BBB Accredited Business since

Dick's Mackenzie Ford

Phone: (503) 693-1133 View Additional Phone Numbers 4151 SE Tv Hwy, Hillsboro, OR 97123

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new and used auto sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick's Mackenzie Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick's Mackenzie Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dick's Mackenzie Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1948 Business started: 01/01/1925 Business started locally: 01/01/1925 Business incorporated 02/26/1996 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Shannon Inukai, Vice President Morley Fletcher, General Sales Manager Mr. Roger Mackenzie, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shannon Inukai, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Air Conditioning Equipment New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Mackenzie Motor Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dick's Mackenzie Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4151 SE Tv Hwy

    Hillsboro, OR 97123 (503) 844-4058


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dick's Mackenzie Ford listed a 2006 Merecedes-Benz S600 with 74,094 miles online for $9,995. This is a very low price for the vehicle in question so I contacted the dealer and began the process of checking the car out the day it was listed for sale, which was a Saturday. I was contacted almost immediately by a member of the sales staff. I asked some questions about the car, like where it came from and what condition it was in. It was a trade in they were looking to turn over quickly. Because I live in North Carolina it wasn't feasible to fly out and look at the car in Oregon, so I hired an independent vehicle inspector. The inspector I sent is a L1 Advanced ASE Master Certified Technician, which means he is at least as qualified if not more qualified than the MOST qualified technician that works at this FORD dealership. In the extensive report he gave me back on the car he found that the vehicle is in more than acceptable condition, despite the fact that he himself told me the car was likely a basket case at the price it is listed at. It needs nothing more than tie-rod ends and a couple radiator hoses to be in top shape. There was inconclusive evidence of a possible exhaust leak, but nothing that negatively effects the vehicle (he said it could be missing insulation). The inspection occurred on Wednesday and I attempted to buy the car on Thursday. They refused to sell me the vehicle. They said they were pulling it from the market and giving it to "the wholesalers" because it was "not in a condition to sell." I know this to be untrue, and they behave like I never had an inspection done for myself and couldn't possibly know the condition of the vehicle. They used the word "liability", and I explained I would be happy to buy the car as-is, since I am well aware of the vehicle's condition. They would have none of it. I don't know what game they are playing, maybe they are trying to get more money out of the car than what it was advertised for, but their business practices are anything but honest.

Desired Settlement: I want them to either sell me the car they advertised at the price it was advertised at when I first contacted the dealership or they need to reimburse me for wasting my time, at least to the tune of the $209 independent inspection that proves the car is in more than sell-able condition.

Business Response: Our entire inventory is automatically listed online as soon as we take the vehicle in, either by
purchase, or trade in. From the very beginning, while we were taking this vehicle in on trade, based
on information we received from the previous customer and visual inspection we knew that the
vehicle had had extensive body damage. We were unable to verify the structural integrity of the
vehicle. Since the accident was reported, that vehicle had been in and out of the shop many times.
We also knew from prior experience that the Mercedes S600 can be problematic.

Based upon an excessive amount of the vehicle being repainted, and no guarantee of what kind of
repairs had been done to the vehicle, we made the decision internally to not sell this vehicle
publically. We explained to Mr. ***** our position on the car many times. He kept insisting on
wanting the vehicle even after we told him that we did not want to sell the vehicle. We did not
feel comfortable selling this vehicle to anyone without being able to fully back the vehicle, and
in this case we simply could not do so.

Shaun W****

General Sales Manager

Dick's Mackenzie Ford

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
It doesn't matter whether or not they felt they could back the car or whether or not the cars are problematic. What the dealership fails to understand every time is that I had the car inspected independently. So no matter what their unsubstantiated gut feeling about the condition of the vehicle was, a L1 ASE certified Master Tech judged the car to be in good working sellable condition. And I had been approved for a bumper to bumper aftermarket warranty for anything and everything that could go wrong. I told this to both salesmen and they still refused to do business with me. The dealership cannot claim to be the only party who fully understood the condition the vehicle was in. The dealership wasted my time and my money, and I think I am at least due the $209 for the inspection I attached to my first complaint that proves they are not being completely truthful.

****** *****

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we had purchased the car we were given a car fax sheet stating the car had a clean title history and had never been in an accident. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle I noticed that the temperature of the vehicle had only two extreme temperatures in the car - super hot or super cold. After a few months I wanted the car to display the outside temperature and noticed something was wrong. So thinking it must be a problem with possibly the computer system I took it in to another Ford dealership to have it looked at. They explained to us that the car had been in accident before and that you could tell the the bumper was replaced and the sensor was broken off of the car and had not been replaced. We were upset to find this out because we had bought the car with the impression that it had not been in any accidents. Knowing that we bought the car from ****'s ********* Ford, we called them to see if this is something they could help us with since we bought the car from them. We did not have the car repaired at all until we heard from ****'s *********. But of course they never returned our phone calls or directed us to the right person to talk to. Since we felt they were stiffing us, I had the car repaired and was given the part that was broken. Even after I had the car repaired I tried contacting a manager or sales rep to settle this problem and was directed to Ford Motor company. Ford reassured me that the repair I had done on the vehicle was due to a collision and damage to the sensor. If the company had run an inspection on the car they would have noticed a problem with the sensor. Although car fax states it had never been in an accident, if a car had been in a fender bender and not reported, auto body shops do not report that on car fax. After gathering that information, I contacted ****'s again to see if this is something that they could resolve with a manager. Instead the had the some other sales rep call us back, unable to respond I called back and talked with a sales manager. From the moment I said who I was he acted like he was ready for a fight and told me that because I did not even think of calling them or taking to their dealership that there is nothing they could do. I let him know that we did contact ****'s multiple times and tell them the situation and noone called us back or directed us to the right person. He apologised for that but for the rest he basically said that I was out of luck. He stated that he would let the General Manager and Service department know what has happened and someone would be in contact. Like the many times, again NO ONE has called or emailed me to resolve this issue

Desired Settlement: I would like an official apology from the business for selling us a car that had been in an accident and for them to pay for the sensor that we had to put back into our car

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/03) */ *********, I on behalf of Dicks Mackenzie Ford, and Dicks Auto Group would like to apologize for your experience with our staff. The way that you were treated was very unprofessional, and unlike how we train our staff. We should have called you back when requested and followed up with the conversations you had with our staff. We were unaware that the vehicle you purchased had been in any kind of accident, and were also unaware that there was a sensor needing replacement. We agree with your request for reimbursement, and we are happy to do so. I would like to take the time to apologize again for your experience, and for failing to meet your expectations, and our own. Please know that is not how we conduct business. We take pride in our business, our community, and our reputation. If you have any questions, please contact me personally at XXX-XXX-XXXX or ****** Thanks, ***** *****

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service department was not only condescending and rude, but immediately went to work on trying to assure us that the repair was probably not covered under the Ford 5-year/60k-mile warranty (before even looking at the vehicle). After having the vehicle over night, and needing to be reminded at noon that they were supposed to be looking at it, I received a call late in the afternoon stating just what I had thought, they had found the culprit and that one part just so happened to be not covered under the power-train warranty. I would be stuck not only replacing the part, but also for the repair of the parts that were destroyed by said unwarranted part (The parts that were broken happened to be under warranty, but weren't covered because the cause was this other part) After talking to the manager they decided that they would cover the warranted parts under the warranty (gee thanks), but I'd have to pay for the other part (approx $600 in parts and labor). After reaching this dead end they went about ordering parts, during this time I had requested the part number so that I could check with Ford on the warranty, the part they told me they were replacing and the part number they were ordering were different (the part they were charging me for was $150 more). After some back-and-forth the service manager realized that I was right, and he was about to order the wrong part. He ordered the correct part (another day later), but when the parts finally came in, and my car had been at the dealer all week, that's when I received notification that they forgot to order a part (a $5 snap ring), and it would be another 2 days. This meant another weekend without my vehicle. When I complained about this they suggested that they were doing me a favor by paying for the parts that were under warranty, and by giving me a loaner car. When I asked to be contacted by upper management because the repair was taking 2 weeks, and their incompetence was making me weary of their ability to actually fix the vehicle correctly, I was flat out ignored.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $452.30 spent on the repairs that should be covered by warranty

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/24) */ I spoke to Mr. *****. I let him know that I was willing to refund the $452.30 if it was going to restore his confidence in Dick's MacKenzie Ford. He thanked me for calling but said he would not be returning. I thanked him for his honesty and for talking with me. I also emailed him with my contact information should he change his mind or wish to contact me in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told the minivan I purchased would be available for use within one day. It was not, and not only was it not available within one day it took 53 hours from the time of purchase for me to receive it. I was told different stories each time I called about whether the detailing and tires were done. I was never shown any service records to show what time my car was available. I missed appointments and had another car impounded because it was supposed to be moved but without a vehicle I couldn't get to it in time. I was given wet floor mats, the heater blasting when it was 88 degrees out and I had 2 small children and a disabled child with me and no gas. I asked 3 people about the time my car was done and expressed my hardship in the lack of their communication,both with each other and with me. All I was offered was to have gas put in the van, and I had to request that. I've now driven the van only 150 miles and the check engine light it on, which leads me to believe based on their dishonesty they sold me a car that wasn't even ready to be sold. I believe they falsely advertised a vehicle as certified, and for sale as it was not ready to be sold at the time of purchase. I also believe they were deceptive in the service being performed, as they had no paerwork to show any times it was checked in or out of the service department.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to implement a policy of writing times on service records, the time the car was in and the time the service was performed. I also would like a copy of the certification of its road worthiness. If it was up to mechanical standards, the standards should be longer than 5 days of driving, and only 150 miles. If possible it would be most considerate of them to inspect the vehicle should they not beable to prove the road worthiness and to repair to their standards of certified used my vehicle. I would ask that I be compensated for the impounded vehicle, because had they called I would have made other arrangements; however I care more about how deceptive they were in giving me a straight answer about the times it was serviced, I feel that I was lied to about the quality and safety of the vehicle I purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/09) */ ****** came in on 7/30 while the vehicle was still in the shop. We were not finished with the vehicle and we told her that. She insisted on purchasing the vehicle and she also wanted to buy new tires and have them installed. We told her at this time that we could certainly accommodate her and install the tires, but we didn't have them in stock and would have to get them. We also still needed to do the detail, and told her she could take delivery when the vehicle was done. **** ******* followed up with her on 7/31 and told her it would be ready for her on 8/1. She contacted our service department and inquired about the vehicle. She was told the tires were completed with her van. And she assumed the vehicle was done at that point. However the vehicle had still not been detailed. When ****** came in on 8/1 to take delivery of the vehicle, the vehicle was still in fact drying from the detail that had just completed that day. The carpets were still damp, and the heater was running on high to help dry. She spoke with **** at that time and expressed to him that she had a vehicle impounded and wanted us to pay for it. She also wanted us to discount the vehicle. We offered to fill her tank with gas. If the check engine light is on, she is welcome to bring her vehicle in and we can check it out at no charge to her. We are enclosing a copy of the "we owe" form signed by the customer signed by the customer acknowledging the additional work she requested (tires) and that we still needed to perform the detail. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/08/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never asked for them to pay for the impounded Jeep in Salem, my complaint was that I was not properly communicated with. I only stated, that by not being told the correct answer from anyone, I was unable to attend to other issues that I required a vehicle that I was told would be available to complete. I was told different stories and versions of what process my car was in. Had I been told nothing had been started and I needed to make other transportation arrangements and how many days I would need to rent or borrow a car, all of the impact on me could have been avoided. However, if you list a car for sale, it should be in buyable condition or there should be a date when it will be. I understood the reason I selected those tires was because they could be done within 24 hours. If I was told, it cannot be ready by tomorrow, I would have rented or leased a car for now and waited on the purchase. My only request is not actual compensation, it is that you clearly know service times,write them on all paperwork and communicate those times to a customer from here on out because you don't know the impact of your delays on an individual or family. And in addition, if you advertise a car is available for purchase, it be in a condition that it can be received within 24 hours. Otherwise, prepare your car before listing it as on the market because clearly it was not market ready. My complaint is regarding your disorganization, it made me feel that if you don't even know the stage of service my car is in and how long it will take with a straightforward answer from start to finish, I question the reliability of said vehicle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/08/14) */ We apologize for the inconvenience. We have communicated the situation and discussed it with the appropriate personnel in an effort to avoid a similar situation in the future.