BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of used trucks and automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gage Auto Sales Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gage Auto Sales Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gage Auto Sales Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 21, 2002 Business started: 02/01/1982 Business started locally: 02/01/1982 Business incorporated 05/14/1998 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Gage, President Mr. Joe Philbrook, General Manager Mr. Don Ross, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Gage, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Don Ross, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Gage Auto Sales

Additional Locations

  • 13432 SE McLoughlin Blvd

    Portland, OR 97222 (866) 605-7114 (888) 205-6257

  • PO Box 220089

    Portland, OR 97269 (503) 652-0006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We, ****** and myself, *******, went to Gage auto to look at Suv's. We were met by **** who asked us what we were looking for. We told him "a 4WD SUV". Walking around we didn't see anything that would work...about to leave and he pulls out this beautiful 2006 Denali Envoy...we love it, but can tell its too much. He asked what we could put down, we said 7k, and then he said he could get the asking price of 17k down to between 12-14k. After credit process happenes we are presented with a "rough draft" entailing our cost of the car ($13,888 -turned out to be the online price as well) 36 months at $310 a month. Doable? Yes we agreed. DO NOT BELIEVE A WORD! I signed on the line thinking the contract would mirror the rough draft we initialed. Took the car home (finance pending). Next day (bought it Sunday night) Monday night (I get home at 8:15pm) my bf ****** looks at it closer and can't find 4Wd! And 36 months turned into 60! Double APR! You would think we would notice that right away. ****** goes in Tuesday to Gage and talks to another sales rep, who says come back Thursday for the manager, meantime don't worry, just let her drive it(he wanted to return it)...kicker? After he txt me at work with that info, I let him know the car didn't start and I had to get a jump and was late to work. (Since that day, even with charging the battery, it always was dead- gave it back to them that Saturday). Appointment on Thursday "you can't put the toothpaste back in the tube" said the manager. They even went so far to say, listen, when are you going to use 4wd? Kidding me? And they admitted they were wrong. Eventually they agreed to put us in a 4WD but refused to refund us our deposite of 7k and unwind the deal. So with our 7k held hostage we had no other choice. There was nothing on their lot we liked but one car. My dad inquired on my behalf and they said it didn't exist. Same make/model/2 years newer 30k less/4wd. He was lied to. WARNING FOR EVERYONE! STAY AWAY FROM GAGE! Liars!

Desired Settlement: I want you to unwind my contract. If you had done it sooner, there would have been a lesser headache for you. I am stressed to my absolute max solely because of the many lies told by your company. I want my FULL 7k refunded and for **** to be given a warning on unethical and deceitful practices...unless of course you encourage that behaviour **** Gage. I am willing to take this as far as I legally can. Your salesman lied to the wrong person and is tarnishing your name. You have in possession, the car sold to me on your lot as of this past Saturday. I hope you have more tact than the people you employ. I told **** I was contacting the.BBB alnost a week ago.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

We have discussed this situation with our customer and it appears we will be rescinding this sale.  We have every faith our customer will be happy with this resolution and intend to provide proof to the BBB of this resolution once it's complete.  We believe it will be finalized either today (5/23/15) or Monday (5/25/15).  This will depend on the customers schedule and availability.

A fax will follow to confirm this matter is concluded.

Thank you!

*** ****
Business Manager

Gage Auto Sales, Inc.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* ****

5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My cousin and I stopped by Gage Auto Sales on 7/12/14 at 3:30pm to look at their vehicle selection as my cousin is in the market for a new car but is unsure of what he is looking for. We were first contacted by a very friendly and knowledgeable sales person who helped us around the lot in the extreme heat as we were looking at many different types of vehicles. I would first like to complain about how when asked about the price of a specific vehicle we were told they could not tell us a price until we had either driven the car or sat down inside with a sales manager. We were extremely frustrated as we had a set budget but without knowing the price of the vehicle we didn't know what was out of our range. My cousin finally found a GMC truck that he liked so we took it for a test drive. This is when the main complaint happened. When we finished the test drive and arrived back at the lot the sales person informed us the vehicle was out of our price range which obviously frustrated us as it wasted both of our time. We then asked him for a business card as he was overall a very nice sales person. when he went inside to grab a card he returned with a "sales manager" I do not recall the mans name but he was short, bald and had a lazy eye. This is how the conversation proceeded. "Hi I am (blank) and I heard you just took the GMC for a test drive. Did you like it?" - manager "yes we did but it is out of our price range" myself "well if it's out of your price range then why did you test drive it?"-manager We could not believe he said this to us as we only drove the truck because we were completely unaware of the vehicle cost and were speechless. The manager they proceeded to say "you shouldn't have driven the truck if you knew you couldn't afford it and that whoever buys the truck wouldn't have wanted the extra miles put on it. You also used $5 worth of gas so you owe us $5"!!!!! My cousin and I were furious! I have personally owned 29 vehicles (yes 29) and never in my life have I EVER been treated this terribly by a car dealer. Had they been honest and open with us in the first place then we would have NEVER taken the vehicle on a test drive. I will NEVER recommend this dealer and will go out of my way to recommend my friends and family never visit these rude people. -****

Desired Settlement: Termination of employment for the sales manager involved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/24) */ Dear BBB: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We have drafted a response to the Mr. ***** and will attempt to upload a copy of our letter to your site. If unable to upload, we will fax a copy and reference the case number. Respectfully submitted, *** **** Gage Auto Sales, Inc.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WELL I BOUGHT MY 2008 JEEP CHEROKEE FROM GAGE AUTO SALES IN LATE DEC 2013. ITS HAD AN ISSUE SINCE I BOUGHT IT WITH THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL SINCE I BOUGHT IT.I HAVE CONTACTED GAGE ABOUT THIS & ITS BEEN FIXED NOW TWICE BUT STILL HAS AND ISSUE. I HAVE MISSED WORK BECAUSE OF THIS CAR PROBLEM & BEEN WITHOUT A CAR MANY TIMES IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS DUE TO THIS. I TOOK IT TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT AGAIN YESTERDAY , NOW IT HAS A BROKEN MOTOR MOUNT I AM BEING TOLD THAT HAS BEEN THAT WAY SINCE BEFORE I BOUGHT IT FROM THEM. THE DIFFERENTIAL IS STILL NOT FIXED PLUS LAST TIME THEY BROUGHT IT BACK TO ME IT HAD A NEW STAIN ON THE SEAT & STUFF HAD GONE MISSING OUT OF MY JEEP AT THE REPAIR PLACE. I AM PRETTY MUCH AT THE END OF MY ROPE WITH THIS. I EITHER WANT GAGE TO BUY IT BACK BECAUSE THEY SOLD ME A CAR WITH HUGE ISSUES OR PAY MY WARRENTY THEY PRETTY MUCH FORCED ME INTO BUYING. I DONT THINK THIS JEEP WILL EVER NOT HAVE ISSUES AT THIS POINT FORWARD. I AM AGAIN WITHOUT IT , THIS TIME I AM NOW IN A LOANER CAR MISSED ANOTHER FEW HOURS FROM WORK YESTERDAY DUE TO THIS. GAGE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING TO FIX THIS MESSED UP SITUATION. *** THAT WAS HELPING IS NO LONGER WORKING THERE BUT I KNOW MY FRIEND HAD ISSUES WITH HER CAR SHE BOUGHT FROM THEM & GAGE HAD TO BUY IT BACK DUE TO THE REPAIRS WERENT GETTING FIXED. THANK YOU ******* ****** Product_Or_Service: 2008 JEEP CHEROKEE

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I WANT THEM TO BUY IT BACK OR EITHER PAY OFF MY WARRENTY I HAD TO BUY BECAUSE THEY SOLD ME A CAR WITH HUGE REPAIR PROBLEMS. I DONT THINK ITS EVER GOING TO GET FIXED.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ Dear BBB: Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. At this time, we would respectfully request you grant us another 10 days to work towards resolution. We are now, and have been, in contact with *** ****** and have been working on resolving her problem since June. She is currently in a loaner vehicle while her vehicle is being inspected by a Jeep Dealership. While our efforts thus far have not resulted in the resolution of this matter, we are still working towards that resolution. We will update this file and keep the BBB up to date on this matter. Respectfully submitted, *** **** Gage Auto Sales, Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am working with them trying to see what the best solution would be at this time for my Jeep issue. I am not sure what I want to do at this point since the jeep still has a mechanical problem. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/07/24) */ Dear BBB: We have reached a resolution with our customer. She has signed a statement that we drafted acknowledging a resolution was reached. I will fax a copy of this statement so that it can be made a part of the file. Thank you, *** **** Gage Auto Sales, Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/07/25) */ I have come to a resolution with Gage.

