BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated: 10/06/1987 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert McGrain, President Mr. Robert McGrain Jr, Sales Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert McGrain, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Beaverton Dodge Bee Rent A Car Bryan Bickmore Dodge Inc Northwest Jeep Inc

Additional Locations

  • 10600 SW Canyon Rd

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 646-5111

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PURCHASED A 2014 DODGE AVENGER ON 10/16/2014 WITH 5470 MILES ON IT. I WAS TOLD I WAS THE FIRST BUYER OF THE CAR, IT HAD BEEN ONE OF THE DEALERSHIPS RENTAL CARS. I ALSO PRCHASED A EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THE CAR TO 100,00 MILES. ON SATURDAY I GOT A FLAT TIRE DUE TO ROAD HAZARD (NAIL) MY TIRE CANT BE REPAIRED. I WENT TO ******** BECAUSE THATS THE MAKER OF TIRES. THEY TOLD ME THEY DO COME WITH 10,000 MILE ROAD HAZARD WARRANTY FOR NEW CARS BUT YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THEY DONT GIVE THE BUYERS OF THE CARS THEY USED FOR RENTALS THE MANUFACTURED WARRANTIES, SO I NEED TO BUY A NEW TIRE FROM THEM AT THE COST OD $247. I SAID THAT IS NOT TRUE I GET ALL THE WARRANTIES AND HE JUST TOLD ME SORRY HE CANT HELP ME AND HUNG UP. SO I CALLED SALES MANAGER AND HE SAID HE KNOWS NOTHING OF SERVICE AND TRANSFERED ME TO A SERVICE MANAGERS VOICE MAIL WHERE I HAVE LEFT SEVERAL MESSAGES AND HAVE HEARD NOTHING.

Desired Settlement: I JUST WANT MY 1 TIRE REPLACED

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/10) */ Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge RAM has spoken to Miss **** and have already replaced her tire prior to the case open date. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/13) */ my complaint has been resolved. They replaced my tire. When I told them I filed a BBB complaint. *****

11/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife responded to an ad for a vehicle. **** a salesman, called in response and after a few exchanges of voicemails, I spoke with him. I explained to *** that we had a car in mind and were likely picking it up the next day. He told me, "since this is the end of the month, my manager has made it clear that no reasonable offer will be refused... So we can hit our goals." Clearly, this is a common line, but he promised to call me the next morning by 10 AM with the details of the vehicle since he was out of the office as we spoke. He was clear that he had a better deal than what I had explained to him. The next morning, I didn't hear from him, so I sent a text message as we agreed. He directed me to his colleague, ****. **** called and left me a message, then we spoke by phone. I explained exactly what I wanted and he said he could meet my request. He urged me to go to their website and file a credit application, though I already have an approval through my credit union, claiming he could get a better rate and get the process started in advance. I had let him know I wasn't willing to buy the car at the advertised price, just as I had with ***. Both assured me they could beat the price and that we'd arrange something for me by the end of work. Now, I have dealt with many car dealers. I have bought several cars. This is my first complaint. The reason I'm complaining is this: Though I filed my credit application at 12 PM, **** did not get back to me. I messaged *** to see what is going on after I messaged ****. Then **** replied to say "Great!" Hours later, no response. Finally, after 6 PM, I got a voicemail as I ate dinner. I sent **** the requested information even though it was mandatory on the credit application I completed online. Then, a bit later, he messaged me, again, asking for the same information! At this point, my wife was getting quite nervous and me, too. As of 9 PM, **** had ignored my text messages and phone calls, as did ***. I can assume they sold the car, but to handle someone's personal information in this fashion is absolutely unacceptable. Like I said, this is my first complaint regarding any dealership and I have dealt with truly dishonest people-I consider it part of the deal. But this is the first time someone, let alone two representatives from one company, has handled my personal information so carelessly.

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with the owner of the business to be certain this matter is taken seriously.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/21) */ Mr. ******** filled out a credit application online on the last day of the month. Our traffic increased in the afternoon and evening resulting in 17 sold vehicles. Our staff spoke to Mr. ******** the next day and informed him that the vehicle was still available for sale, and did not share his personal information with any person, institution, or company. As a company, we take very seriously customer's credit and personal information. We do not share customer's information without their consent. We apologized for not getting in touch with him earlier in the day. Mr. ******** ended up purchasing the vehicle that he was interested in buying and told us that he would go online and update the review regarding Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge.

