This business is not BBB accredited.

#1 Japanese Auto Service & Engine Sales

Phone: (503) 243-1400 View Additional Phone Numbers 703 NW 16th Ave, Portland, OR 97209

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company maintains and repairs Asian cars and trucks.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for #1 Japanese Auto Service & Engine Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on #1 Japanese Auto Service & Engine Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2000 Business started: 08/23/2000 Business started locally: 08/23/2000 Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in OR
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Bill Gallagher, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Gallagher, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
B & A Auto Enterprises LLC Japanese Auto Service Japanese Auto Service Downtown Japanese Import Engine Sales No. 1 Japanese Auto Service & Import Engine Sales

Additional Locations


    703 NW 16th Ave

    Portland, OR 97209 (503) 243-5555 (877) 942-1400 (503) 243-1400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Nissan to Japanese Auto & Engine sales because it was running bad and the check engine light had come on.I received an estimate for $2800 but I noticed that the labor had been incorrectly added up. The mechanic agreed that there was a miscalculation and I was told with a handshake that I would be charged no more than $2100.00 . When I picked up my "repaired" car I was billed $2253 and told that the check engine light was off, but that my car was still running bad because I had used inferior gas. **(the bad gas excuse was noted on the receipt). A few days later the check engine light was back on,I continued driving the car to burn up the "bad gas" but the car continued to run poorly, even after I had replaced the gas. I brought my car back to the shop and in so many words was told tough luck that they had repaired my car. I insisted that they fix my car and they told me to get the car off of their property. A mechanic attempted to physically remove me from the shop and hit me on the side of the face when doing so. I insisted that the office lady call the police and I waited outside. The police came and I explained what had happened. The mechanic denied hitting me and the police said that it was a civil matter and there was nothing they could do. After the police talked to the owner and he said I could leave my car and he would take a look at it. A few days later I got a call that my car was ready and to come pick it that there would be no additional charge. I asked but the owner would not tell me what he had done to repair it. Within the next 50 miles my car overheated. I brought my car to ****** **** this time for repairs and when working on my car they discovered that JAS did not replace several bolts and grommets that they had removed. A few hundred miles after the overheating problem I had to have major engine work done by ********* ***** I suspected that JAS had something to do with the overheating problem and after looking at my repair bill from JAS and checking my engine ********* determined that I had been billed for work not done on my car.

Desired Settlement: $$$$.$$

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Bill G******** Owner
Contact Phone: ************
January 3, 2014

The complaint brought the car to the shop on 11/26/12. The engine was running very badly. The vehicle's computer (Engine Control Unit0 was scanned that day, three codes were found, #21 engine signal in the primary circuit is not entered during engine cranking of running, #34 defective knock sensor, and #51 injector open circuit.

Correcting #21 required replacing the power transistor, #34 replacing the knock sensor, and #51 replacing #2 and #6 fuel injectors. The car was running on four of six cylinders when it arrived in the shop.

Access to the knock sensor requires removal of valve covers, intake and exhaust manifolds and the intake plenum. When this was done, it was found that the wiring to the knock sensor was corroded and required replacing.

Engine seals were exposed and leaking oil; these were replaced for material cost only. Coolant was drained and replaced; cushions on all six-fuel injectors were replaced.

Labor for replacement of the knock sensor, injectors and power transistor was 11.3 hours; the cost of the scan was not charged.

The customer said that he had a hand shake agreement for a price of $2105 with the mechanic. The mechanic has no authority on pricing. Until defects are found such as defective wiring and leaks that have to be fixed, a firm quote cannot be made.

When the repairs were finished, the trouble codes were did not reappear in the shop. The engine ran smoothly when it was warmed up. When cold it did not run smoothly. This is not usual, but was not corrected by the repairs we had made.

On December 10, 2012, the customer picked up the car.

On or about January 8, 2013, the customer called and said that the car was not running well and had a check engine light on again. I went him an email on 1/9/2012 and asked him to bring the car back in any day Monday thru Thursday; we would scan for codes at no further cost. He responded that he would in the next few days.

When he did come in, he immediately started shouting at the top of his voice that were****** thieves, crooks etc. His manner appeared threatening and was thoroughly alarming. Contrary to what he said in his complaint, he did not "insist that the office lady" call the police. I told her to dial 911. At this point, he claimed that he claimed that a mechanic struck him. Three witnesses saw no such thing.

When they arrived, he was the picture of decorum. I told the police that I wanted the car to be left with the shop, and him out of the shop. If there were something that was due to the work done, we would correct it. That was done.

Later that day, we found a vacuum line in the EGR system had come detached tripping the engine light. This was probably our problem; we reattached it, clearing the light.

Over the next several days, we checked for bad grounds, checked compression, spark plugs and any sign of loose electrical connections. Nothing was found to account for the
Idle problem when the engine was cold. Rarely, the computer is the problem. We decided to check to see if there was any sign of burning. When we exposed the computer, we found the harness connection distorted and not firmly attached. We did so and it cleared up the problem.

I must point out that we spent may hours over several days finding this problem-at no cost to the customer.

After he took the car, he sent an email saying that the car was running fine, and apologized for his behavior. I answered that the apology was nice, but he was still never welcome in my shop.

I know nothing about his overheating problem. It has been over a year since hearing anything from this person or seen his car. I will point out that this car is 20 years old. Coolant system problems are no uncommon, and cannot be ignored, allowing overheating.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
--JAS stated that the car was 20 yrs old as it is- but it is serviced regularly in very good condition wiht only 110 k miles on it
--The receipt for the $2300 bill stated that the car ran poorly because it needed the gas replaced.
-- The red light came back on soon after I got the car back but I didnt bring car back to JAS until I burned up the remaining gas believing that was the problem as stated on the receipt,(it still ran poorly after gas replaced and the red light stayed on) which is the reason for it being brought in 2 weeks after the "repair"
--JAS stated that I "immediately" caused a disturbance which is untrue. I did become upset when JAS told me to take my car off the premises. I told JAS I would not leave until I was given something in writing, the mechanic struck me trying to physically remove me from the office. I insisted that the office call the police. The owner wrote up another estimate of what it would cost $$$$ to repair my car.The police came, heard both sides and somehow changed the owners mind and allowed me to leave car at the shop to be"looked at".
--The car no longer ran poorly after the "second repair" proving it was not the gas that caused this.
--After the "second repair" I contacted JAS told them that the car ran fine now and asked what they did to re-repair my car,that it ran fine and I wanted to know why I wasnt charged after receiving the estimate$$$$ to re-repair my car.JAS didnt reply.
--JAS did not respond to my complaint which was verified by ****** **** that they didnt replace the bolts and grommets they removed when "repairing" my car.
--JAS did not respond to my complaint which was verified by ********* **** that they didnt do work on my car that I was charged for.

Business Response: This has been going on for almost two years now. The parts that the other party alleges that they didn't think were installed were in deed installed. I do in fact have the purchase orders and receipts for the parts. The three parts that were addressed were the rear main seal, intake manifold gasket and the fuel injector cushions. I'm not going to supply the consumer the documents. If the BBB would like me to send them copies I would be happy to do so, but I am not going to supply them to him.

Consumer Response: BBB
1- You reopened this complaint at my urging again so no. 1JAS could provide me with receipts they claim to have proving that they installed new parts. They did not install these new parts verified by ************ **** in Portland. JAS again said last month that they had possesion of these receipts and would not provide them to me, but that they would provide them to BBB. Again,JAS did not provide these receipts to either BBB or myself which would end all of this. Again you closed the case and again you gave JAS an A+ RATING stating they made a reasonable effort to resolve this. *** Another A+ RATING,JAS MADE NO ATTEMPT TO RESOLVE THIS AND YOU HAVE A STATEMENT FROM ****** ****MOTIVE (A+ RATING) STATING THAT JAS DID SLOPPY WORK ON MY CAR AND DID NOT REPLACE SEVERAL PARTS THEY REMOVED.
2- I again tried to do a public BBB complaint search of JAS and MY COMPLAINT IS STILL HIDDEN FROM PUBLIC VIEWING