BBB Accredited Business since

Meyer's Muffler City

Phone: (907) 279-0408 Fax: (907) 274-8652 105 W 5th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers wholesale and retail automotive parts and services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Meyer's Muffler City meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Meyer's Muffler City include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meyer's Muffler City
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1954 Business started locally: 01/01/1954 Business incorporated 07/24/1992 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Alfred Meyer, Owner Mr. Sean McCoy, General Manager Mr. Bo Taylor, Customer Service/Complaints
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Sean McCoy, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Alfred Meyer, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Amtal Inc Muffler City

Additional Locations

  • 105 W 5th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 279-0408


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: At 1022 7AUG2014. I called Muffler City for a price quote on a alignment and was quoted for $89.99 for an alignment + $2.50 for a inspection on the suspension. I was notified prior to bringing my girl friend's vehicle (05 GMC Sierra 1500) in the representative that I was speaking to, had explained that they would test drive the vehicle prior to inspecting the suspension and would contact me with any issues with the suspension before proceeding with the alignment to ensure it would be done properly and would give me a quote on parts and labor that would need to be replaced after having the suspension inspected and how I would like to proceed into getting the alignment done. At approximately 0930 09AUG2014 I had taken the vehicle in to have the alignment and was told that it would be done before the end of the business day. I got a phone call that afternoon from Muffler City at 1330 and was notified that the upper control arms that were installed were defective on the vehicle and that they still proceeded with the alignment and I was going to be charged for it since it had already been done and that the parts would need to be replaced and would need another alignment after getting the proper quality parts. I went down to Muffler City and talk to the mechanic that did the alignment explain to me that during the initial test drive prior to inspecting the suspension that the vehicle had a popping noise and clunking noise. They then inspected the suspension and saw that one of the upper control arm's nut was slightly loose on one side that was connected to one of the bolt's and that also some of the alignment pins were missing. The mechanic had tightened the loose nut then still proceeded in doing the alignment with-out calling me and notifying me of the issue and missing alignment pins after during the inspection on the suspension. He then did the alignment, test drove the vehicle again and said that the same noise and clunk was still there and did not fix the issue. I then said to the mechanic that test drove the vehicle and did the alignment, asked why I was not aware of the issues before proceeding with the alignment? He had said that It was just a lose nut on the bolt that just had to be tightened and that the alignment can still be done with out the alignment pins but would take more time to have it done properly. He then had taken me to his manager (**** *****) to talk to and explain the situation since I did not agree that I should not have to pay for the alignment since I was not aware of that the upper control arms were said to be defective and missing alignment pins. The manager then had explained to me of the same issue that the mechanic had said. I then argued again to the manager that I feel It wasn't proper on there end that they proceeded to do the alignment with-out our consent and not notifying us of the known issues found during the initial test drive and the inspection of the suspension. The manager then said "I'm not going to test drive the vehicle four to five hundred times to ensure that just to have an alignment done, that a loose nut is the issue of the popping or clunking noise and said I was lucky that I'm not being charged $150 an hour for labor just to have a loose bolt tighten" After arguing for an hour about the service that already had been done to the vehicle I decided to pay for the alignment ($89.99) + inspection of the suspension ($2.50) for what I was quoted for since I wanted to take it upon to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). After checking out I saw that I was being charged for the total amount of $102.50. I had asked the representative that I was quoted $89.99 for the alignment over the phone but the representative had told me that it was $99.99. I then was handed the key's and went to the vehicle and saw that the vehicle's ABS light was on and the vehicle was being driven in 4WD. I then saw **** ***** was outside of the shop in the parking lot and explained the issue after starting the vehicle. He then said and asked me "Do you want me to fix it?" I told him that the vehicle did not have the ABS light on prior to bringing it to have it serviced. He told me to go inside and talk to the mechanic that worked on the vehicle. I went inside and talked to the mechanic and explained that the ABS light was on. **** ***** then appeared and asked his mechanic if the ABS light was on before he test drove it. The mechanic had said "No, I wasn't even paying attention to see if the ABS light was even on and that the upper control arms or doing an alignment has nothing to do with the ABS light on" I then asked if they were going to take a look at it. **** ***** said they aren't going to keep arguing with me about the issues of the vehicle and that they did what was asked to be serviced.

Desired Settlement: I am completely and truly disappointed of the mechanical/customer service on how I was treated and how this company did not up hold there procedures in contacting me when they had notice a loose nut and missing alignment pins and still proceeded with doing the alignment anyways. The settlement I am seeking from the business is to be fully reimbursed for the amount of $102.50 because I feel they did not inspect the vehicle properly and failed to contact me after they had first test drove the vehicle and found these two issues as stated above after the inspection of the suspension.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/09/17) */ The events of the day in question are as follows: *********, referred hereafter as SA (service advisor) received a customer, ************, on the morning of 8/9/14. Customer requested an alignment, due to having had new control arms installed at a different repair facility. He was quoted $89.95 for an alignment, providing that the suspension was serviceable and needing no further repairs. Customer agreed, and work order generated was dispatched to a technician. Upon road-testing, a light clunk noise was heard coming from the right front wheel area. (Note: a test drive and inspection pertains to checking out old front end steering and suspension components.) On inspection, a cam nut was found to be loose at the right front upper control arm, rear cam. ( No old parts were worn or loose, and the new control arms appeared good during the inspecti0n, with exception of the loose nut.) Since we could tighten it and proceed with the alignment, we did so. The alignment was successfully performed, even though the vehicle was missing some cam pins. Pins make it easier to align, but it is still possible to align the vehicle without them. The loose cam and the missing pins are not part of the control arm assemblies. During the post-repair test drive, a loud clunk and thud occurred on a right-hand turn, and every turn thereafter. We brought the vehicle back into the shop for a reinspection. We found a problem with the control arms that were installed elsewhere- the control arms were sliding back and forth on the bushings of the arms. This is not a normal occurrence, and the way we found out about the bushings was by spending time (at no cost to customer) to locate the source of the noise. That required use of the vehicle lift in order to drive the vehicle back and forth with a technician under the truck, again at no cost to the customer. The customer was informed of the problem, and told to return to the shop that had installed the defective control arms. They were responsible for the replacement of the arms and any reimbursement due the customer for the alignment cost, since the arm failure occurred after the successful alignment by our technician. At this point, customer became agitated, and was referred to me for an explanation or resolution. I listened to SA and customer, spoke to the technician, and confirmed SA's assessment. Upon conversing with customer, it was explained to him several times the timeline of what was done. His insistence that I should have stopped the technician from performing an alignment merely because of a loose cam nut, which is a common thing, is not the normal thing. So the decision was made to tighten the nut (at no cost to customer) and proceed with the work requested by the customer. This was reasonable, and is something we do often, since customers generally appreciate the attentiveness to their vehicles, and at no charge to boot. As a manager, to continue or stop working is my decision, and I stand by the decision to proceed in the manner that we did. The customers vehicle was repaired in a timely fashion, and to factory specification as required. This customer is dwelling on non-issues, as far as the repairs go. The loose nut did not inhibit the ability of our technicians to perform a good alignment, nor did the missing pins. As noted on the repair order: "Note: had rr cam not torqued-causing control arm to move in-and-out. Tightened @ nc. Note: on after-repair road test-bad clunk during cornering-found control arms sliding fore-and-aft on bushings-defective control arms-refer to previous repair shop for warranty repair. Also, missing cam pins." Since the alignment was successfully performed prior to the control arm failure, the charge of $89.95 as quoted stands, along with the $2.50 surcharge, as agreed. On investigation, it was confirmed that SA inadvertently overcharged customer by $10.00, which , at the time of this response, is being submitted to our business office for reimbursement via check. I apologize for this error, and any angst over it. To summarize, the vehicle was repaired elsewhere and shoddily done, using inferior parts in my opinion, judging by the nature of the failure of the arms. We did what we normally do, and performed the work requested in a reasonable time, and at the price quoted, even though it took us more time (ie: having to retorque the cam before alignment, and the additional time that it takes to align without the cam pins) to accomplish, through no fault of our own. The normal charge for the additional work performed would be 5 hours @ $100/hr shop rate to retorque control arm attaching hardware on both sides, since if one is loose, more may be loose, and it is prudent of us to make certain. The additional time to diagnose the control arm failure would have been 1.0 hours $100/hr -- time of the technician and use of the lift to diagnose. We have been repairing steering and suspension components on Chevy trucks for well over 40 years, and this is the first time I have witnessed this type of control arm failure. In a nutshell, we went above and beyond the performance of a normal truck alignment, and instead of a thank-you from a customer, we got an attempt to strongarm us into giving him the alignment for free. Normally, I will extend the olive branch, but not this time. Customer is free to take his vehicle anywhere else to have repairs performed. Thank you for your time. ********** Service Manager, Muffler City Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/09/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To the service manager of Muffler City, I was not informed of the problems found (as you stated) on the vehicle, until AFTER the alignment was performed. As prior to asking the procedure of an alignment, your customer service representative (who unprofessionally did not state their name) stated that an inspection of the suspension would be performed (for $2.50) BEFORE having an alignment done properly and If any issues were to be found or missing on the suspension, I then would be notified to decide if I wanted to fix the issues or to have the parts replaced on the vehicle. Unfortunately, this DID NOT happen as I was advised per your shop's policy. To say that I was trying to "strong-arm" your company for me to try to get the alignment done for free, you did not even PROVIDE or even OFFER me the alignment specification sheet to show proof that the alignment was done on the vehicle. You do not deny your actions after I also asked about the ABS light being on (which was not on at the time the vehicle was dropped off to your company) when starting the vehicle in your parking lot before leaving and not even offering to even resolve the problem. Just shows that the vehicle was neglected from the beginning it was taken in for the alignment. As being the service manager for the company, how can you say "in your opinion" that using inferior parts and the work on the vehicle was shadily done as you stated, when you were NOT the technician who test drove the vehicle or performed the alignment as mentioned in your response to my complaint. Again, as I was previously explained by your customer service representative of your shop's policy procedure, that I would be notified before doing an alignment If any issues were found. So to say you went "above and beyond" to fix the vehicle, I was never informed until now that you re-torqued the cam before the alignment and proceeded with the alignment after knowing that the cam pins were missing. I find this very unprofessional, dishonest and immoral coming from a vehicle repair shop which is considered an "A+" BBB accredited company. The reason for me taking my GMC to Muffler City was because I've actually had the exhaust repaired on the truck and custom exhaust work done on my other vehicle by ****, who is a reputable employee in the company and guarantees his work with no issues. Needless to say, I do not recommend any types of repair other than custom exhaust or exhaust repair unless It's done by **** himself. Sincerely, ***** ** ****** Final Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2014/12/10) */ To whom it may concern: This is my final response to this customer's complaint. Please refer back to my original response, as it is correct in every detail. In addition to that response, I will reiterate the points and timeline, because the customer is confusing the order in which events occurred. I will address the actual work on the vehicle, beginning with the initial test drive, and concluding with the finding of the parts failure. 1. Initial road test-found light clunk noise on right front. 2. Inspection-found loose rear cam nut on right front. Tightened nut-no additional problems. 3. Alignment performed to factory specification. 4. Follow-up road test-vehicle drove straight, no pulling or wandering. On return, made right turn and heard a popping/clunking type noise. 5. Re-inspection for noise. Found upper control arms sliding on their bushings. As control arms are brand new, recently installed at a different shop, I recommend customer to return to that repair facility to effect warranty repairs on the defective control arms. Note: We have been repairing suspension and steering components for many years, and this is the first time that we have seen this type of part failure. As it happened on both new arms, the only reasonable explanation is inferior parts, in my professional opinion as a certified suspension technician. Summary: The customer was charged the fee for the alignment as agreed upon. The inspection was done, the loose nut tightened at no charge, and the alignment performed, thus meeting our commitment to the customer. The unfortunate part failure happened AFTER all of our work had been completed successfully. The customer needs to take his vehicle back to the repair shop that replaced the control arms. They need to replace them with good quality parts, and reimburse him for the additional alignment that will be necessary after the good arms are installed. As far as the abs light being on, the technician did not know if the light was on during the initial road-test. Since the abs system has no connection to the suspension or the performance of an alignment, then there would be a charge to diagnose the problem, as it is an unrelated concern. Customer feels that we should repair an unrelated problem for free. Technicians get paid for what work they perform, and I cannot require that they work for free, so there would have to be a charge for abs system diagnosis. This was explained to the customer, but it appears that he wants something for nothing. I cannot help him on this subject. This is how events unfolded on this day, for this vehicle. Anything other than these facts have no bearing on the repairs, and are attempts by customer to obfuscate the facts. I will not address anything other than that which I have already addressed. Thank you for your time. **** ***** Service Manager, Muffler City Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 26, 2014/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To **** ***** the Service Manager of Muffler City. I am honestly would just be repeating my-self with my final response. The timeline that you have explained is accurate to a certain extent from your perspective. A lot of information has been left out for you to admit that is true weather or not you can agree to it. Communicating with the customer was the biggest failure on your company's part of having to avoid this complaint against your company. For any future customers that is going to be reading this would probably be not surprised of how poor the customer service is. I still have NOT been refunded the $10.00 from your company that you have overcharged me for the service of the alignment (which I consider a rookie mistake on customer service to make, if not knowing the prices of the services). I find it unprofessional for you to take almost three months to respond to resolve this issue through the Better Business Bureau (My Last Response 9/17/14). Anybody should just Google your company's name and see how many poor reviews that has been left from other customers and not waste there time here with just trying to make a difference. All other auto-repair shops in Anchorage would see what you've done was just a way to make typical easy money off a customer by giving excuses and not trying to satisfy the customer, or even trying to work something out with the customer. (For future customers reading this, please read from the beginning from my initial response)

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Muffler City is an auto services and parts company located within Anchorage, AK. Recommendations for rims were made by Muffler City Manager (***) based on my vehicles year, make, and model. Upon purchase, *** "confirmed" rims met manufacturer recommendations. Two months following, rims have noticeably affected the performance of the vehicle and damaged the tires. After maintenance appointment with Subaru, it is clear the rims purchased from Muffler City do not meet manufacturer recommendations for the year, make, and model. Was advised by Subaru services and parts to contact Muffler City and request for exchange due to sales of incorrect product. *** was highly defensive and confrontational towards my husband (****** ******) and Subaru Services Assistant Manager (********).

Desired Settlement: Muffler City knowingly sold rims that are incorrect and do not meet manufacturer recommendations for my vehicle. I believe it is justifiable that Muffler City refund the full amount paid for the rims. I have owned the rims for two months. The rims are in excellent condition and have been well taken care of. Muffler City is supposed to be a company with professional mechanics therefore, any advice or recommendations given should be accurate. It is clear Muffler City's priority lies in profit not professional care. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 13, 2014/07/29) */ This matter has been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 15, 2014/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to Alfred Meyer Muffler and brake on 5th Avenue downtown to change out my winter tires. Upon arrival to pick up my car, they informed me that one of my car wheel lug nuts broke. They blamed it on the previous shop that installed the winter tires. They wanted to charge me $120 to repair the broken lug nut. I explained to them that more than likely they over torque the wheel studs. Its irrelevant to me who and how the lug nut break. I asked them to replace it because it's a safety issue. They rudely refused. I then asked for the manager and they told me one was not available. I asked for the owner; they told me that the office is in Seattle. After further questioning, I learned that the co-owner, ****** ***** was standing behind the counter next to me. *** ***** obnoxiously refused to replace the broken lug nut.Sadly, this shop advertised in the Arctic Warrior newspaper on JBER regularly to attract military customers. Why are they being unpatriotic to a wounded combat veteran? Why evasive about their management to address customer safety issue? Product_Or_Service: Change out winter tires

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want them to pay for a replacement of a broken lug nut at a Hyundai dealership.I do not trust them to repair my vehicle or any military member vehicles.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/28) */ To whom it may concern: This letter is in response to claims of **** ****, regarding his Hyundai vehicle. *** **** came into the shop to have his tires changed from studs to the summer tires. The tire technicians started work on his vehicle at about 4:00 p.m. As they were removing the wheels, the tech noticed that the threads of the wheel studs were coming off stripped. He stopped work on the vehicle and brought the problem to the attention of the salesman. After inspection, the salesman called the customer to inform him of the situation, and how would he like us to proceed. The studs would either be stripped or may break, either case requiring stud replacement, and the cost would be $104.00 to repair. He was asked that if we cannot rethread the studs, does he want us to continue changing the tires. The customer told us to proceed with the changing of the tires, stating that 'the guy down the street changed the tires last'. We told him we would do what we could to get him by until Monday, so that he can get hold of the guy that worked on his car. He said that would be fine. At 5:02, the customer came in and said "I want you to change my stud, and change it now." The salesperson explained that we could not do that at that time, since we close at 6:00 p.m., and that the replacement of the stud(s) would take more time than we had available. The salesman tried to show *** **** the condition of the lugnuts that came off, but he would not look at them, instead he accused the salesman of stripping the lugs (he said "How do I know you guys didn't strip them?"). The reply to that was because "I called you at the time we were taking them off and you said to continue removing them." If the customer had asked to replace the damaged studs when service had just started, there would have been sufficient time to complete the repairs. Had *** **** looked at the lugnuts, he would have seen that the lugs were rusty, which takes a considerable time to occur, and also that some were the wrong ones for the vehicle. They had the wrong thread pitch for the studs on the vehicle. *** ****** refusal to look at the damaged lugs then continued into a denial of his problem, stating that he didn't feel like dealing with this, and that the problem was between Muffler City and the guy down the street who last worked on the tires. He wanted us to fix the car and charge the guy down the street (we still had no clue as to the identity of the 'guy down the street'). We would have been more than happy to accomodate this request. It is our practice to contact another shop if there is a question of responsibility, to give the other shop the option of repairing the customer's vehicle themselves, or having us fix it and they can pay us directly. This relieves the customer of some of the stress of being in the middle, and hav- ing to deal with such things. But this practice requires that we know who to contact other than 'the guy down the street'. After listening to this discourse between the salesman and *** ****, ** stepped into the situ- ation and told *** **** that it is *** ****** car, and that all we can do is inform him of his options on what we see regarding any problems. We were able to rethread most of the other studs and put new lugnuts on them to get him by until Monday, to give him time to decide whether to have 'the guy' fix it or have us perform the replacement of damaged studs. He was informed that if we do the work, he would have to pay us the $104.00. *** **** made more undeserved accusations about not trusting us, so ** ended the conversation, asking *** **** if he wanted to leave the car with us, or to take it home with him. *** ****** erratic behavior and decision-making left us with no certain direction to go in re- gards to how we could help him. He made many unreasonable requests of us, wanting us to repair his vehicle at someone else's expense, without having any commitment from anyone else to pay his bill. We had no other recourse other than determine that we could not help him. We did not cause the damage to his vehicle, but rather did effect repairs to get him mobile again, without charge to him. By this same reasoning, we will not pay for any repairs to his vehicle, by the guy down the street, the Hyundai dealership, or any other entity. Thank you for your help in this matter. Sincerely, **** ***** Service Manager, Muffler City Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/06/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Simply states, this shop doesn't use due care. If you stripped a lug nut, replace it. That's what an honorable shop should do. Dishonest and paltry shops like Muffler City and Brakes will bully customers and shift the blame. It's easy to blame previous shops or others for your incompetent and shameful conduct. I've called around and a new lug nut for my car cost around $26 bucks. Muffler City and Brakes wants to charge me $104 dollars for their mistake. I'm committed to inform every Soldiers and Airmen at JBER and citizens within the Municipality of Anchorage of Muffler City and Brakes shoddy service.