This business is not BBB accredited.

G T Auto Sales

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 507-8027 Fax: (253) 507-8078 6647 South Tacoma Way, Tacoma, WA 98409 http://www.gtautosalestacoma.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used car and truck sales as well as automotive repair services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for G T Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 19

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has received complaints concerning product, sales practice, refund and customer service issues. Consumers allege after purchase, their vehicles display significant mechanical damage. Consumers also claim representatives of GT Auto Sales use high-pressure sales tactics or do not disclose key conditions of the purchase. Consumers allege promised refunds are not issued. Consumers further allege when contacting the company for assistance, their phone calls go unanswered.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on G T Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 2009 Business started: 11/01/2008 Business started locally: 11/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Johnson, President Mr. Theresa Johnson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Johnson, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Theresa Johnson, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Service Area
Alaska, Oregon and Washington.
Alternate Business Names
Gary Johnson Properties Inc
Products & Services

Ford; Chevrolet; import auto makers such as Acura, Lexus and Honda; and European car makers such as BMW and Mercedes-Benz.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6647 South Tacoma Way

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 507-8027

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7004 South Tacoma Way

    Tacoma, WA 98409

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8025 South Tacoma Way

    Lakewood, WA 98499

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2012 Ford Mustang from GT Auto Sales on 6/20/15. We also purchased an extended warranty through Warranty Solutions. Within a few days of owning the car, we realized the A/C was not working. After contacting the dealership, we got conflicting answers. The service manager told us that it was too bad, we drove it off the lot, our problem. When we pointed out that we bought an extended warranty he told us we should have read the fine print, that it was within 30 days and wouldn't be covered. We went to the finance manager, Paul (he had been our best point of contact) and he said they could get it taken care of through the warranty company. GT Auto sales diagnosed the problem as a hole in the A/C compressor. They then had to schedule an adjuster from the warranty company to come out and take a look at it. That appointment was supposed to happen today 7/16. We received a call this morning stating that the adjuster had to reschedule. Since we had already been getting the run around about this for the last 4 weeks, we called the warranty company ourselves to determine the truth. The warranty company had no record of any appointment to look at the A/C nor have they ever received a call from GT Auto Sales. They also stated since it is "pre-existing" they will not cover it. We have paid a lot of money for that vehicle and warranty. We have been lied to and have no hope of getting that A/C repaired without coming out of our pocket even further. On top of that we overpaid for the payoff on our vehicle we traded in by a little over $290. I have zero faith they will return that money to us.

Desired Settlement: I would like GT Auto Sales to make this right. I believe they knew that A/C was bad and sold it to us that way anyway. I would like them to repair the A/C to make it fully functional and refund our $290+.

Business Response:

This complaint has been resolved. Would you please contact the customer to clarify and advise us.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. They did finally make the repairs to the A/C to make it functional and refunded me the overpayment which we were due. 

Sincerely,

******* *******

7/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I bought a car with GT AUTOS. We traded our 2006 Dodge Stratus to get a new car.We wanted the 2012 Honda Civic Natural Gas. It was the perfect car for us or so we thought. **** told us the car runs on Natural Gas and Gasoline. We had the car for a few days and then I realized **** lied to us. The car only takes Natural Gas and we were upset about that. There was only one Natural Gas station by the house and in December it was shut down and the only gas station close by was 20 miles away in SeaTac my husband and I were fed up at that point. We tried to return the car after we found this out and it turns out they overpriced the HONDA CIVIC $10,000 more than it's worth and now we're upside down on our loan. I tried to trade it in on 4/13/2015 with another dealership and the loan companies will not take this car as a trade due to what type of car it is and the negative equity on it. We have to drive out of our way three times a week to SeaTac to fill up our car and we're tired. We want to have another vehicle that runs on gas we no longer want this HONDA CIVIC due to the many issues we are having.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome we would want is to be able to trade in this HONDA CIVIC CNG to get another car that runs on GASOLINE. We are having so much trouble with this car being that it only takes Natural Gas an the negative equity on it is ridiculous. If there is a way we want them to take car of the negative equity that was placed on this car. We don't appreciate being lied to at all about the car.

Business Response:

I am really confused about this complaint, as I am not sure how it was within our control to even know that the gas station they were intending to use was going to close down. I also do not know why they are choosing to drive to SeaTac and not use the station on 94th Street in Tacoma.

As far as the price the vehicle was sold for to them, it was below book value.  The credit union would have never have financed the vehicle should it have been overpriced by the amount they are claiming.  They paid less then the Kelley Blue Book at the time of purchase. 

One thing I will state is we were so patient with ***** ***** during this whole transaction. She purchased this vehicle and traded in a vehicle on August 4, 2014.  We did not receive the title to her trade in because of issues she was having getting it to us until March of this year.  I am not sure what they expect from us.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: we tried to return the car to them when they said it took BOTH Natural Gas and Gasoline. I MEAN HAVE A HEART SERIOUSLY .....THE GAS STATION IN TACOMA IS CLOSED DOWN...THERE were ONLY TwO NATURAL GAS  STATIONS now there is only one left which is well out of our way we lose gas by going to seatac that is far from us seriously. .You guys were patient with me but as far as the car goes you lied about the gas it took because as soon as we drove off the lot with the car we tries to see if it really took both pumps which it didn't .....That was the worst car buying experience ever...I should've just kept my old car because this is ridiculous. ..every dealership we went to to trade it into is saying the car was overpriced you didn't give it to us for the blue book value at all. I'M TIRED OF THE LIES BE HONEST WITH YOUR CUSTOMERS DON'T TRY TO RUIN THEIR LIVES....WHICH IS WHAT YOU GUYS DID TO US RUINED IT...WE TRUSTED GTAUTOS BUT NOT NO MORE...WE JUST WANT TO BE ABLE TO GIVE THE CAR BACK AND GET A GASOLINE GAS.....

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: I am completely confused as to why the BBB is even accepting a complaint like this.  In Mrs. ***** first complaint she even stated that they wanted a natural gas car and the car was perfect for them.  As far as the price of the vehicle, if you look up the values of that vehicle AT THE TIME SHE PURCHASED it, you will see that it was sold for almost $1000. under the blue book value. It seems to me that there is some misunderstanding on how car prices fluctuate and you have to keep in mind what they were when the vehicle is purchased.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: We did not want a natural gas car we didn't even know what that was. Wet from the south all we have is straight gasoline vehicles. We were told by YOUR salesmen that it ran on both Natural Gas and Gasoline....which was a lie...if that's how you guys make sales it's pathetic. ...I'm done trying to get this issue solved we'll just deal with it and make sure no one in the military ever goes their to buy a car....There are so many complaints against GT Autos anyway....Good day

Sincerely,

****** *****

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON JULY 9 . 2014 MY HUSBAND AND I PURCHASED A 2006 ACURA MDX .DURING THE SALE WE WHERE TOLD THAT THE CARFAX ON THE CAR CAME BACK WITH NO ACCIDENTS THERE WHERE TWO OWNERS THE CAR WAS CLEAN THIS WAS TOLD TO US BY THE OWNER/PRESIDENT OF GT AUTO SALES . SO WE PERCEEDED WITH BUYING THE CAR AT A VERY HIGH INTEREST RATE . ON APRIL 10 WE WENT INTO TITUS WHEEL FORD TO TRADE IN THE THE ACURA AND WHEN THEY PULLED UP THE CARFAX ON THE CAR IT CAME BACK THAT THERE WHERE THREE OWNERS AND THAT THE CAR WAS REARENDED AT 40,000 MILES IN ARIZONIA.WE BOUGHT THE CAR WHEN IT HAD 93,000 MILES ON IT .IF WE HAD KNOW THAT THE CAR HAD BBEN WRECKED WE WOULD HAVE NEVER BOUGHT THE CAR . DUE TO THE CAR BEING WRECKED THEY ONLY OFFERED 7,000 FOR THE TRADE IN IF IT WASNT WRECKED WE WOULD HAVE GOT 17000. WE PAID 19000 FOR THE CAR NOT KNOWING THAT IT HAD BEEN IN A ACCIDENT .THE OWNER LOOKED US IN THE EYE AND SAID THE CAR NEVER HAD BEEN IN A ACCIDENT .HE TOOK ADVANTAGE OFF US. AT THE TIME MY HUSBAND WAS ACTIVE DUTY . WHEN WE CONTACTED GT AUTO AND SPOKE TO THE OWNERS WIFE ****** / MANAGER SHE TOLD USTHAT CARFAX ARENT THE LAW AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT THEY CAN DO FOR US, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE NOW THAT THEY HAVE MY BMW THAT WE TRADED IN ON THIS WRECKED ACURA.I FEEL THAT THEY PREY ON THE MEN AND WOMEN THAT FIGHT FOR THERE FREEDOM . AND WANT ALL SERVICE MEMBERS TO BEWARE OF THERE CRIMINAL TATICS.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE THEM TRADE THE ACURA FOR A COMPAREABLE CAR THAT HAS NOT BEEN WRECKED ,OR RE DO THE PRICE OF THE CAR.

Business Response: Mr. ****** contacted us extremely hostile, accusing us of selling him a "fraudulent" car.  He "yelled" that when he went to go trade his vehicle in at ***** **** they pulled a Carfax and that it had indicated it was in an accident years prior and because of that the car is only worth 50% of the trade value.  I tried to explain to Mr. ******* that I was not familiar with his file, I also tried to explain that Carfax, although useful as a guide, does not always contain accurate information, HOWEVER, I asked him to let me pull his file so I can familiarize myself with his car purchase and to call him back.  

When I spoke to Mr. ******* again, I explained to him that I did not see anything in his file indicating any promises were made about the vehicle never being in an accident. I further explained to him that I did see where he filled out a document SPECIFICALLY asking if he was promised anything concerning the previous history of the vehicle, and Mr. ******* indicated nothing.  I offered Mr. ******* to let me call who he had spoken to at ***** **** so that I could get to the bottom of what I firmly believe to be a miscommunication. Mr. ******* refused to give me any contact information.  I offered Mr. ******* copies of what I was referring to if he has misplaced his copies, he refused.

As far as him being charged a very high interest rate, due to privacy laws I can not comment on his specific car purchase.   What I can say is when a bank extends credit on a car purchase, most of the time the interest rate they charge is directly related to a consumers credit history.

I will still stand by my original offer to Mr. ******* and if he would like to share the contact name of the person he was talking to at ***** **** I am more then happy to contact them to help settle what I firmly believe is a miscommunation between the two of them.

3/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2000 DOdge Durango(as is) the first week of Jan 2015. Upon checking out the vehicle prior to purchasing I asked about why the heat wasn't working properly. I was told it was an older car and sometimes they take a little longer to warm up. I also asked about the radio, I was told that the radio was in the shop and that they keep them locked up at night. IN the case of the heat, as it turns out the issue was not the the car was old it was that that the coolant was leaking inside the engine and about 1 week later the car stopped running. We replaced a serpentine belt, and battery cables at $176.00. It ran for one day and then after towing it to another shop, put in a starter, $86.81. After that we were told the engine block had frozen. I returned to the dealership to see if there was anything that could be done, and was told that it may have been from my son hitting a puddle or large hole and water got into the engine. I then called in a claim to **** and after the adjuster came out to look at the vehicle ws promptly told that the issues with the engine were already an issue when we bought the car and that it should not have even been for sale. I inquired about replacing the engine and was told that it was not worth the time and effort to do so. After notifying GT Auto about the findings they offered to refund our money if we returned the vehicle to them. We paid another $350 to tow it back from where it was and then was notified by GT auto that they would not return our money but that they would take it on a trade only. We have no desire to do business with the company again.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a refund of the money paid to GT Auto. They knowingly sold us a vehicle with major engine deficiencies and led us to believe that they would refund us our money. The cost of the vehicle is $2000.

Business Response:

GT Auto Sales would never sell a vehicle where we had knowledge something was wrong with a vehicle. At this point we are confused as to what is now being claimed as this was not was represented to us when they started having difficulties with this vehicle.  This customer told us that they took the vehicle to a shop and was told that is was a starter problem and they replaced the starter.  They then stated to us they took the vehicle to a second shop a while later and was told something completely different. Now, in this complaint it is being represented that **** had an adjuster come out and stated to them "the issues with the engine were already an issue when we bought the car and that it should not have been sold". They themselves took this vehicle to a mechanic independent of us and was told it was a starter issue. Please have the customer provide the adjuster they had come out from **** so that we may get to the bottom of the actual issues and respond appropriately.
Thank you. 

12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I buy a car on this dealer, we get on a deal, close the paper with the dealer for the bank with monthly payment and everything and they say everything it was set, i drive the car for a week star to fix stuff on the car with a total amount of $326.15 and after a week they say they dont have approved by the bank and need the car back i let it know the i pay for repairs on the car and they say that was not a problem they going to return me all the money back that was not to be and issue because they rise the price later on the next costumer for anything done on the vehicle, they fill me a paper of general release and they add a note on that paper that say " customer to receive refund for parts + labor total $326.15 they let me know to left the original receipts to show to the next person that can buy the car what it was done and obviously rise the price to get that money back, im ask for copy of the receipts and they give me copy of the receipts and copy for the general release, and after call an show up on the dealer a consider amount of times the sales manager let me know that he dont go to return me the amount of $326.15 and it was very rude and not very professional, its bean 22 days from the day they give me the general release that have the signature and the note for the return and they dont have send me or call me to give me my money back, went they let me know they going to pay me back on the next day of the week because the day of return it was saturday and the person in charge to pay back it was not there.

Desired Settlement: im asking for the return of the total amount of my $326.15 and any other fair amount they can give me for lost of time and gas taking the car to the shops for the repairs and drive at less 4 times to the dealer to get the money back and a excuse from the manager who treat me very unprofessional ********* .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/08/22) */ *** **** was a prior employee of ours, so he is very familiar with the way a car purchase works. *** **** knew that finding him financing was going to be very difficult but he wanted us to try, which we did. While *** **** had the vehicle for that time and knowing he had not been financed yet, he spent money on Tires & a wheel balance, which we reimbursed him $107.36. However *** **** chose to put additional money in the vehicle with out permission from us and knowing that it looked like we were not going to be able to find him financing. We do not owe *** **** any funds. As we suspected, we were unable to find financing for *** **** and the vehicle was returned. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/08/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Like this business say i work for them around a year ago and thats why i know they dont give cars to nobody not even for test drive before they make sure to check the credit of the person and the employment to make sure they have and approve on hands, after i test drive they give me all documents to sing and we close the deal, i left that day with my car and start to work on fixing some problems that the car has, nobody let me know dont do nothing to your car because its not your car, after 7 day with my car they call me and say the i need to return the car that same they because they dont have any approve of the bank and they need more down payment i let it know that it was not a problem because i got the trade in (motorcycle)to put on the car and the finance person say to me that down payment payment it was going to make the deal, but they let me know to drive the car back to the dealer until the owner do that other deal with the bank and it was going to be in a few days (5 days) until he coming back from his vacations and i let them know i put money on that car and they going to keep the car for i dont know how long and what it was going to happen with the money the i put on that car if they decide to not give me the car back and she said thats not a problem bring with you all the receipts of what you payed and we are going to give you a check of the total of the receipts because they going to add that amount to the total of the car because its some improvements done on the car, when i give them the car they say we can give you any check today because the owner it was on his vacations and he it was the only one can make the check and i let them know that i want a paper with the information and i got in my hands the document they gave to me that says "customer to receive refund for parts + labor total $326.15" and this document have a manager signature,at this point i didn't receive not even a penny. what else i need to do to receive the money that they let me know i was going to get back? . This people take advance of the customer and of the employer anytime they have the opportunity and i know that because i work for them and i see many people leaving angry because they do bad thinks not only to me , please dont let this company steal my money they only make excuses and lies saying that they reimbursed me $107.36 , i dont have a penny back at this point and they will fight to not return me anything because one of the managers that talked to me by phone treated me like he was my boss but i said to them that i dont work for them anymore that i was a customer. thats all the fight, they just want to win and leave me at nothing. ( i have on hand the document that is singed by one manager ) proof that they accepted to return my money back but they didn't. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 31, 2014/10/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I send the general release that shows the 326.15 by fax to the XXX-XXX-XXXX on 10/18/2014 i dont know what other general release they have that dont show the correct amount, now wait for the check of the $326.15 to accept the resolution next time bbb send me my new response from GT auto sales to close this back end foward,i hope they want to close this situation one and for all, pay check to ***** **** can be mailed t********************** Puyallup wa 98375 or give me a call XXX-XXX-XXXX to pick up in person. ASAP. Final Business Response /* (4000, 33, 2014/11/18) */ ***** is just being difficult now. He sent the General Release,once we received it we immediately refunded the $326.15 even though it was not signed by a manager nor ever approved by a manager.

9/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2012, I purchased a 2004 GMC Yukon Denali from GT Auto Sales. I requested a ****** (which they had already available), the report was clear. Me & my wife asked about the vehicle's history and we were told that the vehicle had been in no accidents, floods, or had any previous damage what so ever. I recently went to a dealership (here in New York, where I am currently stationed) to upgrade and attempted to trade in the vehicle. The tech who appraised it immediately noticed something "off" about the vehicle and continued to inspect it and decided to run a ************** report. The report showed that the vehicle had frame damage reported by the auction in 2011 right before GT Auto Sales purchased it. They fraudulently sold us this vehicle under false pretense. When we contacted them, the office manager said that auctions typically report frame damage if a vehicle has been modified and insisted that the vehicle had no prior frame damage. She also stated that ************** is not very popular & no one hardly uses it. The report states frame/unibody damage, not modification. The tech who looked over the vehicle saw that there had been previous damage and someone attempted to repair it. And since the vehicle has a history of frame/unibody damage, the trade in value depreciated by over $5000. So basically, we are paying on a vehicle that has no true value. This company is a fraud and should be held accountable.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for full amount of bank loan for vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/09/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@gtautonw.com *** ******* purchased his vehicle on July 31, 2012. On August 4, 2014 *** ******* called and indicated that they tried to trade their vehicle in to a dealership in New York and that when the dealership pulled an **** ***** report that it stated it had frame damage. I explained to *** ******* that the GM was not in until the 6th and that I would have him call him, however I also offered the difference of where **** ***** and ****** gets their information and that I, or the GM would be more then happy to contact the dealership to explain the difference. *** ******* stated that he understood and that "to be honest I have had the car for over two years and have had no problems with it". This was the last we heard from *** ******* until he filed all these complaints. **** ***** is a for profit company just like ******* their information, although useful as a guide certainly does not consistently provide accurate information. This is a prime example, ****** states one thing and apparently **** ***** is saying something different.

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in a car accident in June that my car was deemed totaled. My insurance company paid off my car loan. I was due a refund from the dealership for the warranty that I had purchased. They told me that they needed a document from the bank that they were satisfied with my auto loan. Before they receive the letter from the bank they issued a check to my bank that was holding my car loan. When the bank was already paid off and had no interest. So the bank said they sent the check to me in the mail. A month later I still did not receive my check and asked GT Auto to void the previously issued check that should of been sent to me in the first place and resend it out. GT said they would issue me a check as soon as someone comes into there office to sign. Almost 3 weeks later I find it hard to believe that no one has come into there office to sign a check. So for over 3 months they have been giving me the run around about when they will issue me my refund.

Desired Settlement: I want my check sent to me via overnight delivery since I have now been waiting for this since June. By law they need to issue the refund in a timely manner and they have failed to do so. They knew they were wrong for sending the check to the bank in the first place and I knew if I was buying a car from them and needed a refund check I'm sure they could find someone to come in and magically sign the check.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/22) */ When *** ***** requested that we cancel the Service Contract, she also requested that we send any prorated refund directly to her. It was explained to *** ***** that the refund must go to the lienholder. She indicated that the vehicle was going to be paid off. We contacted the bank numerous times to fax us proof of payoff so that we can send the refund directly to the customer. The bank never did so we sent the check to the lienholder like we are required to do. Unfortunately the bank simply forwarded the check to *** ***** and sent it to the wrong address they had on file for her. This was completely out of our control. Once *** ***** herself provided proof the loan was paid off, we immediately sent her a replacement refund check and cancelled the check that is apparently still "in the mail". This was the lienholders responsibility not our dealerships. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I bought my car September 2012. When I purchased my car, I was told that my payments would be sent to the credit bureau so that the payments would reflect positive on my credit report as I needed to increase my credit score. I was assured by 2 separate individuals that this would be done, that this would reflect positively on my credit. When the said car had to get major repairs done on it, I decided to try and go for another vehicle I was informed that none of the above had been done. Nothing was reported as promised, none of the promises to fix outstanding issues with the car at time of purchase had been done. I was blatantly lied to, I have tried to get GT Auto to stand by their employees words but it does not seem like they will after repeated phone conversations thus the need to contact the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I wish for GT Auto Sale to stand by their word. I would NOT have purchased this vehicle if I would have known that they did NOT report to the credit bureau. I have effectively been robbed of 7,072.46 as it didn't benefit me at all for what I needed it to do. They also did not stand by any of their promises. They need to make this right and stand by their word.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Off. Mgr Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@gtautosalesnw.com We at GT Auto Sales have never reported to any of the three major credit reporting bureaus. We still do not have any intention to do so in the near future. But with our relationship with some of the lenders, we are more than happy to write a letter to accredit how their accounts have been paid. And we would be more than willing to do so for *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response as I was lied to. Like I stated above, I was told by not only the salesman but the finance manager on MULTIPLE occasions. This is nothing more than C.Y.A and it isn't acceptable in the least. A company should stick by the words their employees give. I understand that the people that made these promises no longer are employed at GT Auto Sales but this does not change the fact that these promises had been made while they HAD been employed. I have already got a letter from them for payments which is unacceptable to credit companies. I bought this car for the soul purpose of bettering my credit. The ONLY reason I purchased a car from GT Auto Sales was on the now known false pretense that the payments would be reported to the credit bureaus which was not the case.

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 16, 2014 ***** ****** *** **** **** ****** TACOMA, WA 98404 XXX-XXX-XXXX *************@comcast.net An act or practice is deceptive where• A representation, omission, or practice misleads or is likely to mislead the consumer; RE: TIMELINE FOR PURCHASING DEFECTIVE BMW FROM G T AUTO April 1, 2014 TIMELINE OF PURCHASE OF BMW XXX XXXX My name is ***** ****** this is my timeline for happened to me and how I was treated at GT Auto. On April 1, 2014, I drove into GT Auto to look at some pre owned car in the lot by a salesman by the name of *** I ask *** “were was *****, “because I had purchased my Mercury from ***** at GT AUTO. ** said,” ***** did not work there anymore. ** said I can help you and we went into his office and he took my information ask me how much of a down payment did I have. I told him that I had $1000 and my trade and a Mercury Mountaineer 2002. ** said let me see what my Boss’ say. He the salesman came back in ten or fifteen minutes and said, “my boss wants to know if you have that much income how come you can’t put more money towards the down payment?” So I replied that I have other bills to pay. I stated to ** $1500 is high as I will go. ** SAID LET SEE WHAT they say.( ten min later) ** came out a said, “ they said no deal we have nothing in your price range but we get cars in all the time, and I will stay in contact with you.” I said ok and left. About a week later I got a call from a salesman at GT Auto he said,” hi heard you were looking at the 2004 BMW?” I said yes, they said that it was out of my price range, so what changed. Would you like to come down a see if we can work something out? I said, OK . I drove down to GT auto and was met by a salesman name ******** I said were is *** He replied, ***** took a *********** ******* took me into the office took my information and ask if I wanted to drive it the BMW that I was looking at early; I said yes. ******* got the keys and we went outside to start the BMW 745 LI; and it would not start. ******* went inside to the maintenance shop to get one of the mechanics to give the BMW a jump, because ******* said “it had been setting there and they used power even when they’re not running.” The mechanic gave the BMW the jump and it started and we drove onto South Tacoma Way turning right going South. We then made a left on 84 street to turn left on Tacoma Mall Boulevard and went down to 74th and Tacoma Mall Boulevard. Then we turned left going back towards South Tacoma Way, turning left on to so. Tacoma, that’s when the check tire pressure light came on, I immediately ask ******* would GT fix the warning light. ******** stated, “we would fix it at cost.” We returned back to GT Auto and I Finished signing the paper work and the Contract on April 1, 2014. I transferred my belonging from my Mercury Mountaineer 2002 and drove the BMW out of the off the G T Auto Lot. As I was driving home I crossed over South Tacoma Way; The Check Engine light came on. I immediately turn around and went back to GT Auto and spoke to ****** business card attached.) the Head Mechanic at G T Auto why did the engine light come on and can you fix it? The Mechanic said , “that they had tested the BMW and they knew that it wasn’t getting any power to the sensors.” The Mechanic said, bring the BMW back in tomorrow and I they would check it out. Then I said will it be ok to drive? He said yes. I left the car lot again and I was driving home to show my wife the car the check oil light came on. I stopped at **** ***** and brought some oil syn. I poured the oil inside the engine. The light went off and I drove to pick up granddaughter and went home. The next day I took the car back to the dealer- ship and the mechanics looked at the car for one and a half hours. Then brought the keys to me and said, “your good to go today.” In addition, we have to order the parts it will take a few days ***** the head mechanic. I stated, “will you give me call when they come?” He replied Yes! I left GT Auto on April 7th 2014, I purchased the 04 BMW on April 1, 2014 according to the legal contract. The BMW had been in the shop 3 times at the GT Auto with nothing being fixed or resolved. On April 10, 2014, I called G T Auto and spoke to the manager ****** and was told to bring the BMW back into the shop. So I drove the BMW into the shop at GT Auto after sitting there one hour I walk up to the *** STORE. Because of the length of time I decided to get a taxi and go home. About three hours later I received a call from GT Auto the mechanic telling me to come in and pick my BMW. I said,” I would be right down.” When I got there my BMW was parked in the yard. Instead of going to mechanic shop, I went into the office to see ****** the bookkeeper. I ask her what was this GAP protection plan for on my contract for $895 and did I need it? ****** said, “some banks will not carry the contract if you don’t carry the GAP plan.” I stated, then I cannot get the loan if I don’t have the Gap Protection Plan? She said let me see and she left the office and went into another room – ****** came back in just a short time and stated, “Without the Gap Protection Plan- ******** ****** will not cover the Loan. I said fine. I left the office got into my BMW and drove off. About a half a mile away from home the check engine light comes on again saying, SERVICE ENGINE SOON! This was a RED Flag. I got home and parked the BMW. I called G T AUTO the next day and spoke to ****** (manager) again and told he about the issues concerning the mechanical ability of the vehicle. The manager ****** said to bring it in it was Friday so I ask him if I could bring it in Monday ****** said, *** ****** the head mechanic ***** would not be in it was his day off bring it in Tuesday.” .I ask would 2;00 PM be OK and do I need to make a appointment? ****** said, NO these type of things we take to the shop mechanic we will run it. I, said ok see you Tuesday. At home I start looking over my GAP protection plan and it stated on the plan that you do not need to have this GAP plan in order to get a loan – financing has nothing to do with whether you have the plan or not . I went into GT Auto on April 8, 2014 and ask to see ******, about the Cancelling the Gap Plan and show her on the contract were it stated that I did not need this GAP protection and I want to cancel today 4-8-14. ****** brought out the cancellation papers and I signed and cancelled the Gap Plan. Next I ask ****** did you have any other Protection Plan. ****** said, we have a plan called Warranty Solutions and she showed me the 3 Star /3Star Plus Warranty Solutions I brought what I thought was the 3 Star Plus plan for $350 00 at $190 per month. ****** can I use this right now; I asked does this plan begin immediately? She said as soon as you sign the papers it’s good. I left GT auto feel pretty good knowing that whatever happen to the BMW that I would be covered, brought my car back to GT Auto FRIDAY April 11, 2014 at 1:30 to the mechanic. I sat there for about 45 minutes waiting for the results. The mechanic came and gave me my keys and said they would have to order the parts, it could take some time , but it should take care of the problem. I said, ok and left went home got something to eat and left to pick up my Granddaughter at **** ******** ****** on 19th street. I went back to the GT auto on Tuesday April 14th 2014 at 1:30 . I sat there for half hour. ****** the saleman that sold me the BMW stuck his head in and stated,” you need to take your BMW to the BMW DEALERSHIP we do not have the software to work on this BMW. April 14th 2014 I said ok and left to pick my granddaughter up at her school ,I turned left unto 19th and Sprague when the check water light came on. I turn into the ***** ****** gas station to put water in the radiator the water house was not connected outside, so I went into the store and ask the worker could I get some water for my car he gave me a 2 liter empty jug said I could feel it up by the coffee machine in the at the 711, filled up the jug poured it into the radiator and seen the water coming out from under the car. I got on the phone call Warranty Solution for road side assistance they send out a tow truck and towed the BMW to the BMW Dealership Tacoma/fife at XXXX XXth street east **** Washington; this was on April14, 2014. The BMW car sat from April 14 2014 to May 1, 2014 at the BMW Dealership as they did their diagnostic testing. On May 1, 2014 I had to pay $605.04 the Water Pump just to get the car back to the GT Auto Mechanics to fix the 1. Air injection pump 2. Vales V – Pump Secondary a pump. 3. Radiator Hose. It turns out that the 3 Star Plus was not what G T Auto sold me it was just the 3 Star and not the 3 Star Plus. (Deception) Because the contract was so new they Warranty Solutions had to send out an Inspector to check out the BMW defects. Finally, they would only pay for the water pump to be fixed ($605.04). I called ****** Manager at GT Auto and he advised me that they could fix the car cheaper than the BMW Dealership - because of their overhead .On May 5, 2014 when I drove the car back to GT Auto for them to fix the mechanical issues and resolved the problems. I drop the keys off with ***** the head mechanic at G T Auto. ****** said, we would get everything fix under the Warranty Solutions that is the only policies they would sale. G T Auto kept my car for a day and half. On May 8, 2014 GT Auto mechanic called and said that the BMW was fixed and ready to pick up all I had to do was pay the deductible of $100.00 an the BMW mechanical issues were resolved. I went to G T Auto on May 8, 201, to pay the deductible and pick up my BMW. ****** the manager said, approached me and stated, that they were going to keep the BMW because I did not pay them the rest of the down payment of $1400; plus he was not going to give me my deposit of $200.00 for my deducible, ****** said that they were doing to keep all funds that were owe me in including the $350.00 down payment to Warranty solution plus the $800.00 down payment on promissory note. (we never received a copy) The trade in of my Mercury Mountaineer 2002- $3,500 (see contract.) In addition I had to pay BMW Dealership the $605.04 for replacing the Water Pump and Puly was what it cost me to get the car back to GT Auto. Finally, I spoke to **** and A BMW Dealership Mechanic the service technician stated that the vehicle would NOT pass the emission test. The BMW had major issues and he would vouch for the diagnostic test we paid $135.00 to the BMW Dealership in Fife. Receipts attached The Manager ****** stated, “That my car was being Repossess because we had not paid the down payment. I paid $1000.00 on April 1, 2014 down on the promissory note. The car broke down – and until the car was working and all the issues resolved we had paid in enough. On May 16, 2014 went to G T Auto to communicate and resolved the issues. My wife and I requested a copy of the promissory note that I never received; and a copy of ($3,500downpayment) Mercury Mountaineer 2002- original contract in writing. The manager ****** and Owner **** refused to come out and speak with us. Finally ****** said to me “we are suing you and you have an attorney get your attorney to request copies from the business office. The Owner, Manager and Bookkeeper were unprofessional and unethical. The bottom line, G T Auto actions were deliberate and egregious. ****** stated, we decided to buy back the loan from ******** ******* “we call it a roll back they do it all time.” I called ******** ****** several times during this hardship and explained to them that the car was defective. ******** ****** said that G T Auto rewound the loan and paid off the balance. However, ******** ********* Supervisor, said that the contract was between ******** ****** and ***** ******. G T Auto was out of the contract. G T Auto deceptively marketed and sold a defective vehicle and service contract. A vehicle service contract provides protection against unexpected or costly vehicle repairs. See Attached CONCLUSION: As a consumer I received a bad deal and unfair contract has caused undue Hardship on me and my family. As of this day I have lost two cars, and A Trade In Mercury Mountaineer 2002 and Paid out $7056.00 -Pain and suffering from undue hardship and mental stress. I had to call 911 for an Ambulance to go to the Hospital because I had no transportation. Total Losses - $3500.00; $800.00 cash down, $605. 04 repairs $3 50 .00 vehicle service contract $895.00 GAP protection plan. Pay out $556 for car rental $300.00 deductable for repairs to GTauto and BMW/fife, $50.00 cab fares, and the BMW still is not in working condition in fact the BMW dealer ******* ***** ** SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THAT THE car will not pass the emission test because of the check engine warning light is on automatic failure at the testing site .please see INVOICE ATTACH XXXXXX Thanks for your time and consideration. Sincerely ***** ****** PEOPLE AND BUSINESSES SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS: Gap Protection Plan• “Beware of contracts that come with a product you must put into your vehicle. You may be buying a vehicle protection product warranty that does not come with any refund rights and may have extremely limited repair rights.” G T AUTO Deceptive Acts or Practices

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund it had been setting there and they used power even when theyre not running. The mechanic gave the BMW the jump and it started and we drove onto South Tacoma Way turning right going South. We then made a left on 84 street to turn left on Tacoma Mall Boulevard and went down to 74th and Tacoma Mall Boulevard. Then we turned left going back towards South Tacoma Way, turning left on to so. Tacoma, thats when the check tire pressure light came on, I immediately ask ******* would GT fix the wiring light. ******** stated, we would fix it at cost. We returned back to GT Auto and I Finished signing the paper work and the Contract on April 1, 2014. I transferred my belonging from my Mercury Mountaineer 2002 and drove the BMW out of the off the G T Auto Lot. As I was driving home I crossed over South Tacoma Way; The Check Engine light came on. I immediately turn around and went back to GT Auto and spoke to (***** business card attached.) the Head Mechanic at G T Auto why did the engine l

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Off. Mgr Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@gtautonw.com ***** ****** purchased a vehicle from us, and at the time of purchase Mr. ****** needed a certain amount of money down to purchase the vehicle he wanted. At the time of purchase, he did not have the down payment required. He then agreed to a payment plan with the agreed dates due that he needed. Mr. ****** then did not pay as agreed on his first payment due, and told us he had no intention on paying it. With that being said, and the first payment not being made, gave us the right to repossess the vehicle, with our letters being sent. We still have the vehicle and have not resold it as of yet. We also asked for receipts that he said he paid someone else to fix the vehicle, which have not been produced.

4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to GT Automotive on Saturday, March 22nd. I told the salesman that I had $3000-$4000 to spend. He started showing me cars that were out of my price range, so I reminded him what my price limit was. He told me that he could work out payments that I could afford. I told him that I didn't want to borrow any money, so I was limited to what I had in my savings. I wish that I had just left then. They only had two cars in my price range, a Kia for $3700 and a Mazda for $3400. Feeling very much pressured, I ended up agreeing to buy the Kia. I know I should have had it checked out beforehand, but I didn't. When I drove it, I asked him about the radio (there was just a hole in the dash where the radio was supposed to be) and he said that they would put a radio in it. With the taxes and all their other fees, I ended up paying them $4300. After signing the papers, I got in the car and found a radio on the front seat, wires dangling. It didn't even fit the car. I also immediately noticed that the gas tank was dead empty. Two miles down the road, the "check engine" light came on. The next morning, on my way to work, the car died in the middle of the road. I got it running again, just to have it die again five minutes later. When I took the car back to the dealer, they offered to take it back and give me $2600 in trade on a more expensive car. I told them that I had no faith in any car that they would sell me and that I just wanted my money back. I know that $4300 isn't a lot of money to some people, but it is all that I had in my savings and checking combined. I had no money left for costly repairs and I cannot afford to make payments on a more expensive car. They absolutely refused to give me a refund, so I asked them to trade the Kia for the $3400 Mazda that they had and I would just have to take the loss on the $300 difference. The salesman told me that the price on the Mazda was now $6999. I honestly don't know how these guys live with themselves. After making a scene in front of some other customers, they finally agreed to let me have the Madza in an even trade. Realizing that I was getting totally ripped off, I just wanted to be done with them and get out of there. Unfortunately, in my emotional state, I failed to notice (until the next day) that the paperwork that they had me sign was for a car that was $9000 and included a page saying that I owed them the $6000 difference. I was livid. I had to go back to them a third time, which was definitely three times too many. They claimed that it was a clerical error, but those guys are so sleazy that I don't believe anything they say. I got them to fix the paperwork, got out, and I hope I never have to set foot anywhere near that place again.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I'd like to get my $4300 back, but I have a feeling that that's never going to happen. In fact, the manager smugly told me that they have never given anyone a refund. In lieu of that, I would hope that there's some way to censure them. They shouldn't be allowed to just keep ripping people off like that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/18) */ **** had simple buyer's remorse. After making quite the scene inside our office we gave her two options, trade it in for a vehicle that cost an additional $6,000 or another straight across that was comparably priced. She chose the second option. After she realized we contracted her the first option by mistake she proceeded to make another scene demanding that she not owe 6,000 on the more expensive vehicle, and not wanting to resign for the second option. She called the police, she lied to them saying she paid everything in cash and "lost" the receipt, our contract proved otherwise. She then made another scene where the police escorted her off the premises. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/04/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am accepting this response only because I am so disgusted with these people that I just want them to go away.

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: one day after purchasing the car the drivers window began to stop working properly. I went to the dealership where i purchased the car and the window worked i was told that i just needed to be more forceful with the switch. Two days later it wasn't working again so i made an appointment to have it looked at but it started working so i didn't keep the appointment. The windows continued to work for three day until now they do not work at all. I went back to the dealer he said he would call me with an estimate but I have heard nothing.

Desired Settlement: This car was suppose to come with a radio but they conveniently can not find it. The windows do not work after only a week and a half and the check engine light had now come on. Every time something has gone wrong with the car I have been told "it's an old car so sensors and switches go out, but we will check in to this for you." promising to call and then not so the settlement I would like is for them to reimburse me for the part and installation of the power window switch.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/08/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ** OOM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@gtautosalestacoma.com GT Auto Sales had sold the vehicle to ***** ****** "AS-IS" without any promise work to completed as part of the purchase. As a goodwill for our client, we had replaced a switch, at no cost to her, for the window. If there is any further issues with the vehicle, ***** ****** is welcome to schedule an appointment with our service department to diagnose the issue and provide an estimate of repairs at a discounted rate.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car in September 2012, a 2001 Volkswagen Passat Wagon. Two days later the car broke down because the technician who installed the new timing belt at the dealership installed it incorrectly and the damage required the whole engine to be torn apart to be repaired. It took longer than I was told to be fixed and I was without a car for almost 2 weeks and had been told twice that it would be done and went to get it during that two weeks and it was still torn apart when I arrived. Since then the car has been leaking oil in multiple places and when I attempted to call the dealership for assistance my phone calls were ignored and not returned. When I finally did get it in to be repaired they were decent enough but did not repair the problem only did a quick fix and said they fixed it. Took it back again in February to be fixed again because it was leaking from the same areas and was told they had to order parts and then took it in 1 week later to be repaired. It is now July and my car is still not holding oil at all. Not to mention damage caused by a wreck with a previous owner was not repaired which resulted in my front bumper barely hanging on because the dealership just screwed it up, the passenger side door bolt came lose and had to be reattached, and the side-view mirror on the passenger side just flew off while I was driving. I was also told I would be receiving 30 days of free insurance of some sort and come to find out they charged me over $700 for it.

Desired Settlement: I'm not trying to spend $334 per month on a car that is falling apart. I want all of the problems fixed or assistance trading it for something else. The car is not even worth the money I have borrowed to purchase it especially not in the condition it was in that the dealer covered up.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/12) */ We have reviewed *** ********* complaint, files and also interviewed the technician and salesman. *** ******* purchased her used automobile 10 months ago. At the time of purchase, her car had no issues and passed all safety inspections. *** ******* had a complaint after her purchase and she brought her car into servicing and we accommodated her requests and serviced the car at no charge. When she picked up the automobile to take it home, it was running fine and she was satisfied. Four months later, *** ******* brought her car into the shop again. We once again performed service on her car free of charge even though that is not normally our policy on used vehicles that length of time after purchase. Again, *** ******* was happy with the service. It is now 5 months after her last service and 10 months after she purchased her used car. We feel that we have went above and beyond to accommodate *** ******* and her requests. Unfortunately, she has driven the automobile for 10 months and we cannot continue to be responsible for servicing of her vehicle for free. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason the car had to be serviced the first time was because your technician who replaced the timing belt screwed so you were responsible for repairing the damage it caused and when the engine was put back together seals were not replaced properly and that is what caused the oil leaks. I was happy thinking the car was finally repaired only to come to find out it wasn't done correctly when it started leaking again from the same places and now again after being repaired a third time. The owner's wife, sales person, and finance guy were all extremely rude to me throughout this entire process telling me I should be happy they were fixing the car that they broke and wouldn't even run 2 days after I bought it. However, the original loan has been paid off as of Friday July 12th and I would like a refund of the GAP insurance remaining that I had paid for. I would still like to know why the car was not repaired properly after being wrecked and was basically just jimmy rigged back together.

8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son purchased and financed a vehicle from GT auto in Dec. 2012. He was required to purchase GAP insurance. I refinanced the car in January 2013 and requested a refund of the prorated or remaining GAP insurance amount. I was promised by the office staff and office manager that they would submit the paperwork to the insurance company and issue me a refund. To date, I have not been contacted nor provided the refund. I have made numerous efforts to speak to the office manager to resolve the issue. No calls returned.

Desired Settlement: $500 for the value of the unused amount of the GAP insurance.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/08/02) */ We have directly resolved the situation with the customer. Sincerely, ***** ** Office Manager GT Auto Sales Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/08/02) */ GT Auto has satisfactorily resolved the issue. Regards, ******* ******** ***********@yahoo.comFri 8/2/XXXX X:XX PM

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Jeep at this business, and multiple issues arose. First thing is that the GASCAP light came on when I left the business, called and told them, they didn't fix it. I asked for the lugnut lock key for the rims, it was never given. I was pulled over twice in the next two days for no mudflaps (it's a state law to have them on a vehicle with a lift), I called and told them, they didn't put them on. That's the first thing that made the vehicle not DOT approved for road usage. I was told and shown that all maintenance was up to date on the vehicle, but when I brought it in for an oil change, I was told that it had not been regularly maintenance. I bought the vehicle being told it was a ***** Atkiness lift kit, but shortly after, started having steering issues. Brought it into *** Schwab who told me it was unsafe to drive for multiple reasons - brake lines were zip tied to the frame of the Jeep, parts were hammered to fit, wasn't a ***** Atkiness lift kit (the lift kit is welded to the frame of the Jeep and lift kits are suppose to be bolted), and the rims aren't DOT approved for roadway use (they are for off road use only). They told us we absolutely couldn't drive it without repairs being done for fear of injury to both ourselves and others on the road. I have two different letters from mechanics, one from *** Schwab's mechanic and one from another mechanic. I have text messages and email and a fax from GT Auto were I requested things to be resolved, from the GASCAP light to the maintenance to the unsafe condition of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking re-embursement for the repairs that were made to make the vehicle safe to drive ($2900 and some change, I have the paid invoice), the mudflaps to be put on the vehicle, half of the cost for replacement rims that are DOT approved, and the return of our down payment for the vehicle to help cover the cost of the other repairs that are needed to the vehicle that I can't afford to fix because of false advertisement. Or for the sale of the vehicle to be reversed so that I can get a vehicle that is safe for myself and my family to ride in.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, ****/06/24) */ GT Auto Sales has repeatedly tried to remedy ****** ******** issues with his vehicle he had purchase from GT Auto Sales. On our "We Owe Form", the only promise we had made was to purchase control for winches and buffing out scratches on the vehicle. We did not have promise any other free work. When the ********'s had brought to our attention three issues, first was a "Gas Cap Light" issue, we worked on it immediately. We had purchased a fuel cap and installed it per the issue code we had received. Our technician per correct diagnostics, then clear the error codes and drove 50 miles until the vehicle computer had ran through its checks. The "Gas Cap Light" did not turn on and our technician had assumed that the issue was remedied. Before Mrs. ******** left our dealership, our technician had let her know to contact us if the light came back on or if there was any other issue. The second issue was the "Mud Flaps". During the same time, we had provided "Mud Flaps" but had let ****** ******** know that since the wheels were aftermarket, we would have to mount brackets on the bumper to attach the "Mud Flaps" correctly. Mrs. ******** had told our service technician that she had a friend whom owns a car service shop in Spanaway that was able to do that. The third and last issue was the key lock for the wheel lock. Since this is a pre-owned vehicle, we may have key locks only if the original source that we had purchase the vehicle from had provided the locks to us. We would then provide the key lock to our customers. Regarding the issue with "BeadLock" rims, we have discuss with Washington State Patrol regarding if "BeadLock" rims are illegal or not. The representative of Washington State Patrol lead us to RCW 46.37.XXX - (X) Tire rims and wheel discs shall have no visible cracks, elongated bolt holes, or indications of repair by welding. In addition, the lateral and radial runout of each rim bead area shall not exceed one-eighth of an inch of total indicated runout. We had contacted the manufacture, TR Beadlocks and spoke to their representative *****. He said none of their rims exceeded the above statement. We feel that we had attempt to resolve any issues in good faith, that were brought to our attention even if they were issues that were not promised to the ********'s during the purchase of the vehicle.

5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service