BBB Accredited Business since

Dick's Country Chrysler Jeep Dodge

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 640-1050 767 SW Baseline St, Hillsboro, OR 97123 http://www.dickscountrydodge.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick's Country Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick's Country Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dick's Country Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1986 Business started: 06/01/1985 Business started locally: 06/01/1985 Business incorporated: 09/29/1998 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Scott Inukai, Vice President Mr. Cory Henderling, General Sales Manager Ms. Shannon Inukai, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Inukai, Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Shannon Inukai, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Dick' Auto Sales and Leasing Inc Dick's Country Dodge

Additional Locations

  • 767 SW Baseline St

    Hillsboro, OR 97123

  • PO Box 1388

    Hillsboro, OR 97123 (503) 640-1050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales rep misleadingly represented this vehicle stating that the reason I was receiving so little on my trade in was the fact that they would ha e to put in a lot of work to get it up to the same standard that the purchased vehicle was already in because they had already done all maintenance on it. I have only had the vehicle for approx 2 months and have since had to have them replace the fuel pump ( which has now gone bad again), I have had to pay to have the ball joints replaced, the air shocks need replacing, the entire third brake light was missing when purchased (they never told me it was missing) all fluids were empty when I had it inspected upon arrival at home, leading me to believe they did no work this vehicle prior to sale

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursement for the repairs on the vehicle that was supposedly in perfect running condition, or full average value for my trade in vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/08) */ Thank you for your correspondence. We are truly sorry to hear that you are having issues with the pre owned vehicle that you purchased from Dick's Country CJD. However, it is not uncommon to have to perform some maintenance and repairs on a 13 year old vehicle. Shortly after you purchased the vehicle, your husband contacted me regarding some issues with the vehicle that we repaired at no cost to you. At this time I do not believe that we are obligated to perform any further repairs. Also, we negotiated a deal in good faith and went beyond the terms of the sale by performing extra repairs after the fact. If there is a way that we can assist your service needs, I will be happy to work with you on the cost of any repairs. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/01/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The issue with the vehicle that was repaired by Dicks, is the same issue that cost my a pricey repair. My vehicle broke down and had no choice but to tow it to the nearest mechanic shop. Per the shop that fixed the repairs, the issue was caused because the original repair by Dicks was not done correctly. I have the paid invoice from the mechanic shop, and I understand the basics of buying a used vehicle; however when you are believing that the salesman at the car lot is telling the truth about it having no mechanical issues, you tend to think they are telling the truth. I would like to be reimbursed for the cost of the repair that originated from the faulty repair from Dicks. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/01/30) */ Thank you again for your correspondence. As I stated in the previous reply, I do not believe we are obligated to repair any issues or reimburse you for service performed on your vehicle. We do sell our pre owned vehicles "as is", and we have a copy of the buyer's guide signed by you acknowledging the fact that the vehicle was sold "as is". Thank you.

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a new truck on 6/3/14, within first 100 miles check engine light has come on. Has been to dealer 3 times and has given multiple codes. They have been unable to resolve the issue and are unsure if future proposed fixes will address the problem. They have advised that they are literally guessing. Truck was also delivered with paint defects as well as missing a light bulb in the third brake light. I have engaged Chrysler corp who wishes to continue repair attempts at the expense of my time and effort. Dealer committed to a no cost replacement via phone and attempted to charge me $4000 upon delivery. I have spend hours at the dealership trying to get this sorted out and cannot continue to waste my time or efforts. I bought a NEW truck specifically to avoid these kinds of issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a full refund of my purchase price and added accessories purchased from the dealer or a NEW truck of equal value. I simply want a new truck like i paid for, not a reconditioned, repainted truck at only 400 miles.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/07/11) */ Issue has been resolved. Dealer engaged owner and was given authorization to provide new vehicle at no cost to me. I consider this matter closed however I do not feel that it should have escalated to this level to get resolution. Thank you!

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer sold me a Repair Service Contract with the vehicle we purchased on 7/13/2013. The finance manager assured me that if we sold or traded in the vehicle before the contract was up, we would receive a prorated reimbursement for the cost of the contract less a small administrative fee, and that all I would need to do is bring proof that the vehicle had been paid off, along with a copy of the contract and an odometer statement from the time of the trade in. On 9/27/13, after learning the vehicle the dealer sold us was insufficient for our needs, we traded the vehicle in to a different dealer and obtained the odometer statement for the trade-in. On December 5, 2013, our creditor on the vehicle that was traded in gave us a written notice "To Whom it May Concern" to show that we had a zero balance on the loan used to purchase that vehicle. For about a week I tried and tried to get a response from Dick's Country Dodge to make arrangements to turn my paperwork in to them. Finally, On or about December 12, 2013, I went to the physical address of the dealer to deliver the paperwork necessary for the reimbursement of the prorated value of the Repair Service Contract and waited about an hour for a service manager to help me. I spoke with an unnamed gentleman whom the receptionist identified as the finance manager. The finance manager took my papers and advised he would send them in to the contract holder, who would send me the prorated reimbursement within 90 days. On March 31, 2013, I contacted the contract holder directly, because I had not received the reimbursement. I learned that the contract holder, ********** ******** ********* **** had not received the paperwork from Dick's Country Dodge. On March 31, I called to speak to a finance manager, but was told he was unavailable. I left a message with the receptionist to relay and she read back to me the very explicit message I wanted relayed to the finance manager that the ball had been dropped, and I wanted a call back so that we could get our refund. No call came that day. On April 1, I "chatted" on line with a customer service representative who assured me a finance manager or his supervisor would call me back on April 2. No call ever came. Today I called and asked for whoever manages the finance manager. I was told both of those individuals did not respond to a page, so I was given the voicemail of one of them. I again left a very earnest message that I wanted a call to get this matter settled. No one called back. It is obvious to me, that this dealership is more interested in selling the service contract than backing up its claims about its provisions.

Desired Settlement: 1. I want a call as soon as practicable 2. I want written proof of mailing, certified mail, that the documents are being mailed to secure my refund (if they need new copies of said documents, I want immediate notification of such need). 3. If this will not be done, then I will take this matter to court with request for the full reimbursement of the contract, along with my reasonable costs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/08) */ I spoke to Mr. ********* 4-7-14. He stated he had spoken to ***** ******* and believed the issue to be resolved. He was correct. We have cut a check for his refund. It will be mailed today 4-8-14. I apologize for the delay in getting back with Mr. ********* and appreciate his follow up in bringing this situation to my attention. Sincerely, ******* ************* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told I had to come into dealership & resign paper works because they weren't properly handled and it was desk manager mistake for getting wrong pay off so I have to come in and pay off remaining balance of trade in vechile. Desk manager said if I dont resign paper work I can't get any work or accessories done/placed on my car & appts have to be rescheduled until I pay that amount or add that amount to loan and resign papers. I also asked desk manager about manroney sticker on car and inquired with him because there's a Manroney Act Law states that it's not suppose to be removed by anyone but the buyer unless asked which it wasn't, and desk manager said he's been doing business like this for years, I know what I'm doing. The act states it's a federal violation if this sticker is removed by anyone but the buyer.

Desired Settlement: I was a very committed customer with Dick's until now. I bought 4 cars from them without a problem until this desk manager ****. The general manager contacted me & stated he will take care of the remaining balance from trade. I am seeking settlement from manroney sticker & how things were handled with desk manager.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/30) */ We resolved the issues with our customer. The customer was satisfied with the result. The customer is in possession of the monroney label. The monroney label was on the vehicle and removed at delivery and given to the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept a portion of their response. I was satisfied with the fact that Dick's took care of remaining pay off balance however the monroney label was not personally given to me like stated, it was taken off of the car without my permission and placed it the glove compartment for me to find.

8/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had bought a 2003 Honda Pilot for 9400.00 In the agreement I wanted to take it over to the Honda dealership for an inspection. Honda dealer found many things wrong with it that Dicks had said they checked or replaced. Like dirty transmission fluid, leaky and broken front CV Joint and broken Right strut

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs done. However I will have the repairs done ASAP by someone else due to the fact I don't TRUST a word these guys tell me. So in that I want the money back for the repairs in the front end refunded. I will have Ron's Front end do it here in Portland due to the fact they have worked on several of our cars and have done a WODERFUL JOB

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/04) */ It is our goal to provide our clients with excellent customer service, at fair prices, in and open and honest way. We are a new car dealership, but we sell a wide range of pre-owned vehicles as well. We also offer older, higher mileage, yet desirable vehicles that can be purchased at budget prices. These vehicles are market priced based on age and condition. We always encourage prospective purchasers to fully inspect before purchasing, and routinely agree to outside independent mechanical inspections, each on an individual basis determined by the negotiated selling price and the areas of customer concern about the vehicle. The transaction involving the 2003 Honda Pilot included 2 stipulations agreed to by the purchaser and the Dealership: 1) The Internet sale price of $9900 was negotiated to $9400. 2) The sale was subject to a mechanical inspection to be conducted at purchaser's discretion and expense. Specifically as follows: "Major Mechanical (Engine, Transmission.)" This agreement was signed by purchaser and the dealership. Anything other than the specific problems noted above would be the purchaser's responsibility. After conducting the inspection, the purchaser contacted the dealership to renegotiate the transaction. Due to the fact that the inspection did not reveal any major engine or transmission issues, we responded that the purchase stipulations were fulfilled as agreed by all parties. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2013/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Dick's Country Chrysler Jeep Dodge contacted me and I feel they made it right to our sale of the car. Thank you for all you have done. CASE CLOSED Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2013/08/07) */ On 8/7/2013 our dealership was abble to resolve the issue with *** *******. Our customer is happy.

4/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues