BBB Accredited Business since

Terry's Automotive Inc

Phone: (360) 943-0410 Fax: (360) 956-0868 View Additional Phone Numbers 2021 Harrison Ave NW, Olympia, WA 98502 http://www.terrysautomotive.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Terry's Automotive Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Terry's Automotive Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Terry's Automotive Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1985 Business started: 04/01/1976 Business started locally: 04/01/1976
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tod Holmstrom, VP/Manager Mr. Terry Holmstrom, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tod Holmstrom, VP/Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Mobile Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto - Fleet Maintenance Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Batteries - Storage-Retail Auto Air Conditioning Auto Customizing Auto Accessories Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Refund and Exchange Policy
24 Month / 24,000 Mile Warranty on all work
Service Area
Olympia Washington
Alternate Business Names
Terry's Alignment & Brake Center Terry's Alignment Center Terry's Exhaust & Alignment Center
Products & Services

Oil Changes, Fluid Exchanges, Belts, Hoses, Tires, Alignments, Tune Ups, Diagnostics, Battery Servicing, Engine and Transmission Replacements.


Additional Locations

  • 2021 Harrison Ave NW

    Olympia, WA 98502 (360) 943-0410 (360) 943-0411 (360) 709-0881 (360) 705-1421

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05 March 2013 we took our recently purchased Audi Allroad to Terry's Automotive in Olympia, WA to have the alternator replaced. I had purchased a refurbished one online and they had agreed to install it for under $300. I received a call from the mechanic stating the alternator I purchased had newspaper shredding throughout it causing it to seize, and that if they installed it they are not held responsible but it is at high risk for causing a fire. When we received the alternator by UPS, my husband and I opened it and knew the alternator had been wrapped in plastic, separating it from the newspaper shreds the company uses for pad protection, but I couldn't argue the condition of the alternator since we didn't inspect it thoroughly, but Terry's said it wasn't refurbished, it was used. They stated they could get a new one but it will cost considerably more. Reluctantly, my husband and I agreed. We received the car back on 06 March 2013 the total charge was $690.18. The refurbished alternator and a dirty fan were placed in the back of the vehicle in the box the alternator came in, complete now with newspaper shreds obviously throughout. Since the fan that was with the alternator could fit inside the size of box the alternator was shipped in, I didn't question why they were together, I just assumed if the alternator needing replacing the fan probably did too, therefore the two might have been shipped together. (I'm not a mechanic, I wouldn't know otherwise.) The day after we received the Allroad back the Suspension light came on, and then the Check Engine light. I called Terry's and explained to the woman who answered the phone of the issue and she said I could bring it back in but it will cost an additional $100...we just paid nearly $700 to have it "fixed" now to have to take it back and have this issue fixed??? She did not utter a word that we could bring it in at no charge since we *just* had work done on it that may have caused the issue (that wasn't told to us until 01 July 2013). It wasn't in our budget so we couldn't do it. Then on 30 June 2013 my family and I were returning from a trip in the Allroad and the car started making this awful racket. My husband pulled over to find that the fan in front of the alternator was missing. It was then I realized the fan that was placed in the back of our Allroad by Terry's was the fan *from our car* not a replacement the alternator came with. Since I had returned the alternator to the company we purchased it from, with the assumed fan that we thought came with it, we no longer had the fan in our possession. On 01July 2013 I called Terry's and spoke with *****, and explained the entire situation. He said he was going to speak with the techs about it and get back to me. After not hearing from him, I called back, he said the technicians were out until the next day, he would call me back then. After not hearing back from him, on 02 July 2013 I asked my husband to call and speak with him. He received the same runaround, and a promise of a call back when ***** had the chance (seems the recent heat wave brought in a lot of business and they didn't have time to take care of their repeat customers). Before getting off the phone ***** stated he would need to know what the woman's name was that I spoke to on 06 March 2013 (how would I know that???). We haven't heard back from them since.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the suspension repaired so the warning lights stay off (the vehicle should have had the suspension adjustment turned off prior to putting it on a lift, which failure to do so will cause the problem we've been having with it), and the fan that is missing in front of the alternator replaced. We were not told that the fan was missing, nor were we told there was anything wrong with the fan that is in front of the alternator. On the invoice, I *just* read in the small Repair Order Notes section "Passenger side radiator cooling fan isn't working, missing a portion of the splash shield: This was never brought to our attention either! And I would REALLY like to know why? So, in short, to make this right we want the following: 1. The suspension repaired turning off the engine warning lights, 2. The fan in front of the alternator replaced, and 3. An explanation as to why calls were not followed up on and information not conveyed when the professionals noticed, knew of, or caused problems.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/07/22) */ First off I would like to appologize for not asking you to bring vehilce right back in to take a look at why the suspension and engine lights at no charge (and yes we would still like to do so). As far as the fan in the back of vehicle, it was removed from broken fan motor that was rattling around and didnt want the fan to break any further and go through the radiator. (it will need a new electric cooling fan and motor). Im not sure what the noise on the trip is related to, maybe the needed cooling fan still ?. I would like to get the vehicle back in to inspect these items together and resolve them with you folks. Thank you, *** ** (manager, please ask for me). Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ***, manager of Terry's, checked both issues and offered to repair the problem with the suspension sensor by not charging for labor and half price off the part itself (they are not completely sure they are to blame for it coming on). As for the fan, they stopped the noise issue, but the fan breaking was not their fault, although when it was discovered someone should have been informed to tell us. To have the fan replaced will cost us over $500 for the part and labor, but at least the 'knocking' sound was stopped. Over all, we are satisfied, and hopefully the replacement of the sensor will fix the warning light issue. ...Thank you *** for your hospitality! :-)