BBB Accredited Business since

Sunset Chevrolet Inc

Phone: (253) 863-8144 View Additional Phone Numbers 910 Traffic Ave, Sumner, WA 98390 http://www.sunsetchev.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers parts and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunset Chevrolet Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunset Chevrolet Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunset Chevrolet Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1925 Business started locally: 01/01/1925
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Phil Mitchell, Owner Mr. Jerry Yoder, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phil Mitchell, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 910 Traffic Ave

    Sumner, WA 98390 (253) 863-8144 (253) 862-4939

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Doug H*** was my sales representative from Sunset Chevrolet. Mr H*** called me on Friday 9/25/15 to inform me Sunset had just received a 2010 ***** in trade that met my desires and requirements for purchasing. I arrived to test drive the vehicle that afternoon with Mr H***. My first concern was a white sticky foam on the tires and rims but other than that the vehicle was fairly clean. Mr H*** assured me that new tires were just put on and he had taken the rig from the detail shop before they were finished. I test drove the ***** and agreed to purchase it. Mr H*** also assured me he would return it to detail and have them complete cleaning the exterior, interior,rims and tires. I signed papers that l afternoon but DID NOT leave with the *****. I returned the following Tuesday, 9/29/15 for the *****. When I arrived home I noticed clear coat damage on the rims. I called Mr H*** and left a message that I'd be in for service on 6th to show him the damage. I parked the ***** in service and went directly to Mr H*** and asked for his assistance. I felt the rims needed replaced since the cleaning foam had been left on and eaten into the clear coat. Mr. H*** simply disappeared after that. I dealt with the Service Mgr. Andy and he tried to steam clean the rims without success. Frustrated, I asked for a manager and was directed to Jason. He inspected the rims and told me I purchased a used vehicle, as is and it was my problem. After arriving home I finally reached Mr H*** and told him I wasn't satisfied and sent him a picture of the ***** before I took ownership. It clearly showed the residue still clinging on the tires and rims after the test drive. This cleaning product has eaten into the clear coat on alll of the rims and it will continue to chip and peel as dirt and water settle inside. Mr H*** has said he presented this to management but without resolve. The rims were damaged after the purchase since the cleaning material was allowed dry before being detailed.

Desired Settlement: I want Sunset ********* to replace the ***** rims or offer me a cash equivalent and I'll purchase my own rims. After research, estimated cost of direct replacement is approximately $1000.

Business Response: The wheels that are on the 2010 ********* ***** owned by Ms. ********* ******* are the same wheels in the same condition as when she purchased the vehicle.  Our policy when washing wheels is to use dove soap with water to clean them.  The "soap" around the wheel was tire lube, a non corrosive substance, used to put new tires on the wheels.  At this time we feel that there is not any damage to the wheels on our part and the wheels are in the same condition as when purchased.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I am rejecting this response because:I have pictures of the ***** in the Sunset parking lot after the test drive that I sent to my salesperson Mr H***. You can still see the goo attached to the tires and rims after the lengthy test drive. I was very specific to my salesperson Mr H*** that I wanted them cleaned. He assured me the entire vehicle would be detailed and would look as good as new when I picked it up in four days.  The damage is becoming more apparent as the ***** is exposed to driving conditions. The clear coat is becoming more brittle in the affected areas, peeling and becoming packed with dirt and water which makes it apparent to me the damage was recent. The pattern of damage around the tire stems, in my opinion, is forced air from filling the new tires with the goo still on the rims. I stand firm on my claim of $1000.00 to replace the rims and as a personal gesture I'll return the old rims to Sunset. They can repair them and be out zero dollars.  


Sincerely,

********* *******

10/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been dealing with Sunset Chevrolet in Sumner WA for over twenty years and have purchased 11 vehicles form them. In 2014 I purchased a used truck from them and was given a lifetime powertrain warrantee on the vehicle. In May 2015 I needed a repair done and after contacting the dealership and the warrantee company was told to have the repairs done and send the **** to them for reimbursement. The repairs came to $917.01. after I submitted the **** I was told that they don’t reimburse and I should have called them first (which I had done). I have been in continual communication with the service manager at Sunset Chev (John) but have only received promises not reimbursement. I feel that this sort of treatment for a longtime, loyal customer is outrageous.

Desired Settlement: I have sent letters to the dealership and to the Chevrolet offices at ******* ******, but as yet I have gotten nothing more that we’ll see from them. At one point they made an offer of half reimbursement from the dealership but that was in July and I still haven’t received a penny from them.

Business Response: At this time, Mr **** has been reimbursed $450.00 of his repairs.  We feel that the matter has been closed. 

Sincerely,
Jon N****
Service Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I feel that I had followed verbal instructions from the dealership and the warrantee company and that since the repairs were to be completely covered by the warrantee that they (the dealership) has not fulfilled their obligations under their advertising representation. although they have decided to send me half of my cost of the repairs, I told them that I still did not feel it was fair. Also they told me that their decision to send me a check for half of my repairs about two months ago and I still have not received said payment. I had been a customer of the dealership for about twenty years and this is the thanks I get for my loyalty to them. I still feel that in all fairness that I should still be repaid for the untire amount. 
Sincerely,

**** ****

Business Response:

While we empathize with Mr. ****, the reality of the situation is that the extended warranty is refusing to pay the claim due to the fact that their instructions for a claim were not followed.  Any repair shop in the country knows that you need to accept extended warranty policies and call in claims as part of their practice.  If the contact was presented to the repair facility they would have handled the claim.  Sunset has send a check for half of the repair costs to the customer as a good will gesture.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

the issue has not been resolved to my satisfaction. I received a check for $450 from the service manager's personal account not from the dealership. something doesn't sound right since the check was not drawn off of the dealership's account . is the service manager covering up something.


Sincerely,

**** ****

6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sunset changed the oil on my truck and left the oil filter loose, all the oil ran out by the time that I got to my destination resulting in a "0" oil pressure situation known to cause damage. I have reciepts one day apart from two Chevy dealers that confirm what I am saying in print.They were very deceptive in their dealings and I feel they were working together to minimize a safety issue. This seems to be the "Chevy Way" anymore.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking $5,000 dollars the price of a new engine. $5,000 will not put a rebuilt engine in place it will only cover the cost of the engine. This will give Chevy some consideration for remaining use.It is clear that the oil pressure is lower showing that it was damaged. My research through Chevrolet web sites and mechanics that know amount of operation with "0" oil presure is safe. It will take more fuel, it will have less power, it will have less longevity.

Business Response: On October 23, 2014, Mr. ******** brought his vehicle in to Sunset Chevrolet for an oil change and to replace his fuel filter on his 2006 GMC Sierra 1 ton truck. At that time, the oil change was completed to factory specifications. On 10/24/14, our service manager *** ***** received a phone call from Mr. ******** stating that the vehicle had lost oil and he was stranded on the side of the road. Mr. ***** called the closest Chevrolet Dealership, **** *********, in **** Oregon, and had the vehicle towed to the dealership for repairs. After the oil had been replaced and a new oil filter installed the service department at **** ********* stated that the vehicle was ok and Mr. ******** was given his truck back. The cost of the tow bill and the oil replacement and parts was billed to Sunset Chevrolet.
After further inspection of the oil filter by **** *********, they stated that it was a defective oil filter and Sunset Chevrolet was not at fault. Upon returning to Sunset Chevrolet, Mr. ******** had his engine steam cleaned and both power steering hoses replaced at the hydroboost at no charge to Mr. ********. Due to the fact that Sunset has made appropriate allowances for the situation and did not manufacture the defective part we feel that this matter should be closed.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sunset has not stated the truth in these areas:
I had to pay for the both oil changes.
They did not pay for the towing.
They did not pay for the rental car.
**** ********* did not state that it was a defective oil filter, they stated they could see the gasket and it was loose. i.e. installed poorly.
Sunset also made it sound like they did work for free to offset the damage to the truck. Not true the hoses were under warrenty. The cleaning was done because they misinstalled the oil filter.
And there were non diagnostics done for **** to proclaim the truck is "OK". Trucks that run with out oil are not OK. Sunset talked to the **** dealer three times in my presence and the dealer did not want to give me the filter until I told them it was Oregon law. They are clearly trying to hide defective work that was a safety issue.

Business Response: First I would like to apologize to you and Mr. ********.  The information that I received from my staff
was incorrect.  We offered to pay for the
services at **** *********, but Mr. ******** declined our offer and paid
himself.   At this time, we have as
stated before steam cleaned the engine at no charge, and Sunset did not
manufacture the defective part this matter should be closed.

***** ****
General Manger
Sunset Chevrolet

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The problem was not a defective part that Sunset sold to me, but rather defective installation, that resulted in the oil leaking out.

 In the words of the service department that Sunset Chevrolet sent me to, another Chevrolet dealer, the gasket did not seat properly and the filter came loose resulted in the oil leaking out.
 
The filter was not lubricated properly when it was installed and therefor the gasket twisted and the filter came loose.

I was forced to pay for the filter if I wanted to keep it as evidence, they were going to call it warranty repair of defective filter...which it according to the service man it was not, so they made me pay for it hoping that I would not and they would be covered.

They did defective service work resulting in a loose filter. I also have the receipt from **** Chevy that says it was worked on the day before. And as I said I have the filter, it is not defective. 

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were pre-approved before we went to the dealership. After looking and finding a truck we wanted, they kept pushing us to go through them with financing. Very pushy and rude. Then, after we bought the truck, it had continual problems, and was at the shop for most of the first month we had it. When we bought it, it had coffee stains all over on the inside. The sales man said no problem and had it detailed. After getting it back we notified them of the sticky buttons for the heater when taking it back for yet another problem. The service manager **** called us after a week of having it and told us that we spilled coffee all over it and we need to pay them $400 to fix the heater because now it wasn't working. We then spoke to the daytime manager who told us that he didn't know if our kids crawled all over it and spilled something. We refused to pay anything, got it back, and nothing was wrong with the heater besides the continues sticky buttons. When trying to get it resolved, ***** I believe his name is, the daytime manager told me that I was making passive aggressive threats when I informed him I would be making a BBB complaint and what not. What they needed $400 for I do not know. The worst experience ever.

Desired Settlement: A written apology of how the "managers" handled the whole situation from the GM.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/19) */ We know without a doubt that there was not coffee spilled here at Sunset Chevrolet. This happened after leaving our facility.

1/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to purchase a new truck from Sunset chev. After signing the papers on a truck that was not on location, they called me the next day saying the truck I purchased wasn't available, but they a had a similar truck in a different color. This was a bait and switch tactic and was very inappropriate. I told them I didn't want the substitute truck and that our business was concluded. The following day they told that I had to buy the truck because they had a signed contract. I said no and they literally told me, "You have no choice." I hired a lawyer and eventually they backed off, but their threats were relentless. The worst service I've ever experienced.

