BBB Accredited Business since

Burien Chevrolet Inc

Phone: (206) 243-5800 View Additional Phone Numbers 14400 1st Ave S, Burien, WA 98168 http://www.burienchevrolet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Burien Chevrolet Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Burien Chevrolet Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Burien Chevrolet Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2004 Business started: 12/01/2004 in WA Business started locally: 12/01/2004 Business incorporated 07/21/2004 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Motor Vehicles
2424 Bristol Ct SW, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.bls.dor.wa.gov/vehiclevesseldealer
Phone Number: (360) 664-6475
intdlrnw@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dean Anderson, Owner Mr. Alan Anderson Ms. Pam Stallcop, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Anderson, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Pam Stallcop, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Burien Chevrolet Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 14400 1st Ave S

    Burien, WA 98168 (206) 243-5800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2010 Chevy Tahoe from Burien Chevy on Sept. 7th. Before purchasing the vehicle I noticed there was a small tear in the rear right door panel's leather. I spoke with the salesman ******* about this issue. He specifically told me they would repair the tear at their cost and it would be a simple item to fix. In fact, he took it upon himself to repair the tear while I was filling out the paper work. He placed some sort of epoxy or puddy over the tear and let me know it would cure overnight and it wouldn't look bad. Less than a week later I have my first passenger in the back seat of my car. They get some sort of stain on their pants and it's from the epoxy or puddy like material the salesmen ******* put on the car. I take a look at the attempted repair and the sticky material is still not dry and it is a different color than the actual leather, and looks terrible. I tried to reach out to my salesman other sales manager several times with no response. When I did get a hold of them they said they would take a look at it when I brought the car up to the service department to get a duplicate key made. Once the car was dropped off at the service department I let the service representative ****** knows about the tear and the puddy issue. He agreed it should be repaired and said he would touch base with the sales managers to make sure it would be taken care of. I received a call from the service department (not a sales managers) that they would not be repairing this tear which they agreed to repair before the purchase of the car. I attempted to speak with the General Sales Manager (****) of the dealership today but he was "busy making deals" according to his subordinate (****). When I did not hear back from anyone after an hour I called back again to speak with the General Sales Manager (****) and his subordinate (****) said "he's not in today". His subordinate manager (****) then said they weren't going to repair the issue because they didn't make any money on the sale of the car so it was not worth it to them. He then told me that I could add the price of the repair to my loan.

Desired Settlement: I would like the tear in my rear right door panel repaired at the dealerships cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/03) */ We have taken care of all of the issues mentioned in the complaint. No cost was incurred by the guest. We have corrected the training issue with the employee and this situation should not occur again. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put down a one thousand dollar refundable deposit to Burien Chevrolet on a 2006 Jeep. My initial sales contact was a man named ****. I was shortly there after contacted by his Sales Manager ***** ******. I mentioned I was interested in paying cash in full for the car, and wanted to know if that changed the price at all. We discussed pricing, but seeing as I live in Bremerton, I would definitely want to take a look at the car prior to buying it. There was absolutely no agreement that I would be buying the car. Because I live in Bremerton, I would need to take the ferry over to Seattle. With the refundable deposit they would hold the car on the lot for me to view. Several times, Mr. ****** commented on my age referring to me as "kid" or "hun", or "youngin'". **** picked me up from the ferry on Saturday the 30th of March. I mentioned to him the way Mr. ****** had spoken to me and that I hoped he didn't continue to speak to me that way. **** mentioned it "wasn't the first time" somebody had said that. When we arrived I test drove the car and upon sitting down with both **** and Mr. ****** was asked, "So do you want to pay the full amount by check or do you want us to charge your credit card for the $1000?" I said, "I want to talk about all this first." I told Mr. ****** that I didn't feel I was getting a fair price and that I would only be buying the car if I could get it for significantly cheaper. I told him I felt that I didn't "want to be taken advantage of". He said, "We aren't in the business of losing money" and stood up saying, "have a nice day!" I understood that to mean that we weren't making a deal that day and that I would be taken back to the ferry without a new car. **** followed him to their office and a new sales manager ****** came out to greet me stating, "New set of eyes on all this. Let's see if we can make something work out." We sat down and talked for a bit and he kept saying, "so you think that we should just give you a 5 thousand dollar discount?" I repeated that I wasn't asking for a "discount" but what I felt was a fair price. They had bought the car at an auction and therefore the price they paid for it is unknown to me. Ultimately he laughed and said no and proceeded to get up from the table and walk away. I never saw my initial sales person **** again. I was ignored by ***** and ****** in the dealership. Nobody spoke to me. Suddenly I was completely alienated. There was a woman at a desk near the customer service area and I asked if she could find **** for me to take me back to the ferry. I had texted him, "Where'd you go? Ride to the ferry?" and never heard back. She paged him to the front of the store and a few minutes later ***** ****** approached me to let me know that I would not be given a ride back to the ferry. I asked, "So because I didn't buy a car, I am not being given a ride back to the ferry? I live an hour and a half away...You said you'd pick me up." He interrupted at that time say, "Yeah, we picked you up. Didn't say anything about bringing you back." Needless to say I was horrified. He said it was a decision from his boss **** and said "What do you want to talk to him?" to which I said, "yes". **** initially wouldn't talk to me for a few minutes and when he came out of the "Employee only" area he was abrasive and insisted we speak in a separate office. I was visibly shaken and crying at this time scared to be in a town I'd never been to, 25 minutes away from the ferry and over an hour and a half away from home. **** expressed that I wasted all of their time...that I had lead them on to believe I would be buying the car and that I didn't deserve a ride back that I could find a taxi. I expressed that I thought this was crazy. I couldn't believe they would treat customers this way, and he asked, "So what? You don't think you're rude? You don't think it's rude what you've done to ****?! He went all the way out there and you aren't even buying the car! We've told people the car was sold." I told him that was not my fault nor had I made any agreement to buy the car. He said, "Say whatever you want. I will throw all your lines back in your face. I could say the same thing." I told him I'd never do business there again and he said, "I don't want to sell you a **** car anyway!" Ultimately he offered to pay for half of a taxi fare back to the ferry. I am filing this complaint because clearly I am appalled by the way I was treated. I don't believe I would have been treated this way had I been with a male, or if I had been older, though I can't be sure. Regardless to provide somebody with transportation to their dealership, and then deny it on the way back accompanied by the complete lack of customer service, respect, and compassion is unbelievable to me. I was bullied and abused by both sales managers ***** ****** and ******, and even more so by their boss **** who laughed while I cried...understanding completely how humiliated and alone I was. The woman at desk who had paged **** overhead kept saying, "I'm so sorry. I'm so sorry. I wish there was something I could do." I hope she can be a witness to this.

Desired Settlement: I want these formal complaints to be published, and to go in the records of the above named employees. I would like a formal letter of apology and for appropriate action to be taken against those who bullied and humiliated me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1010, 7, 2013/04/15) */ April 5, 2013 Better Business Bureau Serving Alaska, Oregon, &Western WA RE: BBB ref# XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX Case IDXXXXXXXX Re: Ms. ****** ****** Dear BBB, Please understand that we are most apologetic for the circumstances experienced by this guest at Burien Chevrolet. Her letter is extremely well written and for the most part quite accurate. All of the employees involved were interviewed and where applicable have been reprimanded and correctly retrained. It is not acceptable to call any guest “kid “or “hun”. These terms of endearment are just not acceptable in 2013. There was no business transaction between the two parties. The consumer will find that we did not run her credit card. Our policy is not to burden the consumer with any unnecessary refunds or holds when we do not have a contract. We did hold the vehicle for more than just a few days for her to purchase as we said we would hold it. What happened when she arrived was simply the sales process in a dealership on a very busy Saturday. Unfortunately we could not agree on a price acceptable to both parties. We truly are sorry for her experience last Saturday. Ms ****** will be receiving a personal apology from us in the near future. Please contact me if you have further questions, comments, or concerns. Sincerest Apologies, ***** ***** ********* General Manager Burien Chevrolet XXXXX First Ave South Burien, WA XXXXX

11/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues