BBB Accredited Business since

Meineke Car Care Center # 1397

Phone: (907) 279-4541 Fax: (907) 279-0416 3200 Seward Hwy Ste 101, Anchorage, AK 99503 http://www.meineke.com/store/anchorage-1397/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Meineke Car Care Center # 1397 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Meineke Car Care Center # 1397 include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Meineke Car Care Center # 1397 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Meineke Car Care Center # 1397
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2008 Business started locally: 11/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clayton Arterburn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clayton Arterburn, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Auto Services - Oil & Lube Shock Absorbers

Alternate Business Names
CE Enterprises Inc Meineke Car Care Center

Additional Locations

  • 3200 Seward Hwy Ste 101

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 279-4541

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* discount for a "Supreme Oil Change" included: The Deal $27.99 for a supreme oil change ($55 Value) *Replace filter and up to 5 quarts of premium oil *Perform 23-point inspection *Rotate tires *Top off fluids The Fine Print Expires 148 days after purchase. Limit 1 per person. Limit 1 per visit. 5 qts premium bulk oil (10w30/5w20/5w30) and standard filter included. Additional fee above 5 quarts ($3 per quart), non-standard filters, or synthetic oil. The "Deal" did not include the synthetic oil cost difference my 2012 Prius used ...I understood that when I purchased the "*******". However, the ******* did include the "Labor" for the "Deal" highlights: *Replace filter and up to 5 quarts of premium oil *Perform 23-point inspection *Rotate tires *Top off fluids But instead of charging me the difference between the "Premium Bulk Oil" and the synthetic, Meineke charged me full price on the synthetic and an additional $33 labor charge on top of my ******* for a total of $70.99! This is a far cry from 54% savings and a "Supreme Oil Cahnge" ******* Deal! It's more like the full price I have always had to pay. And all this was never disclosed until after the service was performed at the front counter! Very deceptive, dishonest & dishonorable promotion.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed cash for the bogus additional $33.00 labor charges.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/06) */ I am sorry for the concern with ******** but we did not charge him an extra labor fee. I can see where he could get confused with the way it was printed on his invoice. If ** ***** would like to call us or come by again we would be more than willing to work with him to help him understand the invoice. As we at Meineke strive to provide excellent customer service. We have a message into *** ***** at this time and look forward to hearing from him to help resolve his concerns. He can reach us at (XXX)XXX-XXXX anytime during business hours Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will never use or recommend their service.

11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was an estimate prepared for the brake job. After we agreed to the price and they started the work, the salesman called and said that it was going to cost more. We said we wouldn't pay it and we didn't want him to do any additional work. He say he could not release the vehicle to us because the extra cost was for a safety item. He said the brakes were "smoking" and it was dangerous. It was not smoking when we brought the vehicle in. We still told him we were not paying for the additional work. Ultimately, they put the vehicle back together for the original price without fixing the extra item. We then took the vehicle to another repair place to fix the extra item. They said it did not even need to be fixed. Additionally, we were told that the work would only take one day. They took two days to do a simple brake job. Finally, upon reviewing the bill, we noticed that they charged us to replace the front brake pads. They were brand new 2 years ago. Their own inspection report indicates that the front brake pads were in good condition. We believe they did this work, charged us for it and it was unnecessary. Also we declined rear left and right wheel cylinders and they went ahead a replaced them and charged us for them.

Desired Settlement: I feel that we should get our money back for front brake pads that were already new. And also replacing the cylinders, when we told them not to. They went ahead and replaced and charged us for them. Also he mentioned that if my son was to drive the truck he was not responsible for what might happen to him. In other words, he made me feel as if I didn't get the truck fixed my son would get hurt. He he was using scare tactics. They then went ahead and put the truck back together and had no problem releasing the truck to us after telling him we would not pay for the additional service. So I guess it would be nice to get compensated for the emotional stress they put me through.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/03) */ The work on the *****'s vehicle was originally authorized by Ms. *****. 1 hour into the job Mr. ***** called unhappy about the work his wife had approved. After settling on the scope of work our mechanic went back to work on their car. We did call the ****** after starting the job, because after the vehicle was apart the technician found a cracked piston in the brake caliper. The ****** did not want to pay for the added work and instead asked Meineke to do the work at no cost. Our service writer explained that it was dangerous to drive the car with a cracked piston but at no time did he tell the ****** he would not release their car to them if they didn't do the work. The *****'s wheel cylinders were leaking awfully and they reluctantly agreed to have us replace them. The *****'s brake pads were also replaced as is industry standard when replacing rotors and the pads were 2 years old as stated in *****'s complaint. Furthermore all this work was agreed to before it was completed by Meineke. Initially on a test drive there was some smoke from the left front brake rotor. The tech was concerned that the caliper might be hanging up and understanding the previous issues with the cost of the repair the service writer called Mr. ***** and offered to replace the part at our cost. Mr. ***** agreed but subsequently the technician found some of the chemicals that are used to keep new rotors from rusting had not been entirely cleaned off and that was the cause of the smoke. The caliper was not replaced nor my Mr. ***** charged for it. Bottom line is the ****** got the parts replaced that they paid for and that they agreed to have replaced. We understand why the ****** may have felt we were using scare tactics, however a cracked caliper piston is not something I would put my own wife on the road with and we only try to do our best to inform our customers of the importance of getting critical parts such as components of their brake system replaced when they are damaged or failing. Replacing brake pad when changing rotors falls under the same category. When pads and rotors run together for many miles (or 2 years) the pads develop small grooves to match the rotor, if they are not changed out with the rotor the grooves reduce the contact area on the brake pad to the rotor until the brake pads are worn down to match the new rotor. This decreased contact area causes increase stopping distance which can be a problem in an emergency. We are sorry for any emotional stress we caused upon the ****** however their car is much safer than when it arrived at our shop. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We took the vehicle to another repair shop to replace the caliper referenced in the response. We did that the day after we picked the vehicle from Meineke - because of the "serious safety issue" we were warned about. We were told there was nothing wrong with it, and no repair was needed. The other shop had an opportunity to make some money, but they did the right thing and told us the truth. So the response is a lie. We did not agree to have the front pads replaced. They were done without our authorization. That is another lie. We are not planning to take this any further. But we will never return to this place and we will warn our friends and family to stay away and we wanted others to know about our bad experience there. They are dishonest. We will chalk this up to a learning experience. And a waste of chalk.

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2010 Subaru Forester to Meineke on Thursday 9/18/14 to have the brakes checked & replaced/repaired......it cost $588.08 upon driving it back to work & home that evening it smelled like something was burning...I parked off to the side in my driveway thinking it may have been over greased....On Saturday at 2pm I went to get in the vehicle (I had an appt at 3pm) & it had a complete flat on the right rear.....as I had not had any problems with this tire before I assumed that I had ran over something & as I needed to leave I took my other car...when my appt was over @ 5pm I started calling tire repair places trying to find one open on Sat after 5pm....the only one was **** Club....they did not have any openings so I went back to **** on Sunday @ 11 am & waited for 2.5 hrs to find out that the tire was flat because the valve stem sensor was damaged & had leaked all of the air out....On Monday 9/22/14 I called Meineke & spoke with ***** (the manager) & he had me bring the vehicle in so they could look at the sensor & drive to check on the burning smell....they replaced the sensor & said that they could not reset it because they did not have the proper tool & I would need to take it to the dealer to reset & that the smell was due to over greasing. the dealer wants $45 & it will take another 1-2 hrs to fix.....I have already spent over 5 hrs dealing with a tire & sensor issue (costing me over $250 of missed work time) Now they want me to bring it back to the shop & look at it again.

Desired Settlement: I want the shop to refund me 1/2 of the price of fixing the brakes due to the loss of my time at work having to get the flat tire & sensor fixed.....I will never recommend or use Meineke again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ Mrs. ******** brought her 2010 Subaru Forester in to Meineke on 9/18/2014 complaining of a grinding noise and noting that antilock brake light has been illuminated on and off over the last year. Upon inspection the technician found that her tire light was illuminated and that the car required brakes (See attached inspection). The tires were removed form the vehicle and the authorized brake work was completed. No word was preformed on the tires. The vehicle was picked up in the afternoon on 9/18/14. There were no issues with the tires holding air. Mrs. ******** called the shop on 9/22/14 and informed us of her issue. Even though we had not done any work with her tires we asked her to bring the car back into the shop, so we could inspect it. The customer had also complained of a burning smell, We inspected the vehicle and found a small amount of brake slide lube had inadvertently gotten on to the rotors causing a temporary burning smell. No other issues were found with the brakes. Even though the TPMS issue had not been caused by Meineke, we offered to replace the sensor as we value the satisfaction of all of our customer's Unfortunately Meineke does not have the tool to reset the TPMS system on a Subaru, so we sent Mrs. ******** to the Subaru repair shop to have the TPMS reset from the complimentary sensor replacement. Mrs ******** got the brake work that she had paid for along with a TPMs sensor replaced free of charge. There were no issues with Mrs. ********'s tires holding air when she loft our shop and she didn't have an issue until two days after she left our facility. In summary Meineke had done everything we can to attempt to ensure the satisfaction of our customer, including replacing parts we did not work on free of charge.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/24/**** I am writing this fom1al letter of complaint about the owner of Meineke, ***, in Anchorage, Alaska. His behavior was completely inhumane, unprofessional, and disrespectful. I also felt that he stereotyped me and was verbally attacking, while challenging my integrity. I will detail the interaction later in this document. On Saturday, July 20, ****, I got an oil change at Meineke. I was supposed to get a wheel alignment, but the machine was broken. ***** was very professional when I entered and I had worked with him previously at Midas and never had a problem. I felt 1hat I could trust his judgment. He diagnosed that my car had threads that were stripped in the oil pan and stated that I needed a new oil pan. He offered an alternative of using an oversized drain plug and did do this. He stated that if this did not work, I would have to replace the oil pan. It took about three hours for me to get my vehicle and ***** charged me 34.99 due to the inconvenience of waiting and having a wheel alignment machine that did not work. On Sunday, July 21, ****, I noticed an oil leak on my garage floor. I figured that the plug did not work. I drove my car past Meineke and it was closed. Knowing that I had to still do an alignment, I went to Sears. I was told there that the car was leaking oil, but that they could not repair the leak there. In a panic, I called my ovm mechanic of several years (see documents enclosed) on Monday July, 22, ****. I told him that the oil was leaking. He asked me to check the oil and to let him know if it was low. I checked the oil and it was above max level which concerned me and alerted me to the fact that my car had been over-filled. At this point, I was irritated wi1h Meineke and decided I would not go back there. On Tuesday, July 23, ***** I took my vehicle to my mechanic who allowed me to go underneath my vehicle and see the stripped oil pan. *****'s assessment was accurate, but his technician's work was flubbed. I paid my mechanic $30 for a temporary fix that involves a rubber seal and my car is not leaking. He confirmed that Meineke in fact over-filled my vehicle and stated, "They may have been trying to buy themselves some time." We are now ordering the oil pan. With this revelation and proof that I saw with my eyes, I called ***** at Meineke and told him of the incident. He asked if he could call me back and did not. I called again that afternoon and he had gone to lunch. He did not call back. On Wednesday, July 24, ***** I went into Meineke with the intent of following up with *****. I planned to show him my paperwork and explain what had occurred. Instead I got ***, whom I have never seen or spoken to. As soon as I said my name, he began to verbally attack me, letting me know that Meineke does not want my business and saying to me, "I don't believe you." He stated to me, "You're trying to get something for nothing," which perplexed me and led to me Jul XX XX XX:XXp ***** *******-***** XXXXXXXXXX believing that he had in some way stereotyped me, when the fact is I am a Ph.D. educated doctor in private practice and a professor with the local university. I let him know this much and he responded by saying, "Well congratulations. I am a professional too." He could have fooled me with his behavior. Thirty-four dollars and ninety-nine cents does not pay the smallest bill I have. I took great offense to his lack of professionalism. verbal attack and the audacity he had to try to do it because there was not another soul in the waiting room. It felt predatory. I did not request a bonanza. I requested to be made whole. He also interrogated me asking me several questions to include asking why I did not take my car to my mechanic for an oil change. Well, my gym is around the comer and this was a matter of convenience that I have now paid dearly for. I have been sure to tell all my colleagues about my experience so that they do not go there as well as plan to formally report him to corporate of Meineke. I may contact the news as well, as I have cormcctions there as a consulting therapist. *** stated, "You are the only person to complain." A statement I know to be false based on previous Better Business Bureau (BBB) reports. When I stated this to him, he quickly changed this to since he has been there. He appears to be an angry, defensive person and whatever issues he has (possibly right temporal lobe damage or a mental illness) that do not allow him to manage his anger and show good customer service arc not okay. *** refunded me my money, but based on sheer principle, I am writing this letter so that this type of disgusting and demoralizing behavior does not happen to another unsuspecting woman. I will never return to Meineke. I am not a litigious person and do not initiate daims unless I have a valid reason. I am a woman of integrity and *** challenged this without valid reason. I will not accept that lying down. I have been in Alaska 20 years and this is by far the most ignorant, vindictive, and spiteful person I have come across. If nothing comes of this claim, I will be sure to spread the word to anyone I talk to about Meineke and with a profession like the one I am in and have been in for 14 years, I come into contact with hundreds. Short of initiating a boycott, I will file this claim and alert the media to businesses that work with this level of insidiousness and **** of integrity and ethics. During the exchange, I was shocked by ***'s behavior ... so shocked that I bursts into tears. He then had the gumption to tell me not to get upset and finally tried to hurry me out the door in an attempt to shift blame on to me because a customer came in to the shop. Stating, "I am not raising my voice" in response to my pointing out that he was attacking me. Clearly he does not realize that aggressive communication does not involve a raised voice. When I stated to *** that this was not okay and that I am a customer, *** stated, "You were a customer." At this point I was angry and stated, "You do not get to be condescending to me. I will contact the Better Business Bureau on your ***." Now 1 am. I am hoping that the BBB will do something about ***. No person should be subjected to this and be made to feel like the culprit when asserting their consumer rights.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology on behalf of Meineke for the inhumane and disrespectful treatment. I will never use them again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/06) */ While we disagree with Ms. ***** assessment of the interaction, we are sorry for any hurt feelings,disrespectful treatment, or other inconvenience.

2/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues