BBB Accredited Business since

Harris Mitsubishi and Finance Center

Phone: (206) 774-4141 Fax: (425) 775-2587 View Additional Phone Numbers 12620 Highway 99, Everett, WA 98204 http://www.harrismitsubishinw.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used auto sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Harris Mitsubishi and Finance Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Harris Mitsubishi and Finance Center include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Harris Mitsubishi and Finance Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harris Mitsubishi and Finance Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 21, 1992 Business started: 12/01/1956 Business started locally: 12/01/1956 Business incorporated 12/07/1956 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Luk Blackwell, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Luk Blackwell, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Hours of Operation
9am - 9pm
Alternate Business Names
Harris Ford Inc

Additional Locations

  • 12620 Highway 99

    Everett, WA 98204 (206) 774-4141 (425) 775-4254

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When i got a ar from harris ford they lied on my loan application and said i had two jobs. When i really obly worked at red robbin in smokeypoint. They said i had a job with a landscaping conpany and made 2500 a pay check and thats what got them the okay to sell me a car and now i lost the car to a repossession and the loan company is coming after me for eight geand

Desired Settlement: I have no car now because they lied and made it seem like i could afford a car and proceeded to not tell me till i was leaving in the car

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this complaint for me to review. I pulled the original transaction file and reviewed all of the paperwork which included the credit application Mr. ******* signed showing his employment and income. The approval showed that the lender would review all of the information presented to approve the transaction. I called ***** ****** ***** to verify that all of the information was correct, was transferred to "*********" in the recovery department who would not divulge much information but did tell me that everything in the original transaction file was correct and accurate.

If anyone has additional questions please contact me directly at *************

Regards,

*** *********

10/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car at Harris Ford. When I arrived at the dealer, I heard a popping sound and a fluid began to gush out from under my car. I was told that it was coolant coming from my car and that the car was now undriveable. The salesman and a manager told me that they could only give me $100 for my 2003 PT cruiser because it was worthless and would be sold at auction. I just saw my PT Cruiser on the Harris website. It is selling for over $4000 (internet price) and over $6000 normally!!! They lied to me! Now I wonder what other lies they told me!!!

Desired Settlement: I want $3500 for my not-so-worthless PT Cruiser!

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/10/21) */ A Harris Ford manager called me and explained the circumstances to my satisfaction. I would like to drop the complaint.

9/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I endured many frustrating sales ploys throughout the search to buy a 2014 Ford Fiesta but I'll cut to the most egregious complaint of the bunch: ***, one of the floor managers, coerced me to give an all "excellent" customer survey rating by threatening to retract the offer we already agreed upon. And when I couldn't agree in good-conscience before reading it he rescinded the offer entirely. In greater detail: I had signed the deal worksheet and shaken hands with the salesman over a long-negotiated offer. Not yet completed final paperwork. The salesman came over and pointed out the parts of the survey that pertain to him specifically and asked to provide an "excellent" response - something that didn't surprise me because I work in customer service. I assured him I was happy with his service. Then his sales manager followed him within 60 seconds reeking of cigarettes and with the same survey sample and said, "You're gonna do this, right?" as he motioned circling all the "Excellent" marks on the survey. I responded honestly, "I haven't read the survey yet so I don't know exactly what I'll say." He replied unabashedly, "The deal is off the table then" as he stares at me and crosses my information off the car delivery worksheet. I told him directly I couldn't believe he is retracting a deal we agreed upon and he cited he shouldn't make a deal unless the customer is happy. That I understand - but I was happy and excited and nervous to have a deal so what's the point in pressuring me more after we had reached an agreement? I spent approximately four hours in their showroom over the course of 3 visits - including the time they rescheduled as I pulled into the parking lot. This event occurred a number of days ago and the first thing I did was write their GM, *** *********, about the experience. I explained very plainly I didn't have the opportunity to provide a customer survey response due to the offer was retracted to me. After some back and forth, we finally got to talk on the phone for twenty minutes. He agreed that this was a terrible experience and assured me this is not a common occurrence. He offered appropriate apologies and stated he's using my email as a platform to retrain his staff to avoid this in the future. I noticed the next day I had notifications from my online Credit monitoring service that Harris Ford Inc ran two hard credit inquiries despite making it very clear during the sales negotiation that I was financing the purchase personally through my credit union. I emailed *** about this but his response implied no sense of urgency to correct this error or try to improve my experience as a customer. Here are some facts about the car and offer in question: MSRP (Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price aka "Sticker Price"): $18,230 "Price" listed crossed out on their internet ad: $22,225 "Special Price" listed on internet ad: $17,526 Appraised wholesale value (cost the manufacturer sells to dealership) by BECU: $13,749 Edmunds Price Promise(SM): $16,051 Price listed on deal worksheet from rescinded offer: $16,500 MSRP listed on deal worksheet from rescinded offer: $0.00

Desired Settlement: A renovation of online sales listings to minimize price ambiguity by clearly displaying MSRP and not stacking cash-rebates that you won't offer in store. To complete this by 1/1/2015 is a tall order but reasonable (over four months). To clearly list MSRP on all deal worksheets when working with future customers - when a customer goes home to think about the offer the deal worksheet should plainly present the MSRP, the invoice price, the rebates applied, any associated taxes or fees, and finally the estimated total cost of anticipated purchase or finance. Finally, demonstrate to me you want a happy customer more than you want profit, like your salesmen told me all along, by offering the car to me at wholesale cost ($13,749 plus tax and fees) including free 24 month maintenance package (to protect me from any other potential foul play). I'm eager to see how these changes will improve the business' integrity and resulting success.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/26) */ Thank you for forwarding this complaint. I was able to talk to *** ***** last week regarding his visit to our dealership and am familiar with the details. I am sorry that the transaction ended the way that it did and I expressed that to him when we spoke. It is our desire to do good business, and take great care of our clients. Unfortunately what *** ***** is asking for is not something we are able to do. The vehicle he was interested in has an MSRP of $18,230, an invoice price from the factory of $18,026 and $1,500 of rebates that he was going to take advantage of. While I do not know of any companies that present their "cost" to consumers that is actually part of our process. We strive to be transparent with all the information available and allow our customers to decide what is fair. In this case the offer *** ***** wants is not something we can afford to do. I share *** *****'s desire of a day that consumers come in and purchase a vehicle for the price advertised preventing all of the haggling back and forth. If anyone has additional questions please contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email at ****@HarrisFord.com Regards, *** ********* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. *********, You've neglected to address most of the issues brought up in my complaint. Even in your response you are obscuring the price! I'm not sure what you mean exactly by "cost". I figure you mean the wholesale value, which is the value any bank can quote for free with a VIN or detailed year, make, model, and options description of the car. My understanding is the wholesale value equals "cost" the dealership pays to buy the car - am I wrong? I apologize if I wasn't clear in my initial complaint. Let me review the figures you provided compared to my aforementioned facts for the Fiesta: MSRP:$18,230 - that is Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price. Your website lists the car with a "Price" of $23,225, almost $5000 higher than suggested retail value. You have that number slashed out and a "Special Price" highlighted beneath it of $17,526. Where do you come up with the $23,225? What makes the other price "special"? The MSRP is not listed on the ad. You are intentionally obscuring the suggested retail price by creating a dishonest "price" to leverage that against the customer. The only person who has power to "prevent all of the haggling back and forth" is you. You can step up to run an honest business with unambiguous pricing. Instead, you deflect my complaint and pretend like you have no control on this issue. Mr. *********, can you honestly say that you are "striving to be transparent with all the information available..." in this scenario?! Please demonstrate you have some integrity and admit you are not including all the information available. Other dealerships display online the MSRP and a pdf/picture of the window sticker, which includes detailed pricing suggestions. Why don't you list the MSRP on any of your "New Inventory" internet listings? Your sister dealership **** ****** ****, who is under your management, obscures the price by not listing MSRP online too. ********** Ford, ********** Ford, and ******** Ford all have MSRP clearly listed on their internet ads. But I live in Shoreline so I came to you guys first and little did I know until I was neck-deep in your dishonest practices. When you say "It is our desire to do good business..." I notice you leave out the important qualities integrity and respect. You completely ignored the most egregious part of my complaint regarding your sales manager's using coercive tactics. I can only read between the lines and presume that you endorse (or perhaps train) your staff to pressure customers to give good customer service reviews. Furthermore, I gather you endorse the salesmen using partially-filled deal worksheets when haggling a customer to obscure the price and get a better deal for you. Any feedback on this? You never did tell me personally what *** said about retracting an agreed-upon offer nor publicly condemn his behavior. Don't act like asking for wholesale cost was so out of the question. Adding the $1500 rebates I'm entitled puts the "invoice" price before rebates at $15,249 so it would be a price cut of $1250 from the offer we had previously agreed upon. You can afford that amount - you've offered cars with greater discounts in response to BBB complaints in the past (though the responses were not accepted by the customer, therefore unverified). Considering my horrible experience (which you agreed was horrible), it's not that much of a loss to earn back a happy customer. Please don't dismiss my complaint and write as if my demands are too great. They are not too great. Though, I fear your desire to maintain integrity as a business is too small to make any improvements in the customer experience. I'm asking lots of questions because I'm trying to get an honest and comprehensive answer from you. You're completely unable to meet my requests? You can't begin to include MSRP in your internet listings? You cannot promise to provide honest deal worksheets in the future? Let me remind you the definition of "can" - to be able to, or to be permitted to. You're telling me you're not permitted or able to sell a car with an extra discount of $1250? I find that hard to believe. Furthermore, you never addressed the two credit inquiries I asked you about over email. I never consented for a hard credit check. I have two hard credit inquiries reported from Harris Ford Inc and they must be removed. I have already filed a dispute with*********** and you must submit a correction to *********** ********* and ******* to get the inquiries removed. Is this another sales tactic you use to leverage your ability to haggle the price? Please answer each one of my questions in your rebuttal. I do not anticipate you taking any action to improve the integrity of your business nor make any attempt to make me a satisfied customer but I will not let go of hope. At least I would appreciate hearing your explanation why you're not concerned about my abhorrent experience as a customer - my salesman had welcomed me to the "Harris Family" before the agreed-upon offer was rescinded so please oblige! Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/09/08) */ Mr. *****, Again I am sorry that we are not able to fulfill your request of purchasing the vehicle for the amount you want to pay. Regrettably the information you were given from ****** ****** union was incorrect as the "Invoice" price AKA "Wholesale cost" we paid Ford Motor Company for the car was $18,026 vs. the $13,749 you were told. The MSRP stickers are posted on both Ford dealers' websites on each new vehicle by clicking on the "window sticker" icon. I am unaware of any way we can remove a credit inquiry at the dealership level. If you have information of how we are supposed to do this I am happy to oblige. If anyone would like additional information, I can be reached at ****@HarrisFord.com or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Regards, *** *********

7/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealer used high pressure sales tactics and overcharged us for a car and warrantee. They misrepresented the resale value of my trade-in. When we realized the issue, the dealer was not willing to work with us to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, we would cancel this transaction and receive our car back and cancel our purchase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ Thank you for sending us this complaint for review. Mr. *** came in this past Saturday to pick up the vehicle and our Sales Manager **** ***** was able to speak to him. In an effort to provide great customer satisfaction he offered to unwind the sale, remove the trade or whatever they desired to take care of them. Mr. *** told him that he appreciated everything we discussed, liked the vehicle, wanted to keep it and just wanted for us to fix some minor issues with the car. We told him we would be happy to address these items. If anyone has any additional questions please let me know. I can be reached via email at ****@HarrisFord.com or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX Regards, *** *********

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service