BBB Accredited Business since

Gabes Truck & Auto Repair LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 456-6156 Fax: (907) 456-2923 2015 Frank Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701 http://www.gabesauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and service shop, including diagnosis, maintenance, tune-ups and mechanical work.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gabes Truck & Auto Repair LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gabes Truck & Auto Repair LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Gabes Truck & Auto Repair LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 10/30/2006 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Martin Frey, Managing Member Ms. Joanna King, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Martin Frey, Managing Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Joanna King, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Towing - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7:30am - 5:30pm
Saturday 9am - 3pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
2 year, 24,000 mile warranty on labor. Manufacturer's warranty on parts.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gabes Truck & Auto Repair LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2015 Frank Ave

    Fairbanks, AK 99701 (907) 456-6156

  • PO Box 72235

    Fairbanks, AK 99707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my vehicle towed to Gabes on 11/21/13 to be repaired, they replaced the throttle body assembly the same day for $597.58. My wife and I picked the car up that night after we got off work, and on the way home it was doing the same thing as before. The next day I took it back to Gabes and they say they can't find the problem. A couple weeks later 12/5/13 I take it in again and they tell me the ECM needs to be replaced which was $820.31, and I'm not getting money back from the throttle body assembly because they should've both been replaced at the same time. I pay them and they keep the car over the weekend so Monday night we pick the car up again and on the way home its still not fixed. So I take it to them again and same as before they couldn't find the problem. So a couple days later I called the owner, *****, and he tells me that he stands by his work and will find the problem and fix it free of charge. I take it in one more time because I don't have enough money to take it anywhere else. They call me and say I should call the car dealership to see if they have a solution to my problem because they don't. Its a problem with the way it was manufactured and its not fixable, but we put a piece of cardboard in front of your radiator which should help a little. Now I call Chevrolet and find out whats going on with my car and they tell me theres nothing wrong with the way it was manufactured if there was then cars would be lined up for service and they're not. Now I've tried to call and talk to the owner ***** several times and he's not there and doesn't call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed or I want my money back, preferrably my money back. If a business says they stand by their work then they shouldn't tell me to call the dealership to find out if they have a solution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/03/19) */ On Nov 21st Mr. ******, 2006 Chevy Cobalt with XXXXXX miles on it, was towed in for dies at intersections. After inspecting the vehicle we found multiple error codes stored in the vehicles computer for the throttle body assembly. Per diagnostic tree the throttle body assembly needs replaced and further inspection needed. We replaced the throttle body and road tested and vehicle did not die. Invoice total $597.58 On Nov 22nd Mr. ****** brought his Cobalt back in the shop stated his vehicle still dies at intersections, we drove it several times and could not duplicate it dying and customer took vehicle. No Charge On Dec 5th Mr. ****** stated that there is a pattern to when the weather dips cold is when it acts up, We spoke with tech service and they recommended to check the ecm for the most current programming. Could not communicate with the ecm. At that point tech service stated ecm must be replaced and reprogrammed . We replaced the ecm, reprogrammed and drove several times. Could not get vehicle to die. Invoice total $820.31 On Dec 12th the vehicle was brought back in for check engine light on and still dies. Mr. ****** spoke with ***** directly, after driving could not duplicate the dying complaint but did verify check engine light was on. During inspection pulled Catalyst code. ****** wanted the upper end of the engine cleaned and then driven. This was performed and light was cleared and reset. After driving light did not come back on and vehicle never died while we had it. No charge On Jan 13th we were able to duplicate the dying complaint... pulled several codes: throttle body not performing. We were replacing the throttle body under warranty. Upon removal of the throttle body found oil and water contamination. Spoke with our tech service and the dealer, the pcv system freezing is the most likely cause of this problem. They recommended putting cardboard in front of the radiator to help the flow of cold air but freezing may still occur due to the location of the pcv on the engine. We tried to get the dealer to give us any information on service bulletins for this and was unsuccessful. Recommended to the customer to contact the dealer, being a customer has a lot more pull than being a competitor trying to get information. We replaced the throttle body and customer took vehicle. No charge for this visit We really believe we did everything we could for Mr. ****** and believed that what we did charge him for to be fair. Although we sympathize he is still stating he is having issues but extreme cold weather in Alaska is not something we can control and unfortunately pcv systems freeze not only on his type of vehicle but many others as well. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is nothing fair about having a vehicle repaired and then being told its not fixable and I should contact the dealership to find out if they have a solution. If I pay $1400 for repairs then shouldn't I get a repaired vehicle, not advice to take it somewhere else or contact someone else. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/03/20) */ ****** **** left a message for ****** to contact him either at the shop or on her cell to try and resolve this matter. ***** is awaiting a call back