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a 2006 MAZDA6 through NWjeep in april 2014 On September 10 the transmission died (drive shaft seperated completely from transmission. I had it towed back to their service department and they told me to take it to ******************* service in beaverton told me they dont work on Mazda's. Technicians there diagnosed the problem stating the drive shaft came off and damaged the transmission. They said that there were issues for a long time more than likely before i even bought it. I had a 90 day warranty as well as a buy as is. I realize there is not much i can do legally for compensation. i am aggravated that they sell inferior quality products. I went to talk to *** ***** (used car sales man at NW jeep on September 11, 2014. I asked if you could at least consider reembursing me for the diagnostics fee at mazda. he was rude in the way he handled it. saying that here is nothing he can do about it. i said I would contact the BBB and he said "so what"

Desired Settlement: I know i will probably get nothing but i would like to have the diagnostic fee of $138 and towing fee of $110. Mostly i want them reprimanded for selling inferior products to avoid this from happening to others.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/29) */ The Mazda 6 had over 96,000 miles on it at the time of delivery. Our company had offered an extended warranty on the Mazda, however the customer declined. The 90 day warranty had expired prior to the customer coming in to speak about his transmission. With that amount of miles it is difficult to forsee any problems mechanically with a vehicle. In regards to the customer's desired resolution, we recognize that we are not legally obligated to pay for any of Mr. *********'s charges, however as a gesture of customer good will, Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge will reimburse him for the diagnostic fee and the towing bill, equalling $248.

5/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It was a pleasure meeting you Friday. I was very pleased with the Jeep we looked at. Unfortunately, when it came to discussion about the financing, you continued to insist that you would have to run a credit check to do financing, even though had brought an approved bank check that I only had to write the amount of the vehicle on. The reason you gave for having to check my credit to see if I was on a "Terrorist Watch List" just a pretext to push a loan through your dealership. I have contacted made the authorities aware of your "Terrorist Watch List" pretext. They said that they will look into you and your dealership. I have also contacted************, who issued the bank check, and informed them that you would not accept their check, and you stated that your dealership has had problems getting the money from ***** and that you were pushing a loan through Northwest Jeep. I have put 20 years of my life defending the Constitution of the United States in both the Military and Civilian sector, I felt insulted by your dealership when you asked to run my credit report to see if I am was on a Terrorist Watch List. I have clearance to work for officials in the White House and any port here in the United States, but I can't buy a car from your dealership without you running my credit to verify a "Terrorist Watch List." Which a credit report will not show anyway.

Desired Settlement: Accept the check that I have from *********** for the vehicle I test drove the day this all went down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/05/19) */ N.W.Jeep offered Mr. ********* several different options never stating we would not except a******** *** check. Mr.********* was unwilling to provide us any information about himself other than a Florida drivers license. There were several hurdles we needed to overcome to try to complete the transaction and he was unwilling to make any effort in resolving these concerns. Negotiations on the said vehicle were never completed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is them trying to misdirect they salesman wording of why they have to run a credit check. "To Verify I am not on the Terrorist Watch List". This along with the reason for not accepting my *********** check "It takes to long to get the money." The only information that I did not give them was my SSN, they had everything else they need to run the checks that they needed to run. When someone keeps asking you to fill out the credit application you tend to get a feeling that they are a push towards there benefit and not yours. Which is what they are trying. One would have to question this. This is a totally unprofessional car dealership. I have gone to other dealerships and have been treated total opposite from this dealer. I would not recommend this dealership to anyone. This compliant can be closed. I have moved on.

12/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new truck from the dealership. While signing the papers there was a charge added to the contract for Secure Etching. I asked the Finance manager why it was on there? I didn't want the service, and not to charge for the $399.00. Bill stated I had no choice it was on the truck and the Dealer installs it per their insurance policy. The charge is what they pay so there just recovering the cost. I still argued the point and was told if I didn't want it he couldn't sell me the truck. I just spent four hours working a deal on the truck I wanted. He was very stern about not selling it to me if I didn't pay the 399.00 I didn't want to argue to the point and loose the truck. I figured I could get a refund or talk to his manager later. However I have been given the run around about this problem.

Desired Settlement: refund the $399.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/12/19) */ Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge RAM is discussing solution with the customer. We are willing to refund entire ($399) for etch. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2013/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Once the upper management found out about the complaint it was handled very quickly and professional.

