BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Tonkin Hyundai

Phone: (503) 258-5588 Fax: (503) 258-5589 View Additional Phone Numbers 675 NE Burnside Rd, Gresham, OR 97030 http://www.rontonkinhyundai.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Tonkin Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2007 in OR Business started locally: 04/01/2007 Business incorporated 12/04/1995 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Brad Caba, GM Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Additional Locations

  • 675 NE Burnside Rd

    Gresham, OR 97030 (503) 258-5588 (888) 870-5522

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern,On April 14, 2015 I called up Ron Tonkin Hyundai to schedule an oil change and to have a recall fixed. When I called, the woman I spoke with on the phone said there was no information about me or my vehicle. I cant remember how many times I told her my information, I even went out to the car to read her off the information. During the conversation I started to get very upset over not only the lack of information on my car, but also the attitude of the person on the other end of the phone. Eventually the information was inputted, however I was extremely astonished at the lack of record keeping and how I was treated.When I brought my car to Ron Tonkin Hyundai to have it serviced for the recall and get an oil change, I inquired about getting my tires rotated, checked, and aligned. I was leaving for a road trip to the Midwest and wanted to be sure everything was good before the trip. After waiting some time I was told everything was done and that the oil was changed, recall was fixed, tires were rotated, and aligned. I asked about the tires and was told they were in good order, it even said so on the sheet they gave me. I was actually quite relieved because it was going to be a long road trip. That following Saturday I left Gresham, and it wasnt until I had a flat tire in Nebraska did I start to get some puzzling information.On April 21, 2015 at the ****** Hyundai dealership in Nebraska I was told that the tires on my car were not in good order and that if I was a customer of theirs they would have made it clear to me that I should look at getting new tires. They wrote on the paperwork that they Found tires worn below minimum specifications and recommended mount and balance 4 new tires and perform four wheel tire alignment. They were confused at why Ron Tonkin Hyundai in Oregon wouldnt have mentioned this information to me. ****** Hyundai also said that there may be something wrong with the tires as they only had 16 thousand and change miles on them, and that when we got back to Gresham we should contact the Ron Tonkin dealership about the tire warranty . When I arrived back in Gresham, I called and scheduled an appointment to speak with someone about the issue at Ron Tonkin Hyundai. On May 1, 2015 at the appointment my Husband and I spoke with the manager of Ron Tonkin Hyundai. During the conversation, he insisted that the tires were good although he pointed out they were in the yellow of his gauge. When we asked him about the yellow he said it was still safe to drive on, but that there was nothing he could do as the dealership doesnt deal with tires. He told us to go to a tire dealership and inquire about the manufactures warranty of the tires. There is a *** ****** across the street, so he directed us over there. We were troubled by the fact that the ****** Hyundai dealership in Nebraska gave us conflicting information on the condition of our tires. On the information provided by Ron Tonkin Hyundai they stated no uneven wear on the tires, and they were in good standing. ****** Hyundai in Nebraska told us the opposite information, however the manager of Ron Tonkin Hyundai dismissed the information as there were no measurements on the paperwork only written information. Not completely satisfied with the level of service as it seemed we were being pushed away, we went over to *** *******Once over at *** ****** we were told a few things. The first one was that there was no manufacture warranty on the tires, the tread on back two tires were below the legal limit for safety and should be replaced (also there were bulges), and that it appeared there was no alignment done on the car. My husband and I were surprised to hear this, since we were told there was an alignment done, the manager at Ron Tonkin Hyundai was specific over the manufacture warranty of the tires, and that the tires were still good. Now we were looking at getting four new tires which we honestly didnt have the money for, and that is after having to buy a tire at the ****** Hyundai in Nebraska because they wouldnt fix the flat tire. After hearing from two places, *** ****** and ****** Hyundai over the tires being in bad standing we decided to go back to Ron Tonkin Hyundai. Once we arrived at Ron Tonkin Hyundai, my husband went up to the service desk and asked to speak to the manager. While he was on the phone, a woman asked if she could help. Once she heard about the issue, she pointed to their rule book on tires. My husband told her that at this point it wasnt about the tires, but the lack of customer service and false information. After a few minutes the manager came over to the car and we disclosed the information we received over at *** ******* The manager mentioned that they never did an alignment on the car, only a tire rotation. I told him that they did and I was even told during my oil change appointment it was done. He said there was no mention of it in the paperwork but he would check the computer. When he came back he said there was no alignment done after checking the computer. He then pointed to the policy of Ron Tonkin Hyundai over tires, and that they were not his responsibility. My husband and I pointed out that we felt we had been lied too over the condition of our tires, and the alignment. We also were completely unsatisfied with how Ron Tonkin Hyundai had treated us over the matter. Especially since when I had called to set up an appointment for an oil change and recall, there was no information regarding my purchase of the car in their system. It makes me question how good their computer records are. Had we have had a ****** Hyundai instead of Ron Tonkin Hyundai we would have been advised that our tires were below minimum requirements and that if we were to take a road trip we should get new tires. With that information we could have purchased new tires, and adjusted our budget accordingly. As it stands right now we had lost time on our trip, buy 4 new tires for almost 400 dollars when

Desired Settlement: Due to the nature of being misinformed/misled and poor customer service over the matter I would like to get either a refund on the tires we purchased from ********* 374.32 and 166.44 at ****** Hyundai, or some sort of dollar amount applied to the payment of our car. From talking to two tire places (both *** ****** and *********) we could have been hurt on the road trip due to the nature of the tires. That really scares me since I took the information from Ron Tonkin Hyundai at face value.

Business Response:

Re: Case# ********,****** ********


Dear Ms. **********,


Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mrs. ****** ********** complaint dated
May 4, 2015.


On April14,2015,Mrs. ****** ******** brought her 2014 Hyundai Elantra with
14,858 miles in for an oil change, tire rotation and manufacturer recall. We believe our Service
Advisor may have spelled Mrs. ********** name incorrectly, making it difficult to find her
information in our system. I apologize for the frustration that Mrs. ******** endured while our
service advisor was trying to find her information.


In addition to the oil change and tire rotation peformed on the Elantra, we also replaced the
sunglass case latch, as it was an open warranty campaign. Additionally, a multi-point inspection is
performed on each vehicle that comes in for service. After inspecting the tire depth, we rotated the
tires so that the best tires were installed in front. Once the
tire rotation was complete, the front tires measured 8/32 on the front and 6/32 on the
rear. The tire pressure for each tire was noted at 34psi. The tire depth and tire pressure were
noted on the multi-point inspection sheet (see Attachment 1).There was no
charge for the oil or open warranty item. We did charge Ms. ******** $14.95 for the tire rotation.

According to ****** ********, they visited ****** ******* in Nebraska on April 21st when their
vehicle had approximately 17,000 miles on it. Mrs. ******** indicated that she asked ******
******* to replace a tire. On the last page of the ****** ******* invoice (see Attachment 2) the
Service Department noted, " Customer states the

passenger rear tire was blown out by a pot hole and needs replaced". ****** ******* recommended
four new tires due to all of them being worn below minimum specifications (3/32nds or less
tread), yet there is no documentation of what the tread depth measurements were. They also
recommended an alignment (uneven road surfaces and pot holes can affect the alignment) as well as a
cabin filter. The customer chose to only replace the one damaged tire.

On May 1,2015,both Mr. & Mrs. ******** came into our Service Department to express their
frustration with receiving conflicting information as well as having to pay for a new tire. Upon
reviewing the paperwork they had from ****** ******* and looking at the odometer at almost 21,000
miles ,our Service Manager, George M*****, decided to measure the tires himself with the customers
present so that the customers could see for themselves what the measurements were. The right front
tire was almost new and looked recently replaced, while the other three tires measuring between
4/32nds and 6/32nds.This is considered "in the yellow", and indicates that tires are still
safe to drive. George explained that if the tires were in need of replacement (less than
3/32nds tread) at approximately 4,000 to 6,000 miles ago, they would have even less tread on them
now, not more.

Mr. & Mrs. ******** asked if the manufacturer warranty would cover the remaining three tires. Our
Service Manager, George M*****, explained that the tires are warrantied by the tire manufacturer
themselves. George suggested that they show the tires to *** ******,(across the street) to
determine if there were any defects in the tires and if the excessive wear would be covered by the
Tire Manufacturer's warranty. Because Mr. and Mrs. ******** indicated they thought we were "giving
them the run around", George showed them Hyundai Warranty Coverage Guide (see attachment 3) that
reads; "Tires- N/A: Warrantied Separately. Warrantied separately by the tire manufacturer.
Hyundai Dealers are requested to assist Hyundai customers by directing them to the nearest tire
retail and service establishment upon request."

Mr. and Mrs. ******** took the vehicle to *** ****** as suggested. Mr. and Mrs. ******** reported
that *** ****** did not understand why our store did not take care of the problem but instead
suggested that the couple visit *** ******. The customers also mentioned that we charged them for
an alignment. After George reviewed the records, he informed them that we didn't align the vehicle
nor did we charge them for it (see Attachment 4). He then reminded the customers that he just
measured the tires in front of them and re-iterated that Hyundai does not warranty the tires, only
the tire manufacturer warranties the tires. Mr. and Mrs. ******** didn't like what George was
telling them so they decided to leave.
Mr. and Mrs. ******** opted to visit ********* **** that same day, May 1, 2015 and replace all four
tires, even though one was recently replaced. George M***** obtained a copy of ***********
inspection sheet (see Attachment 5). *********** document indicates the vehicle had 20,908 miles on
the odometer, two of the tires being over inflated (at 51psi and 45 psi), one tire with a good
amount of tread (shows 7/32nds outer and 8/32nds middle and inner),one tire with tread just at
and above minimum (shows outer 3/32nds-center 5/32nds-inner 4/32nds),two tires being at minimum
(shows outer 2/32nds-center 3/32nds- inner 2/32nds),as well as a notation that three of the wheels
were bent.

In summary, the vehicle was driven 6,050 miles between 4/14/15 and 5/1/15. The tires were checked
and deemed satisfactory on April 14th. Even if the tires had 3/32nds or
less tread on them when in our service department on April 14th, they would show even less tread
than what was on the vehicle 6,050 miles later. Many factors can contribute
to tires wearing un-evenly and/or prematurely. Bent wheels, tires over-inflated or under-inflated,
and a vehicle out of alignment can affect tire wear. Tires are wearable items that will need to be
replaced in time and are not covered by Hyundai. Tire manufacturer warranties vary but cover
defects in workmanship or materials, not wear or road hazards.


We can understand the customer's confusion due to conflicting recommendations, however, their tires
were not in need of replacement since they measured at 8/32nds and 6/32nds while at our dealership
on April 14, 2015. We realize that it is upsetting and costly to replace tires, unfortunately, they
do wear out depending on road surfaces, driving conditions and miles, but do need to be replaced as
needed.

As the General Manager of Ron Tonkin Hyundai, please know that my staff and I strive to provide
superior service for our customers. We hope that this letter has cleared up any confusion and we
look forward to serving Mr. and Mrs.******** again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to call me if you have any questions. Sincerely,


Brent B******* 

General Manager

Ron Tonkin Hyundai

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

When I called to make an appointment for recall and oil change and alignment I was told that I did not purchase my Hyundai Elantra at from them. The woman I was speaking with gave me attitude and was very abrasive about the matter. I then found my VIN number and she still gave me grief and then decided to schedule me anyways. I was on that phone call for almost an hour as she ignorantly told me I purchased another vehicle.  I told her exactly what the recall postcard said and she acted like I was lying. When I got to the establishment. She told me she had found my information. I again reiterated that I was here for a recall, oil change, alignment, and tire rotation. She informed me of the fee at which time I thought was a bit low but didn’t question it. I waited for a long time and then picked up my vehicle. I asked if everything was ok and she assured me that it was.

I then was driving on the road and hit a bump and the back tire wouldn’t hold air. We called road side assistance and were forced to wait with our car in the parking lot until the office opened in the morning. Thus we missed staying in a hotel and were forced to make a 12 hour detour. I asked ****** Hyundai if the tire was fixable so we could journey on our way. She told me that we would have to at least replace the bad tire. She informed me that all tires should be replaced, we asked why so soon we just got this vehicle less than a year ago. She told me that we would have to bring this up with our dealership back home that 16,898 mileage should not have to all be replaced. She said their maybe a warranty since the tires are not close to their prime.

We went to the dealership and spoke to the service manager. He said that the tires were still ok that we were not in need of replacement tires as of yet. He said they should have a warranty but they do not take care of that. We have to go to a tire manufacturer. So two different answers from Hyundai about what to do about the tires. Then we went to *** ****** and they informed us that the tires had bulges and were in the unfit category for driving. At any minute these tires could have blown out on us.  He also stated that there had not be an alignment either and that also could have caused some of the problem. So we went back to the dealership. Explained what was said by *** ******* That they didn’t have a warranty, our car had not received an alignment in the beginning. So I checked my paper work and the service woman failed to complete that before we left on vacation even though I asked for it to be done. At this point we have heard all sorts of things from Hyundai about our car about what has or has not been done to the car. We have been given the run around and treated disrespectfully. The service department failed us. In the end trying to be arrogant he measures the good tire that was replaced and says you’re good to go. We were appalled about the level of honor and respect that we were given at this establishment.

In the end we were told that the tire had to be replaced at ****** Hyundai that it could not be fixed and really all should be replaced.  After all this I feel as though I was treated so badly I started to cry. I was trying to make the best of our trip and we were just fed lies and misunderstanding. Worst of all is how we were treated at the Ron Tonkin dealership. Clearly on the paperwork they gave us before we left they said our tires had no uneven wear which clearly was a lie, and they continued to tell us the same thing when we got back. I was told I was going to get an alignment, which in the end I did not receive. I was told my tires were still good when we got back (after being told otherwise from another Hyundai dealership) which *** ****** said were not. I am amazed at the lack of honesty and willingness to assist or make right the situation from Ron Tonkin Hyundai.


Sincerely,

****** ********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I submitted those documents in support of my claim. In addition they did not do a alignment like they stated they would. They gave mixed information through the dealerships and disrespected me and my husband. Due to their negligence they caused a serious situation while on a trip and loss of time and money for us. We have purchased several cars from Tonkin and feel that this is the most disrespectful thing that has happened to us. Also We were told several times by the dealership in Gresham that our tires were fine even after we got back!  We took the car to a tire vender and they stated that the tires had buldges in them and the tread was  on the brink of a blow out. The tires were not even a year old. They told us to go somewhere else and it was not their problem to deal with tires. It was a new car.... no spare tire. We were forced to wait in our car for over 10 hrs til the dealership opened to get a our tire looked at! They didn't even remember we purchased the car at the service department how can we trust that their records are even accurate.  So to do what they did and mistakenly do a tire rotation instead of a alignment like they should have. I am disappointed in the lack of customer service provided in this situation. The dealership did not even try to reach out to us to see how we were doing. We were the victims of poor work and customer service that resulted in a troubling situation.

Sincerely,

****** ********

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom it may concern, We are very dissatisfied with the lack of customer service we have had on our Hyundai. The biggest reason for purchasing a Hyundai was for the great warranty offer. Receiving the benefits of the warranty though has been a great hassle. We have brought our van in on different occasions due to abnormal sounds that it was making. We were told they could not find anything wrong with it or that they did not hear the sound. The van has now been rattling for 40k miles. Also, we brought our van in due to a shaking and knocking sound. ****** from Hyundai told us we needed to get new tires even though we had just gotten new tires put on. We then brought our van into a private mechanic (*************) to get a second opinion. There we were told that it was the axle which should be covered under warranty. We then went back to Hyundai. ****** swore on his children's lives that it was not the axle. We then had the private mechanic(**** from *************) personally call ****** to tell him how to test the axle. **** had my husband sit in the driver seat while the van was lifted up. The whole van shook and really freaked out my husband. Through ****, ****** at that point finally concluded that it was the axle. He must not value is children's lives much. Just recently before the 100k miles, we ended up having to bring our van back in due to it shaking again. ****** has denied us again of any warranty coverage. The lack of integrity in ****** really gives a bad reputation for Hyundai and what they represent. Our next vehicle probably wont be a Hyundai if we cant get this resolved. Sincerely, ***** and ****** ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/09/03) */ Please consider this our response to claim# XXXXXXXX placed by ***** and ****** ******. *** and **** ****** have been bringing their Hyundai Entourage in to *** ****** Hyundai since December of 2008. In that time, they have received $4662.19 in factory warranty repairs, 8 oil changes at no-charge, and have paid a total of $350.30 in customer paid repairs. In regards to the rattling that appears to be the main concern; at 62,519 miles in 7/2011, the vehicle was brought in and found that it had an extensively low oil level, and what oil there was; was dirty. We replaced the oil, and the noise resolved. At 64,325 miles in 9/2011, a rattle was experienced when the AC was on. The air conditioner was out of factory warranty at that point. Due to our relationship with the manufacturer, and our District Service Manager, we were able to obtain a "Good-Will" warranty repair, and an AC Compressor was replaced, which resolved the noise. At 73,120 miles in 2/2012, a vibration/shake was noted. Our technician verified this; and ordered a right axle, and the repair was covered by the Powertrain Warranty when the part came in, at 74,009 miles, later in February. The technician noted the left axle boot was leaking, and it was also replaced under warranty. At 78,828 miles in 5/2012, the customer stated they were noticing a vibration when driving, and the left axle assembly was replaced under warranty. We are unable to; and never will, make any repairs based on another shop or mechanic's opinion, without visually confirming the diagnosis, ourselves. Regarding the statement; "****** had my husband sit in the driver seat while the van was lifted up." This is completely impossible, as for obvious safety reasons, our insurance would prohibit us from such an act, as well as it being careless, and blatantly against any and all Tonkin safety expectations and policies. No one is EVER allowed in a vehicle when the vehicle is on a hoist. With regard to the final statement about the van's shaking at its most recent visit, at 99,043 miles on 6/26/13: It had been 25,036 miles since the last oil change was performed on the vehicle. Factory recommended oil changes are every 3,000 miles and or 3 months. The Hyundai Entourage holds 5.5 quarts of oil. The ********* vehicle had less than 2 quarts of oil in the engine. What was drained was thick, black, sludgy and thick with debris. Additionally, the oil filter fell apart when removed. In this case; it is inevitable that pieces of debris have circulated through the engine, causing the fault codes we found, and the poor engine performance. The Hyundai Warranty Policy & Procedure manual clearly states: a void in the warranty will occur from a result of: "Damage or failure resulting from: -Negligence of proper maintenance as required in the Owner's Manual, ... Use of improper or insufficient fuel, fluids or lubricants, Use of parts other than Hyundai Genuine Parts or parts of equivalent quality and design." Additionally, the manual also states: Owner's Responsibilities: "Proper use, maintenance and care of the vehicle in accordance with the instructions contained in the Owner's Handbook and Owner's Manual. Retain maintenance service records. It may be necessary for the customer to show that the required maintenance has been performed, as specified in the Owner's Manual." With the factory recommended maintenance schedule in mind, the ******'s' van history shows an average of 8,436 miles and 4.8 months between oil changes, and they declined all recommended, incremental maintenance services. Due to the broad span of time in between oil changes, it is likely that any performance issues are a result of a lack of proper maintenance. With this in mind, the customer was advised to have, and pay for, an oil flush in the hopes that the collection of bits of debris in the engine would flush out. The customer was advised that additional parts and labor would be required to repair the vehicle. Due to what appears to be customer negligence the customer would need to authorize an engine tear-down to determine what repairs are necessary and if it would be a warrantable repair or not. We advised the customer to return in 700 miles after the last visit and have us flush the engine oil again, as that is the most cost-effective form of repair at this time.