BBB Accredited Business since

Younker Nissan

Phone: (425) 251-8100 View Additional Phone Numbers 3401 E Valley Rd S, Renton, WA 98057 http://www.younkernissan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used and new car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Younker Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Younker Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Younker Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1949 Business started locally: 01/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. James R Church, President Mr. John Vidmar, General Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James R Church, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 3401 E Valley Rd S

    Renton, WA 98057 (425) 251-8100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2008 Toyota Tundra from this business. I found the vehicle on and on-line ad ran by this dealership, which stated that the truck had alloy wheels. I called the business and spoke with a salesman, and I specifically asked if it had alloy wheels, he said it did. I then went to the dealership to test drive the vehicle. The truck had a sticker on it that said that it had "premium wheels" and "chrome wheels." I didn't check the wheels closely because they appeared to be alloy and everything I had been told and that was documented indicated the vehicle had alloy wheels. It wasn't until some time later after I purchased the vehicle that I noticed the truck actually had inexpensive hub caps. I contacted the dealership to correct the problem and I was basically told they weren't going to do anything, that I should have inspected the wheels more closely and that it was "buyer beware" in this matter. I offered a settlement payment from them of $500, about half the cost of new alloy wheels, but they rejected the offer. Product_Or_Service: 2008 Toyota Tundra Order_Number: ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Even though I believe they are responsible for providing alloy wheels as advertised, I will accept a settlement payment of $500, about half the cost of new alloy wheels.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/19) */ We recently sold a 2008 Toyota to *** **** ******* She found the vehicle online and came in for an appt to view. After negotiations we had to give a sizeable discount, and finalized the deal. After the purchase, the customer wanted new beakes on the front of the vehicle..They stated the brakes were below standards, at 40%. We worked to purchase 80% of new brakes on front just to make customers happy. 3 days ago, (which has been 2 weeks since purchase) the customer stated his alloy wheel concern. We have a third party site print our stickers, and per state law, disclaimers on verifying equipment before your purchase. When we emailed this to the customer, he used profanity, and again, like the brakes, used the scare tactic of telling everyone we were bad, and "hurting our business much more than the settlement he wants" We will not be blackmailed in this way, nor have we done anything but go above and beyond for the customer. We find it interesting that someone can own a vehicle for 2 weeks, then decide to come back after a dealer because he didn't notice the type of wheel it came with...and THEN attempt to "smear" our name to get what he wants. This is printed CLEARLY on all used vehicles... "The price for this vehicle as equipped does not include charges such as: License, Title, Registration Fees, State or Local Taxes, Finance Charges, Credit Investigation, Optional Credit Insurance, Physical Damage of Liability Insurance, Delivery Fees, or a negotiable $150 Documentary Fee. MotorWebs, Inc. and Dealership makes no representations, expressed or implied, to any actual or prospective purchaser or owner of this vehicle as to the existence, ownership, accuracy, description or condition of this vehicle's listed equipment, accessories, price or any warranties. Any and all differences must be addressed prior to the sale of this vehicle. " Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The point of this complaint was to identify a problem, that this dealership misrepresented the vehicle I purchased. Their only defense was that they had a disclaimer to the effect that the buyer is responsible to ensure the vehicle has everything advertised on it before purchasing. I don't agree with this policy, nor do I believe other consumers do either. Regardless of the disclaimer, the dealership should verify that the vehicles they sell have everything on them as advertised. Additionally, the dealership should make sure that their very own safety inspection is accurate, since it had indicated that the brakes and tires on the vehicle I purchased were good, when in fact they weren't and needed to be replaced or repaired. Furthermore, bait-and-switch tactics used to try to gain an advantage over a consumer should not be allowed, which were used in this case by the dealership to get a higher sales price than what I had been quoted over the phone. So in conclusion, even though I still believe the dealership should be responsible for providing the alloy wheels that were supposed to be on the vehicle, I will accept their offer of $250 as a settlement. I believe I could pursue this further with legal action but also believe I have gotten their attention and made my point. This claim will therefore be considered settled once I receive the $250. If for some reason I don't receive it then I will reopen this complaint and take action as needed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/03/24) */ Younker Nissan is willing to participate the $250.00 as mentioned in the prior email. Unfortunately that is all we are willing to participate, as the vehicle was sold as is, and is equipped. please call **** ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX to set an appointment to pick up the check, and sign the forms printed up if you so choose.

12/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September I had younker Nissan Cut and program my key for my car. I called in advance and they quoted me 80 for everything. When I checked in they told me it would be closer to 150. I paid the full amount because I didn't have time to waste. A few days later I was issued store credit for $50. (Not a refund). Last week I tried to use one of the keys (for the first time) that they programmed and it failed to function. I called on 10/15/2013 and report the issue. In the end I spoke with the service manager. I believe his name was ****** He told me that since the key was not bought from younker, they will not do anything for me. He kept insisting that they warranty came with the part. I understand not warrantying a part because it was not bought from them. They should have told me that since I provided my own keys that they cannot guarantee that it will work and that the service does not carry any warranty. I don't know if it was a failure of the key or if it was an issue with programming from the start. He told me that it would be 108(programming) 10 for key cutting and tax if I wanted to have them program it again. No offer was made to diagnose the issue to determine what was actually wrong.

Desired Settlement: since i still have a credit with the service department. i want them to provide me a key with cutting and programming.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/18) */ *** ** brought in aftermarket keys that he purchased elsewhere, and had us cut and program them. *** ** then called back a month later when one of his key stopped working. We cannot provide warranty for a part that was purchased online/elsewhere. It is our opinion that customer should contact the company that he purchased the key from, to provide warranty on malfunctioned part. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) as per our conversation. I am not asking for a warranty on the part. I have no way of knowing if it was key that failed or it was it was a programming issue. I did not test that key when i took delivery. The service adviser simply handed me my key and said that you were all set to go. I do not drive this vehicle every day; The first time i went to use this key it failed to function. I feel that the dealership should work with me to resolve this issue. There was no explanation that the key i provided may not function. I understand that i have a credit from a previous call. I will accept a programming of a key provided by Nissan with that credit amount used. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/04) */ As stated in previous email *** ** purchased a aftermarket key, however we will be glad to see if *** ***** key is indeed not working due to failure. We can not warranty the key's, and if the key is indeed bad *** ** will have to pay for a recut and reprogram. please contact our Service Manager to schedule appointment.

5/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking for Nissan Leaf car to lease. I went to YOUNKER NISSAN on 27th of March at around 4 PM to test around a vehicle. The car that I am looking for is not with them at that point. I wanted to walk away, but they promised that they found one vehicle in nearby location and they would get that next day. Then we started negotiating and closed on a price. They asked me to pay $538 as guarantee to get the vehicle by next day (March 28th) 6PM. I paid $500 with my American Express card. But they didn't deliver the car as they promised. I called them and cancelled the agreement, since they didn't meet their commitment. But they didn't return my $500. My credit card is still charged, even after I asked them to revoke the transaction.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to return my $500 with interest for holding without providing service. If car was available and I didn't pick, I would have lost my deposit. But there is no penalty for their failed promise. I would like seek compensation for time I lost. I will donate that fine to some location charity.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/04/16) */ To whom it may concerned, This allegation is completely false. I personally called the customer, and offered him his money back. He did not cancel his order, I actually called him to tell him that the car he wanted was sold at another dealership...it was us who cancelled the transaction, and offered his money back to him. I have a store policy that dictates that he can come in and provide the card he used and we would refund it immediately. We have the customer come in personally; provide the card in person to help prevent fraud, etc. The customer refused to come in, and told me I would have to pay him for his time to come in. I refused and re-stated to him my desire to refund his money, if he would only come in and provide the card used for the deposit. We have no desire to hold the customers money, and will gladly refund it to him. We do, however, refuse to pay him to come in and get his money back! ******* ***** General Sales Manager Younker Nissan ***** east valley rd ******* wa XXXXX XX-XXX-XXXX Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/04/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First thanks for the follow-up. Really appreciated. I don't accept the reasoning. The reason, why I don't accept the response is following reasons: 1. If they don't have guarantee to meet their commitment, they can't charge money from credit card. 2. When they cannot meet their commitment and cancelled their transaction, they should be responsible for the time and effort lost for the customer also give the money back. 3. I went there because they said they have the car and I paid thru my credit card, because they promised that they will deliver by next day. They didn't keep both of these commitments. 4. I am working 30 miles north and it is impossible for me to drive down to and fro. We have only single car for our family. 5. Again allegation is about giving the money back for product they didn't sell. It is true, they didn't sell but kept the money. Business' Final Response /* (1010, 13, 2013/04/26) */ To whom it may concerned, This allegation is completely false. I personally called the customer, and offered him his money back. He did not cancel his order, I actually called him to tell him that the car he wanted was sold at another dealership...it was us who cancelled the transaction, and offered his money back to him. I have a store policy that dictates that he can come in and provide the card he used and we would refund it immediately. We have the customer come in personally; provide the card in person to help prevent fraud, etc. The customer refused to come in, and told me I would have to pay him for his time to come in. I refused and re-stated to him my desire to refund his money, if he would only come in and provide the card used for the deposit. We have no desire to hold the customers money, and will gladly refund it to him. We do, however, refuse to pay him to come in and get his money back! ******* ***** General Sales Manager Younker Nissan ***** east valley rd ******* wa XXXXX XX-XXX-XXXX

1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues