BBB Accredited Business since

Dickson Law Group PS

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 621-1110 Fax: (253) 572-1300 View Additional Phone Numbers 1201 Pacific Ave Ste 2050, Tacoma, WA 98402 http://www.dicksonlegal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers legal services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dickson Law Group PS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dickson Law Group PS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dickson Law Group PS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 09/01/1984 Business started locally: 09/01/1984 Business incorporated 04/09/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington State Bar Association
1325 4th Ave Ste 600, Seattle WA 98101
http://www.wsba.org
Phone Number: (206) 443-9722
questions@wsba.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Dickson, President Ms. Amber Carlyle, Accountant Mr. Robert Dickson, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Amber Carlyle, Accountant
Principal: Mr. Thomas Dickson, President
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Environmental Attorneys & Lawyers - Real Estate Attorneys & Lawyers - Wills, Trust & Probate Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:30pm

Additional Locations

  • 1201 Pacific Ave Ste 2050

    Tacoma, WA 98402 (253) 572-1000 (206) 621-1110

  • 701 5th Ave Ste 4201

    Seattle, WA 98104

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We retained ****** ** ******* of the Dickson Law Group in November 2012 to represent us and our entities. ****** ** ******* was to handle the case and an associate was to perform routine functions. Discussions were had at the outset and it was agreed among the parties that the following would occur immediately: 1. File a Motion for Dismissal of irrelevant parties. 2. File a Motion for Summary Judgment based on an illegal administrative process. 3. File a Motion to Compel Responses to Discovery that were months overdue. 4. Submit our reply to opposing side's Settlement Offer. Despite numerous written requests for updates and to schedule phone discussions, as late as March 26, 2013, we had no reply from the Dickson Law Group regarding the above. They had taken no action regarding the agreed upon strategy and their only communication involved sending regular billing for services we did not agree to. On March 26, 2013, we again emailed the Dickson Law Group with yet another request for update and explanation of billings. They responded three days later to inform us the opposing side had filed a Motion for Partial Summary Judgment. This Motion had been filed almost a week earlier but Dickson Law Group had failed to notify us. They provided no explanation, nor did they respond to inquiries regarding billings. Dickson Law Group then spent several months attempting to withdraw from the case, filing two separate Motions to Withdraw, each with a Motion for Reconsideration after the Court's rulings. Additionally, Dickson Law Group entered into a separate attorney/client relationship with a fourth defendant without consulting or notifying us of their action. This represents a clear violation of their ethical responsibilities. We believe Dickson Law Group disseminated confidential attorney/client privileged information to opposing counsel. We questioned them in writing, but they failed to respond. Our alleged violations are serious, as we believe they caused substantial damage to our entities and us personally.

Desired Settlement: Refund of monies paid and remuneration for damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 8, 2014/04/17) */ Due to rules regarding attorney-client privilege, we cannot respond to any specific complaints made by our former client on the BBB website. We do strive to resolve any complaints a client might have against us - customer service and ethics are extremely important to us. It really bothers us if a client feels that they didn't receive excellent customer service. Regarding the specific complaints made against us, we would like to address all of them specifically on the BBB website. Therefore, we have emailed our client a form to sign which will waive the attorney-client privilege in regards to this matter so we can respond specifically to their comments. If our former client chooses to sign and return that form, we will be very happy to address each of these complaints specifically. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We recognize the important role the BBB plays in improving relations between consumers and business. We know the BBB's mission is a challenging one. We also understand our nation's judiciary is the front line as well as the final arbiter regarding the Rule of Law, the very foundation of civil society. Confidence in the legal profession, the portal we all rely upon to seek justice when things go wrong, is crucial if trust between consumers, business and government is to be maintained. Our BBB complaint asserts that the Dickson Law Group failed to provide services they agreed to and were paid to perform. This matter is important, but it even more central for the BBB to understand that Dickson's failure appears part of a long standing, well-orchestrated and parasitic business model designed to separate clients from their money as quickly and efficiently as possible. Dickson's assertion "We do strive to resolve any complaints a client might have against us" is patently false and not backed up by the facts. Their firm never even responded to repeated written requests for communication regarding their services and invoices. The fact is they didn't communicate at all for months on end, despite numerous written requests. Dickson now claims it can only respond to this BBB complaint if the complainant relinquishes their legal rights. It would be disingenuous to say the least for the BBB to entertain the viability of such a defence. ****** ** *******, the firm's principal, has been the subject of numerous lawsuits, including three malpractice claims. Dickson's AVVO ratings are dismal. Despite these facts, their firm maintains an A+ rating with BBB. Consumers rely upon BBB ratings, so it is imperative they be accurate and can stand up to scrutiny. Today's environment does not allow agencies, including the BBB, an unfettered ability to provide favourable ratings in exchange for membership dues. The BBB's business model and metrics must be beyond reproach. We suggest the BBB take this opportunity to perform additional due diligence and update its rating of the Dickson Law Group. It remains our hope that with the BBB's active participation, this matter will be resolved without litigation. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We recognize the important role the BBB plays in improving relations between consumers and business. We know the BBB's mission is a challenging one. We also understand our nation's judiciary is the front line as well as the final arbiter regarding the Rule of Law, the very foundation of civil society. Confidence in the legal profession, the portal we all rely upon to seek justice when things go wrong, is crucial if trust between consumers, business and government is to be maintained. Our BBB complaint asserts that the Dickson Law Group failed to provide services they agreed to and were paid to perform. This matter is important, but it even more central for the BBB to understand that Dickson's failure appears part of a long standing, well-orchestrated and parasitic business model designed to separate clients from their money as quickly and efficiently as possible. Dickson's assertion "We do strive to resolve any complaints a client might have against us" is patently false and not backed up by the facts. Their firm never even responded to repeated written requests for communication regarding their services and invoices. The fact is they didn't communicate at all for months on end, despite numerous written requests. Dickson now claims it can only respond to this BBB complaint if the complainant relinquishes their legal rights. It would be disingenuous to say the least for the BBB to entertain the viability of such a defence. ****** ** *******, the firm's principal, has been the subject of numerous lawsuits, including three malpractice claims. Dickson's AVVO ratings are dismal. Despite these facts, their firm maintains an A+ rating with BBB. Consumers rely upon BBB ratings, so it is imperative they be accurate and can stand up to scrutiny. Today's environment does not allow agencies, including the BBB, an unfettered ability to provide favourable ratings in exchange for membership dues. The BBB's business model and metrics must be beyond reproach. We suggest the BBB take this opportunity to perform additional due diligence and update its rating of the Dickson Law Group. It remains our hope that with the BBB's active participation, this matter will be resolved without litigation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 43, 2014/10/06) */ Dickson Law Group provided all services that were billed for and no refund is owed the client. Quite the contrary, the client owes the law firm a large sum of funds for services provided that were never paid for. In fact, we are contemplating pursuing our fees from our former client via the court system. Unfortunately we cannot provide invoices as that would violate the attorney-client priviledge. ****** ** ******* CPA ACCOUNTANT DICKSONLAWGROUP PS

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several items discussed and bill for, yet services never filed with the court (temporary order, parenting plan, parenting class certificate). Lack of response from **** ******** attorney hired at Dickson Legal Group. Attempts to contact Mr. ******* required multiple phone messages with the front office and the para legal staff.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a settlement from the business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/11) */ Our law firm has been providing excellent legal services to clients for more than 30 years. The large number of cases that come to us by word-of-mouth referral is a testament to the quality of our work, and we regret the rare occasion when a client is dissatisfied in any way. We also provided *** ****** with excellent legal representation. But despite our vigorous advocacy and sound advice, she complains: (1) that certain items for which she was billed were not filed with the court, and (2) that she had some challenge reaching me, the attorney handling her case, on occasion. With respect to her first complaint, *** ****** specifically directed me to postpone preparing and filing certain documents in her case. When she finally requested that we begin preparing for court, we worked with *** ****** to gather the necessary information, and promptly began preparing the necessary documents. However, she departed for vacation to another state, which delayed the process by a few days since these documents need to be reviewed, approved, and signed by *** ****** before they could be submitted to the court. However, even during her vacation, I continued to remain in contact with our client, advising her about how to handle matters of importance in her case. *** ****** disengaged our services before she signed the court documents we had prepared. In her complaint she acknowledges that the documents were discussed with her, and it is appropriate that we bill for our services. There is still value in the work we performed for *** ******: even though she discharged our services, she can still submit the documents we prepared to court if she chooses, or have another attorney do so. As to *** ******'s claim that she had difficulty reaching me on occasion, I must respectfully disagree. During the time frame *** ****** speaks of, she was a very regular caller. On occasion, I was in court when she called, but in every instance I returned her call as promptly as I could. In the interim, she either spoke with my legal assistant or was routed to my competent paralegal. On one occasion, *** ****** was connected with the senior partner of our law firm, who immediately took action to satisfy her needs. I then followed up on the matter upon my return from court later that same day. That is the level of service we seek to provide our clients. We understand that family-law cases can be very emotionally challenging, and we seek to minimize stress and protect our client's interests with the utmost professionalism, skill, and timeliness. Strong customer services is also a core value to our firm. Again, we regret that *** ****** feels dissatisfied. She has not contacted our office directly about her complaints, thereby giving us the opportunity to discuss let alone ameliorate her concerns. Her complaint is simply unfounded, and we respectfully ask that you treat it as such.