BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of luxury European automobiles.

We offer full repair/rebuild on transmissions.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Complete Automotive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Complete Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Complete Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1983 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 03/21/1983 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Burns, President Ms. Nikki Onodera, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Burns, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Nikki Onodera, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Detailing General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Products & Services

Complete Automotive offers the following product(s): European vehicles

Refund and Exchange Policy
All cars are sold contingent on major mechanical inspection.
Alternate Business Names
Bellevue Motor Cars Complete Automotive Inc DBA Dean Transmisison European Motor Cars of Bellevue European Motor Cars of Seattle Seattle Motor Cars
Products & Services

We sell luxury pre owned European vehicles. We have a full service, parts and detail department as well as a transmission shop.


Additional Locations

  • 231 Dexter Ave N.

    Seattle, WA 98109

  • 2331 7th Ave

    Seattle, WA 98121 (206) 322-8857 (206) 329-5500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several complaints. I bought this vehicle back in October. I had an appointment scheduled for 10am with the owner of the company. At 10am when I am standing outside the locked building, I get a phone call that someone would be there shortly. I should have left at this point and never looked back. The man that showed up looked either stoned or hung-over. During the test drive, a warning light was on. I asked the salesman what it was about and he replied "the vehicle is just low on fuel." I thought that was odd but figured he knew what he was talking about. When we returned, I decided to purchase the car. I asked where the owner's manual was located since it was not in the glove box and I wanted to verify the warning light. "Oh, I didn't know it wasn't there, I'll check storage(which was clearly a lie since the guy claiming he didn't know it was there was the same guy who had driven the car for the last year or roughly 10k miles". I still don't have a manual, but was told by a different employee of Complete Auto Service that BMW does not provide manuals anymore but instead it is up to the owner to download and print the PDF. You've got to be kidding me. I wish it stopped there. Part of the purchase agreement was focused on the car needing some front and rear bumper painting. I agreed and have it fixed in writing that they would properly re-paint the front and rear bumpers. Fast forward to the pick-up of the vehicle. No owner, no service guy, just an empoyee picking me up and literally dropping me at a paint shop in an industrial park near the stadiums. No one asked if the paint job was ok, no one followed up. I wouldn't have accepted the car from Complete Auto if someone was there to deny it to. They painted over the old paint and you can clearly see the lines where they taped off and covered over the issues. I called to complain and still haven't recieved any feedback or acknowledgement of wrong-doing. So, I have now had the car for one month. The warning light still comes on when the "car is low on gas and WHEN IT IS NOT!!" I get a flat tire, I take the car into ******** **** and buy new tires since the tread was low. I find out that the rim is cracked and had been welded back together twice in the same area. The wheel was clearly unstable and not architecurally sound. I SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN DRIVING IT ON THE ROAD OR GIVEN IT TO MY WIFE TO DRIVE!!! I called up Complete Auto and asked about the wheel. The owner ***** and I spoke for some time. Apparently this car had been owned by Complete Auto for over a year and it was the owner's son's car. Turns out ***** recalled having an issue with the wheel and told me he had it fixed. I asked him why he didn't disclose this at the time of the sale. I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT THIS CAR KNOWING IT HAD ONE TWICE-REPAIRED CRACKED RIM. I asked ***** if he could help me acquire a new wheel since he knew about it and it should not have sold me the car in this condition. ***** declined to help buy me a new wheel. I figured that was fair since it was only one wheel and it had been a month since the purchase. Seattle has potholes and I was being reasonable. I just wanted help replacing a $500 BMW wheel that I wouldn't have bought if I had known about it. So then December shows up... Remember that warning light that just wouldn't go away? Turns out while driving my car across Mercer Island on the 90, the engine fails. I limp the car the *** ** ******** only to find out that the warning light was telling me my fuel pump was FAILING and that I needed to have ALL 6 fuel injectors replaced.(All six at once? seems a little aggressive) So Complete Auto lied to me or just didn't check the code when they said it was nothing when I asked them to check while the bumper was being re-painted (allegedly). I wish it ended there... I go to pick up my car from BMW after paying to have all that stuff fixed. Pretty expensive bill for a guy who just got out of the Army in October and hasn't taken a pay check while he tries to build his start-up business... I bought that car with deployment money so I would have something reliable while I was in employment limbo after the Army and this guy and his son have taken me for a serious ride. I still really wish it just ended here... My car now has a flat tire in the BMW service drive. I get it filled with air and its holding air... This seems familiar, I just went through this a month ago with a seperate wheel. I Take the car to ******** **** and find out a second wheel has cracks and been welded together twice before. AT THIS POINT IN TIME IM BEYOND FURIOUS BECAUSE THERE ARE NOW TWO CLEARLY FAILED RIMS ON MY CAR. Both times the tire guys pleaded for me not to drive away on the broken rim. So I paid to tow my car home from ******** **** two seperate times so I wouldn't kill myself on the highway. Did I mention ***** and the guys at complete auto knew about cracked rims? At this point in time, I call ***** the owner of complete automotive and tell him its time we start talking about replacing my wheels. After multiple long coversations, ***** ended up hanging up the phone on me when I started to let him know I was considering litigation and reporting this to the BBB. This is after he tried to tell me OEM and BMW wheels are known for failing and cracking and that I should just accept it for what it is. I countered with the fact that I worked in an AUDI dealership throughout highschool and college and that AUDI uses OEM wheels just like BMW. I pointed out that I know OEM wheels don't fail on a "weekly basis" as ***** of Complete Auto wanted to have me believe. I explained that in my 6+ years of working at a Audi dealer in MN(the only place that has worse potholes than WA) we rarely saw OEM failures and I told him that I think he truthfully knew that too. Thats about the time he realized I knew what I was talking about and he offered to pay for one wheel. The same wheel he refused to replace back in October. I still haven't seen any money or reimbursement. Prior to losing contact with the owner, he offered to pay for the first wheel I replaced which he refused to replace in October. He claimed that he only felt it was right to replace the one rim since he had it fixed and knew it was broken. I told him that was not suffficient at this point considering all the time, money and effort I had put into fixing all the problems which he either knew about or avioded. I literally had to cancel business meetings since I had no car to drive on certain days. I had to rent a vehicle and pay out of pocket to keep working. Since I bought this vehicle I have spent thousands of dollars fixing problems they either knew about and acknowledged after the fact to me or flat out ignored.

Desired Settlement: At a minimum, I want new wheels on the vehicle which I pre-approve and agian approve after installation(I don't want another paint issue). I could ask for full reimbursement of my rental car, repairs, towing etc. Honestly, I just want new wheels on the car so I car look someone in the eye and sell the car honestly. I just want to move on and hopefully recover some of my losses. I haven't posted on social media and haven't filed any lawsuits. This is my preferred means of fixing this issue.

Business Response:

Unfortunately, ******** version of this story is not only full of inaccuracies, it is also littered with half-truths and slander.

****** and I had been working on a resolution since late November 2014, almost two full months since he purchased the vehicle. He originally told me he was having a wheel issue. I let him know that certain BMW sport wheels are susceptible to cracking. At that time, I told ****** I would do whatever I could to help find some new wheels. ****** was fine with this.

The wheel in question had been repaired long before ****** purchased the vehicle. The fact that it had been cracked is irrelevant because a reputable wheel repair company properly repaired it and there were no further issues. Had there been a safety issue, the wheel repair company would not have fixed the wheel in the first place.

My son also serves as my sales manager. Considering he drove this car as his personal vehicle for over a year, it is unconceivable to think I would allow him to drive a car that could potentially put his life at risk. Additionally, if all of the wheels were cracked, bent and unsafe, the tires would have continually kept losing air. That was not the case.

When ****** told me that he replaced all four tires, I asked him if ******** **** mentioned anything about unsafe and cracked wheels. He told me they did not. I then let him to know that ******** **** would not have put new tires on four cracked wheels. He acknowledged this.

During our conversations, I mentioned to ****** that my son is driving a newer model 1 series BMW with M-Sport wheels. At this point, ****** demanded that we swap the wheels from my son's car to his car. I told him what he's asking for won't work. The reason being is that ******** car is three year's older with sport wheels. My son's car is a 2012 with M Sport wheels. When I told ****** this would be an issue because I would be erroneously selling a 2012 M Sport model with the wrong wheels on it. ******** response to this was that I would not have to disclose it to a potential buyer. I told him that is not how my business operates.

I offered ****** $350 (the cost of one wheel) as a goodwill gesture just to make him happy. He continued to demand that he get 4 M Sport wheels. Again, his car is not an M Sport model.

For whatever reason, ****** became fixated on these M Sport wheels. At one point, he offered the extra set of Audi S4 wheels from the salvaged title vehicle he traded in for a set of M Sport wheels. I told him this would not work for multiple reasons - the main one being that we no longer have his S4.

That brings me to my next point. To thank ****** for his military service, we went out of our way to take his salvaged title car in on trade. We would not have taken that car in on trade for a normal sales customer. This was done entirely for ******** convenience. And since we care too much about our reputation to put it on the line for a salvaged title vehicle, we promptly took it to an auction and sold it.

Furthermore, if we were this steadfast in not selling a salvaged title vehicle to our customers, why would we ever put an unsafe car on the road as ****** claims?

Regarding ******** "expensive" BMW repair bill, we have records stating that 85 percent of that repair was covered by BMW. Documentation of the repair order is attached. The issue he had is known and recognized by BMW.

The longer I tried to resolve this issue, the more irrational ****** became. When he accused my son of being an alcoholic and a drug addict, I told him the conversation was over.

Drugs and alcohol are strictly against my son's religious beliefs. For ****** to throw that out there is not only offensive to me, but it is disrespectful to my son and his culture. The fact ****** would mention such a preposterous thing as some sort of twisted negotiating tactic proves how irrational he is being.

For all we know, ****** broke all four wheels. We have no idea how hard he has driven the vehicle.

I have run a good, honest business for over 30 years. Our reputation with the BBB and our customers is outstanding. Why ****** has determined that making baseless allegations, unreasonable demands and threats is an appropriate way to resolve this matter is beyond me.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Below you will find his claims from 26FEB2015 and my comments. This seems like the fastest way to address this:

 

“He said one of his tires would lose air over a 2-3 week period and eventually the tire pressure monitor (TPM) light would activate.” 

 

I did not claim 2-3 weeks.  I said overnight.  This was during our first conversation after I had already replaced my tires and had discovered the rim crack.

 

 “he agreed with my opinion that the reason the TPM light came on was because of either low tire pressure, or a faulty battery in the TPM sensor. We had a pleasant conversation that included but was not limited to the wheels, tires, performance, handling, his all around enjoyment of driving and buying the BMW from my dealership.”

 

This conversation never happened.  I never claimed to enjoy buying a car from the dealership.  I am still waiting for a callback on whether his son found my car’s owner’s manual in the warehouse.  I am still unhappy with the paint job on the front and rear bumper. 

 

“During this conversation I suggested to ****** that the smartest and most cost effective solution was to try and find a pre-owned set of factory or aftermarket wheels that would fit his BMW and possibly had newer tires than were currently on his car, which had about 35% of tire tread remaining. I recommended putting a wanted ad on **********, along with searching ********** and ****.”

 

This is the first half-accurate statement in his whole claim.  No conversation ever occurred around the amount of tread remaining.  He did make some suggestions on where I could find a replacement wheel.  That was the full extent of his assistance in finding a suitable replacement wheel.  He never called me to help once.  All contact was initiated by me and the specific “suggestions” on where to shop occurred during the first conversation I had with him after replacing my tires and discovering the cracked rim.

 

“I also gave my opinion that the slow loss of air was either from a small puncture in the tire or a slight stress crack in the wheel.”

 

This exchange never happened.

 

“Stress cracks in the BMW sport wheels are very common because they are of lighter weight and must be used with a lower profile tire. This tire and wheel combination, mixed with driving over a pothole at city or highway speeds, does and will have a negative affect on the wheel. ****** agreed with everything I suggested and I offered to use my sources to try and find wheel and tire options as well.”

 

I also did not agree with any of this.  I pointed out that my 2005 Audi with sport rims and low profile tires never failed once and he agreed that his initial claim was an overstatement.  He was trying to bully me into believing BMW wheels just fail that often and I should accept that.  This conversation occurred after I discovered the second rim with two separate weld marks.

 

“The next conversation I had with ****** was about 3 weeks later. It was also pleasant in nature. He called to see if I had found any wheels. I told him I had not”

 

This conversation did not happen.  By this point in time, I had already paid the $350 out of my own pocket and replaced the wheel. 

 

“****** called maybe a week after, asking if we had repaired any of the wheels. I told him that I remembered that we had one of the wheels repaired several months prior and if he wanted to bring the car in, our service department could look at it. ****** said he would make the time, but never brought the car in for a wheel inspection.”

 

This call did not happen on this “alternate” timeline as suggested.  I called him after I found out about the cracked rim at ******** **** and had already replaced the wheels.  This was the first call I made to him and what started our whole exchange.  He offered to have me drive from Tacoma up to Seattle so “his guy who had fixed the wheel before” could take a look at it and fix it again.  I said no thank you, I didn’t want to drive from Tacoma to Seattle on a bad rim for a "free wheel inspection" when I already knew the wheel was broken.  I then explained I would be replacing the rim since it had been welded together twice before.  I never agreed to bring the car in for inspection.  I had lost all faith in his service department at this point after discovering the multiple cracks and repair attempts on my rim.





Our following conversation was a few weeks later. ****** was agitated and demanding. After letting him vent and reminding him that we needed to see the car, he apologized and asserted he would bring it in. 

 

This is a bold lie.  This conversation never happened.  At this point I would bring my vehicle to only BMW dealers.  They have true accountability.

Overall, this whole assertion by Complete Automotive is full of lies and statements intended to continue arguing rather than come to a solution.  This is why I have submitted my claim to the BBB.  Every contact is recieved with excuses, bullying tactics which rely on me being an uneducated consumer and irrelevant statements mean to distract from the issue.  They sold me a broken car.  I have spent thousands repairing it over the last couple months since I purchased it.  That is not correct or ethical business.  They knew about the cracked rims, admitted they knew, did not disclose it in the sale and then are fighting it after the fact.  Total lack of integrity.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: It is a waste of time to continue in this back and forth pattern with ******.  He can deny the chain of events, make bogus claims about spending thousands on repairs, and question our integrity all he wants.  We are sorry he regrets his vehicle purchase.  But his demands in resolving this matter are completely unreasonable. There was not an issue with any wheel when he purchased the vehicle. As noted in our original response, we had one wheel professionally repaired long before ******** purchase.  There were no issues with the wheel following the repair.  

Our sales practices are completely transparent.  We were not trying to cover anything up as ****** claims. Despite ******s attempts to intimidate us by threatening legal action, and completely fabricating stories about our sales manager, we are still willing to offer $350 to cover the cost of replacing one wheel as a goodwill gesture.  We hope that puts this issue to rest.