BBB Accredited Business since

Ron's Auto & RV

Phone: (360) 256-7035 10602 NE Fourth Plain Rd, Vancouver, WA 98662 http://www.ronsautorv.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto and R V repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron's Auto & RV meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron's Auto & RV include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron's Auto & RV
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1974 Business started locally: 04/01/1974 Business incorporated 11/17/1995 in OR
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony Ferguson, Owner Mr. Todd Ford, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Ferguson, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

  • 10602 NE Fourth Plain Rd

    Vancouver, WA 98662 (360) 256-7035

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY TRUCK WAS STALLING INTERMITANTLY, WHEN I SLOWED FOR CORNERS. I GOT A QUOTE FROM ***** AT RONS AUTO AND RV, IN ORCHARDS, VANCOUVER WA. 98662, OF A TOTAL FOR PARTS AND LABOR $240.00 TO PUT IN A EMC. (ENGINE CONTROL MODULE) SO I DROPPED OFF MY 1999 SUV, AND MY 1989, PICKUP TRUCK TO BE SERVICED. YOU KNOW CHANGING THE OIL AND WHAT NOT, AND PUT IN AN ECM IN THE PICKUP.MY PICKUP WAS IN THE SHOP WITH THE HOOD OPEN. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT HIS DIANOSTIC MACHINE IS NOT WORKING SO IT IS GOING TO TAKE MORE TIME TO FIGURE OUT WHY THE TRUCK IS DYING. $$$$$$$AFTER I GET BACK HOME, RONS AUTO AND RV, VANCOUVER, WA. 98662, CALLS AND SAID THAT HE NOW HAS HIS DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE WORKING AND IT SAY I NEED A DISTRIBUTOR THAT WILL COST $442.00. NOW I AM UP SET. THIS REPAIR JUST WENT FROM $240 TO $442.00 JUST FOR ONE PART. I ASKED FOR A CHEAPER DISTRIBITOR BUT HE GOES ON TO TELL ME THREE TIMES THAT HE WILL NOT INSTALL ANYTHING ACCEPT AN, AC DELCO DITRIBITOR. BECAUSE HE KEEPS HAVING TROUBLE WITH ANYTHING BUT AC DELCO PARTS. AFTER ALL, HE INSTALLED 3 CHEAPER DISTRIBITOR IN ONE CUSTOMERS CAR, AND HAD TO KEEP REPLACING THEM, AND HE DOES NOT HAVE GOOD LUCK WITH THE CHAPER BRANDS. SO HERE I AM STUCK BETWEEN A ROCK AND A BAD MACHANIC WHO HAS TAKEN MY TRUCK APART. IM THINKING WELL I GUESS HE KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING AFTER ALL HE SAYS HE BEEN A MACHANIC FOR 18 YEARS. (BUT EARLIER THAT DAY HE IS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE WINDSHIELD WASHER FLUID LEAKING FROM A REPAIR ON MY SUV) HE SAYS THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE IS NOW SAYING THAT IS DOES NOT NEED THE ECM, QUOTE HE FIRST GAVE FOR $240.00 FOR PART & INSTALLING THIS PART, IT NOW NEED THIS $442.00 DISTRIBITOR. FINAL BILL WAS $918.69. THIS SHOP IS CROOKED. THE NEW DISTRIBITOR IS INSTALLED ON FRIDAY BUT TRUCK IS STILL STALLING. MONDAY HE PUT IN THE EMC PART, COSTING $199.50 AND NOW IT WORKS. SO I GO TO PICK IT UP AND THE BILL HAS SKYROCKED TO $918.69. THEY ALSO FUSHED RADIATOR, WARRENTIED FROM A PREVIOUS REPAIR. SO THAT IS NOT PART OF THE BILL. NOW HERE IT GETS REALLY GOOD. ON THE WAY HOME FOLLOWING THE TRUCK, I NOTICE THAT IT HAS NO BRAKE LIGHTS OR TURN SIGNIALS. I CALL THE SHOP AND HE SAYS ITS NOT THEIR FAULT. NEXT DAY, I TAKE IT TO A CHEVY GARAGE 4 MILES FROM HOME AND IT IS SQUARTING RADIATOR FLUIDS ALL OVER THEIR FLOOR. RONS AUTO & RV REAPIR, IN ORCHARDS, IN VANCOUVER WA. 98662, THIS GARAGE DID NOT TIGHTEN THE CLAMPS ON THE RADIATOR HOSES. WHY DID HE PUT IN THE $442 DISTRIBUITOR FIRST AND THEN THE $199 EMC SECOND. THE PARTS SUPPLY STORE SAID THAT THE PART WAS MARKED UP 400% OVER WHAT THE SHOP PAID. I BELIEVE THIS SHOP STUFFS THE VEHICLES WITH HIGHLY MARKED UP PARTS ON PURPOSE. Product_Or_Service: INTERMITANT STALLING

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund SETTLEMENT. I WANT A REFUND FOR THE UNNESSARY DISTRIBUTOR $442.00, AND FOR THE LABOR COST $92.50 FOR PUTTING IT IN. $534.50, TOTAL PUT BACK ON MY CARD. THERE SHOULD BE A PUNISHMENT FOR CHEATING THE PUBLIC AND THEY SHOULD NOT PROFIT FROM IT. THIS WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN IF THERE IS NO CANSEQUENTS. THIS IS WHY YOU HAVE SO MANY HORROR STORIES ABOUT MACHANICS. THEY TAKE YOUR CAR AND GIVE YOU A FALSE QUOTE THEN BAIT AND SWITCH THE BILL AND THE CUSTOMER FEELS LIKE A RAPE VICTIUM. YOU HAVE TO PAY THE BILL AND GET YOU CAR BACK SO THAT YOU CAN GO TO WORK AND FEED THE KIDS AND PAY THE BILLS. YOU ARE NEALY SICK BECAUSE YOU KNOW YOU HAVE BEEN HAD AND CANT DO ANYTHING BUT COMPLAIN. AND THATS WHAT THEY COUNT ON. YOUR SO TIRED JUST KEEPING YOUR FAMILY GOING. YOU DONT HAVE THE ENGERY TO GO TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT AND DRAG IT OUT FOR UP TO 1 YEARS. EVEN WHEN YOU WIN THEY STILL CAN APPEAL AND THEY JUST BEAT YOU DOWN. YOU JUST WANT TO PUT IT BEHIND YOU, AND GET ON WITH WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO. AND THAT IS

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/17) */ We Have Made Several Attempts To Contact ******** ******. We have tried our best to make her happy. On the questioned invoice we gave her a free Oil Change. We had her return and flushed her cooling system for free. We offered to replace the distributor with one she bought for no charge, and Refund the money for parts and labor,and haven't heard back from her. She is asking for a refund of parts and labor of $534.50. We will refund her 579.40 Which is Parts,Labor,and Sales Tax. Either by check or refund it to her card whichever she prefers. We do not have her card# on file so she would need to come in, or contact us by phone. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) #1. To correct the record. First, they are not giving me a free radiator flush, that service was still under warranty from a repair job on 6/27/2013. #2. Their original offer for exchanging the distributor was. For me to go buy another one and they would install it with no warranty coverage. Since this mechanic has a problem installing less expensive parts (He told me he had to replace less expensive distributors for another customer 3 times) then I am very fearful of taking that offer. #3. I have accepted their offer to refund the $579.40 for the overpriced part, they installed and the labor and tax involved. #4. We still have the problem of the pickup going into their garage with brake & tail lights & turn signals working and NOT WORKING WHEN IT LEFT. This has cost me another $282.57 to repair. This need to be reimbursed. I should not have to bear this cost. I don't know how they broke this I just know that they were all working when the truck went into the shop. #5. Now we have the problem of the warranties on the parts installed. What is going to happen if within the year. They go to ****? Also I have nothing in writing that show these rebuilt parts have any warranties, ( I was told at the auto parts store for around $2.00 more that I could have had brand new parts with a lifetime warranty),and because they refused to return to me the old parts and refused to give me the parts numbers that were installed. I am left twisting in the wind it any of these rebuilt parts fail. I believe they are responsible for the truck turn signals and brake light not working and I would hope that they step up and pay me for the extra cost I have had to pay to another garage, To fix this problem. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/04) */ We Spoke with Ms. ****** on 7/31/14 and Offered to refund the remainder of the invoice in question, she said she would be happy with that as a resolution. We mailed her a check on 8/1/14 for agreed upon amount. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)