This business is not BBB accredited.

K D Autobody Inc

Phone: (253) 845-1721 Fax: (253) 848-7855 View Additional Phone Numbers 407 E Main, Puyallup, WA 98372

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers collision repair, auto painting and auto body work.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K D Autobody Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K D Autobody Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 01/31/1984 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jim Roberts, President Mr. Jack Todd, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Roberts, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7:30am - 5:30pm
Saturday 9am - 1pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company's policy can be found at

Additional Locations


    407 E Main

    Puyallup, WA 98372 (800) 731-1721 (253) 845-1721


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a careful assessment on a lift of undercarriage damage to my KIA Soul on April 2, 2013, ************* estimated the repair would cost $2,363. When KD Auto Body began work on needed repairs, they claimed they found an additional $600 damage. They had also neglected to include front-end alignment of $80 in their original assessment. This totals nearly $700 of additional costs for repair. When I went to their office and asked for an explanation for the increased amount, I was shown a damaged bumper. This should have been anticipated during the initial inspection because the bumper was clearly split and damaged. Even a casual observer could observe that. I had another auto body shop estimate damages to be around $3,000. I chose KD Body because their estimate was $700 less. In the end, I paid KD Body $3,052 for my KIA repair, originally estimated to be $2,363.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $600

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/25) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *******, Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** On X-XX-XXXX Mr. **** ****** brought his vehicle in for an estimate to repair front end damage from an incident he had with a misaligned manhole cover. We put his vehicle up on a lift to inspect the underside of the vehicle and wrote an estimate based on what we could see. Later Mr. ****** scheduled his vehicle in for repairs to be started on 4-16-2013. Upon drop off, Mr. ****** requested we add a front end alignment to his vehicle. We started the repairs by removing the front bumper cover and found more damage to the front bumper cover (inside of the cover) that could not be seen without removal, also damage to the inside of the lower grille and left liner bracket. We called Mr. ****** as soon as we discovered the unseen damage and explained to him what we had found along with the additional cost. He stated that he wanted to come down and see the additional damage we found. We waited for Mr. ****** to come down to inspect the additional damage before continuing the repairs. Mr. ****** was shown the additional repairs and eplained the additional cost to perform repairs properly. Mr. ****** stated he was not happy abouth the additional cost to him, because he had already got paid by the city, or county and signed a document that he could not go back to them for any additional money for repairs. The esimate he was given was an Estimate, Not a Bid or a Quote. On the estimate it is stated, INTERNAL DAMAGE OPEN-REINSPECT AFTER TEAR DOWN. THIS IS A PRELIMINARY ESTIMATE BASED ON VISUAL DAMAGE. The original estimate was for $2363.19w/sales tax Alignment Mr. ****** added $ 76.92w/sales tax **SUB TOTAL** $2440.11 Additional repairs needed $ 6912.26w/sales tax **TOTAL AMOUNT OF REPAIRS** $3052.37 I understand that Mr. ****** is seeking a reimbursement of $600.00. Implying that KD Auto Body is somehow financially responsible for some of the damage to his vehicle as well as any past agreement he has made with the party paying him for the repairs. I'm sorry to say we don't feel the same. We followed Washington State RCW 46.71 pertaining to CUSTOMER RIGHTS. The estiamte did go over 10% of the original amount, we did call Mr. ****** and advise him as such. Mr. ****** did come down and inspect the additional repairs needed himself. Mr. ****** did authorize the additional repairs and dollar amount to complete the repairs. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/05/08) */ I do not accept K D Autobody's refusal to refund $600 to me after paying them nearly $700 beyond their initial estimate. I was willing to give them the benefit of doubt regarding their overlooking the need for a front-end alignment following the needed repairs. K D Autobody overlooked the need for a front-end alignment until I asked them if this should be included. I didn't request one. They acknowledged that one would be needed. This wasn't initially on their estimate. I agreed for this expense to be added despite their oversight. Their estimate was made from a complete examination of the damage to my vehicle on a lift where everything could be seen. I was present during this examination. At that time, I could observe damage to the grill, radiator and surrounding area. This damage should have been more correctly estimated. An estimate by another shop was $3,300. After estimating the cost of repair would be $2,440, upon removing the bumper, K D Autobody increased their estimate $691, nearly a 30% increase, stating that this was damage not observable from the lift view. Out of the three estimates I had earlier submitted to Pierce County, they based their payout amount on K D Autobody's initial estimate. After negotiating for settlement for over four months from Pierce County for damages to my vehicle, I agreed to a settlement amount of $2,538 in mid-April. This included a rental allowance of $175. I did so because I trusted that K D Autobody had agreed to repair my vehicle for $2,440. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/05/28) */ You are being misled by Mr. ******, he states we agreed to repair his vehicle for $2440.00. We did not. He received an estimate for $2440.00, it was not a bid or quote. Estimate is defined as "An approximate calculation or judgement of the value". I laid this out in my 1st response. Please re-read it to refresh yourself. After you have done this then you should understand that we have treated Mr. ****** fairley and followed Washington State Laws to the letter. I feel that Mr. ****** is trying to use the BBB to scam his way out of being responsible for his bill. After this I will no longer respond to any follow up request. If Mr. ****** thinks he has a case he can take me to court and prove it. Sincerely, *** ******* Owner KD Auto Body, Inc.