Click for BBB Rating on Hertz Car Sales & Car Care Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pre-owned car and truck sales as well as a full service car care center.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hertz Car Sales & Car Care Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Hertz Car Sales & Car Care Center. BBB Serving West Florida has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Hertz Car Sales & Car Care Center.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 28, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 05/03/1991 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dave Brown, President Mr. Brent Arritola, General Manager Mr. Chris Blaylock, General Manager Mr. David Brown, President Mr. Rodney Burt, Manager Ms. Millie Dearing, Manager Mr. Toby Elmer, General Manager Mr. Scott Heusch, General Sales Manager Ms. Lucinda Holzman, Manager Mr. Eric Johnson, Vice President Mr. Kevin Knopf, General Manager Mr. David McPherson, Manager Mr. Nathan Oseth, Manager Mr. Perry Roper, Vice President Ms. Kathy Wigmospa, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Brown, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Service Stations - Gasoline & Oil Auto Renting & Leasing Car Wash & Polish Auto Services Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Atlast Capital LLC Hertz Car Rental Hertz Car Rental Hertz Car Rental Hertz Car Rental Hertz Car Rental West One Automotive Group Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Terminal Loop Pkwy STE 112

    Medford, OR 97504

  • 2016 Airport Rd

    Pendleton, OR 97801

  • 2522 SE Jessie Butler Cir

    Redmond, OR 97756

  • 2790 25th St SE

    Salem, OR 97302

  • 2990 25th St SE

    Salem, OR 97302

  • 3000 Airport Way STE 110

    Klamath Falls, OR 97603

  • 3976 Crater Lake Ave

    Medford, OR 97504

  • 4689 W 11th Ave

    Eugene, OR 97402 (888) 843-0332 (541) 791-5339 (866) 844-9446 (800) 505-9384 (503) 378-9100 (800) 708-5962 (541) 857-4000 (541) 383-0137 (877) 626-0137 (800) 842-2920 (541) 773-4293 (800) 842-2920 (541) 923-1411 (800) 842-2920 (541) 276-3183 (800) 842-2920 (503) 391-1588 (888) 837-2814 (888) 837-2818

  • 520 Airport Rd SE

    Albany, OR 97322

  • 535 NE Savannah Dr

    Bend, OR 97701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All of the above practices were used- the product did not match the advertised product, high pressure sales tactics were used. I am most upset that I was reportedly "denied credit", but I did not fill out a credit application! Hertz attempted to have me purchase a vehicle without a test drive or even visual inspection of the vehicle. I refused, and did not fill out any paperwork with the financial officer. More than three weeks after I left the dealership, I received noticed that I had been denied credit. I believe this to have been fraudulent as I never applied for credit through hertz, and had not given them any permission to run my credit score or history. (All my financing was through my bank, and I refused to discuss that with Hertz).

Desired Settlement: I wish them to contact the credit agency and remove the denial of credit, and any other negative effect, from my credit report. This denial of credit was based on a fraudulent application.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/23) */ We contacted the customer on Friday, September 20, 2013 to address her complaint. She was upset because she thought that Hertz Car Sales had submitted her credit application to financial institutions in order to secure a loan. She understandably believed this because she received an Adverse Action letter that said she had been denied a loan. We spoke with the customer and explained why she received the letter and this was our error. We also reassured her that we did not submit her information to any financial institutions and her information is safe. This Adverse Action letter is required by federal regulations when a loan is submitted and denied by the financial institution. Our system is automatically set up to generate this letter when a credit application is completed. However, if we end up not submitting a customer's credit application to a financial institution, we must opt out of sending this letter. In this case we did not submit her credit to any financial institutions, however we inadvertently did not opt out of sending the Adverse Action letter. We apologized for the inconvenience and she thanked us for the clarification. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They did call and explain their error. This was quite a significant error. I had not given them permission to run my credit score at all, as I was not being financed through the dealership, so I remained displeased with the use of my credit information, the hard selling tactics, and unclear and unfactual information that I experienced. I chose to buy from another dealer. However, I do now consider the matter resolved.

8/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was purchased. We were told prior to purchase that the vehicle had been completely gone through and there are no issues with vehicle. Car salesman told us that if we ever have issues that we can use our service plan that we paid for. We took vehicle in to be looked at due to a number of issues, problems weren't fixed, the service department told us they could find one of the issues. The other issues they have stated have been fixed, are not fixed at time of picking up the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Car lot to buy vehicle back. We paid approximately 7500 for the vehicle, the 2000.00 that we requested back for the service to fix our vehicle. We cancelled the service plan and were told that the auto loan would be credited back 2000.00. We requested this 2 months ago and still have not seen that money. We no longer want this vehicle as it has been a money pit for us, trying to fix it and Hertz Service Center does not have the knowledge to fix anything on the vehicle. Also being treated like I'm incompetent by the service department is something we no longer wish to deal with.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/07/30) */ Vehicle was originally sold on 2/23/2013 with 106138 miles on it. At the time of sale the dealership had gone through the vehicle and done all applicable work related to making this vehicle safe and serviceable on the road. Services Hertz Car Sales of Medford performed included: * 108 point vehicle inspection. * Oil change and oil filter replacement. * Air filter replacement. * Replaced leaking intake manifold gasket * Replaced both valve cover gaskets. * Repaired clips on the driver side wheel well cover. * Cleaned and serviced the throttle body & mass airflow sensor. At the time of purchase the customer elected to purchase a two year 24,000 mile power train warranty. The customer was informed both in person and in writing at that time that the warranty would cover only applicable engine and transmission issues. On 3/4/2013 the customer was surveyed and gave the dealership a five out of five rating on overall purchase experience, likelihood of recommending the dealership, and likelihood of returning to the dealership to purchase again. On 3/25/2013 the customer came in complaining of the vehicle running rough when cold. The Car Care Center diagnosed the problem as an Idle Air Control valve sticking, which they cleaned, reinstalled and tested. This solved that issue. Additionally the service department replaced some dash lights that were out. Both of these were not covered under the purchased warranty but were performed at no cost to the customer as a customer relations matter. On 5/27/2013 the customer requested we cancel the 2 year 24,000 mile warranty. Cancellation paperwork was completed and the customer was advised that a refund would be pending to their lender within 6 to 12 weeks. Refund was forwarded to ***** ******* ****** ***** on 7/21/2013, 8 weeks in total. This will be applied to the balance of the loan in accordance to the stipulations of the Retail Installment Contract the customer signed to obtain financing. On 7/3/2013 the customer came in concerned that the air conditioning system was inoperable. The dealership diagnosed the problem, replaced the expansion valve the filter drier and evacuated & recharged the Freon. The customer also complained of a belt squeal. Again the dealership adjusted tension which solved the problem free of charge. In regard to the customer's resolution request, as a dealership, Hertz Car Sales of Medford would welcome the customer back to trade-in the vehicle and get something they like better, on approved credit. However, purchasing this vehicle back at the full sale price would not be an option. Hertz Car Sales offers a Seven Day Exchange program where the customer could exchange the vehicle for a vehicle of equal or more value in the first seven days after the purchase. At that time the customer was satisfied with their purchase and did not pursue that option. And in regard to the customer's comment about the vehicle being a "money pit for us". They have yet had to pay a service bill on the vehicle to the Hertz Car Care Center. So as you can see, we have dealt plainly and fairly with this customer in an effort to continue to earn their business and exceeded any rational expectation of customer service. We hope you find that we have satisfied our part of the bargain with this customer, and continue to hold Hertz Car Sales of Medford in high esteem. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 17, 2013/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I made my rental reservation online I used a couple discount codes and was "guaranteed" a rate of $211.16 including taxes and fees for my rental. When I arrived at the location the representative originally tried to charge me over $300 for the rental. I gave the reservation and confirmation numbers and was told by the rep that they do not have access to the same reservation system I used, therefore they could not pull up the information even though I had the confirmation email with me. I provided the same discount codes and the lowest she would go with the rate was to $246.36. This is the only rental car agency in the Pendelton airport so I had nowhere else to go. I had a three hour drive ahead of me and it was getting late and I had no choice but to take the vehicle. I had hoped to get the situation figured out when I returned home, but I have since requested the $35.20 reimbursement and have been denied. I feel it is unconscionable to "guarantee" a certain rate, then refuse to give me that rate when I am actually there in person, especially when there are no other rental agencies to go to in this airport and because of this monopoly their rates are already grossly over the standard to begin with.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of $35.20

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, ****/06/19) */ Business called, Perry Roper at 509 ********, processed 35.20 refund today.

