BBB Accredited Business since

Auburn Chevrolet

Phone: (253) 833-2000 Fax: (253) 939-7794 View Additional Phone Numbers 1600 Auburn Way N, Auburn, WA 98002 http://www.auburnchevrolet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars and trucks, parts, service and body repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auburn Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auburn Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Auburn Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1963 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1963 Business incorporated: 11/01/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Phil Bivens, President Mr. Doug Bivens, General Manager Ms. Amy Wade, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Doug Bivens, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Phil Bivens, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Services New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Universal Auto Group II Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Auburn Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1600 Auburn Way N

    Auburn, WA 98002 (253) 839-8900 (253) 833-2000 (888) 456-6556

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auburn Chevrolet replace the emergency brakes on my 2003 Chevrolet 3500 dual rear wheel 4X4 truck earlier this year, at a cost of $859.20. This repair required disassembly of the rear axel and removal of the axel shafts. I am the original owner of this truck and have had it serviced regularly by an authorized dealer. At the time the brakes were replaced the truck had 61,546 miles on it. In October of this year (the first time the truck was driven fully loaded at freeway speeds after the repair) I was east bound on I-90 just outside of Ellensburg, WA. when the right side axel barring failed, the axel locked up and the heat from the barring failure started a fire. With the help of the State Patrol I was able to put the fire out using two fire extinguishers. The truck was towed to *** ****** in Ellensburg and they inspected and repaired the vehicle. At this time the vehicle had 63,416 miles on it. Less than 2,000 miles since the service by Auburn Chevrolet. The service manager at *** asked me when the last service was performed on the rear end. I told him it was recent and described the service (Emergency Brake replacement) The service manager at *** (*** ****** told me that "I hate to throw another shop under the bus" but this failure was likely related to improper assembly by the dealer that performed the brake service. The Towing and repairs at *** cost $4,988.68. Repairs took three days so I also spent $268.38 on a hotel room, $41.00 on a new Fire Extinguisher and more on meals at local restaurants. Upon my return home I contacted Auburn Chevrolet and talked to the General Manager (**** ******) he asked me to discuss this with the service Director (************). After talking with ************ he contacted *** at *** and had the repair and towing bill faxed to him. **** contacted me a couple of days later and told me that *** ****** told him that there was no reason to believe that the failure was related to the service performed by Auburn Chevrolet. I contacted *** at *** and he told me that was not true, that he had told him the same thing he had told me, that he felt it was related. I called **** back and told him about my conversation with *** and he said he would contact them again. After he did, **** told me he was going to meet with his General Manager and then he would get back to me. a few days later **** left a voice message on my phone that They "would not be participating at this time". I have tried to contact him several times and left multiple voice messages asking him to call me to discuss their reasoning behind the decision, with no success. When I ask for **** someone picks up the phone and hangs up without saying a word.

Desired Settlement: I feel strongly that Auburn Chevrolet should pay the towing and repair bill however, I am willing to accept a settlement for the repair only.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ I have talked with Customer on 11/11/2014.And we are going to refund a portion of the repair.The customer is satisfied with the issue.

10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We brought our 2006 Chevrolet Kodiak 5500 motorhome in for general service @ Auburn Chevrolet on 9/15/2014. Oil change and fuel filter were quoted prices that were satisfactory. We also asked about changing the external spin on the transmission filter and were told if the price for the total service was over $450.00 dollars, we would be notified prior to proceeding.We were called and told the motorhome was ready and went in to pick it up. The total bill exceeded the $450.00 dollar maximum and after reviewing the bill, we found that the transmission filter was replaced at the price of $178.50 to spin off the filter and replace it with a new one not including the cost of the filter. The filter and two quarts of fluid was an additional $65.15. The total bill was $581.20, well above the $450 authorization.When talking with the service person, he said that was what the flat rate book called for and that was the price set by **************.I called ************** and was told they do not set prices for their independent dealers.I have tried to talk to the Service Manager for the last week and he has not returned my voicemail.The price for the transmission filter service is outrageous to simply spin on and off this filter probably took no more then 5 to 10 minutes.Please contact the dealer to resolve this billing issue. We appreciate your action and help with this matter. Product_Or_Service: Transmission Filter replacement Order_Number: XXXXXXX/1

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Bill credit. Would like appropriate reimbursement so that the cost of this service would be .25 hours general shop rate.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/09) */ We have resolved the complaint with the customer. Mr.******* received the money back that he was asking for.

1/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service