BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers auto sales and repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gilchrist Chevrolet Buick GMC Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gilchrist Chevrolet Buick GMC Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gilchrist Chevrolet Buick GMC Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1958 Business started: 01/01/1958 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1958
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
Phone Number: 800-451-7985

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gary Gilchrist, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Gilchrist, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Additional Locations

  • 6014 South Tacoma Way

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 777-3238 (253) 777-3244

  • PO Box 9616

    Tacoma, WA 98490


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a patient person. I brought my 2006 Buick Lucerne because the engine light was on. I had to wait 2 wks to get an appt. with their service dept. Their diagnostic machine said it was the catalytic convertor. I had a choice, go with the $900 version from GM or I could get an "after market" for $325.00. With the part, labor, their diagnostic and taxes, came to $505.00. Unfortunately, they couldn't complete my car the day I brought it in. I was assured they could the next day. I won't bore you with all the details, however, I took my car to them 4 TIMES. After the 4th time, I spoke with their service dept manager****** *****. I told him of my dissatisfaction, how my car was in there for 4 full days. I told him I did not want to pay for their diagnostic ($112) because they had not resolved my problem and had wasted 4 days of my time. He agreed but as a friend was taking me to the dealership to get my car, he called to say "I has misunderstood him and we would NOT refund my $112 for a computer diagnostic" that didn't fix my problem! I told him I would make multiple complaints to different agencies but he said he did not care and would not refund my $112. I left the dealership, my car still runs ROUGH, the engine light came back on 10 blks down S. Tacoma Way and I paid $505 for NOTHING and wasted 4 days of my time!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like my $112 for the initial computer diagnostic, which I have paid. After 4 trips to the dealership, where my car remain ALL DAY, I still have the initial problem I came to them about. The engine light is still on, and the car is running rough. They did not fix anything and now I will have to take it to someone else, who will charge me another $112 for a computer diagnostic!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ BBB 08/28/14 ****** ***** Accredited Resolutions Consultant Case ID: XXXXXXXX Mrs. ***** first visited our store on August 13th 2014, please see attached RO#XXXXXX. The complaint was "customer states check engine light on and runs rough and will surge at stops" at that time the vehicle had 167,438 miles on it. We scanned fuel and electrical system for codes and found P0420. Tested Cat Converter and found slow to respond. We gave Mrs. ***** the option of replacing with a Genuine GM Part, or using the less expensive aftermarket part. She opted to go with the Aftermarket part. We sent the vehicle up the street to a local muffler shop for installation, as these parts are universal and typically weld in units. Charged her $112.00 for the diagnosis and $350.00 for the converter, repairs were paid and vehicle picked up on August 14th, 2014. Mrs. ***** brought the vehicle back on August 15th, 2014 Miles were 167,500 Reference RO# XXXXXX also attached. Complaint was "customer states check engine light came back on seems to miss at stops and on acceleration" We scanned the system again, still has Cat Converter code, sent back to muffler shop again , they said the converter was defective, and they replaced with another Converter. We also noted vehicle was running rough suspect coil and plugs, Customer needed vehicle back and would take as is, and did not want us to further diagnose. Mrs. ***** first spoke to me on August 19th 2014, She had complained that her car was not done and that she needed it back, she also stated we had the worst customer service she had ever seen. I tried to explain that it was the aftermarket part that had failed and that they were locating another part and installing it as soon as possible and would call her as soon as it was done. She kept going on about how lousy our service was and that she would never return to our store. I told her again that I was sorry and we were doing everything we could. She then told me the only thing we could do to make things better would be to not chare her for the diagnostic fee, I told her she was right, she should not have to pay another diagnostic fee on the defective part, so I waived the Diagnostic fee on RO#XXXXXX. The repairs were complete, the service advisor called to notify Mrs. ***** the vehicle was ready, she then told the service advisor "she would be there in thirty minutes, and does not want to wait, there better be a check for her for the $112.00 diagnostic fee ready to go!" The service advisor then came to me to explain what she had said, apparently she thought I was going to refund her for the original diagnostic on RO# XXXXXX, which I did not agree to, as we did diagnose her vehicle correctly. I then phoned Mrs. ***** immediately to attempt to straighten this misunderstanding out, I told her there would be no diagnostic fee for the second repair, as we had to diagnose it again, but there would be no refund for the diagnostic on the first repair. She started to scream obscenities at me personally, ( including the ******* and also stated I would surely get $112.00 of bad advertising. I told her to please come pick up her car and the conversation was over. There will be NO REFUND. In closing, I would like to state a few facts, this is a high mileage vehicle with possible multiple issues. The converter was bad and needed to be replaced. The delay for the catalytic converter was the vendor we used had to order parts that were not in stock. Mrs. ***** would not let us diagnose the vehicle further, as she was in a hurry to get it back. We try to work with each and every customer, however screaming degrading obscenities in my mind, is not the best way to work things out. We stand with our initial decision not to refund the customer. If you have any questions please contact me for further assistance. ***** ***** Operations Manager ********* Chevrolet - Buick GMC XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To say the response from ***** ***** is disingenuous is an understatement at best. Although my car does have high mileage, it is well-maintained and this is the first issue I have had with it. I purchased it through a Buick dealer and it is in no way "a beater." I initially brought my 2006 Buick Lucerne to ********* Chevrolet, Buick, GMC on 8/13/14, after making a service appointment, nearly 3wks ahead of time. I brought my car in at 0730 am on 8/13/14 (day #1). I explained, the issues with the car and that I would need my car back that day, as I live in Lacey. I called them later at 130 pm, as I had not received a call. I spoke with *** **** who told me they hadn't started on my vehicle. When I expressed concern, he said it wasn't a problem as they had lots of parts in stock and would be able to fix my car. I received a call later, the problem was the catalytic convertor. The GM convertor would be $910 but they could get me an after-market converter for $350 + labor. I was told it had a 6 mo. warranty. I would have to return on 8/14/14 (day #2), so they could do the work. I agreed and returned on 8/14/14 at 0730 am. I picked my car up after 4pm on the 8/14/14. As I drove away, the car was still running rough and within 5 blks. the "service engine light" came back on. I called ********* and informed *** what had happened. I was told to bring the car back tomorrow morning. When I arrived on 8/15/14 (day #3) I left the car for the entire day. I received a call from ***, stating the cat converter was bad and they would have to replace it. The problem was, they would have to get another one, so could I return on Tues. 8/19/14? I agreed and returned on Tues. 8/19/14 (4th visit). At no time, did they tell me it might be best to go ahead with the actual GM cat converter. Their answer was to get another aftermarket one. When I returned for my 4th visit, I was given a NEW service associate, ********. She was NOT familiar with the issues with the car. *** *** was in the service area but did not elect to assist me, eventhough he was well acquainted with the issues. I had to re-explain why I was there and the issues with the car. I explained I had to have the car back by the end of the day as I lived in Lacey and had no way home. She said she would try her best. I received a call from *** after 1pm telling me they would the car was ready later today. I told him I was not happy and would like to speak to the service manager. I was connected with ***** ***** and explained to him, I was not happy with their service and fact it took 4 trips to their service dept. He asked what he could do and I stated I didn't wish to pay $112 for a computer diagnostic which didn't help to solve the problem. He agreed and stated he would not charge me the $112. After 4pm, I received a call from ***, the car was ready. I asked him to have my check for $112 ready, so I would not have to wait in their dealership and that was what *** ***** had agreed. As we were heading to the dealership, I received a call from *** ****** stating I must have misunderstood him, as he would not be refunding me the $112 for the computer diagnostic. I was very unhappy *** ***** decided to renig on his promise and unfortunately after 4 visits to their dealership with less than satisfactory results, I did use the "f-word" twice while speaking with *********. I also informed him I would make a complaint regarding the service at *********, which I have in this complaint. During the entire 4 visits to their dealership, I was always courteous and polite to their staff, never raised my voice and left my car with them all day. It was only after 4th visit and no satisfaction, I became upset when *** ***** renigged on his agreement. When I picked up my car on 8/19/14, it continued to run rough. About 10 blks from the dealerships, the "service engine light" came back on. What is so frustrating, is the fact, they lead me to believe the 2nd cat conveter would fix the problem but it has not. When I got home, I looked at the last invoice I received and noted it said, "sent back to************************** for new convertor-clear code-has rough run at idle in gear-suspect coil and plugs-customer is taking as is." They NEVER told me they suspected further issues and when I came to pick up my car. No one spoke to me other than to tell me to see the cashier. They had gotten their money and now they were dismissing me. I was able to return to Spokane and made an appointment with ****** ***** to have my car serviced. They told me the after market cat converter would not work on my car and they would have to get a GM cat converter. The cat convertor was replace with a genuine GM part at a cost to me of $1250.00. I am having no further problems at this time. I had them return the cat convetor to me and I currently have it in my possession. I take my car to a Buick dealer, as I feel they are the EXPERTS on my vehicle. ********* Buick did not provide the type of service I have enjoyed from other Buick dealers. I feel they tried to take advantage of me, as I was a woman alone and didn't have a male to advocate for me. Initially, I would have been satisfied to have my $112 returned. Since I have had the part replaced, now I want the entire $505.89 returned and I will be more than happy to return their catalytic convertor to them. It does not seem right that I should have to pay for their incompetance. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/09/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Obviously Mr. ***** did not read the receipt I attached from Becker Buick, who correctly fixed my car. Their receipt plainly states," Found current catalyst is not built to the standard expected by the ECM software. 2.00 Installed OEM catalyst. Cleared DTCS. Road tested vehicle. No DTCS reset." They installed the WRONG cat convertor, they SHOULD refund my money. I will be happy to return the cat convertor but I want to be reimbursed my $350, when I return it. I am growing tired of these interchanges, where their dealership refuses to take responsibility for THEIR error. If they agree to return the $350 for the cat convetor, then I will return it. I am no longer willing to wait for them to determine if "credit consideration can be given." They have stalled and tried to obsfucate long enough. If they do not agree to refund for a part I will return, which clearly did not work on my car, then I will have to seek a legal remedy for this untenable situation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/30) */ We will refund the customer the $350.00 for the catalytic convertor when the part is returned to us.

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am addressing the failure to honor an estimate given by *** ******* (service manger). We took a customers 2008 Saturn Outlook SUV to ********* Chevrolet to have a SRTA transmission looked at for a warranty concern. *** stated that there was coolant damage and that they would not cover the repairs under warranty. I will address this next. After asking *** to give a worst case possible estimate he came up with $2500. *** then stated the repairs may be less if they did not need to change the friction plates or torque converter. Knowing that ******* ****** own service procedure clearly states that they should replace both the friction plates and torque converter we were prepared to spend the entire $2500. The service department already told us about the other parts on the invoice including valve body and seals. When the vehicle was complete we received a call from *** *** stating that the invoice total was now $2965.22. When I asked *** why it went over a worse case estimate of $2500 he stated that he did not believe *** gave us the correct estimate and that it was subject to change. When asked why we did not get a call asking us to approve the higher estimated he said that he thought we already knew. He then attempted to justify the higher cost by the addition of replacing the torque converter. I told him that worse case should have been $2500 with the converter. Rather than banter with someone obviously not willing to listen we just paid the invoice and took the vehicle. After returning to the shop I had our legal counsel take a look at the invoice. It was noted that the cost of the invoice did not raise the price of the invoice. The price of the torque converter was "N/C" meaning they did not charge for the Torque converter. This being the case with the list price of the Torque converter being $399.45 which is from ********* Chevrolet parts department the invoice should have been $2110.55. Enough with that issue its very clear that ********* Chevrolet has violated a number of Washington state laws. The issue of the Transmission not being covered under warranty. Prior to taking the vehicle to ********* Chevrolet we as per ******* ****** own service procedures ran not one but two Gly-Tek test on a transmission fluid sample from this vehicle along with retaining an additional sample packaged and prepared to be sent to an independent lab. Both test showed no detectable coolant in transmission fluid. When asked about their Gly-Tek results *** did not respond to the question. There was no signs of transmission fluid entering cooling system either. Rather than banter the issue and wanting to just get the vehicle back to our customer we approved a maximum repair amount of $2500. After picking up the vehicle and returning it to our shop we noticed transmission fluid dripping from the transmission. One of the small drain plugs was only installed finger tight, loose enough to cause a drip. We tightened the plug and rechecked the transmission for additional leaks. While the vehicle was in the shop at ********* Chevrolet we consulted a couple major transmission specialty shops and rebuilders. All of these well trained transmission repair / rebuild professionals stated that we needed to check the fill/dipstick cap for breather hole that was not punched all the way through or is otherwise plugged. A plugged breather on a newly rebuilt transmission could cause trapped condensation to stay in the transmission and rust the transmission parts and cause overheating. There is always some moisture due to cleaning of the transmission case in the parts washers and or just general high humidity. We found the breather cap vent hole not drilled all the way through. The cap was supplied with the SRTA transmission. After punching the very thin plastic with a pick the transmission now vents properly and should not have any further issues with trapped moisture.

Desired Settlement: The bottom line is that the transmission should have been covered under warranty. If they did do a Gly-Tek as ******* ****** suggest they would have been led to check for another source of contamination. The over charging of the invoice is a simple matter of Washington State law. Although we would like to be refunded for the entire repair cost Gilchrist Chevrolet should at minimum refund the difference of $854.67 to avoid treble damages. We are attempting to contact ******* ****** directly to address the issue of not covering the transmission under warranty. As a side note. As a shop owner and technician of 30 years with many of those years were spent working at ***** ******* *** in Tacoma WA. It is clear that *** *** should not be left in a customer contact type position. The conduct of unlawful invoicing is not becoming of ******* ****** dealer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/17) */ After speaking personally with Mr. ******, We should have done a better job of keeping him advised on repairs and adjustments to the original estimate. Mr. ****** and I mutually agreed to refund him the $854.67 he was asking for...and he stated he would be happy with that outcome. We will send a check to his place of business to his attention today. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a new 2013 GMC Acadia Denali in late June from the Gilchrist dealership in Tacoma. When purchasing the vehicle, the salesman ordered "assist steps" for my car, as well as several other accessories. I am of short stature and actually need the assist steps to help me get in the vehicle more easily. These steps are useless (a good portion of the surface where you'd step is under the car), and in fact, on the GMC Acadia website (under "accessories") it states that they are *not* to be used on the Acadia Denali the model I purchased. The salesman should have known this, and relayed that to me. I have tried to email and call both the salesman and the sales manager, **** *********, numerous times and don't get any response back.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Gilchrist service department to remove these assist steps, and I would like to be refunded the money I paid for them ($560). If they would like to go above and beyond, I'd be happy if they'd install the new ones I will have to go and buy on my own.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/23) */ We will take the running boards off of her vehicle and refund the $560. I did talk to ******** one time a couple of weeks ago about the boards. She did not tell me she wanted us to take them off. I also have never received any emails from ********. Gilchrist Buick GMC would ALWAYS remove any accessory if a customer is unhappy with it. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/10/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I had the running boards removed by the service department at Gilchrist, and several days later received a check, refunding them. So, yes, I'm satisfied and happy this is resolved. Thank you.

9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/21/2013 I put my 2006 Chevy HHR in the shop @Gilchrist Chevrolet, Inc. to have some work done. On 08/06/2013 when I went to pick my 2006 Chevy HHR I walk around to inspect and noticed that my windshield was cracked across the front on the driver side(LT) running across the whole front!!! So I go back inside and get *** ******* and he come outside looks at it and quickly say's it was already like that when we brought it in !!!! I informed him that it wasn't and showed him pictures we had taken of the car before we put in the shop ,and it had 1 chip on the passenger side (RT) window not the driver side (LT)window where the crack is. We said this happened here he say's that the man that worked on our car has been there 30so years and he swear on his service record that he is more honest then us because they can get in trouble if they don't report damage to customer's car's. *** ******* then state's you have insurance it just an deductible really!!!! I go home upset because I'm just getting my car out the shop after 2mths spending over $1000.00 and I pick it up to find damaged windshield!!!!! I've had my 2006 Chevy HHR repaired 3 other times before this @ Gilchrist Chevrolet, Inc and each time they have giving me an Report. 12/5/2012 Report show's windshield chipped ,12/14/12 Report show's windshield chipped ,05/06/13 Report show's windshield chipped ,08/06/2013 No report was giving with invoice. I will try to go back up there today pick up my report to see why it wasn't attached to invoice.

Desired Settlement: My windshield repaired!!! Pain and suffering!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/12) */ As customer stated, car was brought in for repairs on 5/21/2013, car was picked up on 8/6/2013... nearly 2 1/2 months later. The customer had to leave the car for this extended period of time as he was making payments on the repairs. We had noted on previous repair orders that there were chip's in the windshield... chip's tend to turn into cracks when not repaired quickly. In the nearly 2 1/2 months the car had been here, through weather, heat and cool cycles this is what makes a chip a crack. The customer did bring in a picture he said he had taken of the car before the repairs... after enlarging it on the I-Phone my Service Manager could tell there was a small chip in the windshield in the same spot as the now crack, the customer agreed. To sum things up, the car was on our lot for 10 weeks, we feel a chip turned into a crack, we did not charge *** ******* any storage fees for the extended period of time his vehicle was here.The signed copy of the repair order also states we are not responsible for lost articles or damage while on our lot. We are not willing to replace *** *******'s windshield at our expense. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I drop my vehicle off I never signed anything saying I wouldn't hold Gilchrist Chevrolet responsible for any damage caused to my vehicle while it in there service. Gilchrist Chevrolet have not stated the facts. I took my car to them with one chip in the windshield on the passenger side only. I got my vehicle back with a chip on the passenger side and a cracked windshield on the driver side. Plus I have documentation that shows that there was only a chip not a crack. I've talked to windshield specialist that says that kind of crack happens by the car being driven and not by it sitting in the weather! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/19) */ Here is a copy of the signed Repair Order.... Please note highlighted areas. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: advertised Brakes at 79$ per axle, I needed rear brakes. *** tricked me into agreeing to look at the front, which were done 4000 miles ago. Droped of at noon, @ 3:20 *** called and said the total for everything , they found plus what they might find will be 800$ and more, "depending" ( I didn't ask, but I could not leave my vehicle over night, I was expecting a rear brake job.I told *** I can not agree to any service before know they price, I cant buy what I cant afford, I budgeted 500$ for rear brakes, that all I have.SO I drove out with rear brakes at 5% possibly faulty front brakes, according to ron. I looked, It didn't apprear the wheels had even been removed. They did charge me 59.13$ to tell me how much the 79$ per axle rer brake job would cost me. I dispute they even inspecte the brakes with the wheels off.

Desired Settlement: well, Since my 500$ rear brake budget is now down to 440 $ thanks to predatory service writing, Id really like a rear brake job, cause I need to be on the free way this Friday, brakes or no. But its not easy to have brakes done, unless money is no object I guess. SO I would at least like my 59.13 credited back. no way , looking at the time line this was an honest assessment of my vehicle, why the 3 and half hour delay in telling me the escalated cost?I doubt they did a half hour of anything except write the inflated total. Id like the 59.13 credited back. they didn't earn it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/02) */ *** **** brought his vehicle in on 7-31 for us to check his brakes, "customer stated the brakes are squeaking". Upon test driving and inspection we found the rear brake pads worn, and the front brakes pulsating, also the park brake does not hold (which is a separate pair of shoes from the rear brake pads) and can not be diagnosed properly with out complete disassembly of the rear pads, calipers, and rotors. The price quoted was including the possibility of the rear park brake shoes being replaced, (as there was a chance they would be needed once we disassembled for further inspection) also new original equipment rear pads, and turning the rotors front and rear, as the brakes were pulsating. This is the first time *** ****'s truck had been in our shop, According to *** **** he had his front brakes done at another shop 4,000 mi ago. However the front brakes were pulsating because the rotors are still out of round. The $79.00 brake special is for brake pad replacement only.... Other items such as turning or replacing rotors, emergency brake shoes, upgrading to original equipment pads, etc. is all additional. We diagnosed *** ****'s vehicle as he had requested; we also performed a free inspection and noted other issues as well. $54.00 + tax we feel is fair & justified. However, *** **** does not feel that way, so we will refund the customer in the amount of $59.13 and wish him the best.