6/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hertz Car Sales National Office I will begin by stating my experience created a belief that I will have for a long time to come. This experience and belief will also be shared as that is what happens in the world as we understand it. Others experience create beliefs which get shared with social media, our peers, our coworkers and organization that are built to voice concerns for customers set up by government agencies. I will begin with my experience and how it progressed to me sitting down and writing it out and sending it in. I was called by Hertz car sales the week of April 28th I made an appointment at your Eugene Oregon location to view and start my process to purchase a car my appointment was with *****. My previous car was Hertz and my dad had completed all the transaction until I stepped in to buy. I naturally knew they had done me well with that experience in Spokane Washington. I got to the Eugene location and test drove several cars and though reluctant decided on a Mercedes c320. We negotiated and haggled and settled on a price I felt was equitable. I drove off leaving my working car as a trade and proceeded unknown in a vehicle new to me plagued with electrical issues and that had been in an accident it was not disclosed to me. My stupidity for not asking for a car fax but it wasn't offered and I just forgot and was overwhelmed actually as this was my first experience doing this myself. The problems begin by the following Monday. I actually had communicated some quick concerns to ***** that Thursday and didn't hear back. That Monday when I had parked it for the weekend at a friends in Eugene as I rented a car from hertz rental at the airport to travel to Spokane. I had four dogs going with so I didn't want to have four puppy paws on my new to me Mercedes. When I return to get my car from my friend the battery was completely dead to the point I had to jump start it. I thought maybe something was amiss and maybe I left it on. The car again had a dead battery that Saturday I immediately identified this to ***** and he said bring it in. The battery drained two more times stranding me again at work and at home. I conveyed my issues to ***** and I brought it in to a scheduled Wednesday appointment to find the solution to be that the issues was the module running the driver side not the passenger. I forgot a key bit of information that Manager of the service dept had shared with me he was aware and had unplugged the passenger **** module and replaced the battery thinking that would resolve the electrical issues when we talked that Monday may 13th and May 15th when I brought it in. I had goggled this as a concern on this series of Mercedes and was beginning to regret my decision. That Wednesday as I thought things over as I had been for close to two weeks I knew this was a lemon and I had made a very bad decision without some key information given to me that was known about this car. I knew it was known as the service manager had admitted it. How I knew about the collision is my close friend that is a mechanic that went through the car that Wednesday morning he loves Mercedes and showed me all the clear signs and evidence of the issues and how Mercedes would not have put it together this way. The repainted areas spots that Mercedes would not paint, misaligned hood gaps in rear roof and left side (drivers) vs. right side (passenger), all major screw points showing signs of removal and replacement wear. Missing door numbers also missing on the trunk and hood. This was established by Mercedes and they were all missing. I was frustrated concerned and decided I ask ***** where we could go. He made me feel like we would get to an equitable conclusion. I didn't like the conclusion but felt I had no real option I have a car that wont work that now they are saying they will only gave me 6000 for when I paid 8400 the two weeks before. I voiced this concern then and there and almost walked off twice but knew I was screwed I had a car that I had been led to believe was a working car with clear undisclosured of some key information it was not. I found a vehicle that would meet my needs and it was way over Kelly Blue Books high end perfect condition price. I offered a fair price high end perfect Kelly Blue Book and they gave me only $6000 for the car I paid you 8500 for two weeks before with no budge on that price at all. We settle on a price for the new car they wouldn't budge for the return value of my Mercedes. So I technically spent $210 dollars per day to own that car. That was one expensive lesson in life. I even was prepared to understand that possibly working to 7500 to 7750 to build in licensing and part of commissions would have been equitable. The $600 confused and really flustered me as being totally inequitable lets make him pay for the whole mistake he only had a very small roll in playing in. Yes I know I am responsible I could have walked away but I just want to voice my concern now I wished I walked away the 2nd of May. I made a clear bad decision then and some none describe information that was known on a vehicle. I didn't feel yesterday I had many options I had a car with undisclosed damage and electrical issues and where was I going to even have a possibility of recouping my lost money other than work with who I bought it from. They took this advantage and clearly knew they had the upper hand. I am out over 2500 hundred dollars and you guys made out. I learned a valuable lesson from my experience. I began this with a paragraph about my experience establishing a belief. That belief is I have been taken advantage of. I learn a lesson and I will share that lesson. I have stepped away and will go about life it won't stop me from doing what I have to do on my end to voice my concerns to everyone I can. I have always been one to use every agency available to let them know when I feel someone has done me wrong and can show clear facts. I can here and will. The attorney general of Oregon, The better business Bureau to name a few there are many organization that listen and request responses from companies I have used them many times when I have been wronged before. I also will use social media to my advantage as well as world of mouth it is the best form of advertisement good and bad for any company. I appreciate you listening to my concerns and just wanted to let you know you have a truly unhappy customer who experiences taught him some valuable beliefs about your Organization. Sincerely **** G ****** PO Box 20 Oakland, OR XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: Just want a fair price on the car that I returned after two weeks I lost 2500 dollars

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/05/20) */ Has been resolved to my satisfaction. Talked to manager today and he agree to correct the situation with a solution. He also apologized. Thank you **** G ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a rental car at this location. First of all they charged me for an extra day, second I enclosed a $ credit voucher which they did not put towards my bill. They charged my credit card. I asked them to fix it and they told me to contact corporate. Corporate told me that a manager can make the discount. No one will do it, I have called several times, and get nowhere.

Desired Settlement: I would like my entire rental refunded right away. I have wasted too much time on this matter.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/11) */ Dear Sir, We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. Hertz of Klamath Falls has contacted the renting city (Hertz HLE Vancouver, WA), and Vancouver has authorized a full credit to Rental Record *****7654. Please allow one billing cycle of your credit card statement to reflect the credit. Hertz values you as a customer, and looks forward to a future opportunity to serve your vehicle needs. Sincerely, Hertz Car Rental & Sales