BBB Accredited Business since

Gateway Auto Center Inc

Phone: (503) 261-2350 Fax: (503) 261-2368 13018 SE Stark St, Portland, OR 97233 http://www.gatewayautocenter.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mechanical repair for all vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gateway Auto Center Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gateway Auto Center Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Auto Center Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 05/01/1998 Business started locally: 05/01/1998 Business incorporated: 05/04/1998 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Boline, President Ms. Connie Boline, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Boline, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
John Boline's Gateway Auto Center Inc

Additional Locations

  • 13018 SE Stark St

    Portland, OR 97233 (503) 261-2350

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent to this company by the dealer I bought a lemon car from to be repaired. **** * the owner of Gateway was to check on some of the symptoms the car was having like check engine light came on, popping noise when you turn right/left fog light emblem stays on water, leaking on the driver's side carpet all wet. And squealing from brakes and belts and oil leaks. He advised he cleared code for check engine light/ cleaned gas cap and checked vent system and was Ok at this time. told me I need a headlight switch,$135 - Needs valve cover $140 - needs lower engine torque strut $75 and clean rear brakes $35. But the dealer did not ok fixing the car. I took the car back to the dealer and was told the car was not dangerous so I'd have to fix those things on my own. When i went to get the DEQ paper work it was gone the dealer told me that **** * had went into my glove compartment and took the DEQ DMV document with out my knowledge. This totally unethical! what else Has **** * taken from unsuspecting customers? Not to mention when I took the car to another Auto care center it was found that the car had zero front brakes extensive coolant leaks no coolant at all in the res/tank the battery was too small for the molder of car and no hold downs on it and no spare tire But it was safe to drive. I'd like to know what **** * call's unsafe????? this all happened in the week of Nov 21 thru Nov 28, 2014

Desired Settlement: I'd like to have the compensation of having my car fixed and **** * and **** at ***************** split the bill

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 5, 2014/12/09) */ Ms. ****** ********** brought her car in at the request on ******* *** ****** the original appointment was only to check cooling fans and the check engine light. When the oar came in the customer *** ******** requested that I check the check engine light, a pop noise making a left tum, fog light indicator stays on , water leaking onto front carpel, brakes squeak, and check for an oil leak. I admit I did take the DEQ slip from the glove box at the request of the used car lot who had paid for It I did ask someone to let *** ******** know that I had taken It but I was not aware of the fact she was not told. When I talked to the used car lot they did not want me to do any repairs to the vehicle, so I informed *** ******** of the items that I saw that needed attention, there were no coolant leeks when I pressure checked the oar, I was told by one of my Technicians that the front brakes were about 30%, and that the rear brakes need cleaning. I did try to help her situation with the water on the floor by cleaning her sunroof drains. We also noted that she did not have a spare tire. If I had been authorized by someone to give the car a full inspection we would have done so but since we were not authorized nor were we paid for work performed I don't feel that I owe anything. I did not sell her this car and I only did what I was asked to do. Copy of Invoice attached Sincerely **** ****** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It gets complicated. I have a 1976 Chrysler Cordoba with only 75,000 miles on it. Since 2011, the auto shop replaced a light switch twice, replaced my plugs and wiring twice. Never fixed the car shudder which I have complained about for four years, could not fix windshield wiper problem either. I have paid them more than $3,091.00 in past three years which they didn't properly fix or did repairs that were not needed. Another factor: I'm a 72 yr-old disabled vet and I worry about some elder abuse going on here. I have a complete record of all repairs done on my car since before I got it to now.

Desired Settlement: I'm having my Credit Union reverse the $825.00 charge on my VISA credit card dated June 13, 2014. I also plan to take my car to a shop that has a lot of experience dealing with a 1976 Cordoba to see if they can fix the problems Gateway Auto repeated didn't fix but made me pay a repair bill anyway. I want them to fully pay any and all costs to have my car properly repaired by a professional car repair firm.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/01) */ Customer made an appointment for 7/30/2014 but did not show up. I am surprised at this reaction from this customer when we have tried to repair his vehicle and have not been able to duplicate some of his concerns. I would like to have had the opportunity to address these conditions I recharged his air conditioner at no charge the last time in, and is an older system that now will have to be retrofitted for r-134a, since r-12 is cost prohibitive and freeze 12 is no longer available, there was no mention of a wiper problem . prior to our last repairs done on 6/13/14 the car had not been in for 2 years please advise of a resolution Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The "shutter" problem in either drive or reverse goes back to 10/2011. Same exact problem reported to them five times. They replaced a couple of parts, one which "required a tuneup" and they said that the problem was fixed each time. It is not, and has not, EVER been fixed! Then they did two completely new tuneups two days apart in Oct 2011 after telling me I didn't need one? (One was supposed to "fix" the shutter...) They then replaced the light switch twice (10/2011 and 6/13/2014). They also worked on my dashboard lights problem without really fixing them. They never properly repaired my right windshield wiper using parts available on the internet. Instead they jury rigged it and now it's completely broken. I was charged $39.50 to have my AC recharged in July 2011 and $62.50 in June 2014. Both times it did not put out cool air. And they NEVER told me the AC needed to be retrofitted. Why put freon in a system which you "know" is defective? I have all the repair receipts from them. I highly recommend the owner of the Gateway Auto Center, Inc carefully review all of his records on my car repairs. He will find several problem areas. I also have all parts, fluids and battery receipts from years ago, of which there are very few. My 1976 Chrysler Cordoba only had XXXXX miles on it when I first took in to them on 10/3/2011. When I took in on 6/13/2014, it only had XXXXX miles on because it is not driven very much. That's only 1,932 miles in three years! I now have an appointment with a shop next month who actually knows how to work on a 1976 Carboda. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I very much refuse his resolution. Almost all he said is inaccurate and misleading. He never responded to my "shudder" problem which was the main reason I took my car to him on 10/24/2011. I asked him five times to fix that problem which he never did. He said both himself and his mechanic could not duplicate it. That means he never took the car for a test drive. That's really strange because EVERY time I picked up my car and drove it off their lot, it shuddered! He didn't used a new bushing from Chrysler to fix my windshield wiper arm because I was there watching when they repaired the wiper with a bolt and a nut. They also cut off the windshield washer hose as a result. They never fixed my a/c from the very beginning. I was never told it needed a retrofit. Why did they put Freon in there when they knew it wouldn't work? He keeps talking about how "old" my car is, but doesn't mention the "new parts" he installed are not 38 years old and yet they failed to work a few months later. And the 1976 car has only been driven 76,000 miles (1,000 per year average). The inadequate work done on my car is going to cost me a lot of money as a result. I will be mailing BBB material related to this case. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/09/24) */ in my last email I was just providing you with my side of the complaint, this is not to say I would not help ***** ******, I would like the opportunity to try to resolve this but I will not give an open checkbook to another shop. I would like to see and estimate of needed repairs or be given one last try to repair the items he is stating we need to correct. Thank you **** ******