1/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/30/13 I called and talked to *** ******* about purchasing a trail blazer stock number XXXXX vin 1gndt13sXXXXXXXXX. They were asking 13,888.00 I offered *** 10,500.00. He talked to his desk manager about the offer and call me back and said they could do it for 11,000.00. I told him that I needed to talk to my wife about it and would have to get back to him. I called *** ******* Sunday 12/1/13 in the morning and told him that I wanted my wife to see the trail blazer and drive it. As long as she approved the trail blazer we would take it for the 11,000.00 we had talked about. *** ******* even came in to work early to meet us there. We drove to the dealership and drove it. Filled out the credit application to purchase the trail blazer if they could beat the preapproved amount from our credit union. When the finance person came out he told us that they could not sell it for the 11,000.00 as promised as they were into the trail blazer for more then 11,000.00. We got up and left as they were using bate and switch on the pricing. I and my wife are very upset with the dealership. Product_Or_Service: 2008 Chevrolet Account_Number: 1GNDT13SXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) sell the trail blazer for the promised 11,000.00 and deliver it to me or never contact me again. all subject to a my mechanic inspecting it and passing Washington DEQ.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/14) */ Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Drive Ste 222 DuPont WA 98327 Case # XXXXXXXX ***** ****** Thank you for bringing *** ******'s complaint to our attention. There are a number of points in *** ******'s complaint that we are in agreement on. We believe he did talk to our salesman, *** ******** on November 30th about our vehicle #XXXXX. We believe *** ****** did make an offer of $10,500 on this vehicle. We believe he did make a trip to our lot on December 1, 2013. On these points, we are in agreement. There are points about these negotiations that merit further discussion. The initial discussions started on November 28th 2013 and involved another vehicle which was on ad for $11,888. We believe this was our Stock # XXXXX. *** ****** came to the lot on November 29th and looked at this advertised vehicle. He deemed it to not be up to his standards and began looking at other vehicles. He spotted the vehicle which is the subject of this complaint. He made an offer on #XXXXX which was deemed by us to be unacceptable and he left the lot. He called back on the 30th for the purpose of continuing discussions on Stock #XXXXX. During his telephone conversation with ***, numbers in the $11,000 range were discussed but no firm offer was made. *** explained that he needed to come to the lot and present his offer and that an offer of $11,000 or $11,200 might be sufficient to get the purchase completed. The key word there is "might". *** did let *** ****** know that he would have the opportunity to purchase in the $11,000 range somewhere, but didn't commit to a firm price of $11,000. In any event, the vehicle was not going to be purchased with a phone call alone. We no more committed to unconditionally sell for a stated fixed price than he agreed to unconditionally purchase for a stated fixed price. *** also explained to *** ****** that to obtain this heavily discounted price he would need to act on it that night. *** had his two immediate supervisors authority to sell the car in the $11,000 range but only if it happened the night of November 30th. *** ****** is in the auto industry and we believe he works at an Auto Dealership in the service department. He stated that he knew and understood the industry. On the 30th of November, both *** and his immediate supervisors were willing to work a very lean deal to squeeze one more sale on the November book of business. By the time *** ****** reappeared on the lot on December 1, 2013, that opportunity for a final November sale was no longer available. Despite this, we still remained ready to negotiate. In addition, when the terms were discussed on November 30th and *** had sold his two supervisors on the merits of *** ********* telephone offer, he had them interested and seeing some merit of further discussion. When *** ****** showed up the next day, these two supervisors weren't on duty. Those that were didn't see the merit of accepting such a huge discount on the vehicle. While we wouldn't hold the typical customer to knowledge of such industry practices, *** ****** works in a dealership and stated that he understood the industry. Despite all of the above, we believe we could have worked with *** ********* offer of $11,000 when he showed up at the dealership. For us, the problem wasn't so much the price, but the fact that upon inspecting the vehicle, *** ****** had a "laundry list" of items that he wanted fixed at our expense and by his place of employment. While *** ****** wants to allege that we didn't honor our word to sell the vehicle for $11,000, the same could be said for the approach he took with us. When he showed up on the lot and demanded repairs and the $11,000 price, he effectively reworked what he alleges was agreed to on the phone. At no point during the telephone conversation did *** represent that we would fix any and all items that *** ****** found on the vehicle he didn't like. Again, this is a great reason why we simply don't sell vehicles over the phone. In addition to some visual items *** ****** spotted on his inspection, the offer was further predicated on a thorough inspection done at the shop of his choice. With such a price discount, we would have never been able to agree to anything but an AS IS sale with no further repairs to be discussed. We would not be in a position to fix his list nor that of his mechanic. In addition, when you factor in that *** ****** works in the Auto Industry as a Service Writer or Technician of some sort, his inspection likely would have a degree of bias that would be difficult to deny. It would have been foolish to agree to participate in repairs from a shop with such an unfair bias. *** ****** has accused us of "bait and switch" advertising which is often described as "a selling method in which a customer is attracted by the advertisement of a low-priced product but then is encouraged to buy a more expensive one". This fact pattern doesn't fit the allegation. While we appreciate the fact that *** ****** contends we made a firm offer to sell for $11,000, we aren't able to concede the point we did anything to cause him to reach this conclusion. Thank you for allowing us to present our response to this complaint. Respectfully submitted, Gage Auto Sales, Inc.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On are about the July 4 2013 I bought a car from Gage auto sales in cash for 10954.00 Drove it home and the front tires was makes a noise so I took it to tire America and found out the the one front tire had a large slash in it so I had the tires replaced and the noise went away.I was told by the Store that is was very dangerous to drive the car like that.I emailed the car lot and Brennen told me he would call me later that day and to this day 7/25/2013 I still haven't heard from them.I fell they put me and my family as risk of a blow out on either tire at 55 miles per hour.It cost me 257.00 for two news tires and also the tires went speed ratio for that car it was to be a Z which was on the back and the front had S they should have never been placed on the car together.The sales car said on the tires are really good on this car.

Desired Settlement: I want the price of the tires 257.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/25) */ Dear BBB: Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We addressed this complaint promptly and reimbursed Ms. ******* for the tires. She has picked up the check and we believe she is happy. I believe if you contact her now, she'll report the matter was addressed to her satisfaction. Thanks again for the assistance. Best regards, *** **** Business Manager **** Auto Sales, Inc. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 7, 2013/07/25) */ This complaint has been taken care of Please disregard... Thank you ****** *******

4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues