again to fixed original problem. Once completed Top Performance stated that thermostat was sticking and had to order another part for vehicle at no charge for labor/parts. Top performance called ***** and stated that, that didn't fix the problem so they recommended that the "timing belt, Water pump, Camshaft Seal, Crankshaft Seal, Timing Belt Tensioner, Timing Belt Idler Replacement, and to be a total of $1022.71" as well as a "Heater Core Replacement with a total of $844.57" ***** stated "do not work on the vehicle, I do not have the money for it, I will get back to you." When ***** got back to Top performance, he told Top Performance to just replace the water pump, Top performance refused to do just the water pump and stated that they will only do all of the of the recommended parts. ***** called again and told Top performance to not work on the vehicle. Top Performance did not complete the original issue with the vehicle(2000 Volkswagen Jetta) and refused to continue repairing original issue as well as new recommendations as diagnosed by themselves.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking acknowledgment of misdiagnosis and that i feel i am being "ripped off" due to certain recommendations that have no relation to original problem in hopes they can get an "up-sell."

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/03) */ The customer, ***** *********, and his mother arrived at Top Performance Automotive at 4:45pm on 4/17/13. Upon check in they stated that the vehicle is currently overheating and leaking coolant. At which the service writer informed them that the charge for pressure testing and inspecting the cooling system was $34.95 and that the technicians would be able to do so the following morning. The customers agreed to the charges and left for the evening. The following morning, prior to any diagnosis, the customer's mother, ********, called and asked that a basic tune up (spark plug replacement) and fuel filter service be performed while the vehicle was in the shop. The additional serviced were added to the repair order and the customer was informed that they would be contacted as soon as the technician completed the pressure testing of the cooling system. The technician pulled the vehicle in shortly after ******** called. No pre-service test drive was performed due to the overheating concern, check engine light being illuminated, as well as the fact that the vehicle arriving with the gas light on. The technician first checked the coolant level and found the coolant level to be low. The technician then added water to pressure tested the cooling system and verified a cooling system leak at the coolant pipe flange. (Driver's side of the head, just below the cylinder head.) Tech found the valve cover gasket actively leaking oil onto the coolant pipe flange and the hoses connected to it. This oil leak was causing the small diameter hoses to swell as a result. Tech then recommended repairs based on his findings. The technician recommended replacing the leaking coolant pipe flange, swollen small diameter coolant hose, leaking valve cover gasket (Believed to be the cause of damage to the hose and coolant pipe flange), as well as the thermostat, and thermostat cover due to the vehicle being driven while overheating. The customer was contacted, made aware of the recommendations, part availability, and approved all recommended repairs at the end of the conversation. When the parts all arrived, the technician promptly made all recommended repairs to the vehicle. During the valve cover gasket replacement the technician found an alarming concern. When the upper timing cover was removed, the technician found the timing belt to have little to no tension on it. There was also excessive play in timing belt idler pulley. In light of this concern, the technician made the service advisor aware of the situation and recommended repairs to prevent any possible/further damage to the vehicle. The customer was then contacted with a quote for repairs, which included replacing the timing belt, timing belt tensioner, timing belt idler pulley, water pump, crankshaft oil seal, and camshaft oil seal. The customer was made aware that driving the vehicle in this condition was not advised due to the potential for catastrophic engine damage. The customer declined further repair at this time due to financial concerns. The customer was then informed that the cooling system repairs were completed and that the vehicle was not overheating in the stall or on the abbreviated test drive after all repairs were completed. (Post drive was abbreviated due to gas level and warning light illumination upon arrival) The customer picked the vehicle up on 04/19/13 in the evening and left promptly. When the technicians arrived for work on 04/20/13 the Volkswagen Jetta was already parked in the parking lot. Around 9:00am ***** called stating the vehicle was overheating again. The vehicle was processed into the shop for inspection. Tech found the vehicle was now full of fuel and had been driven 35 miles since the repairs were completed. Tech checked the coolant level upon arrival and found the coolant level to be full at time of arrival. Tech then attempted to verify customer concern. The technician allowed the vehicle to idle in the stall for over an hour and found the vehicle never overheated. The technician conveyed this to the service writer and then asked if more information could be gathered from the customer. The service writer then called ***** ********* for clarification. The service writer was informed that the vehicle just began overheating on the freeway and that the vehicle had to be nursed back to the shop. During the conversation the service writer informed the customer that there may be an issue with the thermostat sticking or that there is little flow through the cooling system but the diagnosis would have to wait until Monday April 22nd due to technician availability and current workload. The customer acknowledged this and was told they would be contacted Monday with information on the concern. On Monday April 22nd, 2013, the technician began by pressure testing the cooling system. Technician found no external leaks present at this time. Tech then performed a block test to test for the presence of hydrocarbons present in the exhaust (testing for a blown head gasket, usually a $69.95 charge) at no cost to the customer in an attempt to pinpoint their concern. The vehicle tested negative for a blown head gasket. Tech then checked the internet to look for any related concerns with like models or engines. Tech found notes on *********, (a web based database of concerns), that some of the 1.8L Volkswagen engines are equipped with a plastic impeller on the water pump (which is inside the engine and cannot be seen without removing water pump). When the vehicle is overheated there is a possibility of damage to the plastic impeller. The damage is outlined as poor cooling system circulation due to the plastic impeller slipping on the water pump shaft (at higher RPM). In the notes it outlines that if this is the concern, the vehicle will begin to overheat if driven over 2500 RPM for extended period of time. This coincides with the customer's complaint that the vehicle did not overheat until being driven on the freeway for numerous miles. Tech then removed the bypass hose and ran the vehicle over 2500 RPM and confirmed concern. This also explains why engine did not overheat for the hour it was ran in the shop and also explains why the heater was not putting out heat. We originally thought there may have been a plugged heater core but recommended removing heater hoses and flushing water through to confirm if it was plugged or not. The price quoted to customer was if the heater core did need replacing. The customer was then contacted in order to inform them about the test results. After hearing the test results, ***** ********* asked that the vehicle not be touched so he may decide on a course of action. Top Performance Automotive respected his wishes and moved the vehicle out and waited to hear from *****. Later in the day, ***** contacted Top Performance Automotive and stated that he would not be able to perform the recommended repair due to lack of funds. He asked to have the water pump replaced by itself. He was informed that the water pump was driven by the timing belt and that the timing belt is in dire need of replacement, (not replacing the timing belt at this stage would have only saved $35.00 and would have resulted in a broken belt 500 miles later). It is not in Top Performance Automotive's practice to reassemble the vehicle with dramatically failing parts. ***** was made aware that the repairs recommended during the last service would be required to correct the cooling system concern. The recommended repairs were again denied by the customer. He was informed however that the previous repairs to the thermostat, coolant pipe flange, coolant hose, and thermostat cover were all installed properly and functioning as designed at this time. The vehicle was no longer leaking coolant. The customer then opted to have the vehicle towed away without having the cooling system repaired. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't understand why we would pay a total of $1867.28, on top of the previous recommendations, that did not completely fix original issue of overheating. I don't believe "throwing money" at the vehicle to solve a problem, to be true Automotive Technician practice. Top Performance has already implied that the leaks, thermostat, coolant hoses, ect.. are to be the reasons for the vehicle's issues of overheating. Only on second time servicing the Volkswagen, Top Performance had notice/diagnosed remaining possible replacement parts therefore incorrect diagnosis. During secondary servicing, when asked Top Performance to fix only water pump which would have fixed overheating issue, Top Performance refused to repair only water pump claiming the timing belt was impaired, but also admitting that vehicle would have lasted another 500 miles until possible catastrophic engine damage, therefore leaving enough time to repair timing belt at a later time, implying that some recommendations were excessive/not needed at this time. Again, I request a refund of funds. As well as I would like to recommend that Manager/Owner reiterate proper policies and procedures for their Company. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/05/22) */ Everything was quite thoroughly covered in the first response. Here is a short recap of the first response. Customer came in for overheating; we found numerous coolant leaks, repaired leaks, no leaks since. Engine did not overheat with us but was unable to test drive on freeway due to customer brought in vehicle with no fuel in tank. We replaced thermostat as a precautionary measure thinking it may have been intermittently sticking, it wasn't. Found out the water pump does not operate properly at high RPM and needed to be replaced. Customer declined this repair the first time when Top Performance brought the concern to their attention. We told the customer the timing belt hydraulic tensioner was so weak it was causing the belt to be very loose. Customer wanted just the water pump replaced and we said we will not perform an incomplete repair like that. If the belt broke the engine would be destroyed (pistons hitting valves). Then customer asked about all repairs minus timing belt, the cost savings would have been $25.00, not worth the risk. Customer said she had all the repairs "that we" recommended completed at another shop and the overheating has stopped. Our diagnosis has been correct from the start. Leaks have to be repaired first before you can diagnose further, the water pump issue is rare to most vehicles and is inside the engine, you cannot inspect condition of impeller without removing it. We did say what was needed to correct the overheating concern, customer declined. If the water pump was replaced at the start, the vehicle will still be overheating if the coolant leaks weren't addressed. Did notice the other repair shop replaced two sensors and a front sprocket. Both sensors, why? Front sprockets don't wear out; it's obvious to any technician the sensor teeth were broken off during removal to replace front crankshaft seal. Customer should not have paid for this part, we wouldn't have charged a customer for a part if we broke it.

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service