Desired Settlement: I did not pursue a law suit, which I would have won, but I want a formal written apology from the owner and I want a $400 check to cover my lawyer fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/19) */ *** **** purchased a truck. We had to obtain the vehicle from another dealer, and the customer was aware of the situation. We only purchase the vehicle from another dealer when the customer commits to purchase the vehicle in questions in which *** **** did. We went ahead and let him out of the transaction, but we are not willing to refund him any money due to the fact that he agreed to the arrangements. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealers repsonse leaves quite a bit of information out. Most importantly is the fact that I had to hire a lawyer and threaten a lawsuit before they would acknowledge that they had breached the contract. Their rudeness and high-pressure tactics are honed to manipulate susceptible buyers. Refer to my original complaint text for a more accurate account. I would advise consumers to avoid this business. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/01/13) */ We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused *** ****. However, we rescinded the transaction not because of a letter from the attorney, but because we felt it was the right thing to do. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2015/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went in with the main purpose to buy a Stingray. We told the sales person that we had a GM family first number for employee pricing, and we were also interested in purchasing a cheap truck at the same time to combine the two in to a single loan. The sales person agreed and said that we would be able to do this. They did an appraisal of the car we would be trading in for the Stingray and we found a truck. After running prices for the truck, we asked to put that on hold and start working on pricing for the Stingray. Since it was for a 2015, the dealer told us that they didnt have exact pricing- but we had the GM family discount so it would be approximately 3% above the price for the 2014 GM family price. The dealer told us to go ahead with the truck and they would get with us the following week with the exact price for the Stingray. I told the dealer that the only reason for the purchase of the truck contingent on the sale of the Stingray. He said not a problem, we get the GM family pricing- so the price is going to be very close to the one on the GM family first website. For this reason, we went ahead with the purchase of the truck. The next time we went in to purchase the Stingray, the sales person then stated that the GM family pricing excludes the Stingray. This is not true. I provided the paperwork to prove that the Stingray was included by GM. He then went back to talk to his managers, and a manager came out and said that it is included, but that their particular dealership does not participate in the GM family first pricing program. I then asked, "what about the truck? I only purchased it under the guise we were buying the Stingray." The manager looked at me and said "Well its your truck now. Do you have anything else in writing?" This is unacceptable business practice. The dealer should have told us that their dealership does not participate in the program when we first asked, and definitely before the purchase of the truck. Had they told us this in the beginning, it would have been ok, and we would have proceeded with our business elsewhere.

Desired Settlement: Full return/ refund of the truck that was purchased under false pretenses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ In regards to Mr. ***** ******, at no time did our salesman tell Mr. ****** that he could purchase a corvette for gm family pricing. He did tell him that he would get him a good deal. It is the practice of Sunset Chevrolet and most all Chevrolet dealerships to sell vehicles at gm family pricing except corvettes. At this time, Sunset Chevrolet sold Mr. ****** a Colorado, a contract was signed and the vehicle was taken delivery on 7/4/2014. At this time, there is no pricing for the 2015 corvette pricing and no provision for any rebates or special pricing on these vehicles at this time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The respondent was not present when the dealer made the false statements; therefore, is not able to deny the accusation. The employee ** absolutely stated that Sunset would accept the GM family pricing for the corvette- and my significant other was present when the conversation took place. He also stated that since we were buying the vehicles together, the loans would be combined- which again has proved not to be the case. If we were told that Sunset did not accept GM family pricing from day 1 when we asked and gave ** the GM number, we would not have proceeded doing any business with Sunset. For the respondent to say that other Chevrolet dealerships do not accept GM family pricing for the Corvette is another lie. We have since been in contact with other Chevrolet dealerships which have stated they would accept GM family pricing for the corvette and we would have taken our business there instead. The fact is that the story changed several times throughout the course of our conversation. First- The dealer ** said they did accept GM family pricing for the Corvette we were interested in, and took our GM number (Why would he take the number if it wasn't accepted?) Second- ** said that they do accept GM pricing, but the Corvette is excluded according to GM, which was out of Sunsets hands (which is not the case.) Third- We brought documentation which proved that the Corvette was not excluded according to GM. ** apologized for his mistake and said he will make it right, and takes it back to the manager. The manager then comes out and states that only Sunset does not accept GM pricing for the corvette. The constant back and forth between the dealer and the manager and the changing of stories- proves that they were not being truthful with us from the beginning. The fact that they waited until after the truck was purchased to change the discussed pricing of the corvette proves their unethical business/sales practices. Denial of the incident is not an acceptable response from the business.

8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to purchase a car from Sunset Chevrolet on 7/22/14. When sitting down to make the deal I was asked what my gross income was and told the salesman (**** ********* what my salary was and he calculated out the gross amount. When back in the finance office to go over the deal with **** I noticed that the amount he had written down was not the amount that was calculated by the salesman. I also noticed that the rent I pay was lowered by $200 without my consent. The Finance guy ****** must have noticed me looking at these numbers and with a smile he assured me that "We increased your numbers a little bit to make sure the deal goes through faster and to get you the best rate." Unaware of what I was just eased into (Fraud) I signed the application allowing them to obtain financing and left with the car. On 7/24 **** left a voicemail stating that he had gotten me a better rate and to bring in my pay stubs. I got my pay stubs and noticed that the amount was $800-$1000 lower than what was on my application as puffed up by ***** I didn't like it before and once out the pressure of the sale I wanted to research this seemingly illegal practice. I found out that it was indeed fraud and I signed for it! I quickly got out my car contract to find out who the lender was (remembering although we hadn't finalized he put a lender on the line in the contract) to see ****** Credit union on the line. I called but they were closed so at opening time on 7/25 I called the ****** Credit company to tell them the correct information and explain my situation. They informed me that I was approved for 4% and more money down which was greater than the 3.99% promised rate with false information (I know this nullified the contract unless they applied elsewhere). On 7/26 I went in to Sunset and was sat down by **** who had a new contract ready for me to sign with ****** Credit Union crossed out and ******** in it's place. I told him I wasn't going to sign that until he change the information submitted on the app to the correct information, and asked him to accomodate me through lowering the selling price, which I found out I had overpaid on, in the event the rate goes up. After explaining this to **** he had me wait for about 30 min before coming back to tell me that the deal was done and that I could talk to the general manager the following Monday about changing the selling price. I told him the deal might not go through with the true income numbers and I wanted them changed before I would sign anything. He said "changing the income numbers won't matter anyway because it's not a big enough difference to affect your approval so I want you to know we do have an actionable contract here." I told him "It matters to me because the way it sits approved now is fraud." He then said he would change it right now for me if I like but I informed him I would go over it all with the GM on Monday 7/28 and that I was leaving the car. He got wide eyed and said "oh you are leaving the car here? Well let me go tell someone that's what you plan on doing." After another 5 minutes of waiting I dropped the keys at the desk and left. At this point I was no longer wanting to do business with people willing to encourage fraud and still try and hold you to it! On 7/27 ****** the sales manager, called and left a message telling me that I needed to come pick up the car and that he "got the deal approved with no added stipulations." I was then concerned that whatever I signed may have made me liable to so I decided on Monday the 28th to call ***** Credit Union, ****** Bank, and **** credit union. I chose these 4 because I was told by **** that "the deal will go through and it will most likely be ****** but if not it will either be ****** bank or ***** Credit Union." However I noticed the **** name on the contract he presented and knew I better call them as well. During my calls I found out that he reported one amount to **** for my income which was $600 more than was put on the application for ***** Credit Union... ( an indication of intentional dealer fraud). Later that day the sales manager ***** texted me telling me that if I didn't come pick up the car in 3 days that they would drop it off at my home. I was then texted again only the texts became rude and 'in my face' about how I was the owner and I needed to come pick up my car. When I called ***** after work to address the issue and his messages he continued to say that none of these ethical issues matter that the deal is done, I am the owner and I need to come pick up my car.. I then asked him who the deal was through and he refused to tell me "for fear I would queer on his deals again." Apparently my version of telling the truth and having integrity on a serious matter was his version of queering on a deal. I told him as a consumer I have the right to know who is lending me money and where I will be making payments so if he does not tell me who it is through so I can ensure they have true and accurate income information I will not be coming in to sign anything. He told me then he didn't know who it was and that they could disclose that with me when I came in. At that point I knew they were LYING AGAIN so I said your GM can call me and let me know who the loan is through and after I verify with them, I will come in.

Desired Settlement: I prefer to not do business with Sunset. If making this deal go through on unethical grounds was more important than customer satisfaction and integrity then myself and those who trust my word will NEVER do business with Sunset again. The GM can restore my faith in Sunset with a sincere apology and a fair deal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ Sunset Chevrolet has unwound the sale of the vehicle. Mr. ****** has returned the vehicle and no money was every collected to be refunded. Thank you for your help in this matter.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint regards all of the list described, and there was no place to mark for all.

Desired Settlement: Full re-purchase

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/07) */ From my interaction with you personally and the factory we have both focused on your 2 main concerns; Relocation of your generator per the manufacturer's bulletin you received Stabilizer jacks not holding in a set position. I can understand your frustration with the time needed for correction and we have had numerous phone calls and emails between ourselves and the factory. Over the past 4 months, I have appreciated your copying me on your correspondences with the factory as I have copied you my correspondences, at your request and a courtesy, so that issues would not get lost in translation. Upon your arrival on the 24th of February to pick up your motorhome and disapproval with the generator noise, vibration and explanation of your stabilizing jacks, we had since both agreed that a **** representative should be on site to inspect your motorhome. That date was set by the manufacturer for March 31st thru April 1st. ******* service representative arrived the 31st and spent 2 days inspecting your motorhome. His findings were that the generator worked as designed and was relocated and installed by our service department according to the manufacturer's specifications on their bulletin. He also could not duplicate the jack issue as described in all of our correspondence. I have followed up with their representative this morning and he has stated that he had also explained his findings as well in your meeting with him Tuesday evening. I do apologize for any misunderstandings you may have had with any of our employees and as you know I have been forthwith with you, as well as you have been with me over the past 4 months. Moving forward if there is anything I may be able to assist you with please do not hesitate in contacting me. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all I have no idea which of the five or so people we have dealt with during the now five months Sunset has had our coach Is writing this. Sunset has had so many employee changeovers and pass a rounds that it could be any of them, or maybe even someone new, as I often didn't know someone new was in charge until I would continue to contact the last known person, only for them to say our unit responsibility was now passed to so and so, and they were supposed to contact me, or that person no longer works for us, and we have no idea who you are or just plain no response for weeks at a time. So, whoever I am replying to, hopefully you know the case, because I have sent emails to many different people as the responsibility was passed again and again. I find it interesting that only two issues are discussed when there were (sic) about eight to ten. To date, when we went to pick up our supposedly complete unit, only the bathroom sink was done in line with what Thor told us, and you. We assured all along that moving the generator to under our bed that it would have minimum noise, Sunset's person "******" at the time agreed that it was quite loud, and he was surprised that the floor vibrated so awfully. Several of the things that we were told were fixed had not been tested, and "assumed" would be fine. In February, we were told, basically "oops, yes, should be tested", ex: hot water in sink to assure goo wouldn't run again, doghouse latches with true heat exposure to assure they won't burn the feet, plastic strips put on the sliding pantry instead Final Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2014/06/09) */ **** ********, My name is ***** ***** I am the new General Manager for Sunset RV. I would like to set up an appointment with you to help with the situation. Please call me on my cell phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX to set up a time we can meet. Thank you. ***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with the **** representative this morning and he is concerned that several of the "items" on the repair list were not included in your interaction with him. Since there are many emails that list the multiple issues, he was concerned that Sunset never addressed any of them to him, as well as the fact that they were not on your list you presented to him. Again, Sunset is usurping their duties by circumventing the full set of issues.. Yes, **** ****** from **** is coming in again, and is ocming in early enough to go over the list to assure you have tended everything since Sunset has been less than honest with the full spectrum of the repairs. This includes such things as your lack of follow through on explicit directions from them on several areas, one simply amazing inefficiency was the plastic strips used to hold the malfunctiong pantry where **** sent specific pictures for correction application, and, once again, "your company" could not find the pictures that they sent you, nor the multiple emails where I addressed I am assuming you used the proper application, which was a brass latch, not plastic strips. I am glad you have mentioned the complete list, as I know you have access to it, but have not used the complete list when working with the manufacturer. Also, you have yet to address if you have repaired the scratches made on the paint when changing the generator to its current location. It concerns me as well that the story was "changed" in regards to support legs where you documented the droppage of three inches. The email sent to me said NOTHING of changing the arrangement of the motorhome (and honestly, why would anyone do that when testing potential leakage for hydraulics, doesn't even make common sense). It wasn't until the **** rep came here that all of a sudden the rig was moved between measurements. How would you be able to validate droppage when you changed the formula for attaining the data? I believe this was "added" to the conversation to save face for not following through with this repair, especially since you have now had our unit heading towards 6 months now. I would be embarrassed as well, but changing the supposedly "controlled" data documentation doesn't change the fact that what you presented to me did NOT mention changing of the placement of the motorhome. Had it been a part of the data you initially gave me, I would have addressed it immediately as it would have negated any data measurement.The **** rep was only here a few days. It is also relevant that temperature change appears to be part of the problem for said issue, but of course, since you have had my unit for so long, you have now gone through 3 seasons, since it was fall when you got it, winter came and went, and now it is Spring. **** was also very confused as to why you would not have contacted me regarding the supposed finished work. THAT is why he is coming here, he is concerned that once again, you are saying it is ready, only to find it truly is not. While he was at your shop the last time, he recounted a very upset customer that had driven several hours to pick their unit up, only to find the work was NOT completed. I can relate, since that has been our experience as well. I do not accept your resolution, as nothing has been proven yet, and based on your track record, I have no reason to have any faith...that is broken.You continue to write as if there is only the generator issue, and now you have added the jack issue, maybe after 7 or eight responses, you will include all the issues.Check the multiple lists provided to you and try to address ALL of the issues when you respond again. **** has asked me to provide a list to them again, so I will just resend them one or more of the emails you were sent, and your responses to them.

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December we purchased a 2006 Ford F250 diesel engine truck. We didn\'t actually GET the truck until the END of January because it had some "issues" that had to be taken care of prior to us bringing it home. After waiting weeks at a time I asked to get my money back I didn\'t want the truck anymore because if it has this many issues I don\'t want to deal with it. I was assured over and over and over again that the truck was sound, it was Ford\'s fault because they were keeping the vehicle and Sunset would check on it and see how much longer. I waited a couple of days and still no Truck no call back. When I finally got the truck back I was assured that the truck was fine and sound and we would not have any issues. Less than a month the check engine came on. I brought it back to Sunset. after three/four days we got the truck back they said it was fine. We used the truck to get hay got home unloaded removed the trailer. Then loaded ourselves up again to go to an appointment the check engine light came on again. We called Sunset we were advised to bring it back in. When we got it back they said there was nothing wrong with it they don\'t know why the check engine light came on. We used it for a 4H event with our kids for a weekend. Friday April 25, 2014 my husband started up the truck to take it to an appointment. The engine smoked so much it flooded my yard and my neighbors yard with smoke! I live on 4 acres. My neighbors thought we had a fire! We called sunset AGAIN, adivsed them there was no way we would be able to drive it to them. They sent a tow truck to pick it up. They call us on Monday and advise us that the repair was going to cost us $2500! We haven\'t even owned or had the truck in our full posession for a full six months. The truck has spent more time at their service center than in our yard! I went and spoke to the Manager Jason and told him of the situation. His response is "at some point YOU have to take responsiblity for the repairs of the vehicle that is part of owning a vehicle". The issue is I have TWO different extended warranties for this truck that doesn\'t cover the issue becuase the "issue" is an "emissions issue" and that isn\'t covered under engine or transmission. WE NEED THE EMISSION TO USE THE ENGINE. How is this rule legal or true? The service manager tried to assist and said they would pay $1000 but we had to cover the other $1500. I do not have $1500 and that is the point of not only having SUNSET\'S warranty but the additional extended warranty to cover all issues other than brakes, oil changes or tune ups! How is this legal? How is this our fault?

Desired Settlement: I want Sunset to pay for the service and make sure my truck is ACTUALLY sound not tell me it is sound mask the problem for a couple of weeks then blame us for it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/09) */ Ms. ****** has owned the 2006 Ford F250 truck since 12/27/13. The emission issue with the truck is not covered by any warranty. Sunset Chevrolet offered to pay $1000.00 purely from a customer service standpoint. We are not responsible for repairs to a faulty emission system. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We signed documentation in December I was not handed the vehicle until well into January because it "needed repairs" which had they mentioned PRIOR to my signing the document taking ownership I would NOT have purchased. The vehicle was brought back to them again in February, March, and April. I had not had the vehicle in my possession for a full 90 days yet. Each time the vehicle had the same problem, two of those times we were told they couldn't find anything wrong. Now that from Sunset Chevrolets standpoint the vehicle has been off their lot for 90 days, they claim it is our responsibility. Yet they sold it to us broken and has TWO warranties on the vehicle. Yet neither one provide the warranty to fix this issue. Then to add insult to injury they off $1000 off of $2500 bill that they expect me to pay for. If this is the case then give me the $1000 and I will take it to the Ford dealership myself and have it fixed by ford for $1000. They will not require the $2500 sunset claims it will cost. Give me the $1000 and I will have the Emission fixed myself (by the actual company that would take care of us) Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/06/06) */ Ms. ****** has owned the 2006 Ford F250 truck since 12/27/13. The emission issue with the truck is not covered by any warranty. Sunset Chevrolet offered to pay $1000.00 purely from a customer service standpoint. We are not responsible for repairs to a faulty emission system. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are responsible for this part. However, I have already responded to this and it hasn't shown up. Since my last comment, Sunset has paid us $600 for parts for the truck. The truck is now fixed. Thank you

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have two vehicles that were appraised and then a trade was agreed. After cleaning out my work vehicle and returning to the dealership to complete the deal, they came back to me wanting another $5000 for the deal. Seams like a typical bait and switch deal. I am very angry and will tell anyone who will listen about my horrible experience. My next step is to target Facebook, Angie's list, twitter, and any other web base sites to complain on.

Desired Settlement: I would settle with the original trade agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/09) */ Sunset Chevrolet tries its very best to obtain financing for every customer. Unfortunately, we are at the mercy of the banks that ultimately loan the money to the customer. We do our very best to fulfill any speculated amount, but the bank makes the final decision. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Sunset Chevy did not offer any resolution. Very disappointing. I would not recommend sunset to anyone. The vehicle they initially offered $10,000 trade In value on, (I did accept this offer) then they changed the offer at the last minute to less than $5,000. This same vehicle just sold privately (and quickly)for $14,000 cash. I am still shopping for my next new vehicle. The salesman asked me for referrals, they will get the opposite. The bait and switch tactics and lack of responds afterwards are unacceptable.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told a *** Insurance policy would cost 7 dollars a month for 2 years. They Charged me a lump some of 895$ The price agreed to was 11,500.00 "out the door" and then they added another 150.00 document fee w/o telling me. total is now 12,300.00 Insurance was misrepresented, DOC fee if any was to be included in 11,500 "OTD" price. The document lady was the one to add on unauthorized items then shove dozens of documents at me for signing in a rush out the door.

Desired Settlement: cancel and refund the insurance policy money and refund the excess 150.00 doc fee or return the truck to dealer..

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/09/24) */ Sunset Chevrolet has cancelled the *** coverage for *** *** ****** as of 8-15-13. This will be a full refund back to the lending institution that holds the title to the vehicle. We will send *** ****** a copy of the check as soon as we receive the money back from the *** company.

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold us a junker

Desired Settlement: Our truck repaired or replaced.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/15) */ The vehicle in question was purchased by Mr. ***** ****** on March 19, 2013. At this time Mr. ****** was informed that this vehicle was being sold as is and he has signed the buyers guide in recognition of this stipulation. Thank you for your time.

5/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues