This business is not BBB accredited.

Berg Car Company Inc

Phone: (503) 641-1251 10680 SW Canyon Rd, Beaverton, OR 97005 http://www.bergcarcompany.com ! There is an alert on Berg Car Company Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Berg Car Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1986 Business started: 06/01/1981 Business started locally: 06/01/1981 Business incorporated 12/13/1993 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Neal Berg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Neal Berg, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Berg Affordable Cars Berg Car & Truck

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10680 SW Canyon Rd

    Beaverton, OR 97005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2002 Subaru outback from berg car company. I put down $1795 cash and took out a $4000 loan. Less than a week having the car I found out from my mechanic that the internal engine bearing is going out. To fix this it would cost me roughly $2000. I already put $300 into the car to fix the front right axel, get a new fuel filter and air filter, coolant flush and transmission service. When my mechanic found the engine problem he called me and informed me of the problem and the cost to fix it. I then tried calling berg car company several times to discuss the matter. I do not have a warranty on this car but in good faith I believe any dealership should and would help to fix the problem. I am a new mother and do not feel safe driving this vehicle with my 4 month old son. The second week I had the car I took it to another dealership to see what the car would be worth if I were to trade it in. It was then that I found out there is an inconsistency in the mileage according to the carfax report. The report that berg car company showed me had no such thing and was missing 4 pages of information regarding the car's past. Now ending the second week of my car I have been informed of engine problems and mileage discrepancy. I am aware that carfax reports can be wrong due to clerical errors and that may very possibly be the case. Going into my third week having the car I am finally successful in obtaining a meeting with the owner **** ****. At our meeting we discussed the issues that have been brought to my attention by my mechanic and another anonymous dealership. He was in no way willing to help me fix the engine or put me in a different vehicle on his car lot. I was very clear with him that I was in no way seeking reimbursement for the money I put into the car. I asked that he help fix the engine issue or put me into a more reliable vehicle. *** **** walked away several times during our meeting to assist other customers. I found this act very rude and felt I wasn't being taken seriously. All I wanted was a vehicle I could feel safe driving with my son. I am now in a $4000 loan with an engine problem that is going to cost me $2000 to fix. I put my tax return money down on this car after not having a vehicle for several months and now I feel I am back to where I started. Having no vehicle is just the same as having an unsafe vehicle when you have a child because I do not want to break down somewhere with an infant in the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that this business either gives me my $1795 back and takes the car back and cancels the loan or puts me into a vehicle that will be reliable and safe without any more cash down and keeping my loan terms the same.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/24) */ Berg Car Co., Inc. sold a 2002 Subaru Outback Wagon to *** ****** **** and *** ******* ****** on February 15, 2014. Vehicle was sold as is and as equipped.Ms. ****** and *** **** drove the vehicle prior to deciding to purchase. At no time was seller or buyer aware of a " internal engine bearing " noise or any engine difficulty prior to the sale of this vehicle. Berg Car Co.,Inc. was informed several days after the purchase that a repair facility had diagnosed a engine bearing problem. Furthermore, seller was told that the vehicle runs and drives in a safe and satifactory way. Assuming the mechanic is correct on the diagnosis, it is unfortunate that cost to repair is expensive. Seller is certainly willing to assist buyer to get repair done as affordably as possible, through mechanial facilities that can and will do whatever work is requested at a lesser cost than the estimate *** ****** obtained. *** ****** request to refund down payment or rescind purchase is not a reasonable solution on a as is purchase. If the repair is indeed vital to continued vehicle operation, seller will gladly help buyer get the work done at the least cost possible. Should *** ****** decide to allow Berg Car Co., Inc to lower the cost to repair, simply have her contact **** **** at (XXX) XXX-XXXX

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold my trade in with my original plates still on it and now I am getting tickets from the person they sold my car to who hasn't gone to the DMV and registered it in their own name yet. When I called to complain they just responded, well we USUALLY remove the plates before reselling and since my car was from out of states they are not required to inform my DMV of the sale.

Desired Settlement: I just want them not to do it again. It's a hassel to me and added stress to deal with tickets that are not mine. It is going to require time to get this resolved, they should be fined or something!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/23) */ *** ********* ****************** bought a 2005 Dodge Dakota PU from Berg Car Co., Inc. on June 8, 2013. At that time she traded-in a 2004 Subaru Forester with 259,000 miles. This trade-in vehicle was taken to a dealer only auto auction on July 11, 2013 and this vehicle sold on that day. License plates are never removed from wholesale vehicles and there is no law requiring them to be removed. Berg Car Co sold the vehicle completely in accord with the law. Ms.****************** cannot be held responsible for any ticket on her trade-in that occurred subsequent to the day she traded her Subaru in. All of the documents she obtained would show the specific date in time that she traded the vehicle. If she needs copies of these sales documents Berg Car Co. would be willing to provide copies for her. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They may not be legally obligated to remove the plates but they should morally. I already know I'm not legally bound to pay those tickets but it was still a hassle to deal with. This all could have been avoided if they just would have taken 2 seconds to remove the plates. From now on I will make sure I take the plates with me if I ever trade in another vehicle. They caused me to deal with this extra hassel, when I bought my truck it didn't come with plates, I had to go get them myself. Why would they EVER sell a vehicle with the old owner plates still on!? I didn't know any better and just assumed they would remove my plates before selling, same way the truck I bought came. I can promise I will not be dealing with them again and I will make sure everyone I know won't either. If they just do the bare minimum to stay within the law, they don't care about their customers and it's a sad excuse for the trouble their laziness caused.

6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues