BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Tonkin Gresham Honda

Phone: (503) 667-7077 View Additional Phone Numbers 24999 SE Stark St, Troutdale, OR 97060 http://www.tonkingreshamhonda.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Tonkin Gresham Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Tonkin Gresham Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ron Tonkin Gresham Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 1994 Business started: 09/08/1994 Business started locally: 09/08/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Business Management
Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Ms. Lisa Nichols, Complaint Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Complaint
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
B & E Import Co Inc Gresham Honda

Additional Locations

  • 24999 SE Stark St

    Troutdale, OR 97060 (800) 848-1813

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/30/15 I took my car for diagnostic to this dealership because I thought maybe a previously recalled part was failing again and would be under warranty. After having my car for over 90 minutes I was informed that my alternator and starter were bad. I was surprised because I replaced the alternator in the previous month and there were no indicator lights or malfunction to indicate that. When I left the dealer ship- immediately many dash lights came on. I was on my way to work so I kept going. On the way home my car suddenly died, in a dangerous area on the freeway entrance of I84 at 181st. I called for a friend to come pick me up. It was after 8pm and dark. I intended to get the replacement alternator in the A.M. and retrieve my car. The next morning- I arrived at the I84 entrance to find my car was gone. I thought it had been stolen, but learned that it was towed by ODOT 20 minutes after I broke down-because of the dangerous spot it was in. Upon inspection of the car at the tow company, I found a connection to the alternator was completely loose. I tightened it and the car started right up. The lights on the dash went away. I had my alternator tested that day and it was fine! I do need a starter however- this was not caused by that issue and I continue to be able to drive my car since I tightened the connection.

Desired Settlement: I contacted the dealership and spoke to ** ******. he asked how I wanted the situation handled. I asked for reimbursement of the towing charges- $202.00 He said OK and asked for a copy of the towing receipt, which I promptly emailed to him. Today I was told that I will only be receiving half of the cost of the towing charges. they said they would not assume full responsibility because it is an old car and because I replaced the alternator myself. My car was running fine until I took it to them for diagnostic. There were no dash lights on until AFTER they handled my alternator. Once I tightened the loosened cable- the car ran and continues to run fine. I want full reimbursement of the towing charges.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *********

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tonkin Gresham Honda tried to sell me a $2,380 Catalytic Converter that my car did not need. I trust Tonkin dealerships and have taken my 2003 CRV to Tonkin Honda on SE 122nd for years. We recently moved to Sandy, so I went to their Gresham dealer. When my engine light came on recently, TGH told me that I had 2 problems - 1) I needed to replace a $200 sensor on my transmission and 2) that I needed to replace my Catalytic Converter. I had them replace the transmission sensor and reset the transmission light. While waiting, I checked the Internet and read about 5 signs and symptoms of a worn out Catalytic Converter. My car had none of them, just an engine light that had come on. Two days later, I received my DMV renewal notice. I took my CRV to DEQ where it passed the emissions test with no problems. The technician told me that my Catalytic Converter is in great condition. When I was at the Tonkin Gresham Honda service desk, I overheard a female customer being told that she needed a catalytic converter replacement. She agreed to have it taken care of. That leaves me wondering how often Tonkin Gresham Honda sells Catalytic Converters to unsuspecting customers for $2,000 or more. On the bright side, the customer service is friendly, *** ******* offered to give me a 15% discount bringing the price down to $2,020. Thanks ***, your a nice guy, but you won't see me again. Your service department is unethical.

Desired Settlement: To stop trying to sell Catalytic Converters to people who don't need them.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that their explanation is understandable.


Sincerely,

***** *********

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dealership sold me a used car that is in complete disrepair. the check engine light has come on 5 times, i bought the car 32 days ago, they fixed the O2 sensor, which was supposedly the problem, but the light just came back on. the engine is burning oil at an extremely high rate, spewing blue/gray smoke out until the engine is warmed up. the dealership/salesmen refused to do anything except offered me a trade (but i'd have to pay $250) for a WORSE condition vehicle, and then bullied me out of the dealership. one salesman even told me that they don't even look in the engine area to make sure it's a safe vehicle before they sell trade-ins. before i declined the horrible offer, the guy said, "we shouldn't have sold that car to anyone, it's unsafe."

Desired Settlement: i would like most (prefer all) of my money back. I spent close to $6,000 in cash.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/08/29) */ Better Business Bureau Attn: ****************** PO Box 1000 DuPont, WA 98327 August 23, 2014 Re: Case ********, *************** **************: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to ************* concern regarding her vehicle. Tonkin Gresham Honda received an inquiry from ******* with concerns related to the used vehicle she purchased from our dealership. She actually really loved car but was concerned that this car was going through more oil than she felt was normal for a CRV of its year and mileage. Our Used Car manager, ***************** worked immediately with ******* to set an appointment at her convenience to come to the store so our Service Department could run a complete diagnosis of the oil consumption. The Service Director, **************** ran diagnostics to find that the oil consumption ******* was experiencing was absolutely in line for a vehicle of its age. At this time, ******* had expressed that she was not fully comfortable with having to worry about monitoring the oil and having to occasionally top it off. As a good faith gesture and for ************* complete satisfaction, Gresham Honda offered ******* an opportunity to select another car at her choice that would her needs. In the end, we had several vehicles for her to choose from and she selected a minivan that she was excited about and felt would accommodate her family. Tonkin Gresham Honda made a follow-up call to ******* on August 19, 2014 to make sure she was happy. *********** assured us that she was happy with her decision to exchange the CRV for the Minivan and also confirmed that she was pleased with our allowing her the opportunity to do so. On August 19, 2014, *********** also sent an email to our store confirming her satisfaction. She told us that she was very grateful for us listening to her and allowing her to get the minivan she is now enjoying. We value *********** as a Tonkin customer and look forward to serving her in the future. If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me. Sincerely, ************ General Manager Ron Tonkin Gresham Honda

2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2007 Honda CERTIFIED CR-V using the no-haggle plan with a ****** membership card (the only reason we went to this particular Honda dealer). It was 5/7/2011. When my husband and I were there they sold us a money-back extended warranty, meaning that after the 4 years we would get all of the money back, minus a lifetime oil change fee, if no work ever happened on the car. I do not purchase warranties as I mostly think they are a waste of money but this seemed like a way to protect us with a used car and only lose the $2,000 for 4 years...actually it was written into the loan, so we are paying interest on it. BOTH the sales person, ***** **** AND the finance person, ****** ************ who is now the general manager, explained to us that we would get our money back and it was like putting this $2,000 into a type of savings account for reassurance on anything that may go wrong with the car. My husband and I asked them to explain it to us multiple times as we are very wary of scams. They NEVER said that we would get $2,000 back if we traded in the vehicle before the warranty expired, which is what they are claiming. I don't buy cars to trade in. I buy cars for the long haul. On top of all of this, they could never explain to me why they sold me a 4-year warranty when I bought a certified Honda which is covered for the first 2 years anyway. The car had over 75k miles on it when we bought it and they are claiming that it's not certified. I have documents from Honda saying it is certified. There is just something not right with the entire transaction. I have gone in to see them and talked to them in person, specifically ****** ************ I have also exchanged many emails and I always allow enough time to pass before re-emailing them. The last email exchange with ****** was in November and he said he'd get right back to me and I'm still waiting. I am frustrated enough to take this to the BBB.

Desired Settlement: After our extended warranty expires on 5/07/2015 I would like to see my full refund of warranty minus the lifetime oil change. Just want what they promised us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/24) */ On 1/23/2014, the General Manager, ***** ****** had a lengthy conversation with ******* ****** regarding the extended warranty and the policy of canceling and/or the possibility of getting funds for never using the extended warranty. After reviewing the deal originated on May 7,2011, the extended warranty does not expire until May 7, 2015 and there is no agreement in the deal regarding reimbursing any funds to the customer. ***** had explained to ******* that the Tonkin group used to have a form and a policy to where a guaranteed 100% return of funds from a purchased Service Contract can be applied (only if there are no claims against it) to the purchase of another "Service Contract" if the customer decide to trade-in their original vehicle. The form and this policy is no longer in place and has not been in place for the past 4-5 years. However, being since there was confusion concerning this issue, ***** had informed ******* that we will honor the now obsolete Tonkin policy of the 100% return of funds in the amount of $2300 that can apply towards another service contract (if there are no claims against her current service contract) if she decides to trade her vehicle in with the purchase of a Service Contract. Also, ****** Gresham Honda has verified that her vehicle is Certified. The certification was a concern of *******'s. A PDF file is attached with email exchanges between ***** ****** and ******* verifying their conversation and resolution in the matter. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Toyota 4Runner in December of the last year at Gresham Honda and feel like I have been unfairly taken advantage of. They gave me a trade in of aproximately $7000 for my Armada and I payed $14,500 for the 4Runner. From the very begining I was having problems with the breaks and the used sales Manager told me to bring it back in and they will get it fixed. I took it back and the shop test drove and could not feel what I felt with the brakes. I brought it back the second time and the salesman ***** ******* that sold me the 4runner, drove it and could not feel anything. At that time **** ******* (first saleman) said he felt bad and did not want me unhappy and if I wasn't in a hurry he would look for exactly what I wanted and give me an even trade because he didn't want me unhappy. I call a month or so later to check in and he was no longer at that Ron Tonkin. At this time they set me up with salesman **** that basically said that he was sorry for whatever **** told me, but that **** did me no favors and they could not repair my vehicle and could only give me a trade in of $9200 (my loan amount) for a vehicle that they had sold me just 4 months prior for $14,500. From Dec to April not only did the breaks never work properly, but the front headlamp and front right signal showed signs of moisture shortly after driving off the lot causing issues with the electrical system. They mentioned leasing and I went home and a couple hours later they called me back and said they could help me out by getting me a CRV for under what they sale for at $23,000. I went in and they did get me into a lease. They not only explained that the price difference they told me of $23,000 to what they sold it to me for was $24,926.47 was due to certain add-ons that came on the vehicle (basic model that I added nothing), the salesman quoted me any miles over 12,000 would cost me .03 per mile, but the contract states .15 per mile, and they kept $500 rebate. All in all, I was told an even trade would be made and clearly was not.

Desired Settlement: I would like excessive mileage to be .03 per mile over 12,000 miles. the cost difference between what they gave me of $9200 to the price of the 4runner of $14,500 like stated and the price difference of what they said they would sale me the car for of $23,000 to what I paid of $24,926.47 at a total of $7226.47

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/19) */ On 4/03/2013, **** came to Tonkin Gresham Honda to lease a 2013 Honda CRV. She had prior discussion with ****** ************ (New Car Sales Manager) regarding her prior experience and what he could do for her now by turning the Toyota 4runner in and proceeding with a Honda lease. She arrived with her daughter that evening. She and her daughter dealt with **** ******** a sales person at Tonkin Gresham Honda. **** had shown them colors to choose from on our lot. They agreed to pick the Kona Coffee color. She had requested to have a different Finance Manager do the paperwork this time. We granted her request by having our back-up Finance Manager do her paperwork. After the paperwork was completed, ****** had personally asked her if she felt we did a great job this time. Her words were ''I feel a lot better this time''. After reviewing the **** ***** deal dated March 3, 2013 for the lease of a 2013 Honda CRV with the trade - in of the 2004 Toyota 4Runner, the Honda Vehicle Lease agreement states the mileage perimeters in the middle of the contract titled EXCESS WEAR AND USE. **** ***** signed the contract accepting these terms. There is nowhere in the documentation of the deal states a .03 per mile agreement. The pricing of the vehicle in the complaint of **** ***** is incorrect. The correct sale price of the vehicle was $24,331.47 of which an additional $595 administration fee is added to the Capitalized cost making the Gross Capitalized Cost $24,926.47. The vehicle came equipped with dealership items installed and sold WITH these items disclosed on an Internal Due form and was also signed by **** *****. However, Tonkin Gresham Honda will contribute one free Spring Carwash and the first oil change complimentary on us. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 53, 2013/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please see previous emails. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday - BBB Closed Final Business Response /* (1000, 51, 2013/12/19) */ We recognize the fact that **** is not happy with her vehicle purchase transaction at Tonkin Gresham Honda and are sorry for her regrets of this transaction. However during this vehicle purchase transaction, we have multiple signatures on fully disclosed documents that show **** was in agreement with her purchase and trade in at the time she took delivery of her vehicle. If **** was not in agreement, she would not have accepted the terms on the new vehicle purchase. Addressing the last few points of the BBB complaint that were in question, we provided **** an alternative remedy from her initial first purchase at Gresham Honda by taking that vehicle in on trade and getting her into a vehicle that she liked. Therefore, with this complaint and closure of this case Tonkin Gresham Honda will offer **** 2 Spring car washes and 2 free oil change services.

12/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Kia Optima EX. Some of the features the dealership listed that it was suppose to have but doesn't is HID headlamps, Technology package - premium sound system. My compalint is the missing options I paid for and didnt get. I recognized driving the car home that night from the dealer the lights didn't look as bright as HID. When I got home I checked and I saw one of the headlights was burnt out. But the one that worked didn't look like HID's. After replacing the bulb and seeing it was a H11b (halogen) bulb. I knew they were not HID! HID's use (Xenon) bulbs. I didn't really try out the stereo on our short test drive with the salesman in the back and we were all talking. After purchasing and driving home by myself and cranked up the sound and were totally disappointed in the sound quality. After getting home and doing some research, I discovered the car has the base plain stereo system, and not the "premium sound system" which is a "infinity 8 speaker" system. Also, after doing more research, the Technology package not only has the infinity 8 speaker sound system, BUT it also has Navigation and rear camera. The car has none of these features. I still have the copy of the kbb they gave me that they used to value the cars value, and it has HID, premium sound, and Technology package. I also have saved a copy of there internet sales ad. Im not an attorney, but I believe this is considered fraudulent. So I basically purchased a car that isn't worth as much as they claimed because its missing these features. The Technology package alone is a $2200.00 dealer upgrade option. I sent a email mentioning about this along with the burnt our headlamp. The salesman responded to the headlamp to get replaced, but ignored the rest. I paid for a $2200 factory upgrade package that isn't on the car. I paid for HID that isn't on the car. I paid for premium sound and got a stereo that sounds like ****.

Desired Settlement: Im willing to let the HID headlamps go. But not the sound system. That was a selling feature to me. Either have a Kia dealer of my choice installed the missing Technology package. Or refund me $2200.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/10/24) */ This email is to confirm our many telephone conversations regarding our Customer *** ***** ******. In conclusion as we discussed via phone. I have personally spoke with ***** and by way of good faith to assure his satisfaction, I have authorized a total of $400.00 in additional upgrades to his Headlights, and an upgrade to his stereo system to gain back his satisfaction. I am also pleased to learn that ***** replied to you at the BBB as I requested to let you know the same. Thanks for now closing this file.. Have a great day today, and I appreciate your assistance on this matter. Best regards.. ***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 46, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We agreed to replace my stereo system with a compariable system that was suppose to have been sold with the car. There were talking or anything of being said of being low balled of $300 to replace a $2200 system. Not to mention the Car Stero place they set me up with gouged the prices BIG TIME. I took the $300 credit because I knew that was all I was going to get from these guys. They have proven there lack of integrity and I am tired of dealing with these dishonest people. I have spent $1700 out of my own pocket just for 4 speakers, and amp, and a Headunit that is comparible to the Hi Tech Infinity system that they sold the car to have but DID NOT. I will be sure to let everyone I know NOT TO DO BUSINESS with RON TONKIN of GRESHAM. Final Business Response /* (1000, 44, 2013/12/06) */ At this point this is here-say. Tonkin Gresham Honda had spoken with *** ****** and he had accepted our offer which is why we had spent the $300. There is no written agreement concerning this. We did what we had promised him.

1/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues