BBB Accredited Business since

The Everett Auto-Clinic

Phone: (425) 252-8710 Fax: (425) 339-3359 3132 Rucker Ave, Everett, WA 98201 http://www.everettautoclinic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Everett Auto-Clinic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Everett Auto-Clinic include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for The Everett Auto-Clinic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Everett Auto-Clinic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1998 Business started: 04/01/1998 in WA Business started locally: 04/01/1998 Business incorporated 04/10/1998 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Austin Bigler, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Austin Bigler, Service Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Mobile Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto - Fleet Maintenance Auto - Fleet Service Auto Sunroofs Auto Upholstery Cleaning Auto Warranty Service Auto Service - Steam Cleaning Auto Services Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Air Conditioning Auto Customizing Auto Accessories Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Method(s) of Payment
VISA MASTER CARD DISCOVER CARD CASH

Additional Locations

  • 3132 Rucker Ave

    Everett, WA 98201 (425) 252-8710

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was having a high idle issue and a stalling issue. I spoke with **** explained to him that I had a friend clean out my throttle body and replaced the EGR valve with a used one from pull apart. I told him I thought that the idle issue had went away after my friend cleaned the throttle body but couldn't tell with the car stalling. ***** called me and told me that he thought that the EGR valve needed to be cleaned and that would resolve my issue as well as replacing the seal. I picked up my car it was still stalling out and the high idle was worse then ever. I took it back the next day. ***** called me and said he thought the EGR valve was bad and said that I should put back on my original as in all his time as a machanic he hadn't ever seen one go bad. He then told me to make sure I used the new seal he had put on. My friend put on my orignal EGR valve with the new seal. When my friend lifted the hood on my car there was a can of carborator cleaner shoved up under my air filter and the air filer latches were all unfastened. I took pictures. After he installed the EGR valve it was still running the same. So I ordered a brand new EGR valve. My friend put it on and the car stopped stalling but was still idling high but not very often so it had improved. As I drove the car more the idle issue got worse. I took my car back in. **** wasn't there I spoke with ***** and showed him the pictures of the the carborator cleaner being shoved up under the air filter and the that the air filter casing was left unlatched. He said oh someone forgot to grab it. He called me later and told me the EGR valve was bad. Then he told me I would have to pay to have the car diagnosed again for the idle issue I said I already paid for it to be diagnosed he said he couldn't diagnose it before because it didn't idle high for him before. I spoke with the owner he told me there was nothing he could do for me and I needed to take my car else where. I asked for a refund as they didn't fix my car. He refused.

Desired Settlement: I gave them an opportunity to fix the problem on 3 different occasions.

Business Response:  Diagnostics are only warrantied with the repair, in this case after the diagnostic and service were performed, the customer had other people working on the engine, nullifying any warranty on the services.  This was explained extensively with no positive response from the customer. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was told by the mechanic to have my friend put back my original EGR valve. He explained that in all his time as a mechanic that he hadn't ever seen an EGR valve go bad. Before my friend put my original EGR valve back on I had returned the next day because the work preformed by the shop did nothing to improve my car. Nor was I informed that if I had the EGR valve put on by someone else that it would void any warranty. I feel as though the mechanic to advantage of the fact that I am a woman and don't know about cars. He was trying to get out of the work needed to fix my vehicle which is why he suggested for me to have the person who changed out my EGR before I ever went to the shop put back on the original. He didn't offer to put it back on for me or that the EGR valve need replacing. He told me he would clean the EGR valve and that would fix the problem. It did not fix or even improve my issues. I purchased a new EGR valve and had my friend install it and that seemed to help but still had high idle issue. Which they have done nothing to fix or improve. They also left my car with a can shoved under my air filter and my air filter casing unlatched. The owner told me that it couldn't have caused damage to my car. But the back of the can says not to store in high temperatures. The can could have exploded and caused sever damage to my car. In the original diagnosis they were suppose to diagnosis the stalling and high idle issue. I was told if they cleaned the EGR valve it would fix my problem it did not. Then when I replaced the EGR that fixed the stalling issue I still had high idle issue they told me I would have to pay additional money to have it looked at even though I paid for that to be diagnosed originally. If this company was reputable they would not be trying to charge me again for what I have already paid for.

Sincerely,

******* *********

9/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Complete Car Care Plan for Everett Auto Clinic. I called and made an appointment for my son to have an oil change and to have them look at fixing his door window. He took time off work to make this appointment and when he arrived for the scheduled appointment, he was told that he had no appointment. Because I was the one who made the appointment and talked directly to the owner, I called the owner to ask why his appointment was cancelled and to question what was going to be done about it. He repeatedly cut my questions off, would not answer, and continued to inform me that this was his business, he didn't need my business and that he would not be looking at the window that day so it didn't really matter as to why the appointment was cancelled. He then hung up on me, throw the keys back to my son and said 'your Dad's an *******!'. My wife then called to see what could be done about the situation and getting a refund on the Car Plan and the owner did the same thing to her. Just kept repeating himself and not answering her questions. He kept telling her that she needed to talk to ****** who sold the Car Plan to us. But ****** only returned one of ten to twelve calls and that was to my son's phone, which is not the number I asked him to call. The Merchants Role on the back of the Plan makes it sound like Everett Auto Clinic is responsible for the warranty. They say they aren't but this Plan is sold for them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the purchase of the Complete Car Care Plan because they are unable to fulfill their role. At this time I am just asking for $99.95.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/05) */ EVERETT AUTO CLINIC DID NOT SALE THIS PROGRAM....IT IS VERY SPECIFIC...ALL THE COMPANIES INFORMATION THAT SOLD IT IS ON THE CARD THE PURCHASER HAS...LIKE E.A.C. TOLD THEM BEFORE, SINCE E.A.C. RECEIVES NO PROCEEDS FROM THE SALES OF THE PROGRAM, THEY SIMPLY NEED TO DEAL WITH THE COMPANY THEY PURCHASED IT FROM REGARDING PURCHASING ISSUES...E.A.C. PRIDES OURSELVES IN ALWAYS HOLDING AN A+ RATING WITH THE BBB AND "AAA" APPROVED AUTO REPAIR AND SERVICE... Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/08/27) */ I never received an email or post mail (which was my stated preference) about this matter and now I see it's closed. I am not happy with this resolution and want this case opened back up! It is NOT clear on the back of this pamphlet who is responsible. As far as I know this owner and the person selling this certificate are in the business of scamming individuals. This auto clinic did not fulfill their responsibility as far as this coupon is concerned!

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a package deal from a 3rd party doing business in partner with Everett Auto Clinic. The deal included free oil changes and other such services for the period of 2 years. When I purchased the package, I was told that I could get any type of oil that I wanted as part of the deal. I took my car in for an oil change and a/c unit inspection/repair. The free oil change ended up costing me over $30.00. My total bill with the A/C recharge was over $168.00. My husband took his car to the shop for an oil change at his appointed time, asked for the oil he wanted (which again, was part of the deal)and was told they did not stock that oil and they could only do one type. He did not end up getting any service done on his vehicle. I called the Everett Auto Clinic to talk to them about this and the owner **** ****** answered the phone. He was very rude, told me it wasn't his problem because they did not sell the package and that I would have to deal with the 3rd party company. He said I was not a customer of his and he did not have to talk to me. I informed him that I was in fact a customer of his, that they had just worked on my car and he hung up on me. I called him back, he yelled into the phone that if I called him one more time he was going to call the police on me. Product_Or_Service: Oil Change

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund of my the service. And a major complaint filed against Everett Auto Clinic. The owner is rude, and has terrible people skills. I did not get the service I was told I would get and they are very unreliable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/06/09) */ THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER IS ON THE CARD THAT WAS PURCHASED. E.A.C. RECEIVES NO PROCEEDS FOR THE SALES OF THAT PROMOTION, THE CUSTOMER CAN SIMPLY CALL THE NUMBER FOR ANY CONCERN THY HAVE. AFTER THE CUSTOMER USED PROFANITY ON THE LAST PHONE CALL, THE CONVERSATION WAS OVER, THERE IS NO REFUND FOR THE GOOD SERVICE THAT WAS AND IS USED BY THE CUSTOMER NOW. THEY CAN CALL THE CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER FOR ALL AND ANY CONCERNS OF THE PURCHASE OF THE PROMOTION. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did call the number on the consumer card and have talked with them seperately. The issue I have/had with EAC still stands that their customer service is horrible at best. And as far as the "good service" provided...ha! Part of the service on my vehichle was an inspection/repair of the AC service. EAC recharged the AC unit but I highly doubt they did any type of inspection farther than that as my AC does not work any better now that they worked on my car than it did when I took it to them. I paid $160 for them to recharge the AC and it leaks...so it didn't really do me any good to take it to them and pay for this service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/06/11) */ ONCE AGAIN, E.A.C. IS DONE WITH THIS CASE, AND THIS CUSTOMER, ONCE ANYONE THREATENS AND USES PROFANITY, ALL SERVICE IS REFUSED. THIS PERSON DID BOTH. LEGAL ACTION MAY BE TAKEN. THIS HAS BEEN CC TO THE PROPER AUTHORITY. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Legal action will definately be taken.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 6th 2013 at approximately 11:00am my 1996 Toyota corolla was dead. I got a jump and it still wouldn't start. I then called the Everett Auto Clinic via phone book. I talked to **** and he informed me that they had a contract with ****'s towing. I told **** I thought it was the starter. He informed me of an approximate of $382.00 for a new starter. **** said he'd have the car ready by 5'oclock. Approximately at 4:45pm **** called and said it wasn't the starter. **** tod me they checked everything including my battery. **** said the recharged the battery and cleaned the terminal. **** told me that my battery was only at 60%. He informed me that I had an after market alarm on my car and this is disabling things, so that would cause the car not to start. He said it would be cheaper being that I didn't need a new starter. He said by dismantling the after market alarm this would clear up my problem. The new price was now $324.00. **** then said he would have his electrical guy come in on Saturday 12/7/13 to fix this problem. On Saturday 12/7/13 **** called at approximately 10:30am and said the car was ready. **** was informed that I wanted to pick up the old part. When I arrived **** did not have the part. He said there was nothing to give me. **** said it was all wiring. I paid and left. On 12/9/13 at 8:00am I went to start the car and it did not start. I called **** he told me to have the car towed back to him and they would look at it for free. I was confused by him saying they would only look at it for free. I told **** that I'd given him all my money two days prior. **** was very unprofessional and rude stating the car started when I left. Around 1:00pm I tried to start the car again and it started. I called **** and told him the car started again he said bring it in in about 30min and they would look at it and make sure they did everything properly.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to be reimbursed for the at least the battery, that I clearly needed. $115.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/03) */ THIS VEHICLE WAS TOWED INTO E.A.C. NOT ABLE TO START, OR JUMP START,CUSTOMER COULD NOT JUMP START VEHICLE. INSPECTION FOUND NO POWER TO STARTER, IN THE START POSITION, THE CUSTOMER RECENTLY PURCHASED VEHICLE AND HAD NO PREVIOUS REPAIR HISTORY, POWER TO STARTER WAS INTERRUPTED BY AFTERMARKET SECURITY SYSTEM, UPON APPROVAL, THIS WAS TAKEN OUT OF SYSTEM AND VEHICLE STARTED, CUSTOMER WAS INFORMED THE BATTERY WAS MARGINAL, CUSTOMER DID BRING IN VEHICLE FOR A SECONDARY INSPECTION AT WHICH TIME THE STARTING SYSTEM WAS FUNCTIONING WITH NO PROBLEM, CUST. THEN DID RECEIVE HER OLD PARTS ORIGINALLY TAKEN OUT. VEHICLE OPERATED PROPERLY. E.A.C DID PERFORM A GOOD REPAIR IN WHICH THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED IN AND DROVE OUT FINE. IF THE BATTERY WAS THE ORIGINAL ISSUE, IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO JUMP START...OUR WARRANTY REPAIR HOLDS.... Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again the part was asked for and not provided at the original pick up day. With further investigation there was never an after market alarm on my car. Again the battery was no good and these guys ripped me off for something that was never on my car. **** told me they had to charge the battery. The charge only lasted a day. I only needed a battery Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/09) */ AGAIN, THE CAR WAS TOWED TO SHOP ORIGINALLY, CUST TRIED TO JUMP, WE TRIED TO JUMP, IF THE ORIG. PROBLEM WAS THE BATTERY IT WOULD HAVE STARTED WITH A JUMP, THE CUSTOMER DID GET HER ORIG. PART TAKEN OUT OF CAR, THE CAR WAS TOWED IN, REPAIRED CORRECTLY AND DROVE OUT WITH THE STARTING SYSTEM IN WORKING CONDITION.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to the aforementioned repair facility back in March of this year (2013) to have a code that had shown up looked at. They ran diagnostics and test drove and they determined a sensor was bad as well as a couple studs holding the exhaust manifold to the engine block had broken causing an exhaust leak. They completed the workand I drove off happy, until two weeks ago, early October that I started having transmission problems such as, shifting improperly. I took my vehicle to a transmission shop where the mechanic informed me that the dipstick tube for the transmission was missing causing transmission fluid to leak out and that it was burnt up pretty bad to where I need a new transmission he also told me that it had to be unbolted for it to come out. He looked up the schematics of the placement of it and it showed it bolts to the exhaust manifold. I told him about the repair I had done earlier this year and that it was most likely caused by an Everett auto clinic employee simply forgetting to reinstall the part, thus causing premature destruction of the transmission

Desired Settlement: All I would like is for the transmission to be paid for and any other expenses necessary to complete the process as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/22) */ E.A.C. HAS NOT SEEN THIS VEHICLE FOR ANY WARRANTY RE CHECK AFTER THE ORIG. REPAIR? I WOULD SUGGEST TO THE CUSTOMER TO SET UP A APPOINTMENT FOR A PROPER VEHICLE INSPECTION, AND DOCUMENTATION OF TIME, MILEAGE ETC....

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car repaired, tune up, fuel filter replaced, and other repairs, Invoice #XXXXX. In replacing all that, they ruined a part on the radiator hose. We were stranded in Marysville with antifreeze spraying everywhere, shortly after taking the car from his lot. ******* would not take any responsibity for the damage. He gave us phone numbers of shops we could have the car towed to, at our expense. After getting it repaired & showing him the damaged part, still, all denials from him that the shop damaged the part. The only way it could have been damaged is if his mechanics carelessly broke it. They were working over, under & around it. This is cutomer service and shop credibility at it's worst! All the warranties at the bottom of the invoice are completely false.

Desired Settlement: He could refund my entire $836.49 for all the time, trauma & additional repairs I had to pay to get my car in running order.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/28) */ THE COOLING SYSTEM LEAK WAS A LEAK UNDER PRESSURE, THE COOLING SYSTEM HAD NO LEAKS WHEN IT LEFT E.A.C. WE CAN NOT BE RESPONSABLE FOR A COOLING SYSTEM HOSE FAILURE AFTER THE TUNE UP. THE FAILURE WAS A HARD PLASTIC PART THAT WHEN BROKE LEAKS IMMEDIATLY.N IT LEFT, THE CUSTOMER ADMITED NO COOLANT LEAKS ON HER OWN GARAGE FLOOR AFTER LEAVING OUR SHOP...THE FAILURE IS NOT RELATED TO THE TUNE UP...TRAUMA AND ADITIONAL REPAIRS???? THIS IS CLOSED... Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/06/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Everett Auto Clinic, ***********, Everett, WA. He will never take responsibility for his so- called repairs and mis-haps! I'll pass it on to my family & friends. There is no resolution except he chooses to just ignore it & keep my money. Thank-you BBB for letting me post my complaints publicly. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/06/03) */ THATS NOT THE STORY THAT WAS FIRST TOLD....NO OTHER RESPONSE....

5/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: incorrect diagnosis resulting in replacement of turbo. Problem was hole in turbo hose found by mechanic I took car to after losing patience with Everett Auto Clinic. Claimed to have replaced both fuel pumps and sending unit, and cleaned throttle body, which was not done. Had vehicle over 2 weeks.

Desired Settlement: 50% of total spent. Some work was legitimate, such as replacing oil cooler. I would have asked for total amount, except I feel they made a mistake and should be compensated for part of the work performed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** H. (MGR) Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: EVERETTAUTOCLINIC.COM Concerning ****** *****'s Volvo vehicle came in on Aug 7th, 2012. It was found that the turbo was leaking oil in to the induction system. Turbo spoil is failing and recommended for replacement. On February 27th, 2013 Volvo came in along with a parts car, customer requested that Everett Auto Clinic remove the turbo from the parts car(sedan) and install on the non parts car (wagon). Vehicle could not be test driven due to very little fuel in tank. Customer was informed that car needed fuel when he picked it up. Customer returned car for lack of power, when asked he stated he had put fuel in to the car. Gauge still read empty. Diagnosis of lack of power found failing fuel pressure regulator, customer requested EAC install used one from parts car. While on test drive fuel pump failed and car had to be towed back to EAC. This tow was done at no charge to the customer. Customer requested that pump be used from parts car to replace failed pump. As noted on repair order XXXXX, Engine has intermittent misfire on cylinder 2, Lack of power when turbo is boosting, internal engine mechanical failure that is making noise that causes the knock sensor to retard the timing. Diagnostics were never completed as per customers request. Customer has filed a small claims court case and Everett Auto Clinic is done working with this customer due to court case. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The hole in the boost hose that was missed by EAC's technician was the exclusive cause of the lack of power diagnosed. EAC would have removed this hose to clean the throttle body. Testimony from the technician at another shop who discovered the error and fixed the problem will show EAC's remedy of replacing the turbo was an expensive error. A countersuit will result in Mr. ***** seeking full damages instead of half. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/05/06) */ THE INVOICE CLEARLY STATES THAT THE TURBO WAS RECOMMENDED BECAUSE OF BAD OIL LEAKAGE AS WELL AS PERFORMANCE...E.A.C. INVOICES CLEARLY STATE...AS PER THE OWNER'S INSTRUCTIONS, THIS VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED WITH CUSTOMER-SUPPLIED PARTS. EVERETT AUTO CLINIC CANNOT WARRANTY THE PARTS OR LABOR FOR THIS REPAIR. WHEN THE FUEL PUMP FAILED ON A TEST DRIVE THE CAR WAS TOWED BACK BY DOUGS TOWING...WE HAVE THE RECEIPT...THE FUEL PUMP WAS INSTALLED AND THE VEHICLE STARTED...THERE WILL BE A REBUTE SMALL CLAIMS COURT AGAINST MR. ***** FOR LOST TIME/SALES AND WAGES...

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service