BBB Accredited Business since

Honda of Fife

Phone: (253) 922-2673 Fax: (253) 922-1754 View Additional Phone Numbers 4301 20th St E, Fife, WA 98424 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hondaoffife.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales as well as service and parts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda of Fife meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda of Fife include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honda of Fife
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1986 Business started: 06/01/1985 Business started locally: 06/01/1985 Business incorporated: 11/21/1988 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Lee, President Mrs. Renee Lee, Vice President Mr. Chris Wolfe, GFM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Lee, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Wolfe, GFM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7:30am - 6pm
Saturday 8am - 5pm
Sunday 8am - 4pm

Service
Monday, Wednesday, Friday 7am - 6pm
Tuesday 7:30am - 6pm
Saturday 8am - 5pm
Sunday 8am - 4pm

Parts
Monday - Friday 7am - 6pm
Saturday 8am - 5pm
Sunday 8am - 4pm
Alternate Business Names
Dean Lee Inc

Additional Locations

  • 4301 20th St E

    Fife, WA 98424 (253) 922-2673 (888) 228-9722 (888) 229-2956 (888) 228-9858

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 228-9722(Phone)
  • (888) 228-9858(Phone)
  • (888) 229-2956(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 19TH 2014 my wife and I decided to purchase a Honda from Honda Of Fife. We had done our homework and went through ****** Auto program to save money off of the MSRP purchase price from Honda Of Fife. (presently being investigated by ****** Auto program for accuracy of discount that Honda of Fife gave us). We test drove several cars and decided on the Honda Accord sedan 4 cylinder. During the negotiating process we spoke to no less than 3 salesman plus ***** the agent from Honda of Fife with the ****** Auto program. Our first salesman was ****** ********* and was helpful up until negotiating price at which time a *** ****** sales manager was brought to the table. I did not want the mud flaps, wheel locks and truck mat @ a cost of $429.00 plus interest over the life of the loan; however, *** and ***** ***** chose not to remove those items because it was a package deal! Myself and *** ****** did agree on a free oil change over 3 years; the first year was au***atically given to all new purchases of a vehicle. Therefore, Honda of Fife would pick up the tab on oil changes on the other two years. (our out the door price was in the low 30,000 dollar range) a negotiating compromise at best for the price tag of this car. Now, enter ***** ***** the lead manager sales rep. who said he was oblivious and irritated to the oil change deal made by his other sales manager ***. ***** ***** did a bait and switch technique by saying he was giving a free oil change package for free when actually he charged my wife and I $385.00 maintenance contract plus tax of $36.19 for a total of $421.19. A total scam job pulled of by ***** *****, manager *** ****** manager and ****** ********* salesman. We do no respect them for this low life style of under handed sale techniques; nor will I tell friends, neighbors, relatives or co-workers to buy from HONDA OF FIFE. Obviously, these so called car salesman need to be reprimanded, retrained or terminated! DO NOT BUY,NEW, USED OR LEASE FROM HONDA OF FIFE!!!!!!!! Product_Or_Service: Honda Accord SDN I4 E 06/19/2014 Order_Number: stock # ****** Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) A full refund of the $421.19 by check or money order etc. sent to my wife and I mailed to our home. A full investigation by the Better Business Bureau Of **** *** (owner) and daughter ****** *** as to the ethics and morale conduct of a business with ill trained sales personal. In addition to, dishonest sales individuals who intentionally exhibited poor sales business practices upon my wife and I while being operated in the state of Washington in a business called HONDA OF Fife.

Business Response: Hello and apologies for the delayed response. As this purchase was made back in June of 2014 it was difficult to gather all of the information and try to recall the memories of the employees involved with this purchase. ****** contacted us and asked to review this purchase paperwork per the customer's request. We provided all of the paperwork and the price was accurate per the ****** guidelines. I have reviewed the documents and found there to be no promise of "free" maintenance even in the preliminary negotiation portion. This product has it's own set of paperwork and pricing. Also, my name is ***** ***** spelled with a "W" just for clarification and I am not the person who contracts the customer. That would be one of our finance managers and they would be the one to discuss the maintenance program. I have tried to contact *** ******* to discuss the events but have not been able to reach him. We try to be fair and resolve issues with customers as is evident with the few number of cases handled by the BBB as well as our success rate in resolving them. Unfortunately, in this case I can't justify refunding any money to this customer unless they wish to cancel the product in which case I would be willing to refund the cost of it less any portion they may have already used. As always, I am happy to discuss this matter further should the customer choose to contact me.



Sincerely,

***** *****
General Sales Manager
************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** **** *******

I just spoke with ***** *****, General Manager of Honda of Fife.  I explained my story how his manger *** ****** and I negotiated   a free oil maintenance change for 3 years to sweeten the deal of the Honda Accord.  However, my wife and I ended paying a total of $421.19 including tax for the free oil change maintenance.  ***** ***** has agreed as of today 3/18/2015 to refund the full amount of $421.19.  He will send my wife and I a copy of the check and deduct it through Honda financing who will deduct the amount from the financing contract.  At this time, we communicated  and I am looking to resolve this situation with ***** ***** and Honda of Fife.

Respectively,

****** *******

************

6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Western Washington Honda Dealers were offering a test drive promotion on May 7th through May 11th of 2014. The promotion was that with a test drive of a new Honda, the dealership would provide a $50 Visa gift card, no purchase necessary or strings attached. I saw this commercial and thought I would call my local dealer to find out if this is something they are participating in. I am in the market for a new vehicle and usually would not choose Honda, but with this attractive offer, I thought I would test drive a Honda. I called the Honda of Tacoma and spoke with a sales person by the name of ***** ******** he said that their dealership is defiantly participating in the offer and he would like to schedule me to come in for the test drive. I came in for the test drive on May 7, 2014 and after the test drive I inquired about the gift card promotion that we discussed over the phone earlier that day, ***** (sales guy) told me that the card will come in the mail, because they ran out. I said to him that the promotion was running May 7th - May 11th and I came in on the first day of the promotion and what would they do for people that will be coming in for the rest of the days?. He took a copy of my drivers license and insurance card, I said ok then if it's in the mail. This sounded very strange because that is not what the commercial stated nor was it what we discussed over the phone. I took his word for it because he provided me with his business card and a copy of the Dealers Permit for Demonstration certificate. I called the following week to find out when the Visa card would be in the mail and spoke with the Sales Manager by the name of ***** *****, he apologized and said that he personally called the marketing department to have them send the card in the mail. To this day I have never received anything in the mail. Both the sales guy and manager were lying to me over the phone and to my face. I don't appreciate being treated this way, especially after I spent my time, gas going there for a lie.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to receive the $50 Visa gift card I was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/04) */ My name is ***** ***** and I am the general sales manager at Honda of Fife. I am in possession of this customer's gift card. I have made several attempts to contact the customer at the phone number they provided us but the message says "the person you have called is unavailable right now. Please try your call again later." I need to verify their address because the way this card is set up, anyone could get it and activate it. If the customer could call me to verify delivery I would love to get this off my desk. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The sales man and manager both have a copy of the Dealers Permit for Demonstration certificate, which has all of my information on it. There is no reason to question what the address should be. According to the law in Washington State, the address has to be correct on the drivers license. This business is just wanting to ignore doing the right thing by mailing out the gift card. I will not be satisfied, until I receive this gift card in the mail. I have also attached a copy of the Dealers Permit for Demonstration certificate, to this complaint. I am not playing anymore games with this unprofessional business. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ The customer left me a message after my last response giving me permission to mail the card and login information. I did so immediately to the address given. Hopefully this puts an end to the customer's concerns and they can buy something very nice with their $50. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honda of fife said that my trade in would be paid in full with no role over to the next used car I purchased. Honda of fife did not honor this and slipped in a $1700 role over into the used car I picked up from Honda of fife. I was told that the pay off was a little off and needed to pay the difference. I did this with two checks adding to $350.00. When I went to make my first payment is when I realized what had been done. The car that I purchased is now way over priced and a large amount of service needs to be done that should have been given to us if the vehicle had been inspected. I have called and talked to manager and he said nothing could be done.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like to ether have $1700.00 back or have the timing belt and water pump changed with the large dent on the drivers side repaired. I think this is very reasonable and the dent was something that was going to be taken car of by Honda of fife anyways with minimal cost to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/23) */ We are sorry that we are unable to come to a resolution for this customer. We have offered to have work completed on this vehicle for a discounted rate. The vehicle is 11 years old and was sold as is with an over $3,000 discount. Our offer stands to help *** ******** with the repairs to the dent. All of the paperwork signed by *** ******** is very clear in regards to the trade in value and the payoff amount. At no time does any of the paperwork show the trade value being equal to the payoff amount. In fact, that would be quite irregular. We go to great lengths to make sure all customers understand the deal before they sign for the car in the business office. This deal was no exception. *********** was clearly disclosed the trade value and payoff before he purchased the car and he initialed all of those disclosures. This is a step we take on all car deals that most dealers do not. We would like to invite *** ******** in to review these items and extend to him the assistance originally offered to him. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/01/06) */ I would like to extend an invitation to the customer to come in and go over the details of his purchase. We are willing to offer this customer a discount for any repairs or maintenance he wishes to do to the car. In regards to the car not being serviced, we have repair orders for over $1400 of maintenance and repairs done to this vehicle. We do not always remove all of the dings and dents on 11 year old merchandise. Our offer still stands.

1/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I came to look at a minivan they has for sale. We negotiated a price where they would come up on my trade in and come down on their price a little. I signed the offer sheet when we finished the negotiation and ****** the sales person took the offer that we agree on to his sales manager. We didn't want to have our credit ran until we came to an agreement. My wife and I thought we had because we ended up sitting around for 3 hours wanting on what we were told was our credit union. It was taking so long that we decided to leave and they told us they would call us once they heard back. They never did. We had to track them down. They sent over to our credit union terms for the purchase of the vehicle that we never agreed to. Our lady at our credit union to us that the sales manager submitted his own deal for us to our credit union. I caught our sales person and the sales manager in lies. We wasted 3 hours sitting there not waiting on our credit union. We were waiting for the sales manager to structure his own deal and send whatever he wanted over to our credit union without us knowing. They were trying to do a bait and switch. I told our credit union that was not the deal the dealership told us they had submitted. Long story short. Honda of fife will never get our business again and anyone thinking of using them should think twice. They tried to go behind our backs and get us approved so that we would think we got the deal we signed for. I hope they go out of business or that someone sues them.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to stick to the original agreement we had with them. But honestly, I will never do business with them again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ We are sorry about the miscommunication with this customer. Sometimes it takes a while to get a response from the lenders. This time is escalated when there are credit challenges. The structure of the deal was difficult do to the negative equity position combuned with a less than perfect credit score this customer had. We are unable to make the structure work without some down payment. I would like to invite the customers down to explain better how the process works as I think this was a misunderstanding that could be resolved with a simple conversation. There may also be alternatives for this customer as far as other vehicles or lenders. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm done arguing back and forth. They are still unwilling to except the fact they did not communicate anything with us while we were sitting there for 3 hours. I have worked everything out with my credit union and I have gone and done business elsewhere. Sometimes it would be better to just say, you know, the customer is right and we as a company blew it. Were sorry. He could do it on the phone no problem, but not on the record. That's a shame. I should have looked up on yelp.com and gone over the reviews there first. Plenty of them on there state they got screwed to. 2 out of 5 stars sucks! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/08) */ Unfortunately, the desired resolution from the customer to honor their deal is not possible without additional down payment. I did call the customer and explain this. When we submitted the deal to their lender it was actually submitted for less than what they offered because we knew the bank would not buy the deal with that structure. Even with the lower price we submitted the lender is unwilling to give this customer a loan without additional down payment. We are in the business of selling cars. We do everything possible to get deals financed. There would be no reason for us to try to structure a deal that is unfinanceable to the bank. Again, we apologies for any misunderstanding about the deal structure. At this time, unfortunately, I cannot get the deal financed without some help from the customer. If they can come up with some more down payment or if they have alternative financing of their own we would be happy to accept the offer I have on the table from the customer.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My late model Accord was stalling so I made a last minute appointment at Honda of Fife because it was the closest dealership and my husband recommended it. I was happy with getting a quick appointment, But nothing was done but being charged more than $400 I must warn everyone to STEER CLEAR! **** was courteous when I called and, like I said, gave me a last minute appointment. Calls on Day 1 (Monday) & Day 2 told me they could not to find the problem and VERY rude woman OVERcharged me at least $85.00 more than she quoted on the phone. She created quite a fuss when I attempted to look over my service bill prior to paying, and when I saw I was being charged $42.00 for a car wash, she removed that but then upped the charges for everything else on the service order. Her phone quotes were much less than the actual bill. She was incredibly hostile and refused to adjust the charges back to what she quoted on the phone, and instead raised them even higher than what was already wrong on the first incorrect service bill. Also, when she quoted services to me on the phone, she made many attempts to sell services that were NOT necessary and she suggested several things that had just recently been done (within the past 3 months), seeming to be blatantly lying that my car needed a lot more than it did. Nothing was ever done about the original problem that I had brought my car to them for in the first place!

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of at least $85.00. Plus I suggest that some of their service people receive training in customer service AND troubleshooting mechanical problems.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** GSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@hondaoffife.com This situation was reviewed by our service manager. We found the customer to be completely correct after reviewing the repair order. This was an error made by our service advisor that has since been addressed as to not happen again. The customer has been refunded the $85.00 plus tax. The customer stated she is completely satisfied with how we handled the situation and is retracting her complaint. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The service manager took the time to telephone me and profusely apologized. He also explained that they were retraining the service representative involved and thanked me for my time in letting them know how dissatisfied I had been. I was quite impressed with the care he took to follow up on my sincere complaint. A week later I even received a refund for the amount in question. I am COMPLETELY SATISFIED with how Honda of Fife handled the my complaint, which I am now retracting. Thank you!

5/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues