BBB Accredited Business since

Anchorage Auto Electric & Classic Muffler

Phone: (907) 344-1190 Fax: (907) 344-1148 7015 Old Seward Hwy, Anchorage, AK 99518

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers installation of mufflers, exhaust, auto electric, pipe binding, flowmaster, dual exhaust, and chrome tips.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anchorage Auto Electric & Classic Muffler meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anchorage Auto Electric & Classic Muffler include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Anchorage Auto Electric & Classic Muffler
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 06, 2005 Business started: 08/01/2000 Business started locally: 08/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534

Business Management
Mr. James Holowatch, Director/Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Holowatch, Director/Secretary
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Auto Service - Specialty Parts Pipe Bending & Fabricating Auto Electric Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Anchorage Auto Electric Classic Muffler H C H Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7015 Old Seward Hwy

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 344-1190


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Anchorage Auto Electric and Class Muffler to find out if my car's air bags were loaded correctly because the air bag lights flash on and off occasionally. I had taken my car in a week before to a different mechanic about the problem and he said the car's computer was sending back errors about the airbags, but it didn't specifically say if the airbag compartment was empty or not. (A sidenote: I was told the airbags were re-loaded at Chaz LImited in Anchorage after the car was totalled.) I know that the lights can be glitchy but people can also lie so I simply wanted to know if the airbags were in there or not. I called Anchorage Auto Electric and Classic Muffler and asked if this is a situation they could help me with. Also, I mentioned my car's heater was working sometimes, not always and I thought it might be the heater blower motor. I was hoping for a quote on how much a new heater blower motor would be. I mentioned on the phone that it was the heater blower motor because my heater clicks when it works. I did not need them to verify that's what it was. It was obvious. The secretary said they could look at my car the next morning. After I dropped my car off I waited a few hours to call and see if anyone had looked at my car. I was expecting an estimate for a replacement blower motor and an answer to why 2 airbag lights flash. The secretary replied that the mechanic hadn't starting working on my car yet (I had made an appointment, this was half way through the day). She said, "He'll call you after he takes a look at it". Oh, I also asked them to change the dome light on the car. I wait until 4 pm to call back and the secretary answered and said, "He's just looking at it right now. You need a new blower motor. It'll cost $500 to replace it. She said the blower motor itself costs $175 (this is for a 2006 Honda CR-V) and they cost much more in the winter when people need them. All I had needed to know about the heater was simply how much it would be to replace it. Not what needed to be replaced. I asked about the airbags, she said the computer was sending back errors about them but they weren't sure if there was an airbag in there on the driver's side or not, it only told them it had been deployed (which I knew). I asked if there was any way to actually know and she said, only by replacing them entirely which is very, very pricey, up to $1000 or something like that. She asked me if I wanted the mechanic to fix the blower motor. I told her I'd call her right back with an answer because I was sure I could find a cheaper price than that to fix those items. It seemed like the prices for those repairs were inflated pretty heavily. I surfed the web for a few minutes looking for suitable heater blower motors and immediately I found them for much less than they were quoting me. I called her back and said I didn't want them to fix the heater, that's too much. She said, "Oh, he already has gone to pick up the part for you." I said, "Really? Because I hadn't decided yet. I don't want him to fix the heater. " She said, "Well he already has the heater area open and everything is taken apart. But, I'll stop him and have him get your car ready for you to pick up". I said, "Thanks, when can I come pick it up?" She said something like a half hour to an hour and "it'll be be $178.50". I was outraged. They didn't ever call before they opened up my car, They charged $105 an hour for labor (1.7 hours worth totalling $178.50 ), $6.50 for parts (understandably) with a grand total of $185.00. I went down to pick up my car with the intention of complaining about their exorbitant pricing and over estimation of time worked on the car. Especially when considering I only wanted an estimate on a blower motor replacement, to have an answer on whether or not I have airbags in my car (a situation the secretary told me they could help me find an answer to), and the dome light replaced (which should take 10 minutes max for a working auto mechanic). I went in and told the secretary I couldn't believe how much they over changed me. The paperwork she showed shows the mechanic's notes that were left for him about this car and what need to be done. It was written as follows exactly (I have the invoice), "Heat--fan was clicking and then stopped working fan is not blowing hot air. Air bag light on. Call with estimate. Sympton: Check out." Their notes did not include my mentioning (a couple of times it was the heater blower motor that was broken. However they did note "Call with estimate". He did not need to diagnose the heater. All he did was hook up his code reader to the car's computer (a service provided for free from most mechanics) and replace the dome light. I told her I should not have to pay such a high price for having virtually nothing done (except the replacement of tiny bulb) and still no conclusion about the airbags. I felt cheated and asked to speak with the manager or owner. She said, "Yeah, I'll get him but I already gave you a discount on parts because I felt bad for you". I was amazed that before I even complained she made the price lower because she "Felt bad for me." The owner of the business came out and introduced himself and I told him my complaints. "It doesn't cost nearly $200 to hook up your code reader to my car, change a dome light, and give me an estimate on a heater blower motor repair". He responded, "Do you have any idea how expensive my code reader is? It's thousands of dollars". I said, "That's a business expense, sure, but I don't need to pay it single handedly". He said, I had to read (something like) 2 codes for the driver's seat belt tensioner and drivers airbag. I asked why I had to pay so much when I still didn't find out if the airbag is actually in there or not and they said there's no way to know, only to replace them, there might be dummy airbags in there. I asked him if he could please lower his price. I said this was unacceptable and they overchange and I would warn friends that Anchorage Auto Electric and Classic Muffler overchanges. He said the lowest he would go was $150. I have never had to bargain with anyone or be in this situation before so I just handed over the $150 and got out of there. The secretary did most of the arguing and poking fun at my remarks in a very belittling way and I felt that she was very rude and confrontational. The owner mocked me as well and it was the absolute worst mechanic experience I have ever had. I feel cheated and robbed by Anchorage Auto Electric and Classic Muffler.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the blower motor inspection (0.5 hours=$52.50) and for at least a half hour taken off the one hour used to read the codes (I was originally charged 1.0 hour=$105.00 just for that). I understand the fees for changing the dome light (0.2 hours of work=$21.00 and 6.50 for the part). While he did lower the price $35.00 from the original $185.00 I would like $100 back for the rudeness, taking apart my car when I did not want that and for them keeping my car all day when I had made an appointment and there's was no real work that needed to be done on it. Also, they just automatically charged me for a bunch of work when I hadn't approved any of it yet.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, ****/05/07) */ In response to this customer's complaint, case # XXXXXXXX, the air bag codes received for her vehicle indicated that the airbag had been signaled to deploy. Once an airbag system is signaled to deploy, they cannot just be "re-loaded" and operate properly. We agree that lights can "glitch" and although we were unable to verify if the airbags were still there, we could verify that the airbag system would most likely not deploy or operate properly in the case of a collision. The customer had requested specifically if we could find out if her airbags would work so our technician did multiple tests to ensure that it was not an electrical failure or possible bad connection. Furthermore, we apologize if the customer found our employees to be rude, but when the customer came in, she was visibly upset and unreasonable. Our "secretary" who is actually our service writer and has been with us for almost five years, was sympathetic to the fact that this customer who had informed us that she was a student, had purchased a reconstructed vehicle that had such serious issues, and she merely discounted the amount that she is authorized to discount due to the hostility she heard in the customer's voice while discussing the estimate. We also apologize for the customer misunderstanding the owner when he was trying to explain the diagnostic fee, but to respond to her erratic and unreasonable attitude was difficult. Although the diagnostic equipment is expensive and a part of our overhead, the technician that diagnosed the customer's vehicle spent a significant amount of time on tracing out that the airbag light was not caused by a short or bad ground and that technician deserved to receive compensation for the time that was spent on diagnosing this vehicle. Also, other shops and businesses that scan for free are only scanning for codes. They will then charge the customer for diagnosing any codes that are stored. Stored codes only direct you to the areas to begin diagnostics. In response to the customer's complaint about being charged for the dome light, yes in most cases we do bulbs as a complimentary service when customers have work performed to their vehicles. As a small business, we are not able to extend this courtesy to every single customer and no where in our office, our advertisement or anything else posted does it state that bulbs are a complimentary service. We apologize if she assumed otherwise, but we cannot be held responsible for an assumption made without adequate information. In regards to her complaint about the blower motor, in order for us to warranty any repairs that we may do on a vehicle, cause of fault has to be verified by our technicians. The customer had stated that she thought it was the blower motor, but she wanted to make sure. When she called in and we gave her the estimate of what it would have cost to have the blower motor replaced, she hesitated and with the hour of the day getting so late, one of our technicians did go to pick up the part in case the customer did decide to get the repairs done. She was never in any way shape or form charged for the part and said part was returned at no extra cost to her. Unfortunately, partially disassembling parts of the vehicle were necessary in order to correctly and thoroughly diagnose the problems and given her attitude when she called in for her total, this extra time was not even charged to the customer. In response to the customer's complaint about being overcharged and that all she wanted was an estimate, she was informed that there would be a diagnostic fee and that any and all repairs would be additional to those fees. Our sign in sheet indicates that any vehicle 5 years or older will have a minimum fee of one hour PER ISSUE, and since this customer had three separate issues, the air bag light, the blower motor, and then the dome light, she was in fact charged less than our normal diagnostic rates. We have been a Better Business Bureau accredited business with an A+ rating and we make a point to have wonderful customer service. We are saddened that our attempt to appease this customer apparently was unsuccessful, even though she was given a substantial discount when she came in to pick up her vehicle. We feel that the discount extended to her at the time she picked up her vehicle was an adequate solution and at this point we feel the customer is still being as unreasonable and antagonistic as she was the day the incident occurred and a refund of that magnitude would be harmful to our business by encouraging others that it is ok to receive services and then expect refunds for them. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, ****/05/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The services they did do (switching the dome light) was not worth the $150 I paid and I never heard mention of a diagnostic fee. I think this business is ripping people off and has the worst customer service of any business I've encountered. I'm done with this case. They obviously just think they can charge exorbitant prices because they are located in Alaska. The owner even said so himself. Well, that's wrong. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, ****/05/22) */ We will refund the customer, but not out of guilt or any sense of wrong doing on our part. We feel that we are being held hostage by this customer because we want to maintain our reputation of excellent customer service, and it is obvious at this point that this customer will not let go of her delusional take on the events of that visit. She is welcome to provide us with an address and a refund check will be issued.