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe this complaint goes in multiple categories, (including bad bus practices, failure to reply to customers, ethics, etc) Placed here to best serve the public. On 05.13.13 I was notified that Northwest Jeep Inc ****** ** ****** **** Beaverton, OR 97005, ************* hard pulled my credit on 05.11.13 through Equifax directly, not from the dealership. I purchased a car from them sometime in early 2000 but had not been back since to purchase. We tried contacting the dealership multiple times over a period of the next couple of weeks. The finance adviser, ***** *** indicated that it did happen and laughed about it being a silly mistake and there was nothing to do about it. We were not satisfied and pushed to speak to the owner or manager. The *** ** said he would have that individual call. Neither called back. We were able to look up the manager as ****** (***) *******. We left several messages for him it was not until the week of the 27th of May that he returned any calls. He indicated that he did not want to return our calls until he had all the information about the issue. We let him know that it does not take 2 weeks to get that information and it should have been the appropriate course to call and let us know that immediately. He did not apologize. Then he went on to say that he was sorry that the credit was pulled and it was an error. We asked what he had learned in the last two weeks and he said that was it. Thoroughly disappointed I said that we were not pleased but didn't want to ruin our relationship. He said he would call back with more information. We called almost every day and would get random responses back indicating that we should call him back or that he was going to be unavailable for a week because he was going out of town. He does not return calls promptly, does not handle issues well, does not have compassion. Most recently he said that he wanted to provide a service credit to retain relationships and that we were supposed to call. We have called every other day since that time and have had no response. Our complaint is against, the person who pulled the credit (unknown but assumed to be ***** **** Northwest Jeep, Inc, and ****** ******* (owner and manager)

Desired Settlement: 1. A full letter indicating what happened and why the credit report was pulled without permission, who pulled the report, what is being done so that this does not happen to other parties, signed by the owner/manager. 2. We do want the hard pull on the credit report to be removed. 3. Fullest sanctions possible against NW Jeep and individuals involved. 4. Damages or reparations. (Manager indicated willingness to provide by never followed through with details.)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/09/09) */ From: ****** ** ******* (mailto:********@nwjeep.com) Sent: Monday, September 09, 2013 9:37 AM To: ****** ***** Subject: case #XXXXXXX This is my 3rd response to this complaint. Hopefully you will receive this and act accordingly. Bo and ******** ****** had purchased vehicles and had them serviced here prior to this visit. As such, we had credit information on file on both of them. At write-up ***** information was entered, however, the credit information on ******** came up. Our Sales Manager who is responsible for obtaining credit bureau information mistakenly ran her bureau report. He realized his mistake and should have advised *** ****** but did not. I have spoken to *** ****** ( he did not want me to talk to his mother ), apologized for the mistake and had reached a resolution to the mistake. Later, I got the complaint from the BBB. As I previously stated, this is my 3rd response. We have reviewed our process for obtaining credit information so that this does not happen again. As previously stated, I had offered to *** ****** a maintenance agreement on his mother's vehicle. He said he would check with her and get back to me. I have heard nothing until your correspondence. Please advise me of your receipt of this response and of any additional action you feel is necessary. *** ******* Northwest Jeep Chrysler Dodge Sprinter Inc. www.nwjeep.com ********@nwjeep.com direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 29, 2013/11/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this would not resolve the entirety of the complaint and the requested resolution. At this point it has been 4 months (just shy) of going through this process. NW Jeep has created a history of non responsiveness and using the timelines of BBB to it's advantage. In four months, there should be much more completed resolutions than a request for SSN-- especially from a 5star Company and a A rated BBB company. No other requests have been addressed. I respectfully do not accept the response and respectfully request a formal judgement. Final Business Response /* (1010, 27, 2013/10/21) */ In order to remove ******** ******* information from the Credit Bureau, they are requesting we submit her social security number and address. At this point we are requesting this information from *** ******.

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from n.w. jeep and being from redmond oregon I was making decisions quickly. I forgot to check if the a/c unit was working. It was not until the heat hit that I first tried the system and it was obviously not working. I took it to my mecanic hoping that it just needed freon. He said it was full and he suspected that it was an internal door that was not opening fully. Of coarse to get to the door involved tearing apart the entire dash which was estimated at 6 hours of labor.I then had my wife ****** contact the dealership to see what we could negotiate. This was going to be about a 400 dollar problem and we both feel strongly that the unit was not working at the time of purchase. ****** first spoke to a sales manager *** whom was pleasant and seemed happy to help. He said he would check with the inspection report and call me back. five days go by, no phone call back. ****** left a message and 3 days go by, no phone call back. Feeling frustrated by the customer service or lackthere of she called again. This time, *** was not so pleasant and eager to help. He said that he looked at the inspection report and said the unit was in working order that we were wrong. I explained that we had not even turned it on until the weather turned hot, how could something "break" without touching anything in 5 weeks? He was rude, and unsympathetic to say the least. I suggested when we go to the coast on aug 8th we drop the car by and they could repair it. *** then said and I quote, "how do you expect me to pay for this ******? I have to pay the shop, I cant pay for this" I felt like *** was trying to play stupid,he is in management and could make these decisions if he wanted.What happened to customer service and trying to do the right thing? We had just spent over l6 thousand dollars on a vehicle.****** chose to end the conversation saying that she would have her husband call. **** tried calling immediately after learning how his wife had been talked to. No one in the dealership would allow him to talk to ***. A woman said and I quote " I have been told to tell you that the car has a 60 day warranty and that time has passed" To not even allow **** talk to *** was not only rude, unprofessional and just shocking. We both now have made a promise to never buy a vehicle in Portland again. This would never happen in the Bend/Redmond are. We are completely shocked and dissapointed how a problem is resolved by this dealership. It's they are right, you are wrong, and now we will cut you off and not even accept a phone call from you. The ironic thing is we love our car. friends/family ask where we got it and now because of this unfortunate experience we will encourage our friends and family and friends to stay local, DO NOT go to the valley. Stay Local where dealerships still care!

Desired Settlement: We are forced to get our air conditioning unit fixed costing 400 dollars. We are asking the dealership to reimburse this money to us. We feel strongly that the unit was not in working order at the time of purchase. Regardless of the "60 day warranty" an exception needs to be made. We turned on the unit one week after the 60 days were up. Were asking the dealership to do the right thing and also encourage a refresher course to your staff on customer service. It has made our experience with this dealership very dissapointing

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/09/06) */ Customer purchased 2008 Chrysler 300 with 58,000 on 4/21/13 My initial contact with the customer was in July. She stated that she had purchased the vehicle from NW Jeep and discovered that the A/C was not working properly. She stated the she had her mechanic test for Freon and that was not the problem. She was advised that there was a problem with the blend door and the dash would have to be disassembled for diag. I told her that we inspect all of our vehicles and one of the inspection points is the functionality of the heat and A/C systems etc. I told her that I would do some research and look at the tech's notes and return her call. A day or two may have passed with some phone tag going on. When we she called me or I called her (don't remember) I went over the inspection list and there was no indication of any A/C problems in the UVI. I told her she purchased a vehicle "AS-IS" and stated that I was confident in our inspection process but mistakes can happen. The "Blend Air Door" functions in all temperature ranges, and is not limited to the A/C functioning properly. The customer drove the vehicle for over three months before contacting the dealership. The customer would have experienced no heat or cooling during that timeframe. The customer told me she lived in Redmond and wanted to drop off their 300 on the way to the beach for their vacation. She expected NW Jeep to just "fix" the problem and they would pick the car up on their return. I told her that I cannot have her drop off the vehicle and expect the A/C system to be repaired when I was not aware of the extent of the repairs. I told her that I have to pay a technician to look at the vehicle and diagnose the problem(s). I expressed that there is an expense involved in her request. I told her I was willing to take the time and expense for NW Jeep to look at her vehicle, but I would not guarantee that we would fix A/C with no participation on their part. At this point in the conversation the customer sounded frustrated and angry with me and the dealership. I would not give in to her repeated attempts at a blank check repair, but offered her a service visit to determine the extend of the problem. At that point she said that her husband would call me to resolve their problem. I was at my desk for the next 45 minutes or so expecting a call from her husband. No Calls. I never received a call from either party. I should have made a follow up call to check with the customer but did not. At no time did I say that we have a 60 day return policy or that calls from them should be diverted from me. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2013/09/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well, we can play this game all day long.My husband tried calling within 10 minutes and a person diverted the call not allowing him to talk to the manager.The receptionist said and I quote "I have been instructed to tell you that we have a 60 day warranty on used vehicles and the time has past"I am done with this, I no longer wish to deal with this company that will not own any part whatsoever of this unfortunate situation.We will never recommend this dealership to friends and family. This company had the chance to make a mends by reimbursing the $400 that the repair cost us. Considering we paid almost l7 thousand dollars for the vehicle, you would think that a mere 400. dollars would assure them that we felt treated right.We were not treated right and now we are done.

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service