BBB Accredited Business since

A & A The Shop

Phone: (907) 562-3919 Fax: (907) 563-3494 4617 Old Seward Hwy, Anchorage, AK 99503 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers independent Subaru repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A & A The Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A & A The Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A & A The Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 2002 Business started: 03/01/1993 Business started locally: 03/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534

Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W Benson Blvd Ste 900, Anchorage AK 99503
Phone Number: (907) 269-5551

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kurt Adler, Managing Member Mrs. Joan Adler, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kurt Adler, Managing Member
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)

Alternate Business Names
Adler & Adler The Shop LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A & A The Shop has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4617 Old Seward Hwy

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 562-3919


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon information and belief, A&A The Shop incorrectly and negligently completed a head gasket repair approximately 5 years ago (but only ~38,000 miles ago). (The failure could also have resulted from inferior or defective parts purchased directly from A&A The Shop.) This led to the vehicle needing the exact same very expensive repair that I already paid A&A The Shop to complete in a relatively short period of time. Unfortunately, evidence of the negligence did not surface until only a couple weeks ago. It the understanding of others who are highly knowledgeable in the field (and who may also be experts) that a correctly installed head gasket will last three times longer (or more) than did the one A&A The Shop installed five years ago. Because A&A The Shop holds themselves out as being experts in repairing the specific make and model of car that it failed to repair correctly, it should have installed the gasket with the degree of skill ordinarily possessed by others engaged in repairing Subaru vehicles. If they had done so, it is my belief, and the belief of others educated in completing automotive repairs, that the head gasket would not have failed again in such a relatively short period of time. The problem is that high economic waste will occur if I have to have another Subaru expert repair the gasket which I already paid A&A The Shop to repair. If A&A The Shop would simply acknowledge the fact that the most likely cause of the failure is either a negligent install or their sale and use of a defective part we could both save a lot of time, hassle, money and other resources.

Desired Settlement: Based on information and belief, the initial head gasket repair should have lasted two times longer if it had been installed correctly (or if products used were not defective). That is, it is my understanding, based on the educated opinions of others, that the repair already undertaken by A&A The Shop lasted only approximately 1/3 of the time it would have lasted if it had been completed correctly (or if the products sold and used by A&A The Shop were not defective). Therefore, I propose that A&A The Shop repair the head gasket again, this time correctly or with parts that are not defective, and that they charge me only 1/3 of the fair market value of the repair (to represent 1/3 of the life of a properly installed head gasket that I have enjoyed since the negligent repair five years ago). In this instance A&A The Shop would likely break even or suffer only a small loss, and I would not have to pay again for an extremely expensive repair that A&A The Shop was already paid to complete.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/06) */ Thank you for contacting me about this issue. I have spoken with this customer twice in the last two days (8/4/14-8/5/14) as well as my service adviser before that. They initially brought their car in and stated that the car over heats randomly mostly under load, like going up to Flat Top. They said they replaced the thermostat and radiator cap with genuine Subaru parts. I mentioned to the customer that was a good attempt to alleviate the problem but unfortunately it didn't work because there was more extensive failure due to the multiple overheats. While now it is impossible to ascertain whether the first thermostat or a stuck radiator cap may have been the cause of the over heat or something else it is clear that the multiple engine overheats compromised the head gaskets. We offered the customer another more comprehensive cooling system hydrocarbon test at no charge, which they accepted, and determined that 499 ppm HC (parts per million hydro carbons) where going into the cooling system. The industry standard is approximately 100 ppm HC or over is a positive head gasket failure. Especially on this head gasket design. Of course the best thing for people to do when this situation occurs is to pull over and have the car towed to a repair facility for diagnosis. Many things can cause an engine to overheat. While even one overheat can cause a head gasket failure the odds are much lower with only one than letting it go with multiple overheats. While I am truly sympathetic to this customer's situation it has not been my experience that "negligence, improper instillation, or faulty parts" result in a failure of almost 5 years and ~38,000 miles later. My experience with a part or installation failure is more in the lines of immediate to several months due to the high compressions of these engines. Our warranty at the time of this job was 24 months/24,000 miles (double that of any other shop in Alaska including the Subaru Dealer). It is also my experience that this is an unusual situation as we see this very rarely. Which leads me to believe that there may be more mitigating factors for the failure. All of this I talked with the customer about. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have since spoken with two disinterested Subaru mechanics now and both agree that there is something not right about the excuse given by A&A The Shop for their head gasket install to fail so quickly. Both agreed that, if installed correctly, with non-defective parts, such a head gasket replacement should last much, much longer than only 35,000 almost without exception. (Note the correct mileage since repair is 35,000 miles, not 38,000 as mentioned earlier.) Further, both disinterested Subaru mechanics also agreed that any number of missteps by an A&A The Shop mechanic installing the head gasket could lead to a delay in discovering the defect, and certainly such discovery could be delayed 35,000 miles or more. Based on these detailed conversations with the disinterested Subaru experts, the high likelihood of a incorrect repair completed by A&A The Shop has only been reinforced. Both experts agree that the most likely cause of the head gasket failure is an incorrect install or use of a defective part by A&A The Shop (assuming of course A&A The Shop actually did replace the the head gasket, since at the time the job was paid for the repair didn't even need to be done -- we were talked into buying the service as a "preventative" measure). Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/11) */ I'm sorry that our response to your car is unsatisfactory to you. The workmanship and parts for the service over 35,000 ago and almost five years ago far exceeds not only our warranty but that of any other repair facility in south central Alaska. In light of these circumstances and the detailed hydrocarbon test we did at no charge ($111 value) we will extend our initial diagnostic and inspection at no charge to you as well ($111 value). I would however like to make one clarification to your last response. It is the policy of this shop to never sell services of this nature as a preventive measure. Only if there is an internal/external leak do we make recommendations for head gasket services. There have been a few cases where our customers had some external leaking that wasn't bad enough for us to recommend a repair however they made the decision to repair mostly because they were driving the car out of state and wanted to ensure no problems. Thank you for your patronage. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thanks for offering the two services for no charge. That was much better than doing absolutely nothing. However it still does not change the fact that I had a Subaru expert replace the head gasket and he agreed that needing to replace a head gasket again at only 35,000 miles was grossly premature and that the most likely cause was a defective or inferior part. Though he commented that it appeared that the initial A&A install was done correctly (mechanically), he was not very familiar with 6 Star gaskets but that an OEM gasket would almost certainly have lasted longer. So it is pretty much confirmed that A&A's install of a defective or inferior part caused the extremely premature failure. Had a part of reasonable quality been used I should have gotten at least triple the 35,000 miles. So A&A should compensate me for 2/3 of the cost I incurred replacing the head gasket again, or make some other reasonable cash settlement offer.

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service