This business is not BBB accredited.

Budd & Company, Inc.

Phone: (206) 324-0550 Fax: (206) 322-5745 800 Rainier Ave S, Seattle, WA 98144

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers full service automotive repair.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Budd & Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Budd & Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated 02/15/1978 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mike Goebel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Goebel, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Services General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Additional Locations


    800 Rainier Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98144 (206) 324-0550


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2013 I took my car to Budd and Company at 800 Dearborn in Seattle because the car windshield and windows were filled with condensation. After about 1½ weeks and $2700, I picked up the car believing I could have several more years of service from it. Three days later I had the same problem. I was told there was a defective coil and not charged for the repair although I was again without the car for about a week-and resorted to friends' cars and a rental. A few days later I had to return the car because the windshield wiper was broken and the yellow light was on. I asked that the wiper be repaired and to know the cause of the yellow light. After being told the bill for the repaired wiper was more than $600, I was told, "You need a new car." (Why repair the wiper if the car was no good?) Then I was told the block was cracked. I inquired why was I not told about the cracked block before the first repair. The answer is there is no test to determine a cracked block . Had I known I "need a new car," I never would have put $3300 in repairing the car. This makes no sense. This sum would have been a big help toward the cost of a "new car." I initially went to Budd and Company in 1981 because I learned it was the nearest shop to me certified National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence. I felt comfortable knowing I would not be cheated. I have patronized Budd and Company over three decades with no complaints. I have sent many friends to the company. I have tried to accept what happened but cannot. I think I have been unfairly treated to the tune of approximately $3300.00. Any assistance you can provide will be of tremendous help. Thank you. Sincerely, ******* ** ******

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back. I realize a lot of time was spent making these repairs, but i trusted them each time. The frustration and inconvenience I dealt with because I knew my car was being repaired. That it took three visits to be told I need a new car is unforgiveable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ In February of 2013, we worked on my customers 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis at our shop. The concern was that the defroster was fogging up the window. We determined the heater core was the problem which we replaced. After picking up the vehicle the same symptom occurred thee days later. We determined we had installed a defective part. So we replaced it under warranty at no additional cost. Shortly after that the vehicle returned with wiper problems and a check engine light that was illuminated. We diagnosed a bad wiper motor and governor which we replaced. We also diagnosed a blown head gasket which we also replaced. Shortly after the check engine light came back on and hydrocarbons were getting into the cooling system. We determined the block was cracked internally which there are no conclusive test procedures for. I feel bad for my customer but I don't feel we did anything wrong or unethical. I guarantee our parts and labor 12 months or 12 thousand miles whichever comes first I was surprised to have received this letter over a year after the repairs were completed. I don't feel a refund is owed to the customer for our services provided. Sincerely **** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What I see is that I paid $3300 to repair a car I thought I would use several more years. Only after these charges was I told, "You need a new car." They know cars; I don't. I trusted them. I waited such a long time because I had other obligations and I thought I would hear from them. Anytime I told some who knew about cars what had happened he was as appalled as I was/am. My question remains: why would I put $2700 into a car that I needed to replace? Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/04/11) */ I am willing to send a check to my customer for the wiper motor and governor replacement totaling $537.71 if this issue can be finalized. She may email or call me if this is acceptable. Sincerely **** email address is **** or phone is XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/04/15) */ I responded to you when I received Budd and Company's response to my complaint. No, I am not satisfied. But his response says he is satisfied. He feels no need to respond further. Thank you. ******* S. ****** XXX XXX XXXX