BBB Accredited Business since

Heitzman Body & Paint Inc

Phone: (503) 646-5181 Fax: (503) 626-1836 11800 SW Beaverton Hillsdale Hwy, Beaverton, OR 97005 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.heitzmanbodyandpaint.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto body and paint services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heitzman Body & Paint Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heitzman Body & Paint Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heitzman Body & Paint Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1937 Business started locally: 01/01/1937 Business incorporated 09/24/1964 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Lisa Thomson, President Ms. Danielle Bedford, Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Lisa Thomson, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Refund and Exchange Policy
Lifetime warranty on all repairs--your satisfaction is our first priority!
Service Area
Washington County
Products & Services

Collision repair, auto body repair and paint, suspension, frame, and mechanical work...We do it all!


Additional Locations

  • 11800 SW Beaverton Hillsdale Hwy

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 646-5181

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The shop repaired front end damage to my vehicle. The repair was not done properly. The fender liner is not put in properly. The shop refuses to fix it despite their being a Lifetime Warranty on repairs. I took the vehicle back to the shop for them to look at the fender and put on the emblem and other parts that were back ordered. At that time I complained their was overspray on the car. The estimator, not body repairman, "buffed" the hood and all over the car putting scratches on the top of the car and the hood. The shop has refused to look at the car. The Manager ***** was rude and abusive to my husband. He would not discuss a resolution and he hung up with my husband.

Desired Settlement: I would like the shop to take ownership of the fact that they did additional damage. They were paid for the work that was done by me (250.00 deductible) and my insurance company. I would like the shop to refund me by 250.00 deductible for the work that was not done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@heitzmanbodyandpaint.com We repaired front end damage to Mrs. *******'s vehicle, and when we finished she stopped by to pick it up and was very pleased with repairs. I personally inspected the vehicle and at that time did not notice any overspray whatsoever, nor was any overspray noted previously in pictures or our Vehicle Check In sheet. The vehicle itself was never even in our paint shop; the parts that we replaced were painted off the vehicle in a self-contained paint booth. The customer picked up her vehicle, and at that time we told her there were a few cosmetic parts that had not been delivered yet but we would have her stop by once they arrived for us to install them (an emblem and a small cover). When Mrs. ******* came back for us to install the backordered parts, she complained that her fender-liner was not installed properly. This was related to repairs and guaranteed under our lifetime warranty, and so it was fixed to her liking. The customer also complained about overspray, which was noticeable at that time. Our manager noted to the customer that he believed it to be some sort of house paint overspray, not related to our work, and that a detail company would be able to remove this film from the vehicle by using a clay bar, a process we do not currently offer. As a gesture of kindness, while we installed the backordered parts, we also hand-washed the vehicle again for her. Apparently, this hand-washing left "scuffs" on the oversprayed portions of the vehicle. To be clear: her paint, and her vehicle, were not damaged. If the customer takes her vehicle to a detail company, they will be able to remove the overspray film and thus, the "scuffs" will disappear as well. When our manager attempted to discuss this issue with Mrs. *******'s husband over the phone, he was incredibly rude, demeaning, and combative to our manager. All attempts were made to appease our repeat customer, and all of the repair work we did was completed to the customer's liking and is always backed by our lifetime warranty. However, our manager does not condone yelling, cursing, and overall unpleasantness, and after many attempts at explaining the issue and getting repeatedly cursed at and belittled, our manager ended the phone call with Mr. *******. We do not feel that there is a need to reimburse Mrs. ******* for her deductible, as all repairs related to the insurance claim were completed, and she was very satisfied with them. In our discussions with her Insurance Company, no further actions were deemed necessary as well. Her complaint is directed towards an overspray problem, which we had nothing to do with. We are a fourth generation family-owned business, and we take great pride in our work and our outstanding relationships with our customers. Every attempt was made to satisfy Mrs. *******, as she was very pleasant and respectful. However, we were deeply hurt by her husband's accusatory mannerisms, refusal to engage in proactive conversations, and verbal hostility towards our manager. As we are a family here, we take situations such as this very personally; however, we wish Mrs. ******* the best and would gladly offer our services to her in the future, should she need them. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Based upon the response from the body shop they are not willing to accept responsibility for their mishandling of this repair. When I picked up the vehicle from the body shop **** ***** informed me that he personally buffed the hood of my car. The manager, ****** indicated that **** should have used a gold bar but did not. The scuffs all over the hood are a direct result of an estimator doing body work he is not qualified to do. I do not understand why I should have to pay for their gesture of kindness by having scuffs all over my car. If the body shop was not able to wash my vehicle without leaving scuffs they should not have washed it. It is baffling a shop is not able to do a simple wash job without a leaving scuffs. The scuffs are all over the top of the car from front to back, on the car where there wasn't any overspray. If their "gesture" of kindness resulted scuffs then they should have fixed it. Neither my husband or I should have had to say anything. The fact the shop put scuffs in the car and their explanation to fix that is for me to take it somewhere else demonstrates they can do damage and it is someone else's responsibility to fix. A poor customer service model for a business. My husband did not yell, demean, or use one swear word. The manager ***** was defensive, rude, condescending and simply would not listen. He was the expert, he has the experience and he was not going to admit to anything less than it wasn't his problem. It was apparent he wasn't going to fix it as that would diminish his profits. For the shop to engage in such self serving accusations that are not true sums up the overall experience. I gave the phone to my husband because the manager would not listen to me. I have handled auto and commercial liability claims for 17 years and I was not able to get the manager to listen to me. He was not concerned with my complaints and spent the entire conversation telling me about his 26 years of experience. He would not listen to my husband. I want to make perfectly clear my husband never used one swear word, and for the shop to respond and accuse him of behavior he did not engage in so they do not have to e responsible for their own behavior is simply a lack of integrity on the part of the ***** the manager. At the end of the day the manager has to deal with the fact he has answered this complaint with no integrity and the estimator **** ***** should be embarrassed he did damage to my car that could have been easily fixed but he chose to be dishonest instead. By far this has been the worst customer service experience I have ever been a part of. I didn't expect the shop to step up and do the right thing. My hope is both the manager ***** and estimator **** ***** take a look at their part privately and make adjustments to how they handle themselves. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/12/22) */ Unfortunately, we do not feel the need to accept responsibility for the customer's complaint due to the fact that **** ******* was very satisfied with the work related to her Insurance claim that we were paid to complete on her vehicle. **** *******'s only complaint concerns some sort of latex/house paint overspray on her vehicle, not at all related to the work we completed. If **** ******* had taken her vehicle through a car wash, she would probably be filing this complaint with them and not us. Her vehicle's paint is not scuffed, the overspray film on top of the paint is scuffed. No "buffing" or "body work" was performed on **** *******'s hood as she mentions; it was washed and dried off with a towel. Heitzman's did no damage to her vehicle. Suggesting that the personal integrity of our employees be called into question is quite hurtful. We are a team, everything we do is communicated amongst our team, and Heitzman's will always stand behind our employees and their unwavering integrity. The two employees **** ******* mentioned have been employed by Heitzman's for a combined 51 years, not including their additional previous experience in the industry. They always have and always will continue to act with integrity, which we consider to be the fundamental reason for our continued success and growth in this industry after 78 years of business. If we had put the overspray on her vehicle, we would gladly pay **** ******* to take her vehicle to a detail shop and have the overspray removed via clay bar. However, the overspray on her vehicle is not a result of the work we did, or under the lifetime warranty we proudly offer. Therefore, we do not believe we can help **** ******* and her unrelated problem. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) INCORRECT. The fender liner is not attached properly on the right side of my vehicle. Not only does the liner not attach to the bumper the middle of the liner is not attached to underneath the vehicle. My insurance company sent an adjuster out and has sent me a check to R and I the bumper and have it repaired correctly. It is correct they were paid for the repair but the repair was not done correctly and I am left with a repair that is well below industry standards. Now I have to spend my time to take it to another shop and have it done correctly. Regarding the overspray the only other time my vehicle has been repaired was at their shop in 2009. Any overspray on the vehicle would have been from their shop. Per ****** the overspray had to have been from me parking my car by someone painting an apartment building or house. For a manager with 26 years experience to suggest that I parked my car by an apartment or a house that was being painted black cherry is ridiculous. Bottom line is they were paid by my insurance company to do a job and I paid them my deductible. The fender liner now has to be repaired by another shop at an additional cost to my insurance company and my additional time. The overspray was from any work they did during this repair or that they did in 2009. The fender liner is a direct result of their poor work. At least my insurance company is stepping up and the work will be completed. Finally, **** ***** told me he personally buffed the hood. ***** was standing their when he said it. To deny it now contradicts the statement they have integrity. I have learned my lesson, next time I will take photos prior to dealing with a shop and I will record any conversation. I do not need a response to this. I do not need to have any more creative writing responses and flat out dishonesty from the shop. I have read the YELP and other reviews and I am not the only one who has had this type of experience.

10/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service