This Business is not BBB accredited

Kiet's Auto Body Shop

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 763-6262 Fax: (206) 763-6206 10245 16th Ave SW, Seattle, WA 98146 http://www.kietsautobody.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto body repair services. This company offers auto repair and used car sales.


BBB Accreditation

On 5/15/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 8. Approach all business dealings, marketplace transactions and commitments with integrity.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kiet's Auto Body Shop include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Kiet's Auto Body Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kiet's Auto Body Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 2005 Business started: 05/01/2004 Business started locally: 05/01/2004 Business incorporated: 05/10/2004 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kiet Nguyen, President Mr. Brian Young, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kiet Nguyen, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops

Alternate Business Names
Kiet's Auto Services & Sale The Kiet Nguyen Corporation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10245 16th Ave SW

    Seattle, WA 98146 (206) 763-6262

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2827 SW Roxbury St

    Seattle, WA 98126 (206) 935-4243

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday April 2 2013 I had my 1998 Mitsubishi Mirage towed to kiet's auto services & sales. My car was not running and broke down on the Freeway. So first off when I called kiet's auto body he told me he has a auto repair mechanics shop and he knows a guy that tows cars and will give me a deal if I had it towed to his repair shop he said it will be a flat fee of $50 so I called and had his guy tow my Mitsubishi. When we arrived at kiet's repair shop the drive said its going to be $140 and I had the choice to either pay it or have the towing fee put on the bill. After telling the driver Kiet said it will $50 he laughed and said ill charge you $80 if you pay me now. I talked with kiet's brother at shop and he said he will take a look at it and give me a call when he finds out whats wrong with it. On thurday April 4th at around 4:30pm I called the repair shop he told me the distributor failed and will be $500 to repair with a aftermarket part and 850 with a oem part. I told him to put the aftermarket part on and let me know when it is fixed and I will be in to pick it up Saturday or Monday. I didn't get to pick up the car on Saturday and there was no answer on sunday so I assumed the shop was closed. Then monday morning I called at 11:32am and let him know I will be there at around 330pm to pick up my car he said ok its ready. At 12:41pm he called me back and told me I have some bad news your car has been stolen. After making the police report I asked if I could have a loaner car in the mean time or what is going to happen and he said he will look in to it and call me back. at about 5pm I called because I havent heard any thing, he answered the phone and told me he has nothing to do with this anymore and to call the owner his brother so I called his brother and there was no answer. Then when I tried to call back to let him know I didn't get a answer he didnt pick up the phone(kiets auto repair service)I called 5 times in a row and I haven't heard anything from either of them.

Desired Settlement: I would like a mitsubshi mirage with all the parts and work put into it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/07/24) */ *** ****** ***** had his 1998 Mitsubishi Mirage towed to Kiet's Auto Services and Sale. It was towed from the freeway for it was broken down. The shop fixed his distributor for $500 and was ready to pick up on Thursday, April 4th so we asked him to pick up his car as soon as possible after the car is done. But since he did not come on Thursday there was a chance for him to pick up his car on Saturday because Kiet's Auto Services and Sale opens for half a day (only Saturdays), but he didn't come. Sunday the shop is closed and it was Monday, it happened so that *** *****' Mitsubishi was stolen. It wasn't until four days later the police found the Mitsubishi about a half a block away from the shop near an apartment. The car was towed back to Kiet's Auto Services and Sale. The car had some parts missing, such as: the battery, air cleaner box, and the four wheels. Kiet's put back on the original wheels, new battery onto the Mitsubishi and the car was running excellently. Kiet calls *** ***** to tell him to pick up his Mitsubishi Mirage. However it seems that *** ***** doesn't want to pick up. But *** ***** had bought a set of wheels for $10,000 about six years ago. He wants Kiet to pay him $10,000 for the car. Now, the car had basically no interior; there were no seats and carpeting at all. The exterior of the car is much damaged. So Kiet checked the Blue Book and the worth is less than $1,000. But he refused to pick up his car because he wanted a new set of wheels worth $10,000. He didn't want the original wheels put on for him. Kiet has a before picture of the car and the wheels lost in the robbery was worth a couple hundred dollars and their condition was rusty and bad. The Mitsubishi now runs perfectly and *** ***** still owes Kiet's $500 for the distributor. *** ***** didn't want anything other than the $10,000. Till today the car is still at Kiet's Auto Services and Sales. Contact Information: XXXXX XXth *** ** Seattle, WA 98146 Tel: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX ************@gmail.com Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was not asking for $10,000 that is absurd. What I was asking for was the car to be put back in the condition I left it in.As far as the wheels, they was purchased in 2011 and they are forged one piece aluminum wheel I paid $2400 and they are or where in perfect condition I have pictures of them, and also have a picture of them on the car in front of kiets the last day I seen the car it clearly shows not one speck off rust. What ** **** was referring to when I stated $10,000 was total worth the car was completely changed from stock that is the vis full evo 5 body kit, volk ce28n bronze 4x100 wheels, hankook 104h tires , weapon-r cold air intake, 10k auto meter tachometer, tanabe gf-210 suspension, carbonfiber hood, custom head lights, high performance fuel pressure regulator, nrg engine damper, weapon-r front and back strut tower bars these parts are about $5000 with out labor.and the car has been fully maintained there was no check engine lights. Then at 180,000miles I had the engine fully rebuild and had a low mileage transmission put in that alone was $3200 put in with every receipt to prove it. I've talked to Keit about 4 times not once have I told him I wanted "$10,000" just told him I won't take the 170,000 mile Lexus or the $1000 he offered. The last few times we talked he was very rude and called me a liar and said he is not going to do anything for me or my car, all this after I tried being reasonable and asked for my car in running condition with the ce28n wheels the intake and fuel pressure regulator didn't even ask for tires he said "no it's not going to happen!" Then I said to just put the car in running condition he said "no". That was in early June. Then on July 2nd his brother called and told me Keit wants my car out of his parking lot, then I asked if the car was drivable he said no it is going to need to be towed. He also wanted me to sign sine kind of paper saying him and his company is not liable for the parts. Bottom line his company is reasonable for my car and everything on or installed on the vehicle while it's in his or his shops care. I should not be reasonable for his shops lack of security or his workers negligence I put a ton of money, time, and hard work to build my Mitsubishi and had a security chip to disable the car, that was not removed but was left in the car when the worker parked my car outside the shop around the corner and "forgot" to park it back in the parking lot after closing. As for owing him $500 for the distributor I don't even have the car nor was it drivable the last I heard on July 2nd and that is the last word I have heard from Keit.who I'm there right mind I'd going to pay a shop that had there car stolen then calls the owner a liar and refuses to do anything about the stolen parts and messed up car. I have pictures of the massive damage done to the ignition column.

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/23/13 Kiet's Auto Body provided me with an estimate of $2,039.82 for repairs to a collision that involved damage to the front fender of my '97 Toyota Corolla. On 9/30/13 my roommate ********** **** (co-owner of the car) and I picked up the car from Kiet's Auto Body. I discovered that my newly installed windshield (installed at a different shop) was cracked all along the front lower part. I asked Kiet why was it cracked and how did it happen. He claimed the windshield must have had a small crack before and when they started the car the temperature in the air was cold and it cracked the windshield. I argued that there was ABSOLUTELY NO crack in the windshield, small or otherwise, when I dropped off the car because it was brand new. When I kept insisting, he said he would not charge me the $150 for the tow I owed him. I agreed, somewhat upon duress because I really needed to pick up my car which was in his possession, but in fact a new windshield replacement would cost $450-$500. But, the main contention of my complaint today is that the front fender repair is shoddily repaired. I will send photos of the repair. The left part where the headlamp is you can see it's shoddily welded. When I drive I can even hear some sort of clanking sound, I think because the headlamp is loose. I contacted Kiet afterwards and asked him to re-do that part, but he refused, saying he had done it right and if he had to do anymore work he would have to charge me for the time. I don't think I should pay for service that wasn't done properly. Because I do not know what part of the $2,000 involves the part that wasn't done properly, I have opened a billing dispute with ******** whose credit card I used to pay for Kiet's charge of $2,000. Upon *********** advice, I took my car to ********* *** in Seattle, and they said that the repair was not done properly to either the right or left part headlamp, and they gave me an estimateof $972.64 to rectify ****'s badly done repair. I no lo

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for the repair that was not completed properly. I would like to have the repair done elsewhere as I no longer trust Kiet's Auto Body to rectify.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/12/16) */ we chat on the phone for a fews day ,and I send her the estimate that she and I agree ,her car is total loss from insurance and I event tell her that ,she know that ,but she want to repair as cheap as possible,so she can pass the inspection from state patrol,and she cry she doesn't have money to do a perfect job.So I try to repair and put thing together for her to pass the state patrol like she want it that way.so the left head lamp is good only the one tab is broken but usable ,she said it fine and I did not put that headlamp on the estimate,but when the car tow from her house to my shop ,the left headlamp was broken one tab but usable and it will pass state patrol ,because she don't want to spend any more money she said,i said it fine the headlamp is still to use,went the repair is done when she pick up the car the first thing she look is the windshield ,she not event care about the repair then she get mad right away ,why my windshied is have a small crash,we don't know because her car is 16 years old and she just have a hard impact the car is total loss from insurance ,we only replace front bumper for her , replace right fender ,and right headlamp exactly in the estimate,and she agree that the part we replace,but she cry and blame us for the windshied and she get mad , I want she happy and she keep saying I don't have any more then I discount for her $150 ,the windshield only cost $140 dollars to put in on ,not $400 or $500 for the windshied the she want the left headlamp new too,but I said the estimate not include the left headlamp,but she said I want yyou put a news one for me if not I will cancel the payment that I make, I said why don't you pay for the headlamp I will put it on for free the headlamp is $102 the labor to put it on is $100 put I will not charge her for labor it take two hrs to put it on but she want the whole thing free.i cannot because we did a lot of extra work that she ask us to do for free ,we fix her trunk latch for free adjust the trunk lid ,put the interior lamp on and detail her car it all free ,I did not agree then she thread me to call cancel the whole payment.i don't know what else to make she happy .maybe do a lot more for free then she happy but iam surprise why she care so much for a little crash on the windshield ,is it something she know before ,and how the windshield crash because she have a big impact it could be crash .call me if you don't understand I am happy to explain more the situation between me and her.