BBB Accredited Business since

Speed Sports Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 305-8011 Fax: (503) 305-8012 13456 SE McLoughlin Blvd, Milwaukie, OR 97222 http://www.speedsports.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used auto sales and service as well as racing parts and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Speed Sports Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Speed Sports Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Speed Sports Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2009 Business started: 07/01/2008 Business started locally: 07/01/2008 Business incorporated 07/29/2008 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Crandall, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Crandall, Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Speed Sports Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13456 SE McLoughlin Blvd

    Milwaukie, OR 97222

  • PO Box 68223

    Oak Grove, OR 97268 (503) 305-8011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ACCIDENT NOT DISCLOSED WHEN VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED

Desired Settlement: THEY CAN HAVE THIS CAR BACK AND GIVE ME MY $10,000 BACK

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ We have been aware of **** ***** and her claim of an accident indicator on Carfax. The car was sold to her in April of 2014. The Carfax accident indicator was placed on the report in November of 2014. We had no prior knowledge of this. Carfax gets it's information from a variety of sources and there can be months or years before certain issues are reported. She did have an issue with a faulty temperature sensor for the HVAC system on the car right after purchase. We took care of this right away. It was a technically difficult repair that was done at the MBZ dealer in Wilsonville. The part needed to be coded into the ******* network to function. We gave her a loaner car, which she had while the car was off road. When she purchased the car, she bought a service contract for future repairs. She did make a claim on the warranty while she had it. She then canceled the warranty shortly after May of 2014. We did the cancelation and refunded the amount to ********* ****** ***** where the car was financed, as per dealer agreement. She had assumed that she would just be getting a check for this amount directly, not it going against her loan. She was very unhappy that we did not give her the check directly. This had been difficult deal to finance due to the large amount of revolving debt she had. To get this car financed she had to pay off a large debt on her credit cards as an stipulation of the loan. On Jan 3rd she called us about the Carfax report for accident. She was upset and was difficult to talk to, but we said that she could trade the car back in to us. She was very upset and said that she could not trade the car anywhere because of this Carfax report. We told her that we were not aware of it since it was just reported. We offered to help her out and trade the car in. In the last 10 days we have had several conversations with her about trading the car in. In the last few conversations, we found out that she wanted a $300 month payment, but was 3-4 months past due on her payments for the MBZ she had purchased. We have not been able to get a credit application from her to try to obtain financing or have her in to discuss. The last conversation with her, she hung up the phone on us when we asked we about the past due and debts she had. We are still happy to take the car in trade, but financing is going to be tough with it being currently past due. It is not in either of our best interest for the car to be repossessed. So timing would be of the essence to figure this matter out. I think the reality of the situation is that she is having financial difficulties and is upset due to that situation. We are happy to help her out in anyway that we can can, but to say she has been difficult to deal with would be an understatement. **** ********

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ads that I saw were listed on two separate web sites; Kelley Blue Book and the Speed Sports LLC website. On both web sites it was emphasized and listed multiple times that the vehicle had a DVD player and a navigation system. While on the test drive it showed up on the screen something about the navigation. It was in a foreign language and I could not fully understand it, the salesman claimed that he would have someone more familiar with Audis look at it upon our return. It wasn't until after the papers were signed that another salesman informed me that the vehicle had neither of those previously stated features. I even brought up the issue of those features as per their "disclaimer", which states that it should be brought up prior to finalizing the sale (not verbatim) and the staff still didn't give me a definitive answer until the sale was over. After going back and forth with Speed Sports over the issues, I finally just told them I wanted my truck back, they refused and offered to resell it back to me at a price of $1,500.00 more than what I got out of it as a trade-in.

Desired Settlement: I just want my truck back. They can take their car and we can go out separate ways.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ We had a listing error on a option. We have spoke with ***** multiple times. We offered to give him $500 cash back, or a one year extension on his warranty for the item. It also says in the ad to verify all options at your time of purchase. It was a auto decoding issue. ***** has given us many excusess why he would like to unwind. I offered to un due and he pay the recon and re stocking costs of the trans action to buy his truck back. We have at least $2000 invested in his truck, with all brakes, two MT tires, massive detail, seat repair, PDI, Oil change. We have also paid off his truck with **** ******* I have personally spoke with ***** several times along with finance manager, and his salesman to try to work this out. It is a case of buyers remorse, he was here on two different occasions prior to buying the truck, and did a very long demo in the car, and was very excited out the deal at time of sale. I am willing to work with him, but not a loss for his remorse. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have only ever been there two times total; for the sale and afterwards. Also, I did bring up the options prior to the sale but was lied to. During the short demo ***** told me that the options were installed but he didn't know how to use them and that he would have ****, who is more familiar with Audis, show me how they worked. It wasn't until after the sale that he told me those features weren't installed. Then we I talked to ****, the owner, he told me a different theory then **** did. I was never excited for the sale and it's not buyers remorse. It's because I was blatantly lied to numerous times by various people. I brought up getting my truck back before any of these extra costs even occurred. The tires had less than 10k miles on them so there was no need to replace two of them. So either A) that's a lie or B) that was a bad and unnecessary call by your staff. Also , I've only spoke with ***** multiple times and the owner once. So, if this is the owner, claiming that we've spoke multiple times is also a lie. All of these claims that I am making can be verified as well. I have physical proof. Again, based on your "disclaimer", I was the only one who followed it and brought these issues up prior to the sale. It was your staff who lied to me and didn't tell me the truth until after the papers were signed. If this is **** replying, none of this would've happened had your salesmen just been honest. If you wish to speak with me off the record, ***** has my number. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/07) */ Here is out resolution with ***** **** Please see attached thanks **** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As you can see, with each of your responses, the story changes. As if to further prove my case. I have never ever once said that I have buyers remorse. The ONLY time those words came out of anybody's mouths were from your salesman and even that was an attempt to push the blame from their lies and deception. It's a sad cop out. Again, everything that I am stating can and will be proven to be honest. I'm sure you've heard that I'm working with an attorney. What's going to cost more; swallowing the "costs" because you're salesmen are liars who deceive people or going to court? Again, you have my number.

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 12, 2014, I went in to Speed Sports to purchase a BMW 335i. Upon purchasing, the sales person informed me that all the features that were listed were in working order. Since the car came with so many features and the sales person does not know the feature that well (For example I asked him how to set up Bluetooth hand free device and he had no idea). I accepted his good well stating all the advertised features were in working orders and bought the car. Speed Sports did not provide me with any user manual so I had to go home and downloaded a manual myself and going over the feature myself. After downloading the manual myself at home and started trying the features, I realized The dealership removed the naviagtion DVD and never put it back The Bluetooth hand free device does not seem to work I immediately contacted Speed Sports letting them know the issues and they asked me to come back the following day to have them take a look. Up on returning the follow day, Speed Sports got me a navigation DVD which I later learned from BMW dealership is defective and they cannot figure out how to set up the Bluetooth. The owner of Speed Sports and the sales person asked me to bring the car back to BMW have them take a look, or repair and they will take care of bill for me. I talked to the owner of Speed Sports one more time on the phone and he asked me to have the car repair and gave him the receipt and he will take care of it. I brought the car back to the Portland BMW dealership the following week on March 20, 2014 to have them take a look of the Bluetooth, BMW informed me that the Bluetooth device was broken and the Navigation DVD is defective and I had the Bluetooth device repaired with BMW like Speed Sports asked me to in the first place. The Bluetooth was a total repair of $984, and the Navigation DVD is going to be $250. After I obained the receipt and dropped it off at Speed Sports the following day and was told the owner will get back to me soon. From March 21, 2014 to May 10, 2014 I made numerous phone calls to Speed Sports and asking their staffs for the status of my refunds and asked to speak to the owner but the owner was no where to be found and the staffs always told me they will get back to me but I have never heard from them. I am requesting the refund of repair of $984 and the cost of navigation DVD of $250 mail back to me in the form of check to **** ** **** *** **** **** Portland OR 97209 ASAP.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the refund of repair of $984 and the cost of navigation DVD of $250 mail back to me in the form of check to **** ** **** *** **** **** Portland OR 97209 ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/30) */ I am responding to this complaint. I am **** ******** the owner of Speed Sports. I was involved tin this transaction. Mr ** took delivery of the car following an third party inspection of the car. The car when we got the car did not have a n disc. He also asked us to set up the Bluetooth for his cell phone. We tried to set it up, but we were not able to. It was after our service department closed, so we did not have a technician to look at it. I told him that we could look at it if he brought back in. He said he had appointment for regular service at the dealer and he would get a quote. The Navigation disc was not in the car when he took the car for his inspection, so at the time of sale we took a disc out of ***** *********** personal car (his salesman's) so that he would have one. It worked perfect in his car. This was the last we had heard from him till he brought a bill for installing a bluetooth system in his car at BMW. His car never came with a Bluetooth system form the dealer, it was not broken or removed prior. We would been glad to help him in some matter, but we do not pay retail at the BMW dealer, nor would we of paid and additional $1234.00 somewhere else when we could of taken care of this here for less than $250. I am willing to do something out of good will but, not pay retail for unauthorized work, plus the Nav disc that we provided was good. Best Regards **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, the car did come with Bluetooth which I was told by the sales person, and it was also listed online when the car was posted online for sale. And the BMW service had confirmed the Bluetooth device was installed before I bought the car but it was defective. The bill is for replacement of the Bluetooth device which was defective when I bought it not to install one. The Navigation disc was also being tested by the BMW service and being stated as defective as well. I will not take more or less for what the repair bill was for. Final Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/06/28) */ I was personally involved in this transaction on the BMW from doing the paperwork to delivery. When he came back the next day after our service department was closed to get his 90 trip permit, we were informed of the bluetooth issue. I personally tried to figure it out. I told him that the service department need to look at it a scheduale an appointment with ***** our service manager. Customer took car to BMW for repair and paid for it to be fixed without us being involved. This was not our choice but the customers. I do not give out open checks to customers to have things repaired without us being involved. Even if we did say take it to BMW for repair, we could of had it done for much less. We also provided a working DVD for the navigation. Like I said before I am happy to give $500 in good will, if negative review that have made made are removed from ****** or other reviews not seen. ***** was given my card at signing, I did his paperwork. He also signed As-is three different times and singed a we-owe stating that we did not owe him anything. I can see he mis understanding, but we would of taken care of it internally, for about $500..

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do not even know where to start with these type of people. Lets start from the beginning i guess. I was looking to buy a new car and the one i was looking for was a convertible mustang saleen which are rare sports cars. I found the one i liked and these people had it. They had lots and lots of pictures and videos of this car online. I talked to the salesman ***** who we discussed this car as i told him what i was looking for and about the price. He told me the price was firm as this car is in mint condition with no issues at all. So i told him i would agree to this after a little more checking on the car. A day or 2 later i talked to him and asked him numerous questions about the car, Does everything work any scratches dents issues with the motor paint, etc. He says absolutely not. He told me to go online and check them out. They supposedly carry top of the line sports cars and top notch vehicles. And yes they had a few older cars there. I expressed to him many times that i did not really want to fly out there to see the car as he seemed honest and answered a lot of the questions. I told him over and over that i was nervous about spending this type of money with out looking at it. He assured me that about 80% percent of there business is done this way because this is what there specialty is. So a few weeks later we set up the shipping to get the car here. A few days later it arrived and wow what a mistake. As it was on the truck and we were up close there are dents scratches different colors where they tried to match the paint and grinder marks in the entire front bumper. Paint falling off the rear spoiler. It did start up pretty good but we noticed a major oil smell. The car was to be delivered that day around noon. For some strange reason it showed up and 10pm. Imagine that, trying to hide something. So we get back to our garage since they deliver it a mile down the road in the pitch black. We get in the car and no dash lights work at all, passenger side window does not work door locks do not work. The only lights in the dash that were on were the ABS sensor lights and the AIR BAG warning light is on flashing. The next day i go out to wash it to check this thing out as it was hauled on an open trailer and covered in dirt and salt. After its washed the car is about 4 different shades of paint from repairs front end is covered in dents scratches and rock chips. Bottom of the driver door has a big dent in the bottom of it. All rear quarter panels have scratches and dents in them. Once its washed i move to the inside. On driver side the carpet has huge holes on the driver side. The back seat is broke and will not fasten in with out replacing, The convertible top is ripped all over and seperated from the window. Driver seat does not work as its power. The radio as they described as the Mach460 system is missing. There is some $75 stereo in it with 1 speaker out of 8 working. All the wires for that were cut flush to the amps. So i eventually get the car to our shop and start working on it. Everything is a fairly easy fix just cost money. So after i have a stereo system that works $1200 and fix the clock spring that had the air bag light off $125 All the gauge lights just a lot of time rewiring everything as someone just reached under the car and ripped hand fulls of wiring out that was fixed. New Carpert in interior $150 plus time, New wiring harness to both doors because it had certain type of doors before that cut the wiring to the doors $225 each side plus labor. Door hinges were completely out of the doors and were smashing the latches $250 for them. New Door window switch passenger $50 That is just the inside. We then went on to the motor to find out the oil smell. It is a vortech supercharged motor. Well the oil was coming from the super charger as the seals were out of it and had to be sent to vortech for service $600 plus shipping$150. Intake is leaking anti freeze from back corner. New intake $750 plus our time. Other then that motor was ok. They new all this as i was telling them all along what was going on. Finally we took it for its first drive down the road. All it was was banging and rattling all over the place. It had missed matched struts that were completely shot. So we put the original ones that belong in it front and rear $750 Then we drive again and all the control arms are rotted out. $150 plus time. Finally we take it to the body shop to get touched up. They refused to even do that. 3 places that is because there was no where to stop with it as its a special 3 stage paint on the car. They all say it has to be repainted if i want it to look decent at all as its already 3 to 4 tones of color. So i repaint the entire car $11,500 new saleen decals $360. The car is now in the condition it was suppose to be in when i bought it. So during all this **** i believe owner or manager whichever says they are gonna make this right with me and compensate me for parts and time. So finally after about 10 phone calls he tells me he is going to send me a check for $500. I was blown away by this offer. I thought to myself to not say anything and let them send me an insult of payment. Well since i was told this over 2 months ago i would call every week and tell him nothing came. He would tell me he took care of it and its on its way till the next time i had to call. Well nothing has ever came yet and i am not chasing them around for such an insult. This car was not worth $5,000 as the way i received it. I paid 16,900 and with the repairs and i have an additional approx. 16,500 into to make it worth the $17k i paid for it. So out of the 16,500 i had to spend out of pocket they offered $500. Its so hard to believe there are business out there so dishonest and buy rare sports cars from auctions that are just trashed and sell them as mint condition. All there pictures of the car were from 15-20 feet away and it looked amazing in all there light areas for pictures. Never do they take a close up of the dents or scratches so someone could see before purchase because they are trying to get someone from a long ways away and fill them full of lies. This was a vehicle purchased from ebay. After they told me the price was not negotiable they had me do the bid on ebay to clear it off. They had the reserve set at 14,000 and so it could have went for that but again just another lie by them. So if you would figure parts and labor if i had to pay someone for all this it would have been over $25k easily. I am done dealing with them as they are a run around trying to keep someone quiet for a period of time and i can now no longer review them on ebay as they filled me with words long enough. Now they just ignore the situation. I think all parts at least to make it a safe driving working car is fair. The paint was my decision as i could not handle all the marks on the car. If they would have ever serviced this car they would have seen it is not even road safe, and to sell a car like that is unreal.

Desired Settlement: $4200 Would cover all the parts only to make this car run and drive safe. Not blow up in 1,000 miles and to make music again and all the other options to work. Right in there add the describe all these accessories it has and in working condition. I have paper work to verify everything done to this car.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/05/05) */ We have been in contact with **** in regards to this car from the time he took delivery. At first the complaint was that there was body damage to the vehicle from the auto transport company. There clearly was no body damage in the pictures prior to the vehicle leaving. He was in contact with the shipper and trying to work something out with them. In the complaint, Mr. ******** implies that we were hiding something from the start by delivering the car at night. This makes no sense as we are in no way connected to the shipper. They are an independent business and are hired by an auto shipping broker. Now they may have wanted to deliver the car at night to cover up shipping damage that they would be responsible for. Mr.******** and myself have talked on several occasions, with the biggest concern of his being the supercharger seals of which we agreed to pay $500.00 of. This car was sold as a used car as is, we do our best to represent our autos as fairly and honestly as possible. We always suggest an independent inspection anytime the customer is not able to personally see the car before purchase. As you can see from our eBay feedback we have an excellent reputation and hundreds of satisfied customers. The car in question here had over 50 photos and a video showing the car both statically and in action, we do our best to show everything. We sell used cars, they are not perfect, and what may be completely acceptable to one person may not meet the standards of another. This car was expensive new and was sold at a very fair price to Mr. ********. Looking at similar vehicles that have changed hands on eBay recently he bought the car for well under market value. **** values this car at between $20,400 and $28,800 depending on condition. *************************************************************************************************** Sincerely, **** ***** Sales Manager Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/05/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) absolutely I will not accept there excuses, That car was not worth $5,000 dollars as it was sold. A mint condition saleen would sell for what i paid for that car. Not a repo sale from an auction that the car was. That is what they sell. I am not asking for anything from them i just plan to destroy there reputation online to let everyone know what kind of scam company they are. After the sale is over they say you have the right to look at it. Before the sale they assure you that this is how 90% of there business is done. People trust them because they are a top end sports car dealership and all they sell is top notch cars. Yes i had the right to look at it but if i would of paid the grand for the flight there and back and seen what they were saying was a perfect condition saleen and all the lies they told me of what i was coming to see i would have lost myself and they would just turn there back at me and act like the scam artist this company is. They know for 100% fact if anyone ever flew there to buy it they would never pay over 5 grand. But i could of saved myself over 35,000 now. The car is 100% redone now from brakes, suspension, paint, interior, motor, charger, gauges, stereo, clutch, control arms, and i could go on and on. It is now a mint condition car and have every receipt to show it that there is over $35,000 in that car now. Why would anyone do that if the car was worth the $17,000 i paid. The car in mint condition books at $16,000. If they can prove they paid remotely close to that from the seller i will let this go. I understand they are in business to make money. So if they can prove that they paid $14,000 for the car this will be dropped and get a decent review from me. But like every dealer says they are only making $500 on the sale i am allowing $3,000 profit on the sale. Thats not too much to ask i don't think. But i am willing to get they made over $10,000 on it so to me that is taking advantage of people. And they $500 they offered me i thought was a joke but i knew if i raised it i would get nothing. And they never mailed that check until this BBB report was sent 2 months later. According to them every week it was in the mail when i would call and ask for it. So they were not going to send me anything until i did this. So to say that was our agreement, Ya right and agreement you pay immediately you dont wait to pay them after 10 phone calls asking for it and then a BBB complaint and then it magically shows up. Go figure! Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/05/16) */ We sent Mr. ******** the check for $500 that he agreed to. If that wasn't agreeable he should have said so at the time. The car was never represented as perfect, like new or anything of the sort. There were clear photo's and videos of the car. Once again we are always fine with a pre-purchase inspection prior to the sale. The car was sold at a fair price, no one forced Mr. ******** to buy the vehicle. As we stated before we have over 300 happy eBay customers, which speaks to how we conduct our business.