BBB Accredited Business since

Doorknob Enterprises LLC

Phone: (503) 582-0505 Fax: (503) 570-3349 1805 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97232 http://www.portlandjiffylube.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is the corporate office of Doorknob Enterprises LLC doing business as Jiffy Lube throughout Oregon and Southern Washington.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Doorknob Enterprises LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Doorknob Enterprises LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Doorknob Enterprises LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 27, 2001 Business started: 08/01/1999 Business started locally: 08/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jamie Hall, Corporate Officer Mr. Allan Engelmeyer, Corporate Officer Ms. Leva Umphenour, HR Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamie Hall, Corporate Officer
Customer Contact: Ms. Leva Umphenour, HR Manager
Business Category

Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Automotive Oil Change and Lubrication Shops (NAICS: 811191)

Alternate Business Names
Doorknob Enterprises DBA Jiffy Lube Jiffy Lube

Additional Locations

  • 1805 NE Sandy Blvd

    Portland, OR 97232 (503) 582-0505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 6th I visited ***** **** on ****** **** for an oil change. On June 8th I was driving home from work when my car started making weird noises and metal was screetching. I wasn't sure what was going on so I pulled over to check everything out. I didn't notice anything so I kept driving. I drove 50 feet and the noise kept going so I called road side assistance and because i wasn't near the city they were unable to locate me and no help was sent. I was stranded for 3 hours until I finally flagged down help. My skid plate was dragging on the ground and so they removed the two remaining screws and the next day I went to my mechanic and he told me that I needed to order some parts from Honda and so I ordered them and I am expecting them on June 17th. I have contacted ***** **** Corporate and was told to contact the Franchise Owner. I have left them numerous messages and they have yet to return a single phone call. I have been in touch with the store manager and area manager who won't give me an answer on if I will get reimbursed for my out of pocket repair costs.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for my expenses of the parts and labor and compensation for the stress and personal time used to resolve this matter.

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience this caused our customer.  We spoke with her and were awaiting copies of the repair invoices, so we could reimburse her.  At this time she should have received the reimbursements she was seeking.  Again, we are sorry and have addressed the service issue with our management and technician teams at the location.  Please have the customer contact James K**** directly if she did not receive the reimbursements.

Thank you,

James K****
*****@doorknb.com

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have turned in copies of my receipts. My fiancé was with me when we turned them in at th ****** **** location. I have not been reimbursed for any of my out of pocket expenses. I want reimbursed for the parts and the for the original cost of my oil change visit at ***** ****. I will contact my credit union and despite the charges if necessary. I feel like I should receive additional compensation for my time since this took almost 2 weeks of my time to resolve and get my car fixed. The same employees who messed up my car to begin with are still working at the location.

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response: We believe the dates of communication back and forth between the customer, the store, the BBB, and the ** ***** ***** led to some confusion between us and the customer.  Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this incident caused the customer.  According to our documentation the customer has already received a full refund for the amount paid to ***** **** as well as a total reimbursement for the expenses the customer incurred for the skid plate replacement.  Our financial records indicate that the check covering those expenses has been cashed by the customer, therefor we consider this issue resolved.  We have addressed the procedural mistake with the management team and crew at the location to ensure it doesn't happen again.

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/02/14 , my niece took our 2001 PT Cruiser to the Jiffy Lube at XXXXX *******************, Oregon City. She was told that in addition to the simple oil change that she needed a "Brake Fluid Flush" because the brake fluid contained moisture 3%. The charge for this was $89.99. Later the brakes had to be re-bleed because of air in the lines. After the oil change, she had to add oil at least once a week. She then took the car to a second Jiffy Lube in Oregon City, 01/12/2015. Upon arrival, they found no oil showing on the dipstick. As they were doing the oil change, they discovered that the oil pan plug was stripped and cross threaded. They had to replace the oil plug with a temporary oil plug. They stated the oil pan threads were stripped. So, on 01/15/2015, we returned to the Jiffy Lube shop that did the first oil change. We reported the problem and showed the Manger *********** , the statement from the second Jiffy lube. He was very unprofessional, stating that if I had that kind of attitude, he would up his attitude. And that the car had an additional 7000 miles on it and that would be the impact. I stated to him that High Mileage Oil will last that long, and that the 3000 mile change is no longer a requirement. In the end, the car was pulled in, he replaced the oil plug with "factory plug". And he handed me the replacement plug calling it a "cutter plug". I explained to him that a cutter plug was the same as a "tap and die ", that it would recut the threads in the aluminum pan. I disagreed. This morning, 02/16/2015, I found oil all down our driveway. I checked the oil level and it was down to the minimum level. I also placed a clean piece of cardboard under the car to trace the leak. Within 30 minutes, I found a tablespoon amount of oil on the cardboard. I called "*****", and explained the problem again and the new information. I requested that we take the car next door to a different shop and have a third set of eyes check. He did not wish to walk the 50 yards to shop next door. I would not rate them as acceptable in any manner.

Desired Settlement: Replace oil pan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/29) */ It appears that after this complaint was filed the customer took the vehicle to an independent repair facility to repair the oil pan and we reimbursed him for the expense. We believe this issue has been rectified and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused this customer.