BBB Accredited Business since

Ali's Bellevue Auto Repair

Phone: (425) 450-9713 Fax: (425) 450-7809 1557 127th Pl NE, Bellevue, WA 98005 http://www.bellevueautorepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers an auto repair shop.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ali's Bellevue Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ali's Bellevue Auto Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ali's Bellevue Auto Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2005 Business started locally: 03/01/2005 Business incorporated 03/31/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alirio Valencia, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alirio Valencia, Member
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Carburetors Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts Engines - Fuel Conversion Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Auto Services Engines - Diesel Engines - Gas Clutches Auto Machine Shops General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

  • 1557 127th Pl NE

    Bellevue, WA 98005 (425) 450-9713

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called to make the appointment I indicated that our RV was new to us, but an older vehicle. I stated that I needed a full look over - front to back - and that we were going to go on some long trips soon. The individual I spoke to said, "No problem! We will do that and provide you with a full report."Our RV was with them for at least two weeks. We didn't mind. We wanted it to be safe.One thing that we noted on our drive to the shop is that the odometer and speedometer were not working. We added that to the list of items to address.They finally called us to let us know it was ready.We went to pick it up and were met by the owner, I believe. He walked us through everything. Said the engine was clean and it was in good shape! He said the tires were worn and should be replaced in the near future. I told him, again, that we were going on a long trip to Eastern WA and asked if they should be replaced before that. He said: No, but probably in the next few months.Well, we started our trip and the odometer and speedometer went out again. I downloaded an app on my phone so we could see how fast we were going.About four hours into our trip we heard a swoosh sound and pulled over. The front tire was flat. An officer pulled up to see if we were okay and told us that he had seen an RV drive by previously without tail lights. We said: There's no way that's us! We just took this to a mechanic and spent $1900 to make sure everything was functioning.We turned on the lights. The taillights were out.We had to spend the night in a gas station. Upon attempting to turn on our generator we found it wasn't working. This is an item we asked them to look at.Fortunately, we were able to plug in.We pulled the tire off and it was shredded from age. That's why it had blown. You could clearly see that we should NOT have been driving on it.We tried to pull one of the inside tires to the outside... in the hopes that we could hobble for an hour to the nearest *** ******* The inside tire was JUST as bad. First thing in the morning we called *** ****** and had to pay the travel fee for them to make a 2 hour round trip drive to help us. The attendant that put two new tires on for us said it was a good thing we didn't attempt to drive on that other tire. We would have had a flat in no time.We knew we had to get all new tires so slowly we started the hour drive to *** ******* About 30 minutes from our destination we had another blow out. We had to call *** ****** to come out again. This time he followed behind us with his hazards on.Finally, we got all of the tires replaced. However, on the way back we had another issue: The cabin was so hot that our poor cats were panting. We had to stop at a gas station and pick up some bags of ice to put around their crates. This would not have been an issue if the generator was working.We have now taken the RV to another mechanic and here is a list of things that Ali missed:The generator needed a tuneup.The radiator was leaking.There was a short causing the issue with the odometer.The exhaust was completely broken and had to be replaced.Needed a vacuum line repair.Needed a new multifunction switch.Needed new horns.Engine scope.Oxygen sensor.Shocks.So, now we've spent $1900 with Ali's... I don't even really know what they did anymore.Will spend an additional $5k with this mechanic.Spent $500 more than what we should have in tires because we had to pay *** ****** for travel.I get that RVs are expensive and I'm not naive to that. But, when you ask a mechanic to FULLY look over everything and then everything breaks and there's many things there were missed... there's just no excusing that.They could have caused us physical harm by their mistakes.I tried to contact them via email to give them a chance to respond to me and they haven't. Product_Or_Service: Vehicle inspection and repair

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a full refund for the following reasons:Many of the items they claimed to work on were broken when we left.We were put in physical harm due because they did not provide sound advice regarding the tires.They did not perform the work we asked (a full look over of the vehicle) and indicated several times that the engine and everything else looked great. As shown above the vehicle just was not safe in many ways.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/11/21) */ To begin, this RV had been sitting for approximately 10 years, by the customer's own admission. The vehicle had been brought directly to our shop in order to have it "looked over and a report provided" for the customer. We stand by our work and our recommendations, but in general, when these vehicles have been sitting for extended periods of time, it is very difficult to know what systems may fail as the vehicle is put into regular use once again. Leaving the tire issue aside for a moment, there is a long list of things we repaired and recommended. We had replaced the front brakes. We replaced the dash light switch to functioning order---it had been quite corroded from the long-term sitting of the vehicle. We also changed the oil and replaced a serpentine belt with all proper tensioners. We were able to get the generator to run for over 3 hours---to the customer's approval. Everything running from the generator: the air conditioning, the microwave, were all working, with the exception of only the refrigerator. The customer was aware of this and agreed to go without it fully functional (they mentioned coming back at a later date). The customer also shared that the vehicle had been totaled in the past and that the roof of the vehicle was a replacement. This is why we found the wiring to be completely disconnected. The customer seemed very pleased that we were able to get the generator to power the vehicle to the extent that we did. The other issues: speedometer, odometer, tail lights, and dash AC were all fully functional upon leaving our shop. Once again, it is very difficult to know how a vehicle is going to respond and what systems may fail once it is put into regular use again. Generally, the customer was very pleased upon leaving our shop and we had no disputes with them at that time. They were headed out on a long trip, which is a bit risky after having sat for such a long while. We were very forthcoming about the issues that could arise, but it was not necessarily clear IF and WHICH parts of the vehicle may have problems---it would have been merely speculation. Now, as for the tires. Obviously we are not a tire company, so of course it was not within our job description to replace the tires. We did have a rather lengthy conversation about what we would recommend as it pertains to the tires. The tires had about half their life in tread, but the disturbing issue was the heat cracks that had developed from them sitting season after season. Once again, our recommendation was that for a long trip, these tires may experience issues. In general though, it wasn't necessarily an emergency situation. It was left to the discretion of the customer, and since we would not be replacing the tires anyhow, it was the customer who chose not to speak with a tire specialist or seek to have them replaced. In fact, the customer is claiming that 3 tires blew out. If it was so plainly obvious that these tires would explode upon any use, why then would a tire specialist like *** ****** come and replace two tires only to leave a third "faulty" tire on the vehicle, and have it blow shortly thereafter. Tires can blow out or go flat for a number of reasons. It is not reasonable to hold us accountable for the performance of these tires. We are very sorry to hear that there were issues with the tires and that it may have created an unfavorable situation, but we did issue a general warning to be aware of issues with these old tires. In closing, we would have appreciated a direct contact at some point during or after these issues had arisen. We have empathy for any troubles our customers have with their vehicles and would have loved to handle this situation "head-on", and without delay. The customer had called our shop before, and had clearly come here in person to drop off, to discuss, and to pick up their RV. Why then, was the only communication we received after this point, by email? Unfortunately, the email was misplaced NOT IGNORED, and therefore there was a large delay in response. It is curious though, that the customer would not follow up that email with at least a phone call, to make sure we handled this situation. We would have hoped that the customer could have made a better attempt to contact us, especially if the situation were truly as egregious as they claim. None of OUR WORK was faulty, yet, we are sorry for the inconveniences that this customer has faced. We contend that our shop served this customer to the best of our knowledge and ability as a company, with no ill will or any type of neglect. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2013/11/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, the *** ****** specialist didn't get under and inspect everything. He was performing an emergency service. AND after we called them to come out again they actually admitted they should have brought an extra tire and followed us the entire way. You have a history of refusing to admit fault. Within hours of leaving the dash stopped working. The 2nd repair shop we took it to actually fixed it. We've driven it several times now and it's working perfectly. Also, this repair shop made perfect repairs to the engine. We requested EXACTLY the same thing of them and they actually found ALL of the issues and fixed them all. Next, we never said it was sitting for ten years. We said it was sitting for two years. Just another perfect example of this shop not listening. The VERY reason we asked for "experts" to look at is because it had been sitting for a couple of years. In summary, let's compare the two shops we went to. 1) We asked Ali's to completely look over the engine, find issues, fix issues. We asked them specifically to look at the tires. They didn't even find that the radiator was cracked and leaking! They didn't even find that the exhaust was broken! 2) We asked another repair shop to do the same thing. They actually found ALL of the issues and NOW our RV is running beautifully. See the difference? Now, I suspect what will happen is that you will continue, like you have done with other customers, to blame the customer and point out that the customer bought an old car/RV, etc... etc. Your arguments are faulty and don't hold their own weight. If what you are saying is true in my case then how in the world did the next mechanics fix everything... And, it didn't take them two weeks (as it did at Ali's). Maybe the second mechanics are magical with super magical mechanic power. Is that how they found all the issues and fixed everything in a week's time? In fact, I'm sitting in my, NOW, beautifully running RV. This is the second LONG road trip I've taken in it since the REAL mechanic